Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Motorcycles Reviews (91)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-11-08 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have enjoyed getting back into the bike riding world since the gas prices did what they did in '07 and '08. Even with some relief at the pump, I still wouldn't give away my VTX 1300. It is a real pleasure to ride and very reliable. It has plenty of power for me to move ahead of anyone I need to and do it with class. Many people remark what a real looker it is.
- Keith McVay, Farmersville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-26 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike on 7/25/09. This was the first time I have ever rode a motorcycle. It handles very well, it is comfortable and easy to manuever. I would recommend this bike to any one who is thinking about purchasing a bike, but thinks it is too complicated to ride.
- william ferguson, bunkie, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-03 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 1300C since May of 2006. I bought it new, even though it was the 2004 model. It is my first motorcycle, fresh out of the MSC. It seemed too large and powerful at first, but I have since learned to control it, love it, and push it to its limits. At my height and inseam, an 1800 might have been a better choice, but I adapted my 1300 for comfort and style instead. Overall, the 1300 can't be beat. Solid performance and great looks - just a great package. I have updated many parts to improve the ride quality and comfort, but even stock, the bike is great. I've done many short and long trips, two-up, with lots of luggage, and the VTX has always performed like a champ. I would recommend it to pretty much anyone looking for a metric cruiser.
- Adam, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-13 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my VTX 1300C brand new on 3/18/06 and put 13K miles on it in 9 months. I added Vance and Hines Cruzer II pipes and rejetted the carb, custom leather saddle bags, tool bag and highway pegs. I've driven the bike through rains and storms and even 30 mph winds. I have no problems with the bike on the highways. Can't even tell when Semis pass by. I weigh 280 without the riding gear and saddle bags packed and the bike has no problem accellerating or cornering at high speeds. It has plenty of pick up in the higher gears, even 2 up. The custom fenders and pull back handlebars are great and the mag wheels are excellent. If you want to buy a name and be a weekend warrior (1000 miles a year), then buy a Harley. IF you want to ride and won't settle for less than quality and a great ride.....then buy a VTX. The VTX is an excellent motorcycle.
- Chris C., Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-18 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having put 30,000+ miles on different machines before this bike, I can tell you that this machine rocks! It loves the twisties and running flat out. I never get tired of riding it. Found it new in a lost crate at a local dealer and bought it in Apr '05. Only average about 500 mi/month on this one, but that's not by choice. Wife loves to get her butt on the back and fly through the back country with me. Did I mention it loves the turns? The usual Honda 2nd-gear-clunk, and a tad cold natured, but this thing runs and sounds oh-so good! Lot's of second looks and compliments on looks. Bought a low-rise sissy bar for my honey to keep her butt from flying off, other than that, ride it stock. 80mph+++ wind resistence is not bad at all -- much better that any ride I've had. The 1300c is all the power you need if you wanna stay alive. Awesome acceleration and crusing speed. Did I mention it love the turns? Ride one. You won't wanna get off. Even with the stock seat. Gotta say that even though I don't get much butt fatigue even after couple hundred miles, my honey goes a tad numb after an hour due to the rather limited passenger seat dimensions. Hey did I mention how it LOVES the curves?
- JT, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-28 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 1st bike that I've owned and I am completly in love with it. The sport cruiser is a must have style for those getting into riding and the VTX 1300C is a must. I bought this bike and can't stay off her. The only down side is the gear shift clunk when shifting and exhaust, otherwise this is a sweet machine and I'm the envy of all my friends when I role up!
- Corey, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-19 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have now owned this bike 2 years and have taken it from CT to Bar Harbor ME, Montauk L.I., and various states in and around New England. Has never not started, stalled, made any unusual noises except for the 1st to 2nd gear clunk and back. Common to these bikes but eventually goes away according to the manufacturer. I love the bike and would never trade it except maybe for a newer one.
- Michael J. Pappa, Sprague, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-20 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in Sept. 2004 (20 months) and have 18,800+ miles. The secret to getting a great ride came about when I purchased the "Ultimate Mid-rider" seats for me and my wife. I have added a few accessories and enjoy riding on the winding roads going north of Hot Springs and the bike is easy to handle in town driving.
- Jim Flint, Hot Springs, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-06 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have never been so pleased with a bike. 30 years of riding smaller bikes was wasted. A dream and very much Honda. Thanks from a lady who loves to ride and is riding the best!
- Becky, Seagoville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-08 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is quick and loves to lean. I love the winding roads. Straight line performance is great, but it sure is fun twistin' and turnin'. The speedo seems off. The dealer tells me if it says 80, I am probably going 72. Added Cobra pipes and jetted the carb. It sounds great and gets alot of looks, even standing still. I am glad I didn't go smaller. How many miles are you getting per tank, without switching to the reserve?
- Steve Stang, Nashua, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-06 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In two weeks 800 miles and only minor complaint, The seat could be more comfortable. All other aspects are top notch. Good gas mileage. Great on the highway. And compliments from everyone that see's it. I'll be on my way to Sturgess Miss in a couple of weeks. Thanks Honda for another great bike.
- Roy Bolton, denham springs, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-04 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A pleasure to ride. Runs great right out of the box. Just a great feel. A real value for the price, and it looks just as great!! Just sold my 2004 sportster 1200 roadster which I was very disappointed in and went straight back to Honda. Keep up the good work Honda!
- Rick, Branford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-27 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 22 so money ( or lack of ) was important when buying this bike. The 1300C is a very nice bike for the price. It clunks into gear a little more than I'd like, but I'd still take it over any other bike in the same price range. It's plenty fast stock, but could use a little more top end. I rode my friends sportster home from the dealership for him a couple weeks ago, and kept thinking "what a piece of bologna." Glad I went with a Honda instead of a low end HD. Just put some VH big shots on it and man!!! sounds amazing!
- Neil, Shaw AFB, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-26 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is an incredible investment. I looked at both the 1800 and the 1300 and for the price couldn't justify the extra horsepower. My 1300C has all the power I ever want, even with a rider. The stock pipes sound better to me then some of the after market ones offered. My only complaint keeping the review from 5 stars all around was/is the stock seat.
- Kurt, Freeport, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-06 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took an employee with me to Honda one day to show her the 750 I was thinking of getting. She diverted me to the big flashy Silver VTX 1300, which I had never even considered. She said the smaller bike was girly. That pretty much closed the deal for me. Good thing. I've got three motorcycles and the VTX is the best looking, most comfortable, biggest engine, most highway able and, smoothest thing I drive. It came with a buzzing in the plastic speedo pod which drove me crazy for months before I disasembled and fixed it using tips from an internet side. Other than that, it has done extremely well during its first 2500 miles. This bike turns heads and I can blow past practically anything with a slight twist of the wrist. It's a comfortable, fat, smooth, reliable cruiser. With Spring/Summer brewing in Tucson, I'm riding this thing a lot and loving it.
- K. A.S., Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-27 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a small female rider and the bike fits me great! My feet touch the ground with room to spare and it is more comfortable than most of the 750's or 1100's (except the seat is awful). The weight is a little intimidating but after the first mile I didn't care. I thought the "klunk" from first to second was something I was doing, relieved to see it's not just me. I have no complaints, it's a blast to ride and I absolutely love it! Girls don't let anyone tell you it's too big, I went from a 450 Rebel to this and have no regrets. don't worry about the "klunk", like my husband told me "it's a Honda, you can't hurt it." Break it in then have fun and ride it like you stole it!
- Linda, Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-26 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. I bought my '04 VTX 1300C in February '05. This is the real deal guys. I've gotten more comments than you would believe. I just made a 100 mile ride about a week ago without even blinking an eye. Smooth ride, responsive acceleration, awesome looks... what more could you want? You guys complaining about the "klunk" from first to second; quit whining... it's shaft driven. It doesn't bother me. To those of you shopping: Go out and buy one, you won't regret it!
- Brian, Macon, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-23 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I Bought my 04 1300c in December 04. I have 1500 miles on it now with most rides about 100 miles in length. Yesterday, though, I took a 225 mile ride over Oregon's beautiful backcountry roads, taking advantage of the good weather. First thing you'll notice with this bike is that it loves corners. Leaning in and throttling through corners on this bike is so smooth. The throttle has an ever-so slight "lag", which may be due in part to the shaft drive lash. Power to weight is really nice, even with a passenger. With such a side torque band with this v-twin, 3rd gear works great when on real winding roads, just needing to throttle up and down most of the time. I tend to ride more in 4th gear than any other when on the main road. 5th seems only right when above 65mph. I just had to open up the throttle a time or two to see how fast she would go, you know, and with the Hypercharger intake, this baby just inhales and flies! Its deep throaty sound at full throttle is guaranteed to bring a smile. If you think you need a faster bike than this one, then leave your brains at home. Its zero-to-sixty is a kick in the butt too, by the way. (Hang on tight) I only wish it had dual brakes up front, like the 1800. At first you will notice a rather annoying shift noise (clunk) from 1st to 2nd. Honda, as well as the on-line forums, will tell you it's normal for any VTX. Use synthetic blend oil and it'll smooth out and quiet down some. Nothing to worry about, though. Remember, it IS a Honda. As for that seat... it'll be something you'll probably want to replace if you plan on riding any long distances. I have a 40 mile butt with this stock seat, before I have to stop and let the discomfort subside. My wife likes to ride with me, but the stock passenger seat isn't meant for more than a quick trip. My next big purchase will be a new seat. Then there is the handlebar position. It needs to be back and up just at few more inches to help keep the arms and shoulders from fatiguing as soon as they now do. The fixed risers on the 1300c look nice, but don't make it easy when it comes to modifications. And, of course, Honda had to make their VTX riser spacing "non-standard", so every other handlebar in the world wouldn't work... (Growl) The 1300 motor doesn't like to be run cold. It'll pop and backfire a time or two, when under load, until it feels it's warmed up enough. The choke won't stay open on its own, so you have to actually sit there on the bike while it's warming up and hold the choke or it creeps open. Some riders have commented about fouled plugs after a couple thousand miles. From what I can see, this fouling may be due to Honda's configuring this engine to be a highway runner and not a low rpm loper. The plugs do tend to foul up when riding in town. Re-tuning should fix that problem if that's the predominant kind of riding one wants to do... Either that, or just get out and run it up and out a bit more often. Overall, it's a decent bike. Looks good, runs good, is $3k-5k cheaper and 100lbs lighter than a VTX1800, and a good $10k cheaper than a Harley, and no less fun.
- Doug, Dallas, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-23 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 1300C (Black) in May of 2004 and have enjoyed every head turning minute of it. All my Harley buddies say it looks great and are surprised by the power and sound. Over all it is a great bike for the money! They could offer you a better seat (hard on the old bum).
- M. Lanham, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-21 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 52 years old and this is my first bike. I bought it 3 weeks ago and ride as often as I can. The bike is comfortable, agile, and has plenty of get up and go. The Candy Red VTX looks great. I feel that Honda has matched up a great machine with a great price, too. Can't wait to set her up for long rides through Texas.
- Pat, Deer Park, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-16 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I have to say "WOW"! I never thought I would be the owner of a motorcycle. Last Thanksgiving, my father-in-law let me drive his Shadow 750. I got the bug! Next thing I knew I was looking at used bikes and straddling all kinds of bikes at the dealerships. I ended up buying a great bike from a guy privately. Last night I took it out on the highway for the first time and just loved it! I'll post another review and maybe a picture once I get some more miles under my belt. What a bike!
- James, Jiggs, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-09 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We rode a '79 CX500 for two years before we moved up to our first cruiser. My wife had never ridden until we met and she took to it right away. The seat was a problem so we replaced it with a Mustang, right after, we put a sissy bar on. Wife felt like the extra power of this honey was going to throw her off. The stock seat would let us ride about 50 miles before the pain necessitated a stop and walk to get some feeling back. The Mustang seat cured that problem but it was slightly lower and I was stretching to grip the handlebars. We found some nice riser blocks that moved the bars back a mere 1 1/2 inches and now it fits like a glove. Have a K&N air filter on the way and a Memphis Shades windshield will be here tomorrow. We get a lot of bugs of significant size here in Georgia so the windshield will add to our enjoyment. I was reluctant to add a windshield but some of the june bugs at 60mph or so are like being hit with a large rock. Considered re-jetting the bike but the gains just don't justify the cost and I LIKE the stock pipes. We get a lot of bikers through here during the summer and those straight pipes make no sense to me. Why should a motorcycle be louder than a semi or dumptruck? I'm not sold on the "loud bikes are safer" baloney. Overall, even with all the plastic, it's a great looking and riding machine.
- Lonnie, Chickamauga, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-25 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is quick and easy to ride. I love it when I am out on a ride and a Harley rider comes up beside me and asks the question "how quick is it"? That is the last time he will ask. I have not yet had a stock Harley keep up with my stock Honda. I wish it had electronic fuel injection and louder pipes, I guess you can't have everything.
- Wheel, Coshocton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-08 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I JUST GOT MY VTX1300c IN OCTOBER. THIS IS MY FIRST BIKE I HAVE EVER RODE. AND I HAVE TO SAY WHEN I SAW IT AT DEALERSHIP I WAS PRETTY FREAKED OUT ON HOW BIG IT WAS. BUT THIS BIKE IS SO EASY TO RIDE MY WIFE IS RIDING IT WHENEVER I'M NOT ON IT. I HAVE NOTHING TO COMPARE THIS BIKE TO BUT I CAN'T IMAGINE ANYTHING BEING BETTER THAN MY HONDA. IT'S A GREAT FIRST BIKE TO LEARN ON. VERY WELL BALANCED. don't LIKE THE KLUNKING SOUND FROM 1st TO 2nd AND BACK DOWN AGAIN, BUT THEY TELL ME that's NORMAL. I WANT TO GET SOME NICE PIPES WITH SOME GOOD SOUND. ANYONE HAVE ANY SUGGESTIONS?
- GENE, ARROYO GRANDE, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-01 2004 Honda VTX 1300 (VTX1300C) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Only have 80 miles on my bike and I really like it. Rides out smooth and has decent torque. Have not beat on it... even though some riders say doing more pounding on it makes for a better break in. Not sure about that one. I have found it very stable on the highway and the seat height is perfect. Sure its got a lot of cheap plastic...but its also has Honda quality. I am a real weekend rider...so my mileage will be low...so I look to have this bike for a very long time. I tried on the 1800C bike at the dealership (since they were practically giving them away)... but I thought it was just too big and heavy for me. The reduced weight on the 1300C made a huge difference to me... I am able to move it around with minimal effort. Love the sound of the engine, and overall the bike is great. I hope that I have the same opinion of it a couple of years from now. All I know is my Honda Civic had well over 100K miles and it still rode and looked new and my Honda snowblower has never let me down...even with over 2ft of snow on the ground. Honda quality is top notch.
- Rich, Middletown, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: