Honda VTX 1300R Motorcycles Reviews (31)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTX 1300R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VTX 1300R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-03-30 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is sort of my first bike. I had a Rebel 250 about five years ago, but to me that doesn't count. My wife slammed the Rebel after I had it a month, so my time on it was limited. The amount of confidence I had after my first ride was unbelievable! It is very balanced, very smooth and has plenty of power! My only complaint echos many others. I dislike the "cold-bloodedness" of the bike and I wouldn't mind a fuel gauge. However, this is a "Retro" bike and I suppose a fuel gauge wouldn't be very "retro." I am not the first owner of the bike and I've only had it a week, but I've already put 500 miles on it and I love it. I went into the search process looking for a Harley, anything from Sporty to Fat Boy. But I came across this beauty and I was ultra impressed by the price. Once I took the first ride, I was hooked.
- Lucky Enuf, Anadarko, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-03 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it brand new in '07. It has been two years of nonstop riding; 16,000 miles, rain or shine. Never a problem! The wife also loves it! I could have bought two or three VTX for the price of one of some other brand.
- MM, North Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-09 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I loved my beautiful black 2002 Shadow 750 Ace. I rode it for 5 years. It was my first bike at the age of 65 and I loved accessorizing. Most of my riding was for local commute. The bike was easy to handle and fuel efficient and never needed repair of any kind. When I moved to another town and had to take a longer distance commute, I realized the need for a more powerful and more stable ride for the freeway. Last year I considered other bikes but settled on the VTX after one sit at the dealer. It fit me perfectly. Then I searched around and found a used, very low mileage silver 2005 VTX 1300R in perfect condition and nicely accessorized. It's been a love fest ever since. The bike is everything all the other rave reviews claim. I still ride my 750 for local errands. At age 70 now I will keep riding both until strength and coordination give out.
- Joseph Amanzio, Paso Robles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-17 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 1300R for a little over 2 years - great b-day present from my wife. Previously I owned an '83 Shadow 700 tariff-buster. After that Shadow I was a die-hard Honda Fan. This 1300R is everything I expected from Honda: reliable, easy ride and a nice aspect for us 6 feet & over folks. The tall windshield is a necessity for us on the highway. The worst possible thing I can say about it is the seat won't be very comfy on a longer haul for anyone larger than me.
- Dave B, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-28 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I decided a year ago that it was time for my first bike. I convinced my wife by bringing up the rising gas prices. After looking at many different bikes, I ended up going with the VTX 1300R. I have never second guessed the decision. The only knock that I have with the bike is the seat. It can get uncomfortable on long trips, but is also easily changed by getting an aftermarket seat or a seat mod. Everything else is a change to make the bike yours and not just stock. This is a great performing bike. Easy to ride and control. If you are learning to ride, this bike is easy to control but big enough to be the only bike that you will ever need. Plenty of power for those that want to go and keep up with anything out there. You will not be disappointed.
- Mark Thill, Algona, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-28 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Honda needs to put fuel injection on this bike. I've owned three Shadows in the last ten years, and they all had tempermental chokes on them. It's getting old. It could use more power, too. For a 1300, I'm unimpressed by its aceleration, and I'm aware it's not built for speed. But compared to the 750 Shadow I traded in for it, the power differential is barely noticeable, more than likely because this bike weighs so much, relative to its displacement. The seat is firm, but it's a motorcycle, not a Lincoln. And the boards touch down way too easy, unless you ride like an old man, and in that case you belong in the Lincoln I mentioned above. But it's a gorgeous bike, and fits me well, and despite my complaints, I'm keeping it. For what I paid, I could have bought two of these for one Harley Softtail, and it's better built, more reliable, cheaper to insure, cheaper to maintain, and cheaper to ride - 87 octane compared to 91 that Harley's require.
- white trash armenian, Dearborn, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-15 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After finishing the first full year of riding this Harley Slayer, a couple of obervations. 2 roadtrips of over 1500 miles a piece was time well spent. 1. Reliability: Whether an 8000 ft Idaho mountain pass or sea level on the Oregon coast highway, the carbureted 1300 performed flawlessly. No misses, no power loss nothing. No matter the temperature, 105 degrees or 5 degrees starts and runs smoothly everytime. 2. Comfort: The factory seat is torture in the first degree. I have NEVER ridden a more uncomfortable seat in 30 years of motorcycling. For less than $300, a seat from Ultimate will make you forget the factory seat ever existed. 3. Power: Add a K&N Air filter for better power. Even 2 up on the interstate the bike pulls strong through 5k RPM with 40+ mpg on the flats. Run with the 1500 Yama's and Kawa's all day. 4. Style Points: 100/100 Black and Chrome with factory Mag wheels.
- Deane Felthauser, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-30 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have riden all of my life and I love this bike. It is the perfect balance of power and size. Not to big, with good balance, and fast. Everyone needs something pretty to work on, thats why people buy Harley`s! VTX 1300c is a great American made bike.
- Loyd M, Arlington, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-17 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from a 500 MuZ to this 1300 and it's much more stable and a perfect ride. I went with the larger bike rather than the 1100 Sabre due to the salesman recommendation. The 1300 was less than the 2006 1100. Glad I made the choice for the larger bike. Plenty of aftermarket parts that look great. The bike does make an odd tapping/clicking noise as others have expressed on this website, but it's just a minor annoyance. Great power and I found the stock seat to be not too bad. I would definitely recommend this bike over the Harley Fat Boy to everyone.
- Tim Farrell, Pedricktown, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-03 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I commute 140 miles roundtrip to work every day. Driving at an average speed of 75 mph I am getting about 32 mpg. I think mileage should be better. Other than that, the bike is awesome. Some people have complained about the seat, but I have no complaints. I am 56 years old and have had back injuries and my back doesn't hurt at all on this bike.
- Gary Mabry, Corpus Christi, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-02 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Xtreme power. Xtreme performance. Xtreme looks. She's a gorgeous V-Twin delivering effortless, rumbling power with masses of torque. Unbelievable performance. She delivers low-end and mid-range torque for relaxed cruising on the wide open road. She doesnt lack any top end punch for passing my Harley riding buddies and leaves the chasing pack in the distance. She brings cruising to an all new high.
- KLC, Lebanon, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-13 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an outstanding bike. In my opinion it is the best in the mid-size cruiser class. It handles well, is reliable and looks good. The only reason that I gave it a 4 star in the comfort area is the stock seat. After riding a couple of hours expect a sore bum.
- Michael, Holt, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-04 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike after having ridden a Honda Shadow Aero 750 for two months. I found that the Aero was underpowered. I am supremely happy with the VTX. It is nicely balanced and easy to ride. It has lots of power too! I did a 2500-mile tour in May 2005 and found it to be a comfortable ride. My husband has an H-D Road King and it has way more speed than it. For a short rider, it is easy to put both feet on the ground and easy to stand it up. Only complaint is on cool mornings it takes a while to warm up.
- anita, silver city, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-14 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was torn between 3-bikes: the star-lineup from Yamaha has some really nice bikes and great aftermarket accessories, the Kawasaki Nomad and the Honda VTX. I checked out an H-D Fat boy, but was not going to pay 18-grand for a bike, period. Anyway, I was VERY surprised on the low center of gravity this bike has, the ease of handling and the power. One problem for me is the touchy-ness of the choke; it is easy to foul your plugs on this bike, so the choke needs to be used very sparingly. Other than that, you can get a great deal on the bike, it has a boatload of aftermarket support, it is easily customizable and one of the best deals out there. Its single crank pin gives it the feel and sounds of an H-D, but it still retains its own character and feel... You will not go wrong if you decide to purchase this bike. If you do, a seat replacement will be needed, the seat on this bike is like sitting on a brick. It is my only real complaint about the bike.
- Ouki, Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-07 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally graduated to a 2005 1300R from a Honda 600 vlx. I have been riding 18 months and my husband said it was time I think about a larger bike. After trying several bikes in this class, I went back to the 1300R and made my purchase. I have only had this bike 2 days but I feel I had made a good choice. It rides like a dream and the handling is awesome. I would say to any lady rider to consider this bike, you do not even notice the weight.
- Kimberly, Tazewell, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-06 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike 3 days ago. I upgraded from a 94 Suzuki Intruder 800. What a difference in the ride and power. I don't even notice the weight difference, rolls very smooth. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- Jim , San Diego , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-16 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Despite the sorry seating capabilities it is the smoothest, easy going, powerful and convenient riding bike. I use it for everything I have to do. This is my first bike and I am glad I went straight to the VTX. Now my brothers want one also and my friends envy me.
- H@nk Perez-Paz, Spring Hill, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-02 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You can't find a better cruiser for the price than the 2005 VTX 1300R. It's got looks, plenty of power and Honda's reliability. And to top it off, I've beaten a few Harleys along the way... And bought the VTX for about HALF of what it costs a Harley. You can't go wrong with the VTX! Highly Recommended!
- Joe C, Keeseville, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-30 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 1300R this summer. I bought it for my self as a b-day present and it was the greatest gift ever. It can beat a 1450 Harley fuel injected bike with no problem and it rides better than a Harley ever could.
- Tyler Young, Doniphan, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-29 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike after doing much research and riding several different bikes. The bike has more power than should be allowed out of 1312cc's. The handling is great, fit and finish is typical Honda premium. I have three neighbors with Harleys; two Road Kings and a Fat Boy. Both Road Kings have had the Harley stage one motor upgrade and both have been spanked by this VTX1300R. Both thought I cheated off the line 'till they rode it. One even said once his Harley is paid off he's going to buy a VTX for himself and give the Road King to his "wife". 'Nuff said. Ride on
- Robert Hurt, Carlisle, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-28 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my VTX 1300r last August after checking out all other cycles and prices. I walked into Honda saw the Vtx1300R and that was the bike. I trailered it and drove to Colorado and toured the Rockies. I trailered it back to Texas and ride all over the State. The VTX has performed well. No Problems, respectable mileage, good comfort, great acceleration. An all around great ride at a good price.
- Larry Rouse, Arlington, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-23 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned several motorcycles since I was 16, with half of them being Harley's, but this is the best forget the rest. This is my first Honda and it was nice to deal with a company that will sell you a bike under sticker, that never happened when buying a Harley. I have owned this bike just over a year and I couldn't be happier. Once I started buying bigger bikes I gave up the ease of handling when coming to a stop or trying to back the bike up. I don't have that problem with this bike. I've got short legs and I have no problem backing this bike up while on the seat. The only fault I can find is the clunk you get shifting from 1st to 2nd. I know after reading other reviews on the VTX 1300 I'm not the only one with this clunk. I'm surprised Honda hasn't solved this problem. The best way I found to avoid the clunk was to shift to 2nd at lower speeds, no clunk when down shifting. The rest of the gears are flawless. When buying a new bike I looked at the VTX 1800, but it felt much heavier than the VTX 1300. I don't mind the plastic chrome, it looks great and that's what matters and this bike gets more complements than the chrome Harleys I owned. Now the only problem I have, what do I do with all the Harley clothes I've collected over the years!!
- Gary, Green Valley, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-18 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This Honda has everything you'd want in a cruiser. It's got torque out the ying-yang, Honda quality and reliability, and reeeeeeaaaaalllly cool looks! It's almost impossible to find a bike in this price range with every thing it has going for it but Honda has done it and done it very well.
- Mike Griffith, Gresham, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-27 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my vtx1300r on june 11 of this year. I already have 1500 miles on it, so you should be able to tell that it is definitely a fun bike to ride. On the up side, it handles wonderfully on the twisties, and has plenty of acceleration....especially on the bottom end. It is a beautiful bike, and always gets compliments wherever I go. Now, for the downside. It does indeed have too much plastic. I'm sure that is to hold down the cost, and weight. It weighs in at 670 lbs....it is no light cruiser, but you learn to appreciate the weight at highway speeds. It is irritating to have to stay with the bike to warm it up(the manual says not to use the choke at over 50 degrees). The seat is practically worthless...except for less than 50 mile trips. Honda must have designed this bike for people over 6 feet tall, because the seating position is just a little forward and down....just enough to be uncomfortable. Recommendations....get a windshield, a set of risers, and a new seat and she is set for the long haul!
- Al Gray, Snellville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-09 2005 Honda VTX 1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a couple of months of research and going back and forth, I finally decided on the VTX1300R. I was coming from a smaller cruiser and wanted something with some attitude. Well I got it. This thing just flat out runs, handles really good and looks awesome. The price couldn't be touched. Got a Great Deal from FREDERICKSBURG MOTORSPORTS.....
- The Bigman, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: