Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda VTX (1800) reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

39 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

RPM Freak

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-12-06

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a used Motorcycle shop in Chattanooga Tennessee, and I have had everything type of bike ever made. The Honda VTX 1800 is the best bike ever made. I messed up and sold the first one I had, but I bought another one and I'll keep it. The Suzuki R1092 doesn't even come close as far as reliability and comfort. Love my VTX, and you will to if you can handle the power. This bike will get you where you want to go, and get you there quicker than you can imagine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Digital Rodney

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (1800)

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
When Honda came out with the VTX I wanted one. It took a few years, but during the summer of 2004, they had too many left over 2003's and they had what they called a "Fire Sale". At the time, I lived in Indianapolis, and I drove to Illinois to pick-up a brand new 2003 VTX 1800. With .2 miles, I pulled the bike out of the dealership garage into the rain. After a few other stops that were a mini-vacation, I got the bike home with nearly 500 miles on it. This was the first brand new bike I had ever purchased, and I vowed to ride it to six digits. I have to say those 100,000 miles came with only regular maintenance. No major issues ever. I took my VTX as far west as Carlsbad, NM, north to Lake Superior, south to the Rio Grande, and along the east coast. Besides never letting me down, the bike is always a joy to ride. Powerful and nimble. It is as comfortable on the highway as it is on the backroads twisting and weaving. I wore down one set of floorboard back to foot pegs to prove the handling and fun factor. One of the best features is the linked braking. The back brake also works the center cylinder in front brakes, this brings the bike down in corners and to stop in a level fashion that gives you good grip with the front wheel. You can trail brake much better. It makes you a better rider. After 18 years and 110,000 trouble free miles I finally moved on to another ride. Time for someone else to enjoy the VTX and all it has to offer, and it still has lots of life to give.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brent

Great Lakes, Iowa

Reviewed on 2009-06-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought my bike used in 2009. Started out looking for an 1100 Shadow Spirit then found this huge bike. I thought it was too big for me but took it for a test drive and loved it. Bought it right then and there. Comfortable riding position and sleek looks. Lots of paint colors to choose from. Love everything about the bike but it only gets around 35 mpg, which is normal for aftermarket exhaust. I would recommend this bike to anyone who doesn't mind the lower mpgs. My friend bought a new Harley three times the price of my bike. Best of wishes and enjoy the open road!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Housefire2000

Abington, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2008-09-09

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was looking at (and test rode) two different bikes before I stumbled upon a 2003 VTX1800. Right away I knew that I would buy this bike. It puts you in a natural riding position and its handlebars are at a comfortable position. The only negative is the seat is a bit hard. It's not bad when you first get on the bike; it's only after you have been riding for an hour that it becomes uncomfortable. I plan on getting a Mustang seat for it which should make the ride much more comfortable.<br />The bike shifts great, has excellent pickup and rides real smooth (even at higher speeds).<br />I would highly recommend this bike to anyone who loves to ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Boaty

Eau Claire, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2008-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I went to a local dealership bent on buying a Victory bike and they happened to have this 2003 VTX1800C sitting by the front door. I took the Victory for a test ride and came back thinking it was ok, but not great. Just for the heck of it, I decided to take the VTX for a ride. Let's just say I closed the deal as soon as I returned to the dealer. Looks, power, feel, balance; this bike has everything you could want. The only slight negative for me is the stock seat. Ok for shorter rides, but I will be upgrading soon to a Mustang, Corbin or some type of custom seat.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Goosebill

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reviewed on 2007-04-01

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After the test ride I knew this was the bike I wanted. Get one of these and you better hang on for the ride of your life. If you want a real muscle machine this is the bike for you and you can pick up a low mileage 03 for a great price. Ride it, you'll buy it! You won't go wrong.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jayson

Heath, Ohio

Reviewed on 2006-12-30

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm just a fair-weather rider that puts very little miles/summer. I wish I had more chances to ride (if I had saddle bags, I would). My bike is customized quite a bit. I wanted to share it to show what can be done with a stock VTX. I can't compare it to stock as I have never ridden a stock VTX. But, I can say this bike has tons of torque and is a blast to ride. I have always leaned towards Honda for the quality and reliability. If you are considering a big cruiser, you owe it to yourself to test ride a VTX1800.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

VTX1800Girl

Penacook, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2006-12-04

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had never owned or even ridden a Honda before I bought my 2003 VTX1800C. It's the most amazing piece of machinery I've ever had the opportunity to own! I took two road trips on it this year - once to Tennessee and once to Georgia (from New Hampshire). I didn't have a single issue with it either trip - and Georgia was down and back in 7 days (with a two day sight seeing in the middle). I'm 46 and had no problem putting 700 miles on her in a day and still getting up ready to do it again the next day! I may buy other bikes, but I will NEVER sell this one!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug Harris

Wenatchee , Washington

Reviewed on 2005-10-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have wanted a bike for many years and finally took the plunge five months ago and I have not stopped smiling since. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews and know I made the right choice. The only other bike I owned was an old XL 250 so I was a little concerned about the size and weight of this bike. Many reviewers commented that the bike was very manageable despite its weight and they were right. I have not had any trouble at all handling the bike. I started out very cautious and was soon very comfortable driving in any situation. I have taken one long trip (1600 miles) and had a blast. I drove 800 miles in two days on the way down and 800 miles in one day on the way back. The bike was so smooth and had endless power. Passing uphill was a breeze. It cruises very comfortably at 80 mph. I love the look of the bike and others seem to agree. I am constantly getting compliments. Just today at the grocery store parking lot a little girl about six years old came up to me and said "nice bike." There are two mild downsides. One as many others have said is the seat. After about 30 to 40 min. my butt and back started to ache. Mustang took care of that problem. I also thought I would get a little better mileage. I get 30 around town and 38 to 40 on the highway.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

The Klown

whitman , Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2005-09-17

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Honda VTX (1800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike rocks! Easily the best bike I've ever ridden! Very fast, comfortable, strong and very well balanced for a bike of this size. Like other postings the size was a little scary (I'm 5'6") and heavy but my wife and I have gotten used to it and ride it anytime we can! Harley makes a nice bike but there is no comparison to this bike. haven't had one catch me yet. Honda has finally made a great asseccory pkg. to go with it too! Fuel inj. kicks butt... start it up and go!!!<br /> Hydraulics... what else could you ask for ??? If I had to find a problem with it, it would be the gas mileage... the tank could be bigger.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 39 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: