Honda VF700S Sabre Motorcycles Reviews (8)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VF700S Sabre Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VF700S Sabre Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-10-25 1985 Honda VF700S Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Sabre started making a ticking sound in May 02. Found out the engine work would cost more than the bike was worth. In the meantime I bought a '93 VFR and then eventually an '01 Gixxer 750. I have not the heart to junk it or part with it out on ebay yet. She is sitting covered under my deck in the backyard. She was the most comfortable to ride 2-up. With the backrest the passengers felt very secure. I had the bike since '93 and did a lot of riding. I will miss her. She was very reliable until now. The newer bikes take riding to a whole different level, but sometimes it is nice just to cruise and take in the scenery. LONG LIVE THE SABRE!
- J Miller, NEW WINDSOR, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-19 1985 Honda VF700S Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am the third owner of my black and blue Sabre. I brought it in March of 1993. It is a very strong running bike. I find it a little heavy at times. It had around 24/k miles on it. Now it has 34/k miles. No major or minor problems. I had the fork seals replaced (linking), new tires, new battery 3 times. I have done all the other maintenance myself, oil/filter, plugs, coolant etc. I keep mines ready year round. I have never stored it for the winter. That is why I have gone through so many batteries. The alternator doesn't charge below 1500rpms. I have a luggage rack and engine guard only. This season I will add some type of wind screen!!! The bike is a fine tourer, no problem riding the Misses or one of the kiddies. I am hoping to buy a 600 sportbike soon, but I AM KEEPING MY SABRE!!! Does anyone know the horse power, wet weight, performance figures of the 700 Sabre???
- John Miller, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-18 1985 Honda VF700S Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used 83 750 sabre, in mint condition, 4 years ago, 45000km now has 72000 km , half the milage touring. Fantastic, very smooth one person touring bike at 100-125 km/hr. Oil changed often, tuned every 12000 km,warmed up well before riding, otherwise no other problems.Full windsreen, soft bags and rack only add ons. Used year round. Lots of power for any normal and above normal riding. Lots of easy 6-700 km days touring in great comfort I'd recommend this bike to anyone, just have it checked out first. Ive test riden other sport touring bikes and the only one as smooth is the st1100. I wish Honda would make a new standard based on the vfr800 Id buy it tomorrow
- rick, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-18 1985 Honda VF700S Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Sabre two years ago now and I love it even more now than the first night I spent in the garage with my new toy. I have put over 10k miles on it in the last two years and have had not a single problem. With a Corbin seat, custom sport fairing, Cobra F1 pipes, and a jet kit the bike really will give a f3 a good run. I only wish for a little more stability in the twistys. So far the good Honda has propelled me to 130 not to shabby for 85 vintage and only being a 700, all the add ons have done nothing but help. I can only wish everyone can have such a great bike, I have ridden many new bikes, VFRs, CBRs 900 and 1100 and just got a chance to make a fool of myself on a R1 and the ole Sabre still never lets me down. What more can I say, they're great bikes.
- mike roberts, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-08 1985 Honda VF700S Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a750sabre for 3months its a1984 bike looks like its 1 year old 30000 ks on clock its my first bike for 20years it stands out in a crowd and goes well after I brought it folk started talking about the chain tensioner problems cams etc etc I figure the problems can be as bad as what they are saying if there's someone out there that can give me some info on how to look after this weak area it would be appreciated as i love the rest of the bike problem 2 I do not know our email address can we communicate the old way by post// my address is 45 forest drive ch ch 8009 new Zealand ps any ladies want to be apenpal with a southern guy or guys if you know of aladie 20 45 yrs pass this on cheers from down under
- will janssen, Christchurch, New Zealand

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-07 1985 Honda VF700S Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This VF700 is the ninth bike I've owned, and also the biggest. I worked as a Honda mechanic, and rode all the 'Wings, ST's, and my favorite, the V65 Sabre. We had a shop and storage building in the early 80's and we had a plethora of crash bikes- mostly V65 Magnas and Sabres. Nobody knew how to handle the power. I had one customer's bike I completely rebuilt from the new, frame up -- a V65 Magna. I got to take it out for testing after I was finished with it. I'll never forget the sound it makes just off idle as it starts to take off. Almost an evil growl. But a good evil growl. I'm just warning you not to mess with it too early. Point it straight before you squirt it. I've always been one to enjoy the exhaust note of a motorcycle- whether a Harley, my old CB 550, my old 500 single, a Kawi triple, whatever. But the sound of that V-four, well, it was like magic to me. After years of school, early marriage and fatherhood, I had a chance to pick up a Sabre- I wasn't interested in a Magna. I like the standard riding position better. I wanted a V65, but a local dealer was looking for me and came across the VF 700 I now have since March of this year. 11,000 miles on the clock, very clean. Almost 14K now. Looking back, it's a good thing I bought this 700 rather than a V65. I sold my 500 thumper 10 years ago, and I needed to polish up on my riding skills. My thoughts: Watch the hydraulic clutches, they are notorious for master/slave cylinder leakage problems. Beware of the oil pressure problems, don't lug these bikes below 3 grand. The engine is so smooth, it doesn't care if you're at 4 grand or 2500 rpm. Let it spin a bit. I want a bit more steam, but I can upgrade to a V65 in a couple years. My bike left me stranded once- the dealer that sold it to me (which will remain nameless) told me it had a new battery. It died 1.5 miles from my house and I pushed it home. At 530 lbs. with gas, that was not easy. I don't live in a flat neighborhood. Turned out to be corroded connections. Hmmpphhh. I ride with a lot of Harleys (they let me) and my bike just blows them away. I don't know about Neil from BC, but these bikes will only do about 115-120. Maybe he had an optimistic speedo. Except for the LCD display backlight not working sometimes, it has been a typical Honda- nearly flawless. It justs takes awhile to get used to the shaft drive and the near useless rear Prolink. Aside from that, I will listen to the V-four, buy a windshield and some hard bags, and keep going.
- Jim Kurman, Ingleside, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-26 1985 Honda VF700S Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first bike. Bought it at the end of last summer. It's 15 years old and has not left me stranded. I am only riding with five gears as the overdrive went out (most bikes only have 5 anyway). It does great for the daily commute and an occasional trip to Tahoe. Next spring I am looking at buying a new bike but I am glad to have learned the ropes on a good old high mileage (cheap) bike. As a beginner's bike or a reliable daily driver it is hard to beat.
- Anonymous, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-30 1985 Honda VF700S Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my V-45 sabre for four years now. I bought it used from a friend while I was living in Whistler, British Columbia, for $1000.00 as he had just purchased a used VFR 750 and needed cash! My new/used Sabre needed side covers ($300.00), new pipes ($300.00), new rubber ($240.00), a minor tune up ($130.00), and a battery ($150.00). I was now good to go and GO I do! This bike has responded very well to all I've asked of her and I ask a lot! While she is certainly no modern day sport standard (a-la ZRX 1100) it is still easy to appreciate her '83 Interceptor heritage. This V-4 has power to spare pulling like a freight train through 6500 rpm. After that it pulls even harder and the ride to ten grand is exciting and grin-inducing. I'm a big boy at 5'10" - 265lbs (former rugby player) and my girl weighs 140#, our bags and gear have to be another 75#, and the Sabre has taken us on some wild canyon rides through northern British Columbia and barely broke a sweat doing it, passing everything but Ninjas' or R-1s' in sight! As for one up riding she is comfortable and will go all day-just the way I like it. I've seen the needle tap out @ 145 m.p.h. and she was still coming on strong with more twist to go! Admittedly she's a little nervous under hard cornering but I throw my weight around to coax her. She was not designed to do what I do with her at times, yet we get it done! What more can I say? One-up she howls! Two-up she gets it done no complaints. She's all day comfortable thanks to her upright riding position; and if you lay down on her tank a little she'll burn through the twisty stuff,(with a little coaxing and blowing in her ear!). All the while looking pretty damn good if you ask me. Fully exposed V-four looks great and sounds better with it's 4 into 2 exhaust. Tail section is gun-fighterish and very sexy. In black and silver with red trim this gal still looks really great and fresh 15 years later. For $2,300.00 I've no complaints!
- Neil Esterson, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: