Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Motorcycles Reviews (52)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-08-01 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Superhawk used, it was the best purchase I've ever made!!!! It sounds great, rides great, and comfortable. There are a few problems though, the clutch likes to chatter when I launch it at the drag strip!! For the street though I don't think you'll ever find anything that turns heads like this ride!!!
- Slim Pickens, Brandon, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-20 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My best friend bought a Red superhawk and I couldn't wait to try it out that day, especially of all the good stuff they said about it. So, one leg over, left foot-click, twist the wrist and BAM!! Instant weather forecast. Even though the first thing I did was an unexpected wheelie, I was in control of the beast.....for a good block. I came back around and saw my buddy fainted on the floor, so there was one thing I could have done...........A 20 minute test ride of course!! low-mid end torque is a thrill, what you would expect of a V-twin, so put those gobs of torque in good use around town. The handling was also a nice surprise, almost effortless, just aim and shoot, not bad for a liter bike, and the the throaty grunt out of the exhausts made me rev it on red lights so it can keep on singin' those tunes. The only gripe I have with the Hawk is the ergos, I know that plenty of people say it is comfortable, and I came in thinking it would be, but after that 20 minute tango, the lady in Red knee'd me where it hurts, I tried the ol' thigh master routine on the tank but after awhile you get tired of it. I thought it was just me, but the owner of the Hawk, complained of the same thing, (we are 6' and 5'10")I really do like this bike and for the people who are comfy in it are the lucky ones. So before you buy this beauty, don't just sit on it at the dealer, try to find a way to ride her first, because this is one bike that have some riders comfy, and others hurting.
- luvmyyama, Queens, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-28 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the pickle in april of 2002, she had been sitting on the showroom for 2 long years. I was in the market for a hooligan bike. I am 39 years old and I didnt think that a sport bike wwas comfortable enough for me. When they knocked 1500 off the sticker and threw in a 5 year unlimited miles warrenty I couldnt say no. This is my second street bike but I have been riding for 30 years and had numerous bikes over the years. Mostly european. I dont know much about sport bike brakes but 2 fingers work for me on this one. I get about 36.5 mpg at any speed. I went to biketober fest this year. I felt as out of place on a japaneese bike as a cockroach at an insectiside party. I can say that this bike begs to be ridden fast. I live 87 miles from the speedway in daytona I made it 70 miles in 30 minutes, and that was taking it easy because of the cops. This bike is so fun to ride. It feels like a big dirt bike. very nimble and narrow for the knees. Comparing an apple to an apple it rules, but one day I thought I was the man and fooled around with a modified gsxr1000. I was shagging ass through the gears with full throttle blast through 1st 2nd 3rd 4th, I was ahead of him and doing 137 and getting ready to shift into 4th when I got passed like a mile marker on the freeway. He passed me doing about 155 and didnt let off until about 180. That day I realised my bike wasnt the fastest,just the funnist. Around town my bike cant be beet even by the big boys. Its perfect for traffic because of the torque, and It looks killer. I give it a 10. The only thing I wish is to be a little faster and the susension a little stiffer. Stil fast enough for the street. I ve had the bike 7 months and put 6500 miles on it. Oil changes every 2000. I could write 5 pages about the pickle, I love this bike. the yellow color is unique. oh and did I mdntion that mine sas the only superhawk that I saw at Biketober fest that day. I definently like that.
- Todd Cole, Satellite beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-20 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since I've kept this bike longer than any other I've owned I guess It's obvious i really like it. Vance & Hines pipes. Gen-mar bar risers, and Michelin pilot sports have made it the perfect bike for me. A 400mi (each way) trip this spring gave me a severe "ass ache" but not bad compared to my buddy's gxr agony. bike is bullet-proof so far with no maintenance problems at all. If you dive into a turn too fast DO NOT snap the throttle shut-- this is a V twin and the compression will literally lock up the rear wheel and make you mess your pants.
- jaybird, dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-25 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike abouy 4 months ago. It is my first sport bike I have had several other old fixer uppers. the super hawk kicks ass, It is an excellent bike to learn on. I have already put 9k on it the stock D204 lasted about 5500 miles then I went to the D207 and soon after that put the 207 on the front also. Changing the tires made the biggest difference they make draging the pegs a normal occurance. I also cut out the baffles in the mufflers with a cutting torch which works very well, put a dyno jet kit in it which boosted it up to 110hp and made it more wheelie hungry. another thing I did was convert all the brakes over to dot 5 fluid and add braided stainless lines all around. Im considering new pipes but i dont know which brand sounds the best and offers peak performance. I also want to know if anyone has put a 2 degree ignition advancer on their 996 and how it worked
- J. Zook, harrisonburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-30 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Buy if: You want lots of low end torque, loads of smooth power, and like back road twisties. Avoid if: You want more than 100 miles/tank, want to beat your friends at the track (R1, GSXR1000, RC51), or have a commute longer than 20 miles...
- JP, Mountain View, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-30 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 1st - 2nd shift is a little notchy, the front brakes are only adequate, and the suspension was fair until it got 10 k miles on it. The good news is everything else. TORQUE forever, and a decent top end rush. Awesome real world handling - probably the most user friendly motorcycle ever. Narrow and confidence inspiring, it is easy to get the most out of. And a HUGE bargain. A keeper forever.
- clat, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-28 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike is quick and handles very well. Had a small electrical problem but other than that it has been trouble free. GAS TANK TOO SMALL!
- Ernest, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-23 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Without a doubt, the best liter class bang for the buck. Save thousands on a two-year-old model still in the showroom. Light, nimble, narrow, lots of torque, lots of fun. Poor mileage (33 or 34 average but as much as 41 if ridden very conservatively) Stock mirrors are rock steady but uselessly narrow. Yamaha R1 or R6 mirrors bolt right in and are a huge improvement. Stock bars are angled poorly for my wrists, but Heli-bars are a very good fix. Add a corbin seat and a 900 mile weekend works pretty well. My first sportbike- not a rocket like the GSX1000R but plenty fast and after 3500 miles in two months still loads of fun. No regrets.
- John Anderson, Mt. Vernon, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-05 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good to start with, but needs a few tweaks. Bike ran very lean stock. Changed to Yoshimura pipes, and K & N jet kit. Huge difference! Better performance, especially when cold, and gas mileage IMPROVED 4 mpg. Gas tank is still too small. Honda dropped the ball there. Front brake needs help as well. I changed to Goodridge lines and DP pads. Much, much better. Played with the damping adjustments on the rear shock and that works pretty well. May have to do a cartridge upgrade on the front though. Mirrors are Dangerously bad, great view of your elbows though! Angle of the handlebars is a little funny, I hear Helibars is a good option. Riding position is good except for bar angle. Bike is very narrow and flicks back and forth very well. It doesn't seem to try to "stand up" when braking late into turns. Most of these things are fairly minor. One might say that Honda should have addressed this stuff. The saving grace is if you shop around, you can get one heck of a deal on one. I have been riding for 36 years, and this is one of the most fun bikes I've owned
- Will Haynes, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-12 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yes the Superhawk, I have owned this awesome motorcycle for two weeks. This bike rocks! Last year I bought a 2000 Honda 929RR. This was my first new and real bike. The 929 kicked ass but I didn't like the seating style my hands would fall asleep! I need a bike that hauled ass and I could ride for a few hours at a time. This was my first V-Twin that I've ever rode. This bike has so much usable torque. From the stoplight the Superhawk is gone!!! To anyone looking for a new bike if you want something very fast user-friendly this is worth a look.
- mj, Antioch, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-13 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To be correct my "FireStorm" as we call it up here is 2001 model. It is my understanding, that there is a 19-litre tank, modified bars, new ignition setting and new gauge cluster which differs from 2000 model. You guys in States (sorry to say that) allegedly still have to live with 16-litre tank. Hey, what's to say, all the adjectives spoken and written apply. It is beefy bike! The only thing which throws me off a bit is clunky (notchy) transmission, especially 1 to 2 and 2 to 3. Hopefully the shift wears off as km's are coming. Otherwise perfect tracking, throttle response excellent. Would like to get hugger. Who sells them on this continent?
- Denny, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-27 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Coming from a Ducati I think I have a good perspective from which to compare. 1st the good. Good engine. Tight chassis, much better than the duc. It feels like a solid piece of billet in corners. Good build quality, it's very easy to take the fairing off without a hassle. Good brakes, very predictable. Reasonable riding position, I knew what I was getting and I knew it wasn't going to be a Goldwing. I get more comfortable on it each time I ride. Great head light. The duc left me blind at night. Smooth power. Twist the throttle and hold on, even at altitude (6500+). Excellent clutch. Great cornering clearance. I've had it out on the track and it just laughs at me as if to say "that all you got?". I LOVE the race engineering incorporated into the design. Easy to service the lights/windscreen/instruments. Break in 300-mi. Beautiful sound. 37 mph after break in. AND the not so good. Geared WAY too high. 80mph @ 3.7k rpm? The rear sprocket needs at least 3 teeth. Changing the teeth will kill the speedo. The fuel injection mapping sucks. All the little dips are more noticeable at altitude. Pretty flat from 2-5k rpm, 5-6k is dead. 7k hold on for dear life. Can't just change a chip, have to get the PCII or TEKA programmer $$$$. Why didn't it come with SS brake lines? Impossible to get to the carbs without taking the tank off or the radiator/s off. That sucks. Silly flapper valve. Over sprung and revalving the shocks = big $$$$ HEAVY wheels and replacements $$$$. Initial turn in is SLOW. Once the bike turns it's easy to change directions but it really does need to come with lightened wheels. Side to side transitions create a pretty good head shake. ALL IN ALL -- What an awesome ride!!! WAY better than the duc. The 16000 mi tune-ups help a bunch. No squids allowed. If you can't ride leave the bike for somebody who can.
- Bob, Colorado Springs

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
They told me before I bought this bike that V-Twins are an aquired taste. Well I sure as hell aquired it!! This is the most fun bike I have ever owned. I recently joined a local sportbike club and it never ceases to amaze the other riders this scoot flat out rocks. It's a shame that the inline 4 bikes get all the publicity because they are overlooking a seriously great bike. A definite 10 on the grin scale.
- Martin Tynan, Cincinnati

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-07 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the "ultimate driving machine". I purchased this monster 2 months ago and can't believe the tamed power band. I had a F2 600 for 10 years and to show you the Honda reliability factor I received $3200 trade in on a bike that sold three days later. The technology put into the frame/integrated swingarm system is truly a work of art. The handling is beyond reproach with the ligther than air response time. The V-twin power is simply out of this world with the reponsiveness of the FI makes this the bike that Ducati wishes they had. Tall gearing makes city driving a hassle...but enter the onramp of a freeway and she's feels right at home. Tank pad by Honda fixes the belt buckle problem and looks good too. Just make sure you're within 100 miles of a gas station as this baby inhales the petro. Tire side up!!
- Mark Rich, Pasadena, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-25 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think that the hawk is an excellent bike when a steering dampener and aftermarket pipes are added. The real need for improved braking is more of a pressing issue than most peoples complaints about the suspension in my opinion. Over all the power and Torque at low rpm's of the V-twin in general will spoil most inline 4 riders because there is no need for as much shifting when riding hard or just cruising around town. Although coming into tight corners is tricky at first because normally inlines require down shifting and the v-twin needs to be left at a faily low rpm (~4-5 rpm). My general comparison to most riders is the hawk is like the power of a v-8 in a car and the inline 4's are like a high performance high reving 4-cylinder.
- Anonymous, Augusta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-01 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2001 RC51. THE DEALERSHIP LET ME TAKE ONE FOR A TEST RIDE. I WAS SOLD IN THE FIRST MILE. COMPARED TO MY 2000 CBR (YOU CAN'T). I FEEL MORE CONFIDENT ON THIS BIKE THAN ANY BIKE I HAVE EVER RIDDEN. DID I MENTION THE AWESOME WHEELIES IT WILL DO. FROM SOME OF THE OTHER LETTERS I HAVE READ, IT SEEMS YOU GUYS UP NORTH ARE GETTING RAPED BY THE DEALERSHIPS. TRY LOOKING HERE IN FLORIDA, THE ORLANDO TO MIAMI AREA. YOU MIGHT BE SUPRISED. I PAID 10,700 OUT THE DOOR FOR MINE. CORBIN HAS A NEW SEAT FOR THE RC51. I BOUGHT ONE THE OTHER DAY AND IT IS VERY NICE. IF YOU RACE THE BIKE IT IS A MUST, IT REALLY KEEPS YOUR ASS PLANTED.
- MIKE, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-26 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Honda should be commended for bringing to the market a true "race bike with lights" at a very reasonable price. Certainly this wasn't the case with the RC30 or RC45. Other than the need to lose about 25-30 lbs., the bike is perfect as delivered. I have never owned a bike that required or encouraged you to replace less. Reliability is typical Honda, i.e. above reproach. Parts availability at first was not typical Honda, but this has been solved now. I can highly recommend this bike to anyone who appreciates high build quality, performance and even reasonable street comfort at a reasonable price, along with a certain amount of panache that usually only comes with something Italian. The bike responds to suspension adjustments exactly as you would expect, with impeccable handling. I can also highly recommend replacement of the stock skins with Bridgestone's new BT 010's. If you have the opportunity, get you one!
- Michael Matthews, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-22 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a cool bike! I love just about everything on this bike except for the terrible gas mileage and rider positioning. When I first sat on this bike it gave me that you sit up feel but after riding it I realize how uncomfortable she can be! I am going to get some heli-bars and a Corbin seat and I should be good to go! HopONDumbAss!!! Jason
- jason liggett, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
**My first thought of riding my RC51 is that it feels much smaller than a liter motorcycle. It also feels very light, nimble and maneuverable around banking curves on twisted canyon roads. Break-in is deceiving as I asked my dealer what are the parameters of a 300mi break-in while servicing the bike at 600mi. Many motorcycles I owned in the past had break-in at 55-60mph in top gear. It felt awkward breaking-in the RC51 at 55-60mph. This is about 3,000 rpm or lower in top(6th) gear and feels like the bike is begging to be ridden harder. The dealer said just keep the revs below 5,000 rpm during break-in and you will be safe. I kept the revs at 4,000 rpm and below until the 600miles break-in. **Once the RC51 was broken-in, it is a "Monster Machinewith tons of useful torques that can accelerate you from 50mph to 100+mph in a matter of seconds. Because the torque curve of the RC51 is so potent, you don't have to wind out the engine in high revs for the adrenaline rush in G-Force increased velocity. You are never left with searching for the right gear in turns or in straight out acceleration. **The bike is extremely controllable/flickable at low speeds if having to cut lanes in rush hour' traffic. As a commuter bike, it is can be ridden very conservatively and is well mannered. On the highway if you are in a compromising situation, a light twist of the throttle will put you in triple digits' with its gut wrenching' acceleration clearing you away from any vehicle in harms way. In the canyons the bikes combination of torque and handling is excellent. On the track without worry about oncoming traffic, oil slicks and major road debris makes the average rider seem like a superior rider. For "Superior Riderslike Miguel DuHamel, Colin Edwards and Nicky Haden --puts them in the "Winners Circlefor team Honda. ** The RC51 is a sports race bike first. The ergonomics and exchangeable tail-section/seat is impractical for long distance touring and carrying soft luggage. The RC51 does not have a bike bra so a rubber strip' at your Honda dealership would help; otherwise, keep your belt buckles and jacket zippers away from the gas tank to those who never owned a sport race bike. ** I do not recommend this bike for first time or novice riders. This bike is very deceptive and though it can be ridden conservatively, it can be an UNTAMED MONSTER to individuals lacking riding experience. **I do recommend the RC51 to seasoned riders with tremendous amounts of self-control to ride sensibly, which again being a relative term. If you purchased and ride your RC51 and have not received a speeding ticket, haven't scratch your gas tank with your belt buckle or zipper, haven't wiped out because the bike was too much for you you're riding sensible;-)
- RC51 Owner , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike seems to be THA' BOMB, cause I saw it at the bike show this past weekend. Anyway, I got to sit on it and I think this is the most comfortable bike out there, just because of the feel for the bike I'm thinking of getting one of these babie's....I was thinking of a GSX-R 750, but i'm not too sure anymore and i'm usually a HONDA man, but they are darn expensive, but now I know why, cause you get the best quality for the money, that's all I got to say....
- Wayne Landry, Mississauga, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike just because i didn't want to see myself coming and going like CBR,ZX9,GSXR,R1'S.Great decision with a few needed upgrades. Yoshimura RS3 full exhaust drops 4 and a half pounds, factory jet kit, and K&N filter lets the bird fly.Brakes are soft put on galfer steel lines on front.Replace pads when stock are gone.Honda saved cash on the suspension.Upgrade to Race Tech kit for front and ship your rear in for redo to your weight.Run antique D204s until worn upgrade D207s,pilot sports,top tires right now.Shark lower fairing,killer suspension,superb power delivery,have fun trying to keep your wheel on the ground.
- Mike, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-28 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased my yellow Superhawk at a local dealer and all I can say is wow! After riding a '82 nighthawk 750 for 14 years I betrayed my Honda heritage and bought a zrx1100. After 3 months, 2600 miles and four trips to the dealer to keep the thing running, I gave up and came back home to Honda. I have followed the Superhawk from rumors to fruition. The only reason I didn't buy it first was budget. I realized my mistake and love my new scoot. Power, comfort, one-wheeled shenanigans, and that yellow paint! My Harley friends are jealous!
- Fred Callahan, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-23 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded my 900RR for a 2000 Super Hawk -- what a torque monster. I've just added Erion Racing pipes and the sound is great along with an increase in horsepower and torque. This is a bike that you can tour for hours. However be forewarned that if you are used to a four cylinder, the engine turns much slower at 60 (about 3200 rpm). Because of this I got my first ticket in 14 years (at 4000 rpm you're doing 75 mph). I have to admit the bike is real smooth at that speed. I was impressed; the officer was not. The handling is light and she will wheelie at will. If you are ready for a change from a four cylinder, you won't regret it. Just like a Porsche 911, this bike has a mystique that will want you to get back on it as soon as you get off.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-26 2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In comparing a '99 F4, which is a great bike for all around riding, lots of Fun. The RC51 has "soul," it's alive! The sweet exhaust note from the dual exhaust, and the ever so exotic gear drive whine puts a BIG smile on my face every time I start my baby up. As far as anything negative, it would have to be the "gas tank" being a little to wide in right handed slow maneuvers. Besides that, the handling, power, and looks still command a five star rating. Riding an in-line 4cyl like a F4, is "fun," but the sound and power of this new Honda twin is "FUN, FUN, FUN!"
- P-Man, Saipan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: