Honda VTX 1300 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (65)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTX 1300 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Phil Wilson from Merced, California says:

Well I have now over 33k miles on my 2005 Honda VTX 1300C and a new seat as posted I was going to do. This motorcycle is still a great bike.

Read More (65 reviews)

Have you owned a Honda VTX 1300 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2005 Honda VTX 1300C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I have now over 33k miles on my 2005 Honda VTX 1300C and a new seat as posted I was going to do. This motorcycle is still a great bike.
- Phil Wilson, Merced, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-01-28 2009 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ive had different bikes over the years, I'm 65 now, i bought my vtx 1300r in 2009 the last year honda made them. Best bike ive ever had.lots of power handles great, sounds great, but i did remove the fiberglass packing over the baffles. Can't say enough about this bike. If your looking for a awesome bike at a good price checkout this bike before you buy a bike.
- Roger Allen Cain, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-30 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is sort of my first bike. I had a Rebel 250 about five years ago, but to me that doesn't count. My wife slammed the Rebel after I had it a month, so my time on it was limited. The amount of confidence I had after my first ride was unbelievable! It is very balanced, very smooth and has plenty of power! My only complaint echos many others. I dislike the "cold-bloodedness" of the bike and I wouldn't mind a fuel gauge. However, this is a "Retro" bike and I suppose a fuel gauge wouldn't be very "retro." I am not the first owner of the bike and I've only had it a week, but I've already put 500 miles on it and I love it. I went into the search process looking for a Harley, anything from Sporty to Fat Boy. But I came across this beauty and I was ultra impressed by the price. Once I took the first ride, I was hooked.
- Lucky Enuf, Anadarko, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-06 2005 Honda VTX 1300C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my first street bike when I was 17 (Suzuki VZ800) traded up to a vtx1300c5 in April 2006. Was able to get a pretty good deal on a leftover model. First year I put on about 12,000 miles. Did an, give or take, extended break in period, waited until about 4,000 miles to start adding parts and getting on it. Throughout the time I had the machine, it performed flawlessly. I was 17/18 when I got it, and just traded it in this past weekend, now 21. This bike was by no means treated well. I would constantly hit 60-65 in second gear, revving that 80ci to 5,000+. Always racing import cars light to light. The bike never left me stranded and couldn't have bought a better bike. I just traded to a 2003 Harley FLSTF(Fatboy) and must say the Honda will be greatly missed, but it's always been a dream of mine to own a Harley so no better time than the present. Nothing ever failed on the bike, quality and workmanship is top. If you're looking for a machine in this class, I would highly recommend a 1300, as of 09 Honda doesn't currently offer the 1800 now that the US plant is closed, and operations are shifting back to Japan. Being my size (5'7' 150lbs) a new seat should have been in the works, but after a few months you get used to it. The pullback risers brought the bars back perfectly for me. If you would a loud and quality(subjective to each) the HK sideburners are great. As far as the tach, I never liked to rev a motor without knowing, not a necessity, but if you beat on it as much as I did, sure was nice. The Honda would definitely beat out my almost stock Harley, Honda motor turned quicker.
- Scott, Worcetser County, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-03 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it brand new in '07. It has been two years of nonstop riding; 16,000 miles, rain or shine. Never a problem! The wife also loves it! I could have bought two or three VTX for the price of one of some other brand.
- MM, North Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-09 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I loved my beautiful black 2002 Shadow 750 Ace. I rode it for 5 years. It was my first bike at the age of 65 and I loved accessorizing. Most of my riding was for local commute. The bike was easy to handle and fuel efficient and never needed repair of any kind. When I moved to another town and had to take a longer distance commute, I realized the need for a more powerful and more stable ride for the freeway. Last year I considered other bikes but settled on the VTX after one sit at the dealer. It fit me perfectly. Then I searched around and found a used, very low mileage silver 2005 VTX 1300R in perfect condition and nicely accessorized. It's been a love fest ever since. The bike is everything all the other rave reviews claim. I still ride my 750 for local errands. At age 70 now I will keep riding both until strength and coordination give out.
- Joseph Amanzio, Paso Robles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-17 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 1300R for a little over 2 years - great b-day present from my wife. Previously I owned an '83 Shadow 700 tariff-buster. After that Shadow I was a die-hard Honda Fan. This 1300R is everything I expected from Honda: reliable, easy ride and a nice aspect for us 6 feet & over folks. The tall windshield is a necessity for us on the highway. The worst possible thing I can say about it is the seat won't be very comfy on a longer haul for anyone larger than me.
- Dave B, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-14 2005 Honda VTX 1300C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 20+ years and this past spring got onto a VTX1300C after riding all the competitors bikes in this class. The VTX put a smile on my face like my former '83 V65 used to. It's what I expect from a cruiser bike and unlike other reviews I've read feel there needs to be some little vibration if it's to be a true cruiser. If I wanted a perfect ride I'd look at the Wing. The vibration is minimal, power excellent and looks are head turning! One downfall is I feel the shifting could be quieter but it's still no different than any of the other bikes I test took for a test ride. My biggest gripe would have to be accessories costs greater than that of Harley!
- Dennis, Waldo, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-09 2005 Honda VTX 1300C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I've gotten the first 1000 miles under my belt and I couldn't be happier! The bike handles like a dream. I've ridden the interstates through Metro Atlanta, and the bike is well behaved in the buffeting. I've ridden 2 up with a combined weight of about 430 pounds and the bike has plenty of power. It has been a great buy so far.
- Bill elsholz, Fayetteville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-28 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I decided a year ago that it was time for my first bike. I convinced my wife by bringing up the rising gas prices. After looking at many different bikes, I ended up going with the VTX 1300R. I have never second guessed the decision. The only knock that I have with the bike is the seat. It can get uncomfortable on long trips, but is also easily changed by getting an aftermarket seat or a seat mod. Everything else is a change to make the bike yours and not just stock. This is a great performing bike. Easy to ride and control. If you are learning to ride, this bike is easy to control but big enough to be the only bike that you will ever need. Plenty of power for those that want to go and keep up with anything out there. You will not be disappointed.
- Mark Thill, Algona, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-28 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Honda needs to put fuel injection on this bike. I've owned three Shadows in the last ten years, and they all had tempermental chokes on them. It's getting old. It could use more power, too. For a 1300, I'm unimpressed by its aceleration, and I'm aware it's not built for speed. But compared to the 750 Shadow I traded in for it, the power differential is barely noticeable, more than likely because this bike weighs so much, relative to its displacement. The seat is firm, but it's a motorcycle, not a Lincoln. And the boards touch down way too easy, unless you ride like an old man, and in that case you belong in the Lincoln I mentioned above. But it's a gorgeous bike, and fits me well, and despite my complaints, I'm keeping it. For what I paid, I could have bought two of these for one Harley Softtail, and it's better built, more reliable, cheaper to insure, cheaper to maintain, and cheaper to ride - 87 octane compared to 91 that Harley's require.
- white trash armenian, Dearborn, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-15 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After finishing the first full year of riding this Harley Slayer, a couple of obervations. 2 roadtrips of over 1500 miles a piece was time well spent. 1. Reliability: Whether an 8000 ft Idaho mountain pass or sea level on the Oregon coast highway, the carbureted 1300 performed flawlessly. No misses, no power loss nothing. No matter the temperature, 105 degrees or 5 degrees starts and runs smoothly everytime. 2. Comfort: The factory seat is torture in the first degree. I have NEVER ridden a more uncomfortable seat in 30 years of motorcycling. For less than $300, a seat from Ultimate will make you forget the factory seat ever existed. 3. Power: Add a K&N Air filter for better power. Even 2 up on the interstate the bike pulls strong through 5k RPM with 40+ mpg on the flats. Run with the 1500 Yama's and Kawa's all day. 4. Style Points: 100/100 Black and Chrome with factory Mag wheels.
- Deane Felthauser, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-30 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have riden all of my life and I love this bike. It is the perfect balance of power and size. Not to big, with good balance, and fast. Everyone needs something pretty to work on, thats why people buy Harley`s! VTX 1300c is a great American made bike.
- Loyd M, Arlington, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-17 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from a 500 MuZ to this 1300 and it's much more stable and a perfect ride. I went with the larger bike rather than the 1100 Sabre due to the salesman recommendation. The 1300 was less than the 2006 1100. Glad I made the choice for the larger bike. Plenty of aftermarket parts that look great. The bike does make an odd tapping/clicking noise as others have expressed on this website, but it's just a minor annoyance. Great power and I found the stock seat to be not too bad. I would definitely recommend this bike over the Harley Fat Boy to everyone.
- Tim Farrell, Pedricktown, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-26 2005 Honda VTX 1300C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Im fairly new to cruisers, and was having problems choosing between the Sabre 1100 or the VTX 1300. So happy I went bigger. The VTX also sounds much better in my opinion. Deeper rumble out of the Cobra slip-ons. I got a great deal on a bike that had a lot of extras already on it. The bike handles very easy at slow speeds and is plenty big to push hard on the highway. Took a friend for a ride who weighed about 240, the bikes performance changed very little. Had the same giddy up. You won't be dissapointed. For the price and Honda reliability you get, you wont look at those Harley boys with any disappointment. Happy ridin'.
- Chesty, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-31 2005 Honda VTX 1300C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nice bike that handles great. I get lots of compliments on the road. The seat could be more comfortable but all around good bike. Looking forward to putting more miles on it. Keeping the rubber side down and having a blast.
- Garrett, Ward, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-15 2005 Honda VTX 1300C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had narrowed my choice down to the 1100 Shadow or 1300 VTX. After riding a friend's 2004 VTX1300C, I was hooked. I've had my X for one month and have put 1000 extremely happy miles on the bike already. The look, style, and performance are top notch. Once I add a Mustang seat (with back rest), the comfort will be high grade as well. My thanks to Honda for turning a blank sheet of paper into a fantastic machine.
- Maverick, Wamego, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-03 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I commute 140 miles roundtrip to work every day. Driving at an average speed of 75 mph I am getting about 32 mpg. I think mileage should be better. Other than that, the bike is awesome. Some people have complained about the seat, but I have no complaints. I am 56 years old and have had back injuries and my back doesn't hurt at all on this bike.
- Gary Mabry, Corpus Christi, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-02 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Xtreme power. Xtreme performance. Xtreme looks. She's a gorgeous V-Twin delivering effortless, rumbling power with masses of torque. Unbelievable performance. She delivers low-end and mid-range torque for relaxed cruising on the wide open road. She doesnt lack any top end punch for passing my Harley riding buddies and leaves the chasing pack in the distance. She brings cruising to an all new high.
- KLC, Lebanon, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-13 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an outstanding bike. In my opinion it is the best in the mid-size cruiser class. It handles well, is reliable and looks good. The only reason that I gave it a 4 star in the comfort area is the stock seat. After riding a couple of hours expect a sore bum.
- Michael, Holt, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-09 2005 Honda VTX 1300C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I first got the bike it was everything I wanted. The first thing I would change is the seat, go with a Mustang. Stock seat is uncomfortable on long rides. Second change the front shock springs to Progressive same as the R model use the Amsoil Medium fork oil, it's a big difference. The rest is great but if you want a little more get go replace the exhaust and airbox and rejet. It's a big difference just to hang on when you crack it down. Check out VTXOA website and look at the forum. They are a big help.
- iwantsnow, Wyoming, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-04 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike after having ridden a Honda Shadow Aero 750 for two months. I found that the Aero was underpowered. I am supremely happy with the VTX. It is nicely balanced and easy to ride. It has lots of power too! I did a 2500-mile tour in May 2005 and found it to be a comfortable ride. My husband has an H-D Road King and it has way more speed than it. For a short rider, it is easy to put both feet on the ground and easy to stand it up. Only complaint is on cool mornings it takes a while to warm up.
- anita, silver city, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-20 2005 Honda VTX 1300C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked several months before deciding to get the 1300C but glad I did. It has lots of power, handles great through in-town traffic, and I get a compliment each time I take it out. Loaded for bear and none the sloucher when it comes time to get up and move. I find the bike dependable and would trust to ride it anywhere. Honda could have cleaned-up the wiring more in the front, and put the handlebars closer to the rider for added comfort.
- Jim Harrison, Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-24 2005 Honda VTX 1300C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my VTX1300C in late August and rode 2100 miles during the rest of the season. It has a ton of acceleration, great handling and smooth shifting. I got a lot of compliments on the bike, especially with the billet tri-spoke wheels, which I am now having chromed. This bike rides so smooth and comfortably. I only have one minor problem with it. The handlebars could extend back another 2 inches so I don't have to lean forward as much. This is really a minor problem when compared to all the fun I have had with this bike. I'm glad I skipped the 750 and went straight to the 1300.
- Jim B, Louisville , Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-14 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was torn between 3-bikes: the star-lineup from Yamaha has some really nice bikes and great aftermarket accessories, the Kawasaki Nomad and the Honda VTX. I checked out an H-D Fat boy, but was not going to pay 18-grand for a bike, period. Anyway, I was VERY surprised on the low center of gravity this bike has, the ease of handling and the power. One problem for me is the touchy-ness of the choke; it is easy to foul your plugs on this bike, so the choke needs to be used very sparingly. Other than that, you can get a great deal on the bike, it has a boatload of aftermarket support, it is easily customizable and one of the best deals out there. Its single crank pin gives it the feel and sounds of an H-D, but it still retains its own character and feel... You will not go wrong if you decide to purchase this bike. If you do, a seat replacement will be needed, the seat on this bike is like sitting on a brick. It is my only real complaint about the bike.
- Ouki, Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: