Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Motorcycles Reviews (11)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-11-16 1998 Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I currently have 58K+ miles on this bike. It is a fairly comfortable bike to ride even more so when I have a backrest, such as my drybag. It feels best when riding at 75-80mph on the highway. The cornering isn't all that great but that's probably attributed to its length and slightly raked front forks. Riding at speeds mentioned, I get about 110 miles before reserve. I've had to replace front wheel bearings(35,000mi), front fork seals(28,000mi), and carburetor diaphragms(49,500). For "preventative" maintenance I've replaced rear wheel bearings(37,000mi), coolant(28,000mi), spark plugs annually, rear-end grease annually, air filter when needed. First to second gear has been clunky since day one. Top speed with windshield is about 112-115mph. It is a dependable bike. There are various fit & finish items that Honda could have done better on i.e. where seat meets the tank. It could also use drain plugs on the front forks. Power/acceleration are acceptable. Overall I'm very happy with the bike. I am currently trying to find the cause of a creaking noise coming from the rear-end. It occurs at the same spot in tire rotation every time.
- Danny Menghini, Springfield, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-25 1998 Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wish this bike would give me a reason to sell it! I've had it 5 years. It's taken me all over this great country. Other than adding accessories and changing fluids and tires, it has not been touched by a wrench. I love its form fit and function. I could afford most any bike on the road but I just can't find it in me to get rid of this one. Others in my family have Harleys and a cousin has a VTX 1800R. I've ridden all of them but don't want any of them. I just love my orange Spirit. I get between 170 and 190 miles out of each tank (47 to 49 MPG). And that with 87 octane! That range puts me right at home with the much bigger bikes I tour with. Speaking of touring, I slip a T-Bag over the sissy bar between the bar and me. That makes a great backrest, which provides the support, and comfort that allows me to put in 800-mile days - no problem. There's nothing currently on the market that I want more than my Spirit 1100.
- Joe S., Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-07 1998 Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
bought my 98 1100 spirit brand new. put on sadlle bags, cobra slash cuts and a cobra jet kit. I could not ask for more from a motorcycle. the handling on the twisties for a cruiser is phenomenal. i did alot of research to find that chrome accessories from other honda bikes would fit the spirit. people just stare at the bike. will never see a bike for this price that rides and looks so good, and never a mechanical problem.
- Ed, Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-22 1998 Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Shadow VT1100 for 3 years and have yet to find a fault with this bike. Strong engine, good breaks, exceptional reliability and smooth cruising. I will never part with this bike.... and I have been licensed for 26 years. You just can't go wrong with this motorcycle.
- Tim Brown, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-11 1998 Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 17 years old and have been riding for 5 years. I have owned 3 Hondas 1 Yamaha and rode many other bikes including Suzuki's and Kaws. 6 months ago I picked up my 99 Shadow Spirit 1100 at my local dealer for 6000 dollars. It was owned by an old couple who used it only for highway driving and had low mileage not to mention all the accessories. I have put 4000 miles on it already with a recent trip to west KS (great scenery) with a trip to Colorado in the works. No trouble to date and only one annoyance the bike hates low rpms. It is quite fast (12.7 quarters) and a top speed of 130 something but it also handles and takes crappy KS roads like a dream.
- Rider, Battle Creek, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-30 1998 Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been on 2 wheels for over 35 years and have owned several Hondas, Yamahas, and one Harley, but never a Shadow. Bought my Spirit after many months of agonizing over all the makes and models currently available (yes, I even considered another Harley...briefly). After 2 years, 4 months, and almost 36K miles over every kind of road imaginable, I believe myself well qualified to espouse the virtues of this remarkable motorcycle. I challenge anyone to find (or build) so adaptable a machine as this. It's beautiful as street machine, head-turning as a cruiser, and just damn comfortable as a tourer. I've even been off-road on this bike (once was involuntary) and, while I don't recommend deep mud holes or hill climbing on dirt, it will get you where you want to go. The only drawback to the bike is it's inability to carry 2-up plus luggage for an extended trip. The passenger seat is too small for sufficient distribution of weight and, after about an hour, you'll need to allow a rest stop (unless your passenger has a real narrow butt and weighs less than 75 lbs.). However, this is a minor inconvenience remedied by a custom seat and an effective weight control program of diet and exercise.
- Tommy, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-02 1998 Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for a bike that will do anything, go anywhere and look great doing it, this is the bike for you. I researched and tested (albeit unscientifically, i must say) every major manufacturer and the same bike kept coming up as the best all around...the Honda VT1100 Shadow Spirit. This is a bike you could own for a long time without feeling the desire to "upgrade". It has the style, the power, the versatility and the Honda reliability that is hard to beat. A real winner and a great all around bike.
- Marshall, Atlanta, GA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-25 1998 Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned other Shadows, bought this one brand new. To 90% of the people out there, it is a Harley. I tell people that it's faster, quieter, smoother, and more reliable, and looks as good,at half the price of a Harley.
- Jeff Bruggeman, Joplin, MO

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-20 1998 Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all, I am an ex-State Trooper, and have spent many many years on the road with various vehicles. In April of 1998, I inherited a small amount of money, and told myself I would buy something for me. I had owned 11 various motorcycles in my adult life, from Gold Wings, to mopeds. Anyway, I researched for almost 4 months, riding, talking with mechanics, riding some more, phone conversations with consumer groups, engineers all the way to the folks at consumer reports. One bike kept rising to the top in most of these conversations -- the Honda Shadow-Spirit. Found one about 125 miles from my home, rode it, compared it with others I had ridden, and went home. About 3 weeks later, I had reached a conclusion that the Spirit was it. There were bikes that were faster, some that were more feature-laden, some with massive rebates, some with better this and that. But when you boil it all down to just the basics, durability, ease of riding, and upkeep. It is way ahead. I know that this is my opinion, but I think it is a fairly educated one, and I have all of my notes and comparison material. In fact, I reviewed it just recently to compare it with some of the 2001 models. I would still buy a Spirit, or maybe a Valk. Flip-a-coin. I would encourage anyone who is shopping for a new bike, or maybe stepping up to a larger bike to consider the Honda Shadow Spirit. Any model. Tires, oil and gas. that's it, with over 17,000 miles on it now as of April 2001, Zero, nada, zip trouble. 45+ mpg, comfortable, strong, agile, mannerly and just plain fun. If there was a flaw, it would have to be the pipes. The bike is strong ,.. just doesn't sound that way. A minor gripe, but I am being fair. It is hands down the best bike I have ever owned. I am 48 years old, and its my 12th bike. If I ever get another one, I will look at the Spirit first.
- James R. Dillard, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-31 1998 Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After two years of mostly commuting to work and running around desert from 50 - 117 degrees temp range, I think this is the ideal general purpose bike I could've found. It's light enough to handle around town, yet powerful and stable on the highway at touring/travelin' speeds. It doesn't get slapped around by semi's and with a Memphis Fats clear fairing and a little wonder I found called the "Lazyrider" storage/backrest bag (mounts on passenger seat & bungees to sissy bar), I have a real "rocking chair" comfort. I'm short (5'9, 170 lbs)) with short legs and the 28" saddle height inspires confidence even on gravel, sand, etc. My previous mount was an '85 Honda Sabre w/32" saddle height and I can't tell you how many times I laid it down pulling into a Circle "K" when a bit of sand got under shoe and I was teetering anyway just to hold it up!!! How embarrassing!! Besides, the Sabre's narrow seat would cut a slot in your rear after about 100 mi and I just had to get off - the wide cushy stock saddle of the Spirit seems to be the perfect match in firmness and support (at least for my average build). Honda got it right!! Hafta tear it from my cold dead hands!!! Wayne
- Wayne Davison, Palm Desert, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-06 1998 Honda VT1100C1 Shadow Spirit Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I enjoy this bike. I bought this bike about a month ago. I haven't ridden in about 20 years. This bike has the power for me to get out of traffic. My wife rides it too.
- Chris Reisz, Daytona Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: