Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Motorcycles Reviews (45)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-04-03 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first cruiser and love it. I have driven sport and dirt all my life and decided to give this a shot. (it takes longer to heal the older you get) Easy to ride, handles well in traffic and plenty of power for crusing. The only complaint is the stock seat, numb bum after a hundred miles and you don't get used to it. I bought an Ultimate seat and now can ride all day.
- JCA61, Corner Brook, Newfoundland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-01 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome bike! I had a Yamaha 1100 Vstar and got rid of it - too small. The Honda VTX 1300 is the best bike I have ever owned. It has more power and rides better than I had hoped. I put sampson pipes and a pro hypercharger on it and had it dyno tuned. I was comming back from Sturgis last year with a passenger and fully loaded, and still got 50 mpg. My butt did not even get tired. The handling in the rain was perfect.
- Earl, Casper, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-10 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 1300 Retro for almost two years now and it is one of the "most fun" motorcycles I have ever owned. It has enough power to come on strong if that is what you like or it can get out on the highway and run 75 all day long without any problems. I upgraded the seat to an Ultimate with backrest because the stock seat was just not up to snuff but other than that the bike is as I bought it. I threw on a few other extras such as Rivco highways pegs and J&M amplified speakers to support my XM radio. I have been on two fair trips on this bike and have no complaints but only praise. Nice change of pace from my Wing.
- Mitch Mitchell, Euless, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-18 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 1300R in May, 2003. After a short break in trial on the seat (2000 miles), I put on an aftermarket seat. My last machine was a '76 CB750F. Now I'm at 16500 miles and it's due to have valve clearance checked, meaning I have to give it up for a day. It's like leaving my kid with a sitter for the first time. Overall, it's the best machine I have ever owned.
- VTX13Rider, LaFayette, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-18 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2003 is virtually identical to the 04 & 05. The power is more than enough for my size of 6'3", even with two up on the highway; I always have power in 5th to pass. Moves out 0 to 60 in 5.5 seconds which prompts the question - Why would I need to go from standing still to 60 mph in LESS than 5 seconds? It is a great cruiser and not top heavy like the 1800. The 1800 is a great bike, but I get terrific rewards from the 1300 and easy handling around town on the short fun rides. After driving 220 miles to Americade in NY, I immediately added a Mustang seat. It was excellent on the 220 mile return trip and makes riding the 1300 complete. The single pin crank gives it the traditional motorcycle rumble which is what actually sold me on this bike; I believe it is the only Honda engine that has it.
- Chuck McGowan , Westwood, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-09 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have waited a while to place my review. I have owned this bike for the third summer now and I love it more than ever now. My bike is one of the first ones out ser # 951. I have owned it new. The seat was awful. I replaced it with a mustang seat, a must in my opinion. I have also added a Memphis shade 21" windshield. Both these items increased comfort dramatically. I have rode the bike in NY, PA, GA, NC, SC and FL. It has never let me down. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a nice cruiser.
- Bigdog, Lowville, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-14 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In February of 2002, I had a brand-new CBR600F4i stolen from me. Deciding that maybe that was a hint to get away from sportbikes for a while, I talked with the Honda dealer about a replacement after my insurance check arrived. He told me that a new cruiser, the 1300 version of the VTX, was coming out in an early release that May. I liked the brochure, so I put my money down and waited. 16,000 miles later, I must say I've had very few qualms with this motorcycle, and it's produced an overall pleasurable two years of riding for me. The Good: It's got great bang for the buck. There's simply not anything else that really compares at this level from the other manufacturers. You get plenty of torque and horsies, styling as curvy-sexy as Jayne Mansfield, a low, comfortable seat height, and pretty good balance and handling for a 700 pound motorcycle. And you get all that for a great price out the door. Now that it's mature, the bike is also easily accessorized. Best of all, it's got that Honda quality (mostly) built-in. Which segues to... The Bad: Overall, it's definitely traditional Honda quality, but there are a few niggles, and they're quite minor. First is the well-known radiator fuse problem. The fan is drawing right at the limits of the 10A fuse, and can blow under a heavy load, (i.e. - when it's dog-stinkin' hot outside). It is worth noting, however, that I've only had this happen once in over 17,000 miles on this bike, and I live in Houston. So it's not a really big deal, and Honda provides an extra fuse in the box. As I said, a niggle; overall, this bike is bulletproof as far as mechanical reliability, just like the rest of their products. On another point, it seems that all of Honda's design engineers think all Americans are 6'4" tall, with arms like a gorilla. Every one of their cruisers that I've ridden seems to have the bars set just a bit too far forward and down, forcing you to stretch and slouch forward just the tiniest bit. Over short distances, this is not really a problem, but over a 500-mile day, it can become very tiresome indeed. This, however, is now fixable, with the arrival of aftermarket pull-back risers. Just a note to Honda: We're not all professional basketball players over here. Start putting pullbacks on your cruisers, please. The Ugly: Not much to say here, except that there are a lot of overly cheap plastic parts on the bike. I know this is done to hold down cost, but some of the pieces, (e.g.- turn singal housings), are just plain crappy, in both look and feel. Not very Honda-like at all, especially when set next to one of their excellent and top-quality sportbikes. Of course, your views on this may vary. I like tightly-fitted, well-designed parts on my vehicles. Even one cheapo-looking part can spoil an overall impression, if it's prominent enough. In summary, I'd certainly not hesitate to recommend this motorcycle. While it's a little large for a beginner, it's a good second bike. I would also recommend it over the 1800 version, both for pricing and design reasons. The 1800 bikes are simply too top-heavy. They handle about like an empty superfrieghter in a hurricane. If you're in the market for a cruiser, this motorcycle should definitely be on your test-ride list. I've certainly enjoyed the two years I've owned mine, but now it's getting a little boring; time for a return to sportbikes for a few years. Happy trails.
- JTMauney, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden a long time., mostly off road. Looked long and hard at a cruiser that would look good, ride good and not break me. Looked at the 1800 and now that I've had the 1300 for a year, part of me says I should have gone with the 1800, but most of me says the 1300s is a better balance all around. Plenty of power, wobbles occassionally in the front end(lot's of big bikes have similar issues), but all in all a very reliable and predictable ride. Great Ride. Everyone should take a rider safety course!
- Jim Driscoll, Bulverde, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-07 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I have had my 1300 retro for about 3 weeks and just wanted to give my 2 cents because I would often read these reviews before I bought mine. Overall it's a good bike so far. The glitches are that I have a small oil leak from one of the valve covers that I hope can be taken care of at the 600 mile service. Also I lost one of the bolts that hold the seat. And after seeing this I found a few others that needed to be tightened. Those are the negatives. The positives are a great look and good performance. My wife and I ride two up most of the time and it handles the job great. I think I will be happy in the long run.
- Devin Bush, Elba, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-27 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the Illusion Blue Retro cruiser. It wows everyone, biker or not. Has decent power and pick up. Decent handling though I tend to scrape a good bit. I do get head bobble with my Memphis Fats windshield. I am also hearing some vibration of the instrument console around 25 miles per hour but it goes away at other speeds.
- David Machado, Maylene, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-03 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a Honda 350, 750 Nighthawk and an 1100 Shadow. This bike is the best I've ever owned. It is 2003 and I'll keep it for a long time. I never wanted to look at other bikes, because I was satisfied with the Honda tradition. A good quality bike at a reasonable price.
- Paul Laskodi, Ft. Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-15 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only one complaint about my 2004 Retro, it's too darn cold and rainy to ride. I have owned several bikes in my lifetime and this has got to be one of the sweetest yet. Smooth ride, great handling, and no problems at all. I am a member of the VTXOA and we share the same love, Honda VTX 1300.
- James, Elmer, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-07 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2003 Illusion Blue 1300. I installed Roadhouse slip-ons and DID NOT have to re-jet. They sound great. I get compliments on the bike all the time.
- Robert Harris, Hernando, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-01 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a 2004 1300 Retro in black and it rocks big time. I drilled my stock exhaust before trying aftermarket pipes, it sounds great and not too loud. The only complaint I have so far is the seat. I will be spending some tax refund on a new ultimate seat. Otherwise this is a great bike, powerful, smooth, and looks great.
- robby parrish, frankfort, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-17 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Big engine .. low weight .. handles great for a cruiser ... I'm no featherweight and it gives what I ask of it.
- BIG DUCK, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-03 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1300 Retro Runs out perfect at any speed and handels great. The only thing I don't like is it is very cold natured must be warm to run right. I run a bike hard. My dealer told me thats the way a single carb twin runs, and upon asking other twin owners inc. Harley I find this to be so. The bikes great handling makes up for this small problem. Would sure like to see a fuel injection system on this bike.
- Randy, swanton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-26 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAD NOT RIDDEN A BIKE IN 20 YEARY I AM 47 AND HAVE WANTED A BIKE FOR A LONG TIME, BUT THERE WAS ALWAYS SOMETHING ELSE THAT I NEEDED MORE. I FINALY DECIDED TO BITE THE BULLET AND BUY ONE. I wasn't SURE WHAT SIZE OR KIND BUT I HAVE ALWAYS LIKED HONDAS. I FINALY PICKED THE 1300 RETRO AND I LOVE IT. LIKE I SAID I haven't RIDDEN FOR ABOUT 20 YEARS AND THEN THE BIGGEST BIKE WAS A 750. THE 1300 WAS A DREAM COME TRUE. HANDLING IS UNBELEVEABLE, RIDE IS GREAT, THE FACTORY SEAT SUCKS!!! PLAIN AND SIMPLE I HAVE A MUSTANG SEAT ON ORDER AND JUST WANT A LITTLE MORE SOUND SO I ORDERED A SET OF ROADHOUSE SLIP-ONS. A BIKE THAT RIDES, HANDLES, AND LOOKS THIS GOOD NEEDS TO SOUND GOOD. WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY?
- NOEL LUM, CARTHAGE, Mississippi, 39051

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-05 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We bought our 2003 VTX 1300 Retro in july and have had nothing but fun with it for 4000 plus miles. Took a ride to the Las Vegas bikefest and it rode great on the road with my wife and four days worth of gear in the back. Put 900 miles that weekend. Lots of power in all gears. Rear seat could use some work for the better half. Who wants to ride alone when you can have a great time with your better half. My next bike will be a Goldwing but I will never get rid of my VTX. It's just too much fun to ride.
- David Quintana, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-10 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned several bikes before this one, have ridden several others, and this bike just puts a smile on my face every time I ride it. I read things on this site regarding uncomfortable seats, backfiring, and head wobble, but i just have not experienced anything but pure riding pleasure. I like the seat, absolutely no backfiring (just a pleasant rumble), and after running hard enough to drag pegs (though not particularly hard to do on a cruiser) I have not experienced any wobble whatsoever. Unlike some other bikes I have ridden, I love this bike more as time goes on. I finally did something right.
- scott etheridge, asheboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-26 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the VTX 1300 in May 2002. Have put 10,000 plus miles on it. The longest single day ride was 947 miles from St. Louis, Missouri to Rapid City, South Dakota in sixteen hours. Put 3000 miles on it riding to Yellowstone in Wyoming and back on that trip without a hitch. With a windshield, lightbar, risers and a mustang seat as add-ons, this motorcycle was excellent for long distance cruising. I took a couple of bag, bungeed to the rear and traveled much of the trip above 75 mph without missing a beat. Have a Garmin GPS unit mounted to the handle bar and my VTX has an odometer that agrees with the GPS within a tenth of a mile after 947 miles. The GPS reads 68.5 when the speedometer reads 70 miles/hour. GPS read 87 mph when the speedometer reads 90 mph. It is fast enough, comfortable enough and economical enough to meet all my needs for cruising. It handles twisties better than me (having a preference for open highways and long sweeping curves). It is well balance and accelerates in all gears like it wants to get somewhere in a hurry. My biggest problem with this bike is trying to kick into sixth gear sometimes. I also have the other problem of cruising at seventy-five miles/hour and then wanting to shift into sixth gear, only to find that I had been driving in fouth gear for the past ten miles. A Great bike!!
- l.merrins, Maryland Heights, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-04 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a black 2003 Honda VTX Retro 1300. I initially wanted a Harley, but the $20k+ pricetag was way too pricey for me. Ever since the first time I rode the VTX, I haven't given a second thought to a Harley. The VTX rides better, feels better, is more dependable, and has plenty of power. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone who wants a very nice, comfortable, fast cruiser, but doesn't want to take out a 2nd mortgage on their house to buy it.
- Alex, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-21 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my 99 Honda Shadow Aero in on my VTX. I was skeptical that I would notice much difference moving up to the VTX from an 1100. Boy was I wrong! The VTX is, incredible, much easier to ride and control than the 1100. But, the power, acceleration and cornering ability so far surpasses the 1100 that it is impossible to compare the two. In fact, I recently read a review on this bike that said the VTX 1300 will "stomp all over most 1500 and 1600 cruisers. I believe it.
- NoDakGus, Saint Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-17 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my bike 6/10/03 Illusion blue I'm 6'2 260 and this bike makes me feel like a little kid. The bike sounds great looks great and handles realy good with plenty of power. I'm having some Engine noise.(Ticking)
- GP, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-17 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the VTX1300s "Retro" 2 weeks ago and have been extremely pleased with my purchase. The look and feel of this bike is right on the money, in some strange way I feel like Marlon Brando from the Wild One when I straddle this machine. It is without doubt a very good looking bike and the price is such that no one could complain, so if you're looking for a classy cruiser then look no further than the Honda VTX1300S.
- Stephen Beaumont, Paulsboro, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-12 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1300) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got it on 04/16/03. I have 3000 miles on it .Need I say more.
- Anthony , Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: