Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Motorcycles Reviews (87)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-01-19 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently traded in my 1999 Honda 750cc ACE. I shopped around, read many reviews both professional and average Joe rider and decided to get a 2000 Honda Shadow Sabre. So far, I've owned it about 10 days and have logged about a thousand miles riding around mostly in the twisty mountain roads with buddies. I love the way it handles on the curves and the acceleration is very smooth on the take off. On the highways, it's really nice to be able to keep up with traffic and be able to pass cars when necessary. So far, the ride has been AWESOME.
- Alex, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-04 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Saber gets 41-43 mpg on a 124 mile at 30-110mph road trip with V&H long shots Denso Iridum plugs and a K&N filter but I do wish the tranny was a six spd. for better milage and a more pleasant cruising tone.
- j.hinkel, mankato, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-21 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Horsepower complaints about this bike are off the mark. What are you comparing it to? It's a normally aspirated V-Twin cruiser, not a V-4 Magna or a Valkyrie. It's a 55hp bike but it makes most of these ponies available over a very wide powerband. It is more powerful and quicker than a Yamaha V-Star 1100, its primary competition. Its power is comparable to the larger (non-Mean Streak) Vulcans and Intruders. The Sabre gives plenty of power for all street legal purposes, will put traffic behind you quickly and will cruise at 80 all day without complaint. If brute power is your only concern, get a VTX 1800, Valkyrie, or a Magna, or get a Kawasaki Mean Streak and modify it. If you want a good looking, good handling, smooth and rider-friendly 1100 cruiser, do give the Sabre a test ride.
- Jim Gulecas, Clearwater, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-18 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought one 4 days ago and can't get the smile off my face. Have'nt riden a large bike for 20 years, this bike just fitted like an old shoe, comforatable straight out the showroom. Only stalled it once so far.The Sabre is very very easy to get use too and corners great. Looks great, sound could be a little louder. Has heaps of grunt for this old fart. WHAT A BIKE.
- Bob, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-28 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2000 Sabre especially for the money spent. I'm 6'2" and 240 so the seat was totally unacceptable for me and the lady. Broke down and bought the Mustang Vintage. The fit and ride is totally awesome. Wish I got the backrest though. The bike is perfect for short and long rides. Only other glitch is a moderate vibration at high loads. Honda tech says pipes and jet kit only offers moderate improvement. Not worth the money in regards to power alone (yea but they would sound great!) Maybe sooner than later. I am a Honda fan for life! Gonna upgrade to an 1800 next year and the lady gets the 1100! Can't wait! Happy riding! Great job Honda!
- Cris, Lovettsville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-15 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike looks great. Can do without the windshield. I own a 2002 sabre ,and to start I replaced my pipes with V+H,jetted the cards with cobra stage 1 kit and got a K@N high flow filter.big improvement.
- michael cadete, plymouth, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-09 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the Saber brannew in Feb. of 2000. Have put just under 19,000 miles on the bike in the almost three years I have had it. The only things I have had to do is replace the tires once and change the oil every 2000 miles. I have been to Bikeweek (app. 485 miles) and have done many 100 rides on it. It is comfortable, little vibration, will walk away from most Harleys, and keep up with the fastest traffic on the interstate. I think it is a great bike and would recommend it to anyone looking to buy a good cruiser.
- Big Rod, Phenix City, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-23 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2000 Shadow Sabre is a great bike for the money. Great styling and more than capable handling make this an awesome ride for less than half of a Harley FatBoy! I added some Cobra drag pipes and got a good sound too.
- Scott Whetstine, Bellwood, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-13 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My stator took a *&%# also. I took the side cover off last night and that stator was cooked to a crisp. I initiallly thought the rectifier was bad or the battery.(I'm at 33,000 miles). The rectifier had a wire getting very hot(one of the yellow wires going to the stator) and the battery probably needed to be replaced anyways...so I thought. After replacing both items the only thing left was the stator and that's what I discovered last night. I wonder if there's a problem developing here?? I do love the bike though and hope I don't have anymore problems.
- Jerry, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-01 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Same experience. I love it but I had an extended warranty so I only had to pay a $50 deductible.
- Eddie Deleon, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-23 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 19 months and 6000 miles, I love the bike from a styling and performance side, but the stator packed it in at 5500 miles. The bike was 6 months out of warranty and not only did the factory stator cost $330, the dealer (David Brown's-Amarillo), didn't notify me of the problem I suspected so I could get a cheaper aftermarket part, they also wouldn't help cover the cost. I didn't bother going thru Honda direct, but dealers do this and wonder why I buy my filters, chems, accessories, etc. from Dennis Kirk. I love my Sabre, and get great respect from everyone from the casual observer to the Harley Yuppies, but after a $330 part quits after 18 months, I'm scared to ride around the block.
- Kevin, Amarillo, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-05 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a second review and 6000 miles later. This past weekend I drove the new Harley V-Rod at the 4 Corner's M.C Rally. It was nice to see that with the help from Porsche, Harley finally has a bike that accelerates. Would I trade my Sabre for V-Rod? No way. I was pleased to return home on my Sabre and noted I had all the instant acceleration I needed. The seat on the Sabre was very comfortable compared to the V-Rod.
- Carol Clay, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-20 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding on and off for over 40 years. Everything from 105cc to Harleys. For a cruiser, I like my Sabre very much. It handles well, no understeer or perceivable oversteer. Goes where I point it and loves to lay in to the corners on the twisties. I am 61 years old (and over weight) and the ergonomics are real good for me. Goes as fast as I would ever want to go with style. Highly recommend for a cruiser. Why pay 18,000 when you get a bike like this for just over 8,000.
- Rod Weiss (Big Rod), Columbus, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-20 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded a 01 750 ACE for the 02 Sabre. This bike fits me much better and the difference in power is great. The Sabre does seem a bit cold natured as it takes a little while to warm up. Also on acceleration the power seems to be transferred to the front fork, which vibrates until speed evens out. Anyone know what kind of gas mileage the Sabre gets?
- David, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-10 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second review input on this bike. I have 6500 miles, and recently put the V&H 2-1 pipes w/jet, soon to put new rubber on too. Look at the number of bike reviews, HONDA has nearly twice as many as any other brand (1100+) and KAW next (700+). The Sabre alone has more than any other Honda too. It's a great machine, but obviously so is nearly every other bike reviewed by the owners. I stated before I'd like almost any bike I was riding, this one is great on looks, power, handling, ease of maintenance, and now sound too. At $8k('01)+$600 mods, it's incredible, and I'd buy it again today. Sometime a new seat, but it really needs nothing. Ride safe, but ride.
- Ben Novicki, Roanoke, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-20 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have put 2500 miles on bike in two months. Wow, will she run! I was surprised by the power. From 40 mph to 85 mph, the bike will absolutely scream. Granted, not a dragster, but once into third gear, she will really go. Bike handles like a dream. Looks great too. Hell, even the HD guys can't believe a bike like this can be so good at such a bargain price. I could buy three of these for what one of those "fatboys" run. By the way, maintanence is a no brainer. Everything is accessible. To change oil in the Yam V-Star requires a degree in "Patience and Time 101. I can change this one in 10 minutes tops. Best bike in class period!
- keith, alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-18 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i am new to the cruiser type bikes, have ridden mostly sport touring type bikes in the past. i was wondering if it is typical for the Sabre and like bikes to be more sensitive to road imperfection. For example, when i am riding the backroads and passing another vehicle i get a slight wobble while crossing the center stripes. Also at freeway speeds it seems that the bike tends to wander instead of holding a good straight line. Thanks for any info other owners may have.
- Dave, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-07 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my tenth bike the last being a Wing, but I wanted something that looked like a motorcycle and and had great handling the Sabre has it all and the sound is just great as far as I am concerned. I bought the sissy bar from jc whitney because everyone else was out at the time and it fits fine completely happy with it.I also bought the mustang seat which is good but not as good for comfort as I had hoped.As far as the Sabre is concerned it the best bike I have owned or ridden.
- HC, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-07 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 6' 170# the ergonomics for me are great. Forward pegs, "great" solo saddle/height and well set handle bar. I did 1,700 miles in 8 days comfortably and confidently in the mountains (including the Dragon of 129 fame), in the city and on the interstate (which I hate). I can't imagine a better power/weight relationship. The bike loves to lean and accelerate. I did lots of research, for nearly a year, before this purchase and being an owner now I do not confirm any of the criticism of the brakes or seat. I may buy another Sabre ("02" colors are super) once my wife completes her novice status on the old Honda ACE 750. We also own 5 Honda cars (family of 6).
- Mr. Bill, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-06 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The reason why you have to get it now is that, especially if you get a flame color, people won't know what it is. There are almost none on the road. I picked up an '02 last week with the metallic silver flame and it looks way different from most bikes you see, partly because of the color, and the (finally) lack of great big decals on the tank. Bikers and automobile drivers have pulled up alongside at stoplights and asked me what it is. If you really want to disguise it, do two things 1) get the chrome side covers from Honda. That is where the identification is so that will be gone. 2) get another seat (because the seat says "Honda" on the back) Nothing wrong with Honda. Everybody knows they make a great bike so you get respect. But a custom bike is even cooler. The seat thing is also to take care of the one area that is lacking, which is seat comfort when you are going to spend more than an hour in the saddle. Other than the seat, no nits to pick other than when you wax it, it's a bit of a pain because the edges of the "flames" trap the wax so you will have to spend a little time. (the flames are actually decals over the basecoat which are then covered in clearcoat. This bike would get five stars but I have not ridden many other bikes extensively so I can't compare well enough to go with the whole enchilada.
- Dave , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-28 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My last bike was a Wing, but I decided I wasn't the touring kind. This time I wanted something more nimble and powerful without the crotch-rocket look and expense. I found everything I wanted in the 2001 Sabre. I've had it for nearly two months and 1250 miles. It has nearly the equivalent low-end torque and horsepower of the 1500cc twin Kawasaki, Suzuki, and Harley, without the higher insurance or bike weight. With just the right amount of chrome, sleek lines, water cooling, and shaft drive, I was sold. I've heard a lot of grumbling in the reviews about the lack of sound from the pipes. While others are complaining about it, I'm enjoying it. When I hear my friend fire up his Harley Shovelhead, I have to admire the bike. It's a beauty, and it sounds great. But when riding with him, it's ear numbing. The Honda, however, has a nice, quiet exhaust note, and there are after-market pipes available if I want to lose my hearing sooner. The look, the feel, and the power of this bike are all I need, but it's nice to know my wife and kids each enjoy hoping on the back to go for a short, hour-long ride. In fact, it's so easy to maneuver, my 25-year-old son is learning to ride on this bike. And, the seating position is so low that my 5 foot tall sister-in-law can hold it up while sitting down! One last thing. Accessories. You'll want a sissy bar if you carry passengers. According to my wife, the narrow seat is difficult to feel secure on without a backrest. I bought a Cobra backrest, but it did NOT fit right. When I called Cobra, they claimed I was installing it incorrectly. After some time I convinced them the problem was theirs, but they never got back to me as they claimed they would. To make it fit, I had to add thick washers as spacers between the fender rails and the brackets to prevent the sissy bar from rubbing and scratching the fender (ouch!). The Honda version is more expensive, but it fits!
- Steve Brown, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-23 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding sport bikes for the past 15 years, I was always skeptical about cruisers. After reading different reviews of the Sabre, all it took was one test ride to convince me that I had found the Bike for me. Smooth, powerful and comfortable with minimal maintenance. What more do you need?
- Ron C., St. Charles, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-15 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased a Sabre 2000. First bike in 23years. Lost my leg on the last one so this was a major decision. Needed a bike to carry my weight 300 plus. Also needed one with a low center of gravity for balance and smooth acceleration. The Sabre fits me like a glove. I'm still getting used to riding again. I feel like a beginner and some of my right turns are beginners. Practicing around my development and parking lot before i take it on a major road. Sabre is very forgiving. You can lean it a lot and not fall over. Right turns are getting tighter. I can stay in the right lane of a very narrow road without getting in the center of the road while making the turn. I'm almost ready for the heavy traffic. A little more practice and i will be. I'm a right leg below the knee amputee so i tend to favor my right side. Afraid to lean the bike over. Overcoming that and have gotten the bike up to 40mph with no problems. Smooth as silk. Downshifting is also smooth. What a pleasure to have a smooth running no vibration bike. I'll be on the road soon when i feel safe enough to handle traffic. Harley Davidson could take lessons from Honda. I wish they would. Safe riding to all. Eddy r. In fishkill, ny.
- Eddy R., Fishkill, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-07 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 15 years, I decided to get back into biking. I looked at different models, Honda Kawasaki etc... I was totally confused. Whatever I paid, I wanted to end up with a good bike. Conclusion after all this- All the other bikes probably are good bikes, But I do know after driving this bike for 6 weeks that I am complete. lt satisfied with the Honda Saber, both in price and performance.
- Edward Buchanan, Montreal

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-23 2000 Honda VT1100C2 Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Sabre (solid black) for a couple of months and I'm really happy with it. I just had light bar and Vance & Hines Longshots installed along with rejetting. The pipes made a huge difference in sound and look great. Almost too loud though, may have to tone it down a bit. My other choice was a H&D Fat Boy, but the Sabre is half the price. I love it...
- David Holmes, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: