Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda VTX 1300R reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

32 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

MM

North Lauderdale, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-01-03

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought it brand new in '07. It has been two years of nonstop riding; 16,000 miles, rain or shine. Never a problem! The wife also loves it! I could have bought two or three VTX for the price of one of some other brand.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roger Allen Cain

Virginia

Reviewed on 2021-01-28

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Honda VTX 1300R

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
Ive had different bikes over the years, I'm 65 now, i bought my vtx 1300r in 2009 the last year honda made them. Best bike ive ever had.lots of power handles great, sounds great, but i did remove the fiberglass packing over the baffles. Can't say enough about this bike. If your looking for a awesome bike at a good price checkout this bike before you buy a bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lucky Enuf

Anadarko, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2012-03-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is sort of my first bike. I had a Rebel 250 about five years ago, but to me that doesn't count. My wife slammed the Rebel after I had it a month, so my time on it was limited. The amount of confidence I had after my first ride was unbelievable! It is very balanced, very smooth and has plenty of power! My only complaint echos many others. I dislike the "cold-bloodedness" of the bike and I wouldn't mind a fuel gauge. However, this is a "Retro" bike and I suppose a fuel gauge wouldn't be very "retro." I am not the first owner of the bike and I've only had it a week, but I've already put 500 miles on it and I love it. I went into the search process looking for a Harley, anything from Sporty to Fat Boy. But I came across this beauty and I was ultra impressed by the price. Once I took the first ride, I was hooked.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joseph Amanzio

Paso Robles, California

Reviewed on 2008-02-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I loved my beautiful black 2002 Shadow 750 Ace. I rode it for 5 years. It was my first bike at the age of 65 and I loved accessorizing. Most of my riding was for local commute. The bike was easy to handle and fuel efficient and never needed repair of any kind. When I moved to another town and had to take a longer distance commute, I realized the need for a more powerful and more stable ride for the freeway. Last year I considered other bikes but settled on the VTX after one sit at the dealer. It fit me perfectly. Then I searched around and found a used, very low mileage silver 2005 VTX 1300R in perfect condition and nicely accessorized. It's been a love fest ever since. The bike is everything all the other rave reviews claim. I still ride my 750 for local errands. At age 70 now I will keep riding both until strength and coordination give out.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave B

Richmond, Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-09-17

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my 1300R for a little over 2 years - great b-day present from my wife. Previously I owned an '83 Shadow 700 tariff-buster. After that Shadow I was a die-hard Honda Fan. This 1300R is everything I expected from Honda: reliable, easy ride and a nice aspect for us 6 feet & over folks. The tall windshield is a necessity for us on the highway. The worst possible thing I can say about it is the seat won't be very comfy on a longer haul for anyone larger than me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Thill

Algona, Iowa

Reviewed on 2007-01-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I decided a year ago that it was time for my first bike. I convinced my wife by bringing up the rising gas prices. After looking at many different bikes, I ended up going with the VTX 1300R. I have never second guessed the decision. The only knock that I have with the bike is the seat. It can get uncomfortable on long trips, but is also easily changed by getting an aftermarket seat or a seat mod. Everything else is a change to make the bike yours and not just stock. This is a great performing bike. Easy to ride and control. If you are learning to ride, this bike is easy to control but big enough to be the only bike that you will ever need. Plenty of power for those that want to go and keep up with anything out there. You will not be disappointed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

white trash armenian

Dearborn, Michigan

Reviewed on 2007-01-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Honda needs to put fuel injection on this bike. I've owned three Shadows in the last ten years, and they all had tempermental chokes on them. It's getting old. It could use more power, too. For a 1300, I'm unimpressed by its aceleration, and I'm aware it's not built for speed. But compared to the 750 Shadow I traded in for it, the power differential is barely noticeable, more than likely because this bike weighs so much, relative to its displacement. The seat is firm, but it's a motorcycle, not a Lincoln. And the boards touch down way too easy, unless you ride like an old man, and in that case you belong in the Lincoln I mentioned above. But it's a gorgeous bike, and fits me well, and despite my complaints, I'm keeping it. For what I paid, I could have bought two of these for one Harley Softtail, and it's better built, more reliable, cheaper to insure, cheaper to maintain, and cheaper to ride - 87 octane compared to 91 that Harley's require.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Deane Felthauser

Boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2007-01-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
After finishing the first full year of riding this Harley Slayer, a couple of obervations. 2 roadtrips of over 1500 miles a piece was time well spent. 1. Reliability: Whether an 8000 ft Idaho mountain pass or sea level on the Oregon coast highway, the carbureted 1300 performed flawlessly. No misses, no power loss nothing. No matter the temperature, 105 degrees or 5 degrees starts and runs smoothly everytime. 2. Comfort: The factory seat is torture in the first degree. I have NEVER ridden a more uncomfortable seat in 30 years of motorcycling. For less than $300, a seat from Ultimate will make you forget the factory seat ever existed. 3. Power: Add a K&N Air filter for better power. Even 2 up on the interstate the bike pulls strong through 5k RPM with 40+ mpg on the flats. Run with the 1500 Yama's and Kawa's all day. 4. Style Points: 100/100 Black and Chrome with factory Mag wheels.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Loyd M

Arlington, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-11-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have riden all of my life and I love this bike. It is the perfect balance of power and size. Not to big, with good balance, and fast. Everyone needs something pretty to work on, thats why people buy Harley`s! VTX 1300c is a great American made bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Farrell

Pedricktown, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2006-11-17

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX 1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I went from a 500 MuZ to this 1300 and it's much more stable and a perfect ride. I went with the larger bike rather than the 1100 Sabre due to the salesman recommendation. The 1300 was less than the 2006 1100. Glad I made the choice for the larger bike. Plenty of aftermarket parts that look great. The bike does make an odd tapping/clicking noise as others have expressed on this website, but it's just a minor annoyance. Great power and I found the stock seat to be not too bad. I would definitely recommend this bike over the Harley Fat Boy to everyone.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 32 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: