Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Motorcycles Reviews (41)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-04-09 2006 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes in pretty much every category. I have a sickness...I always want the bike I don't have. That said, I think I'll be sticking with this one (at least until the VFR 1200 is deemed reliable). I have the absolutely gorgeous pearl white VFR. Compared to my last litre bike, this bike is slow. Compared to most vehicles on the road, it's fast. For real world riding, i.e. public roads with speed limits and day dreaming cagers, this bike has just the right amount of power. It's riding position isn't all-day comfortable without quite a bit of stopping but for a mid-weight sport-tourer I think it is a great compromise. The V-Tec is a fun addition. I don't really feel a huge power surge when it kicks in but it sounds upset and ready to rumble when it growls. You have to ask yourself what you want from your machine and for my needs (daily commuter, occasional 1-3 day trip) this bike is perfect.
- Bill, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-06 1999 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is probably the best overall bike ever built. It excels in the twisties. It's all-day comfortable and has Honda reliablilty. It has brakes that stop now! It just does not get any better.
- Smiles4Socal, Fullerton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-24 2006 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. It's very fast. I think it is the best all-around bike you can get.
- CHIP, OLIVE BRANCH, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-18 1998 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After reading numerous reviews and test riding a few times, I bought my 98 VFR with 9500 miles in March of 2008. I must say it is one of the best things I have done! It's reliable, comfortable and looks great, even for a bike that is 10 years old. After 5000 miles this summer, I can't wait until next spring! I would suggest this bike to anybody!
- Matt Meints, Beatrice, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-03 2006 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the 2006 in Pearl White. I'd been out of riding for a few years and at 45 just wasn't ready to join the cruiser crowd. I love my VFR. It has incredible power and handling. Great brakes tho could do without linked setup. Only complaint so far is my hand goes numb after about an hour of riding, but hopefully that will be fixed soon with Heli bars. Other than that, comfort is good, plenty of legroom for my height and good wind protection from fairing. Nice features include outside temp gauge and dual trip odometers. Factory hard saddle bags are gorgeous (but expensive). Also getting good gas mileage, from low of 38 to high of 46. Bike attracts attention, and I'm enjoying being back on two wheels! I expect to get many thousands of miles of enjoyment out of my VFR! PS: The Two Bros exhaust and P.C improved an already impressive throttle response and oh what sound!! Highly recommended.
- Steve, Gresham, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-08 1998 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike, and I've owned it for about four years. My first bike was a late 1970s UJM. My second was a large cruiser. I've also ridden every bike in the Truimph model line. If you need a bike that's good for almost any kind of riding, with styling that ages very well, and is rock-solid reliable, it's hard to beat the VFR800FI. Aside from being mechanically reliable, the quality of materials, finishes, and construction are incredible. Everything on the bike is highly resistant to aging, fading, fatiguing, cracking, or scratching. If you give it a bare minimum of care, it will keep looking and riding like new for decades. Plus, the precision, comfort, and refinement that it exhibits when you ride it are very gratifying. Without a doubt, some bikes are better for specific types of riding, such as pure sports riding and track days, or ultra-long-distance touring. But if you can own only one all-around bike and you need it to handle touring, commuting, as well as some sporty riding, I think the VFR is the best bike out there. With just a few of the right accessories, it will easily adapt to whatever riding style you throw at it.
- Tim Fitzpatrick, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-14 2005 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After numerous cruisers, tourers, nakeds, and my last adventure with the dl650, I ended up with this because I was looking for a bike that I didn't have to put up with the wind buffetting of those crummy shields on most bikes. I just wanted to be out in the clean air. It's perfect for that, wind hits right at my neck. Supersports are fun, but just a bit too radical position for me. This is quite a bit more upright compared to them. I also came from naked and touring bikes and never thought I could be comfy on a sport bike! But this one felt great right off the bat! No more sore butt for me as I don't have the weight on my spine any more. No more cruisers for me! No sore back as I guess the position must be right! And like most, I tried the bigger shield because I thought I had to have it. In the end, that was a mistake as it took away the lift and put too much weight on my arms. With the stocker it works great at hiway speed. Power is almost enough, more would be better. The smoothness of the engine is great. No vibes! As for the Vtech gimmick, I love it! Sounds great when it kicks in and feels good! I find the linked brakes to be unnoticable in my normal driving, but when experimenting with the panic situations they do work great at keeping it striaght! The brakes are fantastic either way! Mileage is nothing special,expected more from it when takin it easy. 50 mpg at best! For city driving,(which I avoid) it's not that comfy, same as a regular sport bike with the heavy arm pressure due to slow speed no lift. Same 2-up, narrow bars and high passenger no fun. And yes it needs more power.:) Same with the prairie riding, not really its thing, but then again nothing can help that!! Corners is where this bike shines! But for a guy that wants the handling of the supersports and a lot more comfort for the long haul..this bike works great! If you can ride good, none of them will leave you behind in the twisites, and from a roll this will stay ahead of the new 600's to 180kph. After 11000km in 2 months I can say it one of the best bikes I've ever owned. So far the only thing I can find that I want to replace it with is the sprint st or zx1400.
- mR, BC, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-28 2006 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike gets a lot of strange reviews, either from sport/track racers who are expecting it to be an all-out track monster, or from (sport) tourers who are expecting the lay-z-boy ride of an ST or Goldwing. It is both, and it is neither. The Interceptor is a bike that is proud to do what it does, and do it better than any one offering of the competition. If you've never had a V4 bike, riding an Interceptor will be a complete shock to you. It is dead-smooth and flawlessly predictable at all RPMs and in all situations. It goes absurdly fast with such grace that you don't realize you're accelerating faster than a Viper, and corners with confidence-inspiring smoothness and control. The stock suspension is on-par with most aftermarket offerings. The linked brakes are completely transparent to all but the most experienced riders, and do a phenomenal job of safely scrubbing speed, even in corners. It's comfortable in ways you'd never dream a sport-bike could be, with a stance that's slightly rotated back towards a 'standard' position to keep neutral weight so your wrists don't take abuse. It's an all-rounder, capable of cruising, touring, carving twisties, and even track days. Its maintenance is very low and it's fantastically reliable. This is the "sport" bike for the real world, where cross-country trips, bad traffic, and rainy days happen. The Interceptor is always up to the challenge. (P.S. The factory sidebags are fantastic. I do not own them but many friends do. They're worth every penny. If you want a more sporty ride, replace the stock tires and you will find yourself on a completely transformed bike.)
- Anonymous, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-27 2006 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I originally bought this bike in 2002 when I was living out west in Wyoming, in the Rockies. This bike was so much fun in the mountains and in the wide open roads. It is truly confidence inspiring. It handles twists and turns wonderfully, is flickable and plenty quick. The ABS brakes were a godsend out there in the mountains (snow storms and icy conditions possible year round) and are nice down here near the beach (sand and grit). I was never able to ask anything of this bike that it couldn't deliver and it actually bailed me out of a few dicey situations when I made mistakes or errors in judgement. I've never had to lay it down, I've taken excellent care of it and it has done everything I've ever asked of it.
- Trevor B., Cape Canaveral, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-09 1998 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning many VF and VFR Hondas before this I was absolutely astounded at the difference a few years can make. This one is the best! Bought used, but far from used up. First trip was the north shore of Duluth with the wife and bags, What a trip. Bike ran great the entire trip, didn't miss a beat. The sound from the D&D pipe is absolutely in a class of it's own.
- Ken Larsen, Apple Valley, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-07 2006 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in an XB9SX Buell in on my VFR at the dealership, and rode away a very satisfied owner! This bike is a fantastic 2nd bike, or maybe that elusive "keeper" bike. For me, it lacks power a bit, but it's not pokey. No wheelies from a throttle wack though, so keep those thoughts out of your head! Where this bike shines so well is riding for hours on end to wherever you want to go. I think it loses some of its charm when you go 2-up on it, but it can still be fun. One-up though, this bike is a great daily rider, and shows its handling, braking, and power to anyone that wants to flog it. I think it likes to be punished, honestly! The exhaust sound is wonderous, and completely different then the I4's. Even if you aren't hauling it, it sounds like it! Turns more heads then any other bike I've been on, and its likely the engine sound. The intake also growls with it, and the whole symphony is just amazing. This is STOCK too!
- Lanson Floyd, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-22 2006 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently did a trip on the Blue Ridge Pkwy TN - DC and back. No problems, I used to have a CBR F3 and after an hour my lower back and wrists used to hurt but on the VFR I have stayed on for 5 - 6 hours with no problems.
- jerry, Murray, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-16 2006 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ownened the VFR800 for just over one year. I ride the bike 365 days a year. It has to be raining or have ice on the roads before I will take the truck. I ride two to five hours each week east of Beaver Lake. I love to push my riding skills on the twistys and test the bikes limits. I have been using Pirelli Diablo tires and averaging 3,000 miles each set. The bike has been very dependable and trouble free. I prefer the sport touring posture and find it easy to take long rides without back or wrist problems.
- Allen Henrie, Rogers, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-08 2006 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike itself is awesome; it handles the curves nice, has a good roll-on power acceleration, the abs brakes are way overdue for this application, and it looks incredibly sleek going down the road. The only shortcoming is the seat; as it is not very comfortable, nor does it keep you from sliding around during canyon runs. I have solved this with a Corbin "Gunslinger & Lady" carbon look seat with detachable backrest for the wife. Having ridden several bikes over the years from a little honda cb 400 to a goldwing and a "gsxr"; the VFR is the best overall bike I have ever ridden. Yes, it doesn't match the gsxr 160 horses or the goldwing's comfort level, but it is a pure joy to ride both to work and for the canyon runs on the weekends. Congrats Honda, you did well!!
- Exgsxrider, Folsom, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-10 2006 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike from a dealership in Durham, NC. To be honest, I bought this bike as a "comfort" bike for the 20-mile trek to work everyday. This is not just a sport-tourer though. As of now, it seems to do everything. Immediately after buying the bike, I hit the interstate in route to the coast. The bike is just smooth. It met every expectation on the highway. Wind protection is great. The bike absorbs most bumps with ease. I was surprised at the low RPMs at high speeds. I never broke the 6000 mark, but still hit 90 with ease. Upon exiting I40, a respite at a buddy's house was much needed. As much as I loved the bike, the seat will definitely have to go. Now for the fun part. After a two-hour rest, I hit the back roads. On the interstate, the bike felt big and solid. On the back roads, the bike was nimble and quick. Forget what everyone else is saying about the bike being too heavy. The bike was just fine through the turns. It grips very well and felt like it would turn on a dime. Put simply, I was in awe of how well the bike did going in and out of the turns. As far as complaints, there are none except for the seat. It's not a softy. Other than that, I love the looks of the bike. The exhaust sounds great, though I never got on the throttle hard enough to get the full effect.
- Jason Parker, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-13 2005 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 2004 to take advantage of the carpool lane as an alternative to the (more expensive) ST1300 for commuting and have been nothing but pleased. It is nimble, quick, stable, comfortable, with better than expected wind protection. I have put 23,000 miles on in 18 months while getting 40+ MPG and with only one change of tires and a new chain. The Corbin saddle made a huge difference in comfort, and the bike has even held its own on a 1200-mile tour with 50+ BMWs. I had one mechanical problem with an intermittent thermo switch (sometimes no radiator fan) which took five trips to the dealer to diagnose and repair. Not a confidence-builder when doing stop and go riding on hot summer days. Not sure if this is an Achilles heel for the VFR, and was covered by (extended) warranty but should never have taken so long to get resolved.
- Keith Thompson, OC, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-17 2005 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My previous motorcycle was a 1996 Honda VFR750, which I regretfully traded in on this '04 Interceptor. So far, I'm not as happy with it as I had hoped I would be--but then again I've heard it takes a good 3000 miles or so to break her in. The VTEC isn't all it's washed up to be. Hopefully Honda has worked the bugs out and got it right. The VFR800/Interceptor is a wonderful motorcycle, but has a few shortcomings. The saddle for one is terrible. Get an aftermarket Sergeant. The tune up is WAY too expensive. My gripes aside... she rides very well in the twisties and you don't notice the massive weight of the beast. Overall, she's a beauty and sexier on the road than previous years. But us taller folk enjoyed the original chain drive lifters of the past. :)
- Dave, Westminster, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-13 2005 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You know the old saying, "don't knock it till you try it". This would best describe my thoughts to any and all sport riders out there. No, the VFR800 is not a CBR1000RR, ZX10 or a GSXR 750/1000. It is in a class of its own! Many riders like to talk about performance... 0-60 etc. Well, many of you can go zero to sixty for about an hour with the quickest time then get off and rest while the VFR800 rider is still quick and riding much longer with unmatched style and comfort. The VFR800 is the least compromise of any bike out there! It does it all and has it all for the guy who appreciates a quality sport tourer that can run with the best out there even those speed demons on a CBR, ZX10 or GSXR, I know first hand. Yes, 0-60 times and top speed don't compare exactly but coming in at 3.2 seconds to sixty and 150MPH on the top end, VFR's are not giving up much in the performance bracket. I'll take a world-class street bike over a single function street burner any day. When Honda does decide that it is time to go all out with a 1000cc model, watch out!
- Steve, Roseville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-17 2005 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have previously owned two Gold Wings, a 954 RR, and a CBR 1000 RR. I also currently own a Harley Road Glide. I can say this without hesitation, the Interceptor is the best all around bike I have ever owned. The bike just plain old does everthing it should do. Perhaps the only negative would be the LBS "Linked braking system". Not nearly as good as the 954 or the 1000RR brakes!
- Tom, Coral Springs, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-06 2005 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, really started to feel that the bike is broken in after 3000 miles, and I love the Interceptor. This is one of the best street bikes in the world, very good in traffic, perfect for weekend rides, stable in every weather condition, above average suspension and brakes. Saddle is a bit cheap, replacement is recommended and do not fool yourself, it is not 1000 cc sport bike, not Busa ether. I can keep up with any aggressive 600 cc, but not with 1000rr. But the riding position is very comfortable and the bike is confidence expiring. Please not that you cannot compare this to cheap bikes like Bandit or Sv by Suzuki -the smoothness and quality of VFR is not matched by any bikes in this sport touring category!
- Leo, Chciago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-25 1998 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my bike for a little over 1 thousand miles now. It was my first bike and it's just great. Pluses: gas mileage, comfort, riding position, visibility, torque, responsive powerband, linked brakes. Minuses: vibration in throttle, needs aftermarket pipes to be heard, stiff suspension stock. The V-4 engine is great and it keeps up with the inline 4 600's. Keep in mind this machine wasn't made for hard cornering without the experience and know how to do so, and stunting isn't easy to do because of the linked brakes, but it's a sports tourer and not a high output sportsbike. Driving to work, long trips, or riding 2 up for a little sight seeing is the best. Want to go really fast really quick, stunt, or outrun anything with more cc's, it won't do it.
- Gee, Brandon, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-07 1999 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got the bike and traded my '04 Ninja 500R for it. Holy cow this thing is awesome! The power in this machine is crazy. I'm 220lbs. and I can get some wicked air under my front tire. A definite must have. This bike beats any 600 or 700cc bike hands down! And the cams sound so awesome! This bike gets lots of looks.
- RIck, Rotonda West, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-03 1999 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have yet to be left behind by any sportbike rider out there on the street. Yet after the 2 to 3 hour rides we go on, I am still comfortable and ready to keep going! While they are complaining about sore backs and needing gas, I can just mingle and say: "Why? We've only gone aobut 120 miles?" I love this bike! (Too bad the pegs are so scraped away, darn hero blobs are waaaay too long!)
- Chez, Ashburn, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-03 1999 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I been reviewing this bike for the last year and finally I now own. Although its only been on the road for four days, until next year, I'm impressed with the handling,power and for what research I've done durability. I have one question are there any known faults,problems with the bike as the mileage goes up? Enjoy and ride safe.
- A.Galitzine, Victoria, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-26 1998 Honda VFR800FI Interceptor Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The VFR800FI is a real headturner, that has one of the best saddles (including the passenger) in the industry, a fully adjustable Showa suspension, decent wind protection (I'm 6'2" 210lbs), a bulletproof V-4 with flawless fuel-injection mapping and that distinctive wonderful cam-driven gear whine that pulls very strong from 3,000 to it's 12,000 red-line. Add in the predictable, powerful linked-braking-system (that has saved my ass more times than I care to admit), and you've got one of the best sport bikes ever built! Oh yeah, and you can ride 500-mile days without requiring a trip to your friendly chiropractor at the end of the day. So...what more could you ask for?
- Brian, Ft Myers, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: