Honda VTX (1800) Motorcycles Reviews (37)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTX (1800) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VTX (1800) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-06-23 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my bike used in 2009. Started out looking for an 1100 Shadow Spirit then found this huge bike. I thought it was too big for me but took it for a test drive and loved it. Bought it right then and there. Comfortable riding position and sleek looks. Lots of paint colors to choose from. Love everything about the bike but it only gets around 35 mpg, which is normal for aftermarket exhaust. I would recommend this bike to anyone who doesn't mind the lower mpgs. My friend bought a new Harley three times the price of my bike. Best of wishes and enjoy the open road!
- Brent, Great Lakes, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-09 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking at (and test rode) two different bikes before I stumbled upon a 2003 VTX1800. Right away I knew that I would buy this bike. It puts you in a natural riding position and its handlebars are at a comfortable position. The only negative is the seat is a bit hard. It's not bad when you first get on the bike; it's only after you have been riding for an hour that it becomes uncomfortable. I plan on getting a Mustang seat for it which should make the ride much more comfortable.<br />The bike shifts great, has excellent pickup and rides real smooth (even at higher speeds).<br />I would highly recommend this bike to anyone who loves to ride!
- Housefire2000, Abington, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-27 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went to a local dealership bent on buying a Victory bike and they happened to have this 2003 VTX1800C sitting by the front door. I took the Victory for a test ride and came back thinking it was ok, but not great. Just for the heck of it, I decided to take the VTX for a ride. Let's just say I closed the deal as soon as I returned to the dealer. Looks, power, feel, balance; this bike has everything you could want. The only slight negative for me is the stock seat. Ok for shorter rides, but I will be upgrading soon to a Mustang, Corbin or some type of custom seat.
- Boaty, Eau Claire, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-01 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After the test ride I knew this was the bike I wanted. Get one of these and you better hang on for the ride of your life. If you want a real muscle machine this is the bike for you and you can pick up a low mileage 03 for a great price. Ride it, you'll buy it! You won't go wrong.
- Goosebill, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-30 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm just a fair-weather rider that puts very little miles/summer. I wish I had more chances to ride (if I had saddle bags, I would). My bike is customized quite a bit. I wanted to share it to show what can be done with a stock VTX. I can't compare it to stock as I have never ridden a stock VTX. But, I can say this bike has tons of torque and is a blast to ride. I have always leaned towards Honda for the quality and reliability. If you are considering a big cruiser, you owe it to yourself to test ride a VTX1800.
- Jayson, Heath, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-04 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had never owned or even ridden a Honda before I bought my 2003 VTX1800C. It's the most amazing piece of machinery I've ever had the opportunity to own! I took two road trips on it this year - once to Tennessee and once to Georgia (from New Hampshire). I didn't have a single issue with it either trip - and Georgia was down and back in 7 days (with a two day sight seeing in the middle). I'm 46 and had no problem putting 700 miles on her in a day and still getting up ready to do it again the next day! I may buy other bikes, but I will NEVER sell this one!!
- VTX1800Girl, Penacook, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-08 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have wanted a bike for many years and finally took the plunge five months ago and I have not stopped smiling since. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews and know I made the right choice. The only other bike I owned was an old XL 250 so I was a little concerned about the size and weight of this bike. Many reviewers commented that the bike was very manageable despite its weight and they were right. I have not had any trouble at all handling the bike. I started out very cautious and was soon very comfortable driving in any situation. I have taken one long trip (1600 miles) and had a blast. I drove 800 miles in two days on the way down and 800 miles in one day on the way back. The bike was so smooth and had endless power. Passing uphill was a breeze. It cruises very comfortably at 80 mph. I love the look of the bike and others seem to agree. I am constantly getting compliments. Just today at the grocery store parking lot a little girl about six years old came up to me and said "nice bike." There are two mild downsides. One as many others have said is the seat. After about 30 to 40 min. my butt and back started to ache. Mustang took care of that problem. I also thought I would get a little better mileage. I get 30 around town and 38 to 40 on the highway.
- Doug Harris, Wenatchee , Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-17 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rocks! Easily the best bike I've ever ridden! Very fast, comfortable, strong and very well balanced for a bike of this size. Like other postings the size was a little scary (I'm 5'6") and heavy but my wife and I have gotten used to it and ride it anytime we can! Harley makes a nice bike but there is no comparison to this bike. haven't had one catch me yet. Honda has finally made a great asseccory pkg. to go with it too! Fuel inj. kicks butt... start it up and go!!!<br /> Hydraulics... what else could you ask for ??? If I had to find a problem with it, it would be the gas mileage... the tank could be bigger.
- The Klown, whitman , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-26 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The last bike I had was a Honda 750 in 1981. I saw this bike (1800c) and had to have it. I bought it on June 05, it is candy orange. I just put a low custom back rest on it, which my wife loves. I ordered the highway pegs, should be in this week. I can't say enough about the comfort and performance of this bike so I'll say happy riding and be safe.
- Gary, Akron, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-27 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in 3/3/05 it's a 2003 brand new VTX. Red color and all stock except for the windshild I bought and saddle bags I had. In 1984 I had a Honda CB 750 supersport loved that bike put about 18,000 miles on it and never any problems. Sold it back in 87 and have not had a bike again until 2003. I bought a Spirit 750, nice bike but no power and to small. My local dealer had a 2003 1800 VTXc that hadn't been sold and was brand new still. I got a super deal on it. This bike is just what I wanted... plenty of power. And like another review on this web site I was a little scared at first. Now that I have almost 6,000 miles on it I am really happy. This bike will move on like a rocket. I have had several other bikes and none of them compare to the thrill of this monster.
- Ron, Duffield, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-01 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my Gold Wing to get a smaller bike and ended up getting a larger bike at least motor wise. When I saw this bike I had to have it, did not even test ride, I had the dealer install Vance and Hines exhaust and tune. When I picked it up I was shocked at how easily it handled for a 700 lb bike, also this bike is a torqe monster and as long as you learn to hang on and shift fast enough this bike is fast. I love this bike it is by far my favorite of all the bikes I have had.
- Jeff Potts, westlake, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-07 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've never owned a bike before, but did ride a few times 30 years ago. I, too, had to respect the sheer power of the bike which kind of scared me at first. But now I ask - Does it get any better than this? I bought this new and took delivery on 3/9/2005 at a very good price. Last week I rode from Ypsilanti to Auburn Hills to Port Huron to Auburn Hills and back to Ypsilanti in one day - What a ride!!!
- David Bowles, Ypsilanti, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-11 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Because of my height/weight, and my helpful salesman, I opted for the 2003 VTX 1800C. I admit I was intimidated (my first bike). I approached the bike with a healthy respect for it. After getting over the uneasy of the sheer size and power, I have to admit, I am in cycle heaven. To be very honest, my friends, and co-workers are jealous! In short, I LOVE THE BIKE I HAVE!
- Frederick Robinson, Pasadena, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-03 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With both pilot and passenger over 200 lbs, we find the VTX to be very comfortable. I'm big enough to handle the reach to the grips. First day on the VTX we rode 310 miles, and after 5 minutes we were ready to go. Looks like a tame Road King, but with 2 up and open road, it's hard to keep it under 80mph. About the only accessory I really would like is a center stand (like my '82 GL 500 had). Serioius road bike, but not too big for in town. Best bike for me, and I shopped plenty.
- Chris Campbell, Green Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-30 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden my '03 1800 Retro for the past two seasons and it runs as good as the day it left the showroom floor. I ride with a lot of "Harley" guys and eat them up red light to red light. The only down side is resale value... it sucks! But I don't plan on selling it anytime soon anyway. I wish the factory bikes were a little louder. Other than that, it's a great bike.
- John , Mohegan Lake, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-15 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my 1800c in July of 2004 and finished the season with just under 5000 miles. So far it has performed well. Gets a lot of looks and comments. Never heard "Nice bike" with my old one. It's a great cruiser with plenty of power. I have added a windshield, saddlebags, ultimate seats, and a cruise control. Plan to buy a tach and new pipes this year.
- anonymous, Rockford, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-10 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 1800 VTX in July, 2004. This is the best bike I have ever owned. This bike puts every Harley to shame. I love the HP and plan on putting a turbo on next July for even more HP. THIS BIKE IS GREAT!!!
- Me, Neosho, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-09 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had not ridden in 20 years and was really planning on a HD 883 custom, but everyone assured me at my size I would want a larger bike as soon as I rode a couple of weeks. So I decided on a v-rod or a soft tail, well no Harley dealer wanted to budge at all on price, and after a few reviews read about the v-rod and it's less than perfect cornering manners I decided that the $6000 extra in my pocket was better. To my amazement the Honda dealer just got a used 2003 vtx 1800 with 2000 miles on it and 3+ years of warranty left. It sounded good and already had extra chrome and padded backrest. With windshield installed I was on the road for less than $8000, with 3 years of warranty left! This bike has been wonderful, everyone just loves its sound and it really does look great. 85 miles an hour is smooth as silk and PLENTY of throttle left... too much in fact. The linked brakes are great as well. I'm so glad I went with a Honda and especially happy I decided on the 1800cc even with the gas mileage it gets. The power is just awesome.
- Steve Castelloe, Blanchard, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-21 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine last July and only have about 1400 miles on her, but wow, what a beast! Tons of power! Very nice ride on the highways. Would have given a 5 star rating, but a few little things like no gas gauge, no tach, and short 125 mile range. Overall, after doing a few minor modifications and adding some accessories, very happy with the bike! GO BUY ONE!
- PPP111, Platte City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-29 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For the price it's hands down. For the size, hands down the biggest v-twin made. For just under half the price of a Harley. I can get a set of pipes that will make it sound better than any Harley out there. So if a name is what you ride, then you can have it.
- redman, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-08 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just sold my HD 1200 Sportster and bought a leftover VTX. WOW!! It was like comparing my '72 VW Bug with a new Lincoln Towncar. Except the Towncar has a rocket engine in it. If you like noise and vibration, get an H-D and in the process spend an additional $15,000. If you want to grin while you are passing all the Hogs on the road, buy this bike. You won't be sorry!
- NRAHA, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-30 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Once you ride this VTX 1800C, other bikes will seem puny, weak and too slow. It's not a sport bike at 750 lbs, but it is a total hoot to ride. Will handle great with a few mods, you can still scrape the pegs if you lean it over too much, which you will want to do! Motor is fantastic, cannot lug in any gear, will smoke all cars, other cruisers and most sport bikes from a stop or a roll-on. Honda was having a clearance on new '03's... you can't afford to not buy this bike if you love motorcycles. Men will look with envy, women will smile and mothers will cover their childrens' eyes when you ride by. H-D riders will be baffled as you blow by them going up a hill and they become tiny specks in your mirrors (which are smooth as glass). Forget what you heard about cruisers being slow and boring.. try the VTX and plan to sell the bike you own now.
- wombat, the sticks, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-08 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new VTX 1800C yesterday for a fantastic sale price. What's the catch? It's a 2003. So what, it's brand new, straight out of the crate. This is a great, easy to ride bike. I couldn't be more pleased. It sounds great and although I haven't explored the throttle too much, the engine is loafing at highway speeds. All I plan to add is a windshield before it gets too cold. Highly recommended.
- Marion Blair, Lafayette, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-11 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have purchased a 2003 VTX 1800. This came after months of research of several different models. I had narrowed my choice down to Harley V-Rod, Fat Boy or the VTX. I must admit I was really looking to go with the Harley Just because that is what I always wanted. But for some reason I kept coming back to the VTX. It was the most well rounded Bike I have found. It had looks, power, comfort, reliability and value. I could not find all of these in the Harley. So I must say this is a fantastic Bike. Once you get past the whole Harley image thing and look at what you are getting for the money The VTX in my opinion is the best all around choice.
- nad, cincinnati

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-10 2003 Honda VTX (1800) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Originally I put a deposit on a 2004 VTX 1300, but got impatient waiting so I took delivery in Janurary of a 2003 of a VTX1800 in stock. I was a little dissapointed in having to pay a few thousand more for what I thought was excessive power and fuel injection, etc. WRONG! This bike is awesome! It handles like a dream at slow speed, and solid and comfortable at high cruise. I do not ride a lot nor go on long trips, but the money was still well spent! I love this machine, it is truely a pleasure to drive and own!
- Ed Schuman, Tinley Park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: