Honda VT700C Shadow Motorcycles Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VT700C Shadow Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VT700C Shadow Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-04-24 1986 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike from the orignal owner who said he never had to any thing to it but replace the battery and tires and regular maintenance. A lot of its life has been spent in Florida and Ohio. It still looks nearly new, shiny chrome and perfect candy red paint. It still runs and rides great. It's a very nice and well built bike, loads of fun. My only complaint is, I am 69 years old and the seat is a little uncomfortable for me. If you can find a nice one buy it. You won't be sorry. PS. I also have a 2004 Yamaha 1100 Silverado with Mustang seats, hard bags and trunk and a lot of extras for long rides.
- thunder1313, Proctor, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-18 1986 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased mine used with 31K miles on it. It is short framed for my body size for more than about 50 miles at a time. The Stator went out at 35k miles, I replaced it with a Electrosport High output for less than a third the cost of honda parts. It now puts out enought amperage to reliably run a heated riding suit. In the 7 months I have owned it I have logged almost 10k miles on it and it has been the most reliable road bike I have had thus far being I used to ride mid 70's Harleys and always worked on them. I have repainted it black with silver ghost flames. In an all out drag race with my buddies screaming eagle equipped Harley XL1200C he gets me for the first 75 yards or so then the higher HP and revving of the Shadow blows by him litteraly shutting him down. Good mileage, easy maintenance. Running strong at 45k miles the bike is more of a crossover between a cruiser and a sport bike, handles very well with the proper tires and rider placement. I have scraped the pegs many times on turns, hooks up well.
- blk shadow, Port Angeles, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-08 1986 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I must say my 1986 Honda Shadow is very nice. I bought it in 2008 with only 1,400 miles. I am so proud to have this bike, it looks brand new and rides very well with no worries. I take it on long rides with my fishing tackle and rod straped to the back. With my chrome sparkling and the throttle wide open, I am off to see the sun set.
- Christopher Switkowski, Hazel Park, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-10 1986 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Thanks to everyone's review, I just purchased my 1986 Honda Shadow VT700C yesterday from a dealer who specializes in classic Honda's. This one was in "like new" condition. Only a little under 6K miles, no rust, and cherried-out! The shop replaced the fuel pump prior to my purchase in which the motor stalled after 10 miles and put on new tires (Dunlop Qualifiers). I was in the shop for less than an hour and immediately went on a 250 mile ride home. What a ride! Cruising speed of 85MPH with more HP for passing. The overdrive makes for less vibration, the low seat was perfect for my 5'5" frame. You don't see them built like this anymore...cruiser looks with musclebike power! If you find one in good shape, don't pass it up.
- Mike Pangelinan, Moorhead, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-22 1986 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike for $3000, with 19000 kms on it. Just barely broke in I'm told. I haven't got off it since I got it. It's so much fun. My first big trip is going to be through the rocky mountains this year. Lots of chrome which turns heads. Hard to find aftermarket parts for it but I'll keep trying. I might upgrade to an 1100 next year and hand it off to my girlfriend. Like to get a bigger tank and a backrest. I'll keep it for sure. Just as good to me as a $30,000 Harley.
- Mike , Cold Lake, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-13 1985 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, first let's start with the age. The bike is almost 20 years old and it runs like a beast! I got this bike two years ago with about 19,000 miles on it. My wife loves to kid me that I bought a girl's bike. The lady I bought this from was looking for something bigger. Her loss, my gain. With the redline at just over 8000rpms (plus it has a tach), the bike can haul with the big boys. Having been able to keep up with bigger cc crotch rockets and pass bigger cruisers like they were standing still, not quite sure what she was looking for? 6 speed, shaft drive, hydraulic lifters, hydraulic clutch, liquid cooled... what is to complain about? I did have to replace the stator and rectifier which did suck, but besides that, this bike has been more reliable than my car! I love this bike, rock solid. I don't understand why Honda doesn't make anything like this anymore. The new Shadows in this class are not up to par with this bike, even the 1100cc would be a compromise. They are all 5 speeds and get pretty nasty gas mileage on the expressway (where they get in the high 30's I can get about 50+ mpg going 80mph). I have looked to try and "trade upto a newer bike, but have found I would in fact be trading down. I would like hard bags, but can't seem to find any for this model. Honda, just make one of these as a 20th Anniversary bike or something and I will by it! VT700c, there is nothing better. By next year I will have over 37000 miles on it, almost doubling the original miles.
- Dan, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-12 1986 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Most awesome bike. Bought it last year from original owner; only 12,000 miles on it. This is my first bike; friends keep telling me I need a bigger bike and I surely DO NOT. Rode it to the Honda Hoot from MI to TN and back this year and it was a great ride. Of course I am a new rider, and this is my first bike . . . but I can't imagine anything being better. I've put about 8,000 miles on it since I bought it. I am hooked!!!! Love the shaft drive, low seat, looks, fact that it's water cooled -- EVERYTHING ABOUT IT. Great for cruising; great on the curves. I would like to find a luggage rack and engine guards to fit it if anyone has any ideas. Would love to hear from you!!
- Nancy Scott-Smith, Lansing, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-11 1985 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased an 84 VT700c that was in a shed for a number of years. After refurbishing it with new rubber, batteries, fluids, plugs,etc. I took it for a ride. The pegs are a little high for me and the handlebars a little too much back. I'm 6'0". This bike was designed for someone between 5'4" and 5'10". The power is very good and handling is up to par for an 84. My wife has started to ride it as it fits her better than me. A good women's bike. Bob
- Bob Pratt, Imperial, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-20 1986 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned mine now for over 15 years and have truly enjoyed it. I've averaged right at 3,000 miles per year. Averages 48 mpg but needs premium gas. My only maintenance problem was a burned out "stator & volt. reg. at about 30,000 miles and a choke cable replacement. Highly recommend Metzler 88 Marathon tires. They give me the best handling and at least 20,000 miles durability. I can never get more than 30 months from a battery no matter how you nurse it. Totally reliable, and has never leaked a drop of oil. There's little to no after-market accessories available.................woody
- woody knight, tyner, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-14 1985 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE this bike. This is my second bike. I've moved up from 400cc's to 700cc's. This bike handles the freeway quite well. I have a high windshield and that really makes a difference. The wind is NOT and issue. She gets about 120 mpg on a full tank. Not bad. I am only 5'4.5" female and my feet touch the ground. that's always a good start. The weight is such that I can handle her quite well even during slow maneuvers. She does get a little buzzy when I reach 60mph. However, I've ridden her as fast as 75mph and still had plenty of power left over. I can pass the trucks with this bike. that's REALLY important out there on the freeway. I would recommend this bike to anyone who intends to ride in the city and on the freeway. She has just what the doctor ordered.
- Niecie, Vallejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-20 1985 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine used with 28000 miles on it. Great bike especially for us vertically challenged. Smooth, easy riding and shifting. Only problem I had was the sight glass broke on brake lever. Honda wanted way too much for a new one and found out a dime (yes, a ten cent piece) and some caulking worked just fine even in the Florida heat. In the spur of the moment I foolishly sold it. Now I'm looking for another. Would recommend to anyone.
- Cherokee, Sunny Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-11 1986 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike used 2 years ago. Not exactly what I wanted but the price was right. I was pleasantly surprised, has plenty of get up and go. The only problem is ergonomics -- short framed bike dosen't work too well with a tall guy. Installed aftermarket highway pegs and that helps somewhat. I don't even use the stockpegs, do all my shifting and braking with heels. It has a Corbin seat on it, and I wish I could have tried one with stock seat. Put on about 5,000 miles and aside from normal maintenance no problems at all.
- ed, Westfield, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-03 1986 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Shadow about three years ago and have put on about 30,000 km. including some long trips. The previous writer was right, they don't make them like this anymore. The engines redlines at 7,500 rpm and according to my dealer and contemporary reviews had a peak h.p rating of 67! (Possibly slightly less for the U.S., as the Canadian version had 750 cc vs. 700 cc for the American version due to tarriffs at the time on imports > 700 cc). Compare this power to the rather anemic output of current cruisers and you will shake your head in disbelief; the Sabre "power cruiser has only about 60 hp and is 1100 cc, and even the new Harleys don't match it. The one thing about the 86 Shadow, however, is that you can't be afraid to rev it close to the redline. Aside from the performance, I get quite a few compliments on the looks of this bike.
- Christian Hanson, Prince George, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-29 1986 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
They don't make them like this anymore in this class. Shaft drive, water cooled,Hydrolic valves.....almost maintance free. bought it in 1996 with 10K on it, took it to Chaco Canyon in New Mexico in '97. Averages about 50MPG, 54 or 55 if you drive the old speed limit of 55 MPH. the only problem I have had with it is last year the stator went out, with only 25K on the bike. The bike starts excellent and is not cold blooded. excellent power and easy on fuel. the saddle is comfortable up to about 6 or 7 hour then the butt feel restless. Good bike for the short legged, a seat height of about 27".
- Dan Nordstrom, Magalia, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-25 1986 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike in the Summer of '00 in showroom condition with 10,000 miles on it(previous owner got a Fat Boy),well worth the $1,000 paid!!I have found,however,that there is an almost absolute lack of aftermarket parts for this model(not even an available K/N power filter).I have not had much problems with the ergo's,a trip to Laconia this year will find out more.Other than parts(the reason I give it 4 stars)it is a beuty of a bike.
- Glenn, Cape Cod

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-18 1986 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 83,000 miles on this Shadow! Longest trip was from Phoenix to Dallas to Indianapolis and back. Bike mechanics performed flawlessly. Ergonomics were not designed for that distance - OUCH! Good stuff: -Getting 45-50 mpg, even after so many miles, engine power has good acceleration. -Easy to handle and seat height good for the "vertically challenged." -I still get good comments on the cruiser styling (some have even ask "What kind of Harley is that?" Easy to maintain, just change the oil and sparkplugs regularly; Not so good stuff resides mostly in the ergonomics: -Limited range of only 120 miles and the "Fuel" light comes on. Reserve goes about 30-35 miles. -Limited range because the seat is only a "two-hour" seat, but you have to stop for gas by that time anyway! -Limited load capability - owner's manual says 360 lbs max, so this limits who you choose as a passenger, -Too much Mechanical trouble: U-joint in drive shaft worn out at 81,000 miles costing $300 for parts. Replaced stator/rotor in '95 and again in '00 and cost $300 each time; replaced coolant tank in '98 (they built the bike around it) and cost $400, mostly LABOR! Bottom line: Been happy with this bike since 1988. Have put 300 miles/week on it. I Abused it, and it's still going and going and going...
- Rocky WIllett, Ft. Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-09 1986 Honda VT700C Shadow Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great starter bike. Slap a windshield and Corbin seat on it and you've got a great bike to go anywhere and do anything. Add a fork brace and saddlebags and you've got well-heeled twisties and touring bike. Not too great for long hauls because of the small tank but it kept up with a BMW K100 for a 2300 mile trip. Price is right if it's in good condition. After market parts a little on the lean side, but otherwise you can invest a little and get a lot back in pure joy.
- Dave McCormack, San Carlos, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: