Honda VT1100C Shadow Motorcycles Reviews (14)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VT1100C Shadow Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VT1100C Shadow Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-11-28 1986 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this VT1100 in Nov. 09. I had read up on it a little but was really surprised when I rode it. It will flat scat, handles great too. It has gobs of torque and pulls all the way up to red line like a mad bull. Being tall it lacks in comfort for me only in leg room, but the seat is very comfy. This bike is great. You get a speedo, tach, temp guage, gas guage and dual disk brakes up front. The new shadows give you a speedo and petcock and that's it. Power is another thing too. This bike has a full 12 horses and 7 footpounds of torque more than the 1995 and later shadows. That power difference makes for a lot more fun. Honda had the perfect V-twin motor and they went and made it worse. Thanks Honda! Now fire the idiot manager that thought up that idea and bring this engine back!
- Dave, Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-11 1986 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike in 1987 when it had 4,000 miles and in the last nearly 20 years have added about 21,000 miles. I occasionally have considered replacing it, but after even a short ride always have changed my mind. The bike has been trouble free up to now (left front fork shows a very slight oil seepage), which is remarkable since it sits idle a large portion of the year (Seattle rain and all). I love this bike enough to recently turn down an offer of $3600 - I don't think I will ever sell it.
- Tom Rutledge, Auburn, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-11 1986 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I find the value for this bike to be exceptional. I traded for one and am very happy with the trade. It rides great, has plenty of power, and will only profit if I decide not to keep it. I am also enjoying giving it a custom paint job and new chrome such as mirrors and exhaust, but I find that online merchants only want to supply parts for new bikes....the irony is that new bikes don't require parts, but the rusted chrome pipes on my ride are in need. Keep your knees in the wind!
- BHeller, Panama City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-24 1986 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes since 1969. This is my fifth motorcycle. My last bike was a 1973 Suzuki (water buffalo) which I put on 63k miles before wrecking it. (My one and only accident). I purchased this bike in 1993 and other than replacing fluids, brakes, tires and spark plugs nothing else has been done. I now have 27k miles on the bike and it runs like the first day I bought it. I also pull a pop up two man camper/luggage trailer with no problem. My only complaint is the lack of polished chrome and would like to either do something about that or I may purchase another bike that is not so labor intensive in keeping looking good.
- Gerry Stanford, Eufaula, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-19 1986 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE THIS Bike!! I had one in 87 and sold after going over Seas in the NAVY. I regreted it ever since. I found a nice one with 15K on it for a great price and I recommend this chasis (85-86) to everyone. At 17yrs old this bike still can hang with any of the new cruisers in the style department. I see this bike becomming a cult clasic in the distant future!!
- Rider, Columbiana, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-04 1986 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a young 69 years of age. I started riding again, after a 30 year absence, in 1997. At one time I had three motorcycles. In March of 2000 I was involved in an accident that totaled my 86 Honda vt1100 Shadow. After a year of healing I started looking for another Shadow. Found one in Oklohoma. Paid$3,333 for it. Just like new. Over 7,000 miles last year at 42 mpg. i don't believe there was ever a better bike built. I have covered the backroads of Texas, New Mexico, Arkansas, Missouri and Oklohome and have logged over 47,000 miles since 1997. Could afford a more expensive bike but it wouldn't be a better bike.
- Ed Barnhill, Burleson, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-17 1986 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. It only had 8100 miles when I bought it on Labor Day. Front forks and carbs were rebuilt a few months before I found it. Almost 2000 trouble free miles since has convinced me that this bike is a keeper for a long time. It is all stock with a shortish windshield that I wish was a mite taller so slipstream doesn't hit top of helmet. It starts right away and provides all the power and handling that a 6'0" 200 pound conservative cruiser could want. Shaft drive, water cooled, center stand, easy to change oil, stablility in cross winds, 40 mpg. I'll be on it first thing tommorrow.
- Mark Smith, Scottsdale, AZ

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-29 1986 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '86 in '96 with 6,333 miles. I knew the former owner. It was immaculate. It now has 34,000 miles and it seems like it is just broken in. It runs strong and handles well for a cruiser. As it gets older it seems to get better. It is not quite as cold blooded as it used to be. Warms up faster with less stumbling. I use it as a commuter ride (34 miles one way to work). Mileage is good even with a windshield. It always starts and runs smoothly. It even takes abuse well (dropped at 55 mph with only cosmetic damage). Only complaint. Most accessories are made for 87 and newer and have to be adapted to fit.
- Steve, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-17 1986 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It has been years since I've last ridden. My son has the motorcycle bug and we have gotton him a Honda Rebel 250. This has revived my interest, and for a year now I've considered buying a bike for myself. I've always wanted a cruiser and I like the Harleys. My bank account says otherwise though. At age 52 I wasn't sure I wanted to exhaust my bank account to by a motorcycle that I wasn't sure I would even drive that much. I found a used 86 Shadow 1100 that was in top condition with only 15000 miles on it. Everything was stock and it had been taken care of very well. I got it for a very reasonable price and asside from needing a new front tire and getting some work done on the turn signal switch, it is in perfect condition. I like it a great deal and at the price I paid I can't get hurt too badly if I decide that I'm not going to ride it much. It has been very reliable and is easy for an old guy to handle, while still having a bundle of performance. It is a little cold blooded and takes a while to warm up. Honda reliability and performance are all here in this bike and so far I would give it a strong recommendation.
- Michael A. Stewart, Lake Jackson, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-18 1986 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I have an '87 not an '86, but anyway I love the bike. After 78,xxx miles the stock seat finally got a hairline crack in it and is going to need replacing. Other than that and a stator replacement there have been zero problems him the bike. I consistently get slightly above 50 MPG and turn heads whereever I go. I was riding with my friend and his new 929RR and everyone that would walk by us or look at us would just stare at mine and not even give his a second look. Really pissed him off. I have added Cobra pipes and jet kit, K&N air filter, and high performance plug wires and she really screams. I put on 9,000 miles last year and look forward to putting on 10,000+ this summer. I gave it a four star rating because it only has a four-speed transmission. It works, but it would work a lot better with a five. I have thought about swapping it with the five speed from the Shadow Spirit but it will have to wait. I don't think I will let this bike go for many years.
- Joey Schlagel, Minnesota/North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-21 1986 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine used in 95' and have looked, but never considered another bike since. I can not imagine getting more bike for the money. The power and handling is superb and the comfort is on par with today's rides. The only drawback is a limited number of accessories -- so owners must be creative to get their custom look.
- Anonymous, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-28 1985 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 1985 shadow 1100 for 3 years with absolutely no problems. I have added leather bags, floorboards, windshield and different bars along with a Corbin seat. I also added air shocks on back and reworked the front forks to smooth the ride. My wife and I travel in and around Oklahoma extensively. It has performed excellent.
- Dan, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-13 1985 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for six years, and except for tires and a battery, it has needed nothing. Starts right up every time, hot or cold. Very comfortable, although the seat is scooped out a little much. It has gas and temp gauges on the tank and with the cruiser craze lately, its looks fit in perfectly.
- Ed Symes, Camarillo

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-20 1986 Honda VT1100C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this bike for 12 years. I live on the north Pacific coast of California. Not exactly a forgiving environment for bikes. This has been the most trouble free and fun bike I've ever ridden. I have been riding for 27 years. If you can find one for less than a grand in good condition buy it. I know someone who has 67,000 miles on his and it has never been worked on.
- Anonymous, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: