Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda VTX 1300C reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

33 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Phil Wilson

Merced, California

Reviewed on 2012-10-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well I have now over 33k miles on my 2005 Honda VTX 1300C and a new seat as posted I was going to do. This motorcycle is still a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott

Worcetser County, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2009-07-06

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got my first street bike when I was 17 (Suzuki VZ800) traded up to a vtx1300c5 in April 2006. Was able to get a pretty good deal on a leftover model. First year I put on about 12,000 miles. Did an, give or take, extended break in period, waited until about 4,000 miles to start adding parts and getting on it. Throughout the time I had the machine, it performed flawlessly. I was 17/18 when I got it, and just traded it in this past weekend, now 21. This bike was by no means treated well. I would constantly hit 60-65 in second gear, revving that 80ci to 5,000+. Always racing import cars light to light. The bike never left me stranded and couldn't have bought a better bike. I just traded to a 2003 Harley FLSTF(Fatboy) and must say the Honda will be greatly missed, but it's always been a dream of mine to own a Harley so no better time than the present. Nothing ever failed on the bike, quality and workmanship is top. If you're looking for a machine in this class, I would highly recommend a 1300, as of 09 Honda doesn't currently offer the 1800 now that the US plant is closed, and operations are shifting back to Japan. Being my size (5'7' 150lbs) a new seat should have been in the works, but after a few months you get used to it. The pullback risers brought the bars back perfectly for me. If you would a loud and quality(subjective to each) the HK sideburners are great. As far as the tach, I never liked to rev a motor without knowing, not a necessity, but if you beat on it as much as I did, sure was nice. The Honda would definitely beat out my almost stock Harley, Honda motor turned quicker.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis

Waldo, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2007-08-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding for 20+ years and this past spring got onto a VTX1300C after riding all the competitors bikes in this class. The VTX put a smile on my face like my former '83 V65 used to. It's what I expect from a cruiser bike and unlike other reviews I've read feel there needs to be some little vibration if it's to be a true cruiser. If I wanted a perfect ride I'd look at the Wing. The vibration is minimal, power excellent and looks are head turning! One downfall is I feel the shifting could be quieter but it's still no different than any of the other bikes I test took for a test ride. My biggest gripe would have to be accessories costs greater than that of Harley!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill elsholz

Fayetteville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-04-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well, I've gotten the first 1000 miles under my belt and I couldn't be happier! The bike handles like a dream. I've ridden the interstates through Metro Atlanta, and the bike is well behaved in the buffeting. I've ridden 2 up with a combined weight of about 430 pounds and the bike has plenty of power. It has been a great buy so far.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chesty

Pensacola, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-09-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Im fairly new to cruisers, and was having problems choosing between the Sabre 1100 or the VTX 1300. So happy I went bigger. The VTX also sounds much better in my opinion. Deeper rumble out of the Cobra slip-ons. I got a great deal on a bike that had a lot of extras already on it. The bike handles very easy at slow speeds and is plenty big to push hard on the highway. Took a friend for a ride who weighed about 240, the bikes performance changed very little. Had the same giddy up. You won't be dissapointed. For the price and Honda reliability you get, you wont look at those Harley boys with any disappointment. Happy ridin'.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Garrett

Ward, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2006-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Nice bike that handles great. I get lots of compliments on the road. The seat could be more comfortable but all around good bike. Looking forward to putting more miles on it. Keeping the rubber side down and having a blast.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Maverick

Wamego, Kansas

Reviewed on 2006-08-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had narrowed my choice down to the 1100 Shadow or 1300 VTX. After riding a friend's 2004 VTX1300C, I was hooked. I've had my X for one month and have put 1000 extremely happy miles on the bike already. The look, style, and performance are top notch. Once I add a Mustang seat (with back rest), the comfort will be high grade as well. My thanks to Honda for turning a blank sheet of paper into a fantastic machine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

iwantsnow

Wyoming, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
When I first got the bike it was everything I wanted. The first thing I would change is the seat, go with a Mustang. Stock seat is uncomfortable on long rides. Second change the front shock springs to Progressive same as the R model use the Amsoil Medium fork oil, it's a big difference. The rest is great but if you want a little more get go replace the exhaust and airbox and rejet. It's a big difference just to hang on when you crack it down. Check out VTXOA website and look at the forum. They are a big help.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Harrison

Wichita, Kansas

Reviewed on 2006-01-20

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I looked several months before deciding to get the 1300C but glad I did. It has lots of power, handles great through in-town traffic, and I get a compliment each time I take it out. Loaded for bear and none the sloucher when it comes time to get up and move. I find the bike dependable and would trust to ride it anywhere. Honda could have cleaned-up the wiring more in the front, and put the handlebars closer to the rider for added comfort.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim B

Louisville , Kentucky

Reviewed on 2005-12-24

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300C

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got my VTX1300C in late August and rode 2100 miles during the rest of the season. It has a ton of acceleration, great handling and smooth shifting. I got a lot of compliments on the bike, especially with the billet tri-spoke wheels, which I am now having chromed. This bike rides so smooth and comfortably. I only have one minor problem with it. The handlebars could extend back another 2 inches so I don't have to lean forward as much. This is really a minor problem when compared to all the fun I have had with this bike. I'm glad I skipped the 750 and went straight to the 1300.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 33 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: