Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Motorcycles Reviews (35)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-07-30 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've taken long trips through the mountains and across the prairies and this bike won't quit. The fuel injection allows this bike to scream down the road at any elevation. For the price and performance I don't know how I could ever match it again. This after 28,000 miles of every extreme condition and speed there is.
- William Ardrey, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After shopping for 2 years for the perfect bike, I found a sweet deal on a 3 yr. leftover '03 1800R. I know, how lucky is that? I had looked at several makes and models but being a man of large stature, the 1800 fit better by far. The performance is unsurpassed. I've only put 5k on it but haven't had the first worry about anything to do with the reliability or quality of the bike. And for comfort, amazing. It's great for the big boys out there. If I had 5 thumbs, they would all be up for this one.
- Jeff, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-11 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own an 04 VTX 1800N. It's a sweet and powerful bike. I love it and it has a sweet custom paint job - orange/dark brown tiger strip w/tons of chrome. It turns lots of heads. It's priceless to me, eat your heart out Harley!
- HUGH, FRISCO, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-08 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my retro VTX 06/03 and since then I have bolted on tons of chrome and a set of Vance & Hines pipes. The VTX has been reliable. The only thing I have done is replace the tires at 4500 miles and change the oil every 2500 miles. Honda makes a great product and I am looking forward to owning this bike many more years.
- John, Fishkill, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-21 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 VTX 1800R right out of the box. My last M/C was a new 1979 Honda Gold Wing, a plain Jane, nothing on it and it was pure power. My VTX has never been to the shop for anything, I change the oil and it has not been in for the valve check, if it runs good, don't mess with it!It's a Honda, it will last forever, very low maintence. I had the Honda package added at sale, upgraded widshield w/large light kit, studded saddle bags, sissy bar w/pad. Just came back from a 400 mile trip to San Antonio Texas, beautiful ride, smooooooth running VTX with power to spare. The only thing I changed was the seat, put a complete Mustang w/backrest(studded)seat, it rides even easier now on longer trips. I was behind a Gold Wing at 80mph all the way home, not a problems 2 up on my VTX. A superior M/C that you will not want to trade in unless it's for another VTX.
- L.L.Sherwood, Sugar Land , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-21 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE THE BIG BORE POWER OF THE 1800 BUT, IT'S NOT AS RESPONSIVE AS I WOULD HAVE HOPED. IT'S A BIT TOP HEAVY, SO SLOW SPEEDS ARE A DRAG. THE STOCK SEAT IS A BIT HARD ON THE REAR IF YOU RIDE VERY LONG. THE BIKE HAS A GREAT DEAL OF QUALITY TYPICAL OF HONDA. IT DOESN'T REQUIRE A LOT OF TROUBLE TO KEEP THIS BIKE RUNNING. IT'S A GREAT BIKE AT LEAST UNTIL I CAN GET A WING!!!
- STEVE O., OAKDALE, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-08 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking at the new Dyna Street Bob, and really had my heart set on a Harley, when I came across this beauty sitting up the street from my house. I have had a couple of Hondas previously (81 CB500, 83 Nighthawk) so I took it for a test spin and fell in love with the bike. I don't know if I'll ever get a Harley now, but I'll never want for power or performance from this thing. Just awesome.
- Bryan, Watertown, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-16 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 03 Retro as a holdover in May of 05. So far I am putting about 2K miles on a month. My last bike was a Suzuki Intruder LC 1500. It was more comfortable than the VTX; however that was the only thing I liked better. The VTX gets 10% better mileage than the Intruder, about 43 on the road, and it is a hoot to ride. You can ride through small towns and drop your speed to 40 without having to shift down. Living in the sand hills of Nebraska, I truly appreciate the way it handles in the wind. Side winds and semis were a problem on other bikes, but the VTX holds the road like a champ. I replaced the tires at 6800 miles with Metzler 880s and so far I really like them. Had trouble with a rattle in the headlight which the dealer fixed and now have to replace the starter solenoid, warranty too. All in all, a very good bike which ran great in the black hills.
- Dale Sallans, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-17 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike, it handles well when moving. It's a little tougher in traffic but then again it is a big heavy bike. I did have a couple of chrome problems pop up the first 2 months of owning it but was taken care of from the dealer. I did have a problem when I removed the front wheel for repainting of bike, the front left caliper bracket was rubbing the rotor. It took a while to cure that, otherwise the bike is great and next bike might be 2005 neo, love the looks...
- Dallas Ehring, Eastchester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-15 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is an awesome piece of machinery. Almost all of my riding buddies ride hogs, but I couldn't see the extra 10k for what seemed like less bike. Boy was I right! I love to tease 'em when we ride; ride next to them in 4th or 5th and just twist a little and they are WAY back there! I have a Mustang seat and it helps a bounch with the sore butt complaints, but the power on the rides and the looks at the stops more than makes up for any loss in comfort. I had a chance this month to trade-in for a brand new Nomad (I've always loved the Nomad) but I tested it and after my Retro it seemed small and underpowered. I'll keep my VTX for quite a while I think.
- Kevin McLeland, Amarillo, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-14 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I cannot believe how fast and smooth this bike is. I went to pick it up today with one of my friends that rides a Hog, and he cannot even believe how beautiful this baby is. He kept saying how good the orange looks in the sun. Every time we went to stop, he would get off his Harley and look at mine in awe. I know I have only about 250 miles on it but I had to write a review about how much I like my new baby. Before I purchased her, I read all the reviews and promised that when I got mine I would write one as well. And here it is: The only thing that I am going to change is the pipes. A bad bike like this needs some VANCE & HINES! I do admit, the seat does kind of get uncomfortable, but who cares... just move your rear around in a different position and it feels great again. Another thing that this beauty could use is a tachometer (Cobra). I had one on my last Honda (Shadow) and it was beautiful. One more point to make. I cannot believe how this thing moves from stop to 5th gear and beyond. It's amazing. Well, hope this review helps everyone on making a decision. Zoom... See ya!
- Jack, Lawrence, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-03 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
An area Honda dealer offered an awesome price on a 2003 VTX 1800 R and it was too good to pass up. The bike had no miles on it and was the color I was searching for. Wow! I drove my new bike home last Tuesday and have been buzzing around on it for the past several days. Although the day of purchase was windy with the temperature in the high 40's, the 150-mile ride home flew by. As for this bike, the machine is a best buy on the bike market. After thoroughly saving money and researching bikes, I could have bought a cruiser by Harley, Yamaha, or Kawasaki, but the truth is, the VTX 1800 R allowed me to put more muscle and rubber on the road than any of the competitors at a far better price. The stability and classic look of the bike are great. It feels like a rock. Oh, the ride, I almost forgot. I put five hundred down the first day I visited the dealer and told him that I would be back in a couple of days. After thinking it over, I started to wonder if that 1795 cc bike was too big. I am 5'10 and 165 lbs. The dealer told me it was my choice, but then told me that he thought the bike's weight (750 lbs.) and power would not be too much for me to handle. Finally, rather than going with the 1300, the 1800 R came home under me. The ride was great. Semi-trucks, winds, hills and the like were no problem. The dealer was right! After one week of riding, I am confident that I have the right bike. As for the folks at Honda, I must say, "Way to go guys. The VTX1800 R is a winner!
- Kirk, Ellison Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-22 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
1200 miles and love it, sitting here in NE Ohio Winter with 11" of snow and dreaming of cruising. I have been riding street bikes for 32 years, last bike was a 800 Kawasaki, decided to go with a new cruiser. Was looking at a Harley, but my job allowed me to visit the Marysville Ohio motorcycle plant and see how the VTX 1800 was assembled. My company's equipment welds the gas tank, brazes the filler neck into the tank and other operations, anyway I was so impressed after the visit to the plant I bought one. Loading my 1 man tent and bed roll, I traveled from Ohio to the Blue Ridge Mountains in Virginia, the bike handled like a dream, no vibration or fatigue after hours of cruising. I pitched my tent on the side of a mountain, and the sun set and I dreamed of riding this great cruiser in the AM. No better feeling in the world... Have fun and drive safe.
- Rj, NE Ohio, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-12 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In the words of the late, great Lowell George... 'I've driven every kinda rig ever been made.' I'm no spring chicken, either...I've been riding since 1984 and have owned 10+ cruisers from both sides of the pond. <br /> Last winter I decided I deserved a nice new bike and an absolutely world class one at that. I rode a Triumph R-3 at a show and was very disappointed. I did some more homework and had pretty much decided on a 2004 Road King Classic. However, before making the final decision, I wanted to take a closer look at Honda's VTX as I'd heard good things. I wanted the biggest, baddest cruiser I could lay my hands on and had resigned myself to lots of expensive upgrades to give the Harley the power that the manufacturer should give them all. That is a subtle hint, boys. Well, to make a long story short, the Honda dealer talked me into a test ride. They even loaned me a jacket and a helmet. I was thunderstruck by the power and handling of this very classically pretty (think Marilyn Monroe in steel and chrome) but intimidating motorcycle! This bike was a monster and to be honest was a handful in the parking lot due to long wheel base and sheer mass, but once on the road...she was in her element. The 'X' was a dream to ride with superb balance, a 45 lb. balanced drive shaft and limitless power, etc. There was a bit - ok, a lot - of driveshaft whip but some throttle control on my part helped. This bike had a frighteningly fathomless reserve of power. don't forget to hang on if you really get down on it, even in 4th gear. I rode early on a Sunday morning and had the NH and VT countryside pretty much to myself. I found some hills and turns to test the 'X' and she just grooved through them with grace and surprising agility for a full-figured girl. When we broke into open farmland straight-aways, the dairy herds morphed into something resembling a Dali painting as the 'X' smoothly and effortlessly rolled past 70, 80, too scared to look down. After gently scrubbing off some speed, I did a brake test. When I cranked down on the integrated brakes, she dug in and stopped smartly. Soon the Harley and all its needed upgrades were a dim memory and I found myself saddled up on a new Illusion Blue 1800R, cast. 7500 miles later and I find myself more enamored with every ride. After getting used to the length and weight of this bike, I'm comfortable in every riding situation except soft sand or gravel (she's just too heavy for that). <br /> Many of my riding partners have trouble keeping up with 'Iris' and I. On one of our last rides for the season, we did some serious hill climbing in 20 degree sunshine. I pulled over at the height of land to let my riding companions on their zip-splats, Harleys and a brace of Indians catch up (a common occurrence). Even hauling my considerable bulk, she didn't even get winded on those hills. When the others arrived in the parking lot there was a strong smell of something acrid coming from a Ninja and the air-cooled bikes sounded like they were coming apart at the seams as they rapidly cooled in the cold mountain air. <br /> You probably can't tell because I'm so subtle, but it is my belief that the 'X' is a clearly superior ride. If you ride a cruiser, do yourself a favor and check them out. Ride one and you won't want to ride anything else.
- Ken W, Lyme, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-06 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rented a VTX 1800 for a 1,000 mile tour of Florida. I liked the bike for a lot of reasons - it looks great, is well-built and very stable. It also turns quite easily (though Fla has few turns). There are problems though: acceleration is choppy and you get occasional lash from the shaft drive. Many false neutrals. The front brakes are not up to par and the rear brake is too close to the engine guard (not sure if e.g. is standard so that may not be a big deal.) Stock seat is a killer as well... I own a Honda Magna and love the Honda engine and workmanship. I liked the 1800 - but didn't love it.
- Paul, Valley Forge, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-29 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the opportunity to get some excellent saddle time the past couple of weeks. First my wife and I rode the Overseas Highway from Miami to Keywest, then trailered the bike up to North Carolina for some sweet cruising along the Blue Ridge Parkway. This bike is just a smile a minute, the performance of this machine is impressive. A flick of the wrist in a passing zone causes objects to become very small, very quickly. While deep mountain inclines with two up and full saddlebags did not even get this torque monster to breathe hard. This is one very smooth riding V-Twin, there is no vibration visible in the mirrors at 100mph. This bike handles about as well as can be expected for a motorcycle of this size and displacment, it did real well in the mountain twisting turns, although I did scrape the floorboards twice (without much consequence). In the comfort department I heard a lot of complaints about the factory seats and my wife said her rearend gets numb after a couple of hours in the saddle. I find the riding position to be very comfortable and don't have too much trouble with fillups on long rides. There is that infamous driveshaft whip when applying the throttle and coming off of it, but it can be tamed with a little throttle control and proper use of the clutch. As far as looks and style, this bike has it going on. Harleys, well they look kind of puny when I pass them. This bike gets thumbs up and turns heads wherever we ride. We often hear the comment, "that's a Honda? Wow!" After it's all said and done this is twice the bike in performance, reliability and looks of a Harley and at half the price, it's a no brainer! Ride smart, Ride safe.
- Ralph o, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-17 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my 2003 1800R two months ago and I can't get off it! Best decision I could have made. Power is awesome, ride is superb. When riding 2 up, can't even feel the difference. What a kick butt bike!!!
- Tripper, Centereach, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-21 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike on the 30th of July, 2004 and I can't believe the power and great handling it has for such a large bike. Whole hearted recommendation for the entire VTX line of cycles. I love all the attention I get when I roll up to work. Everyone lets me know how much they like the bike and wonder if they can ride her. I let no one ride my girl!
- Nathan, Des Moines, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-30 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked for all info on all bikes for many weeks and the Honda 1800 VTX Retro kept coming out on top. I wanted a bike I could cruise with my wife at max comfort and could still kick but when it is time. This is the biggest, fastest, smoothest, great balanced bike that looks great. You will understand when you own this bike and look at all others and I mean ALL other bikes and feel they got cheated on CCs, horsepower(106), looks, chrome, comfort, high performance and price ($1000's less then most)! Got to go... time to ride, take care!
- Ken Emmeck, New Ulm, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-26 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I doubt I will ever regret buying this motorcycle! Smooth AND powerfull--what more could you ask for. In 4th gear the bike runs 50-60MPH, with awesome acceleration just a twist of the throttle away. My girlfriend made the comment that at 70mph she can't even hear the engine running, it's that smooth. Plus with a rebate from Honda, I paid less than a friend of mine paid for a VTX1300! Get one before they are all gone!!!
- Bob Flanigan, Fort Wayne, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-08 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my VTX for about one month, but have been too busy with prior commitments to truly enjoy it. That is until today! Three friends and I rode to Mt Ranier (about 150 miles round trip) and the VTX handled better than I could have imagined. We stopped along the way to take some pictures and a family who were on vacation all gathered around my bike and took pictures and complimented me on what a beautiful motorcycle I had. I even let Mom and daughter climb on for their pictures too. It sort of pissed off my friend with his Harley Softail Heritage... I think it made him jealous. I averaged 40 MPG and that was with averaging 60 - 70 MPH and most of the time in 4th gear. When I turned the throttle, the bike responded with sudden power. When I bought the bike, I acually thought it was more than I needed and I was very intimidated by its size, however, the bike handled the twisties with ease and slow speed maneuvering became easier and easier. I do have to admit, though, that I do have to "practice" some more to have full confidence. Afterall, this Motorcycle is 300 lbs heavier than my last bike, so it feels, handles and rides completely different. Bottom line is, I am completely happy with my decision to buy my VTX1800. I think every person who rides it would also be happy.
- Rob S., Kent, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-25 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best motorcycle I have ever owned. It sounds awesome, runs terrific, looks great, and has plenty of power. So far there has been nothing that can compete with this bike... especially Harleys!
- Joe Sequin Jr, Cumberland, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-24 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Acquired my VTX1800R with cast wheels 2 weeks ago and I can't stop riding it. This is my 6th bike and probably my last. I am definitely spoiled. Smooth nimble ride for such a big machine. Bye-bye Harley guys. Vrooooooom
- STeve, Bellevue, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-30 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not picked up my new 2003 "Candy Orange" VTX 1800R Honda V-Twin cruiser yet. The dealer is installing my new saddlebags, windshield, light bar, passenger floorboards, sissy bar w/ bag, front bag, custom Cobra exhaust, and what ever else I can come up with. That beautiful machine looks like a Harley, sounds like a Harley, but it runs like a Honda. If you sit it in a lineup of 99 Harleys &#038; put the VTX somewhere in that lineup, I'll bet $10,000.00 that no-one could pick it out, if they walked down the line blindfolded. It makes Harley owners, jealous, especially on a steamy hot day, stopped in a line of traffic. That bike just sits there and growls, and when the traffic moves, so do it. The Harleys are heated up and stalled. Too bad, so sad.
- Jim Magee, Charlestown, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-06 2003 Honda VTX (Retro 1800 Cast) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had made my mind up to buy another cruiser but took the VTX on a short test ride. that's all it took. If you're looking for a big cruiser with lots of power than you owe it to yourself to at least test ride this bike. Afer nearly 9000 miles this season I'm convinced that it was the right choice.
- mario fernandes, hudson, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: