Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda VTR 100F Superhawk reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

52 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Slim Pickens

Brandon, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2003-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased my Superhawk used, it was the best purchase I've ever made!!!! It sounds great, rides great, and comfortable. There are a few problems though, the clutch likes to chatter when I launch it at the drag strip!! For the street though I don't think you'll ever find anything that turns heads like this ride!!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

luvmyyama

Queens, New York

Reviewed on 2003-07-20

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
My best friend bought a Red superhawk and I couldn't wait to try it out that day, especially of all the good stuff they said about it. So, one leg over, left foot-click, twist the wrist and BAM!! Instant weather forecast. Even though the first thing I did was an unexpected wheelie, I was in control of the beast.....for a good block. I came back around and saw my buddy fainted on the floor, so there was one thing I could have done...........A 20 minute test ride of course!! low-mid end torque is a thrill, what you would expect of a V-twin, so put those gobs of torque in good use around town. The handling was also a nice surprise, almost effortless, just aim and shoot, not bad for a liter bike, and the the throaty grunt out of the exhausts made me rev it on red lights so it can keep on singin' those tunes. The only gripe I have with the Hawk is the ergos, I know that plenty of people say it is comfortable, and I came in thinking it would be, but after that 20 minute tango, the lady in Red knee'd me where it hurts, I tried the ol' thigh master routine on the tank but after awhile you get tired of it. I thought it was just me, but the owner of the Hawk, complained of the same thing, (we are 6' and 5'10")I really do like this bike and for the people who are comfy in it are the lucky ones. So before you buy this beauty, don't just sit on it at the dealer, try to find a way to ride her first, because this is one bike that have some riders comfy, and others hurting.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Todd Cole

Satellite beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2002-10-28

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought the pickle in april of 2002, she had been sitting on the showroom for 2 long years. I was in the market for a hooligan bike. I am 39 years old and I didnt think that a sport bike wwas comfortable enough for me. When they knocked 1500 off the sticker and threw in a 5 year unlimited miles warrenty I couldnt say no. This is my second street bike but I have been riding for 30 years and had numerous bikes over the years. Mostly european. I dont know much about sport bike brakes but 2 fingers work for me on this one. I get about 36.5 mpg at any speed. I went to biketober fest this year. I felt as out of place on a japaneese bike as a cockroach at an insectiside party. I can say that this bike begs to be ridden fast. I live 87 miles from the speedway in daytona I made it 70 miles in 30 minutes, and that was taking it easy because of the cops. This bike is so fun to ride. It feels like a big dirt bike. very nimble and narrow for the knees. Comparing an apple to an apple it rules, but one day I thought I was the man and fooled around with a modified gsxr1000. I was shagging ass through the gears with full throttle blast through 1st 2nd 3rd 4th, I was ahead of him and doing 137 and getting ready to shift into 4th when I got passed like a mile marker on the freeway. He passed me doing about 155 and didnt let off until about 180. That day I realised my bike wasnt the fastest,just the funnist. Around town my bike cant be beet even by the big boys. Its perfect for traffic because of the torque, and It looks killer. I give it a 10. The only thing I wish is to be a little faster and the susension a little stiffer. Stil fast enough for the street. I ve had the bike 7 months and put 6500 miles on it. Oil changes every 2000. I could write 5 pages about the pickle, I love this bike. the yellow color is unique. oh and did I mdntion that mine sas the only superhawk that I saw at Biketober fest that day. I definently like that.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jaybird

dayton, Ohio

Reviewed on 2002-09-20

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Since I've kept this bike longer than any other I've owned I guess It's obvious i really like it. Vance & Hines pipes. Gen-mar bar risers, and Michelin pilot sports have made it the perfect bike for me. A 400mi (each way) trip this spring gave me a severe "ass ache" but not bad compared to my buddy's gxr agony. bike is bullet-proof so far with no maintenance problems at all. If you dive into a turn too fast DO NOT snap the throttle shut-- this is a V twin and the compression will literally lock up the rear wheel and make you mess your pants.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J. Zook

harrisonburg, Virginia

Reviewed on 2002-08-25

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike abouy 4 months ago. It is my first sport bike I have had several other old fixer uppers. the super hawk kicks ass, It is an excellent bike to learn on. I have already put 9k on it the stock D204 lasted about 5500 miles then I went to the D207 and soon after that put the 207 on the front also. Changing the tires made the biggest difference they make draging the pegs a normal occurance. I also cut out the baffles in the mufflers with a cutting torch which works very well, put a dyno jet kit in it which boosted it up to 110hp and made it more wheelie hungry. another thing I did was convert all the brakes over to dot 5 fluid and add braided stainless lines all around. Im considering new pipes but i dont know which brand sounds the best and offers peak performance. I also want to know if anyone has put a 2 degree ignition advancer on their 996 and how it worked
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JP

Mountain View, California

Reviewed on 2002-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Buy if: You want lots of low end torque, loads of smooth power, and like back road twisties. Avoid if: You want more than 100 miles/tank, want to beat your friends at the track (R1, GSXR1000, RC51), or have a commute longer than 20 miles...
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

clat

California

Reviewed on 2002-01-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My 1st - 2nd shift is a little notchy, the front brakes are only adequate, and the suspension was fair until it got 10 k miles on it. The good news is everything else. TORQUE forever, and a decent top end rush. Awesome real world handling - probably the most user friendly motorcycle ever. Narrow and confidence inspiring, it is easy to get the most out of. And a HUGE bargain. A keeper forever.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ernest

USA

Reviewed on 2001-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Bike is quick and handles very well. Had a small electrical problem but other than that it has been trouble free. GAS TANK TOO SMALL!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Anderson

Mt. Vernon, Washington

Reviewed on 2001-07-23

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Without a doubt, the best liter class bang for the buck. Save thousands on a two-year-old model still in the showroom. Light, nimble, narrow, lots of torque, lots of fun. Poor mileage (33 or 34 average but as much as 41 if ridden very conservatively) Stock mirrors are rock steady but uselessly narrow. Yamaha R1 or R6 mirrors bolt right in and are a huge improvement. Stock bars are angled poorly for my wrists, but Heli-bars are a very good fix. Add a corbin seat and a 900 mile weekend works pretty well. My first sportbike- not a rocket like the GSX1000R but plenty fast and after 3500 miles in two months still loads of fun. No regrets.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Will Haynes

Maine

Reviewed on 2001-07-05

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda VTR 100F Superhawk

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Good to start with, but needs a few tweaks. Bike ran very lean stock. Changed to Yoshimura pipes, and K & N jet kit. Huge difference! Better performance, especially when cold, and gas mileage IMPROVED 4 mpg. Gas tank is still too small. Honda dropped the ball there. Front brake needs help as well. I changed to Goodridge lines and DP pads. Much, much better. Played with the damping adjustments on the rear shock and that works pretty well. May have to do a cartridge upgrade on the front though. Mirrors are Dangerously bad, great view of your elbows though! Angle of the handlebars is a little funny, I hear Helibars is a good option. Riding position is good except for bar angle. Bike is very narrow and flicks back and forth very well. It doesn't seem to try to "stand up" when braking late into turns. Most of these things are fairly minor. One might say that Honda should have addressed this stuff. The saving grace is if you shop around, you can get one heck of a deal on one. I have been riding for 36 years, and this is one of the most fun bikes I've owned
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 52 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: