Honda VTX 1800C Motorcycles Reviews (114)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTX 1800C Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VTX 1800C Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-04-16 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike yesterday and love it. I rode it home in a 40 mph. cross wind and it stayed glued to the road. My last bike that I loved was a 2000 Honda Shadow 1100, but this beast is a dream come true. When I decided it was time for an new bike, I expected to get the VTX1300 but stumbled across the 1800 for about the same price, and got the bike I really wanted. Crack the throttle on this bike and you better have a good grip. If you don't think the front tire will not lift off the ground, hit a dip at full throttle from a start. This bike is a beast and if you are going to have a passenger, put a back rest on it, she will slip off if you don't. This bike will put a smile on your face and keep it there. I expect to ride this bike for years, and yes I will compare it to Harleys. No, the resale isn't as good, but then again the bike is about 1/3 the price to begin with. So get over the HD name and buy what rides good. I will take a water-cooled bike over an oil-cooled bike any day. Yes, I did make that choice when I bought my Shadow, it came down between that or an XL1200. I chose the Honda.
- Mike M., Gainesville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-06 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my VTX 1800C used from my neighbor in Feb. 06, with 11,500 miles on the bike and have since added 7,000 miles on the fastest cruiser on two wheels. My VTX came with V&H long shots, Power Commander & Hyper Charger, and on top of all this it was dyno tuned to maximize this rocket of a motorcycle. It also came with a Corbin seat and Honda Line windshield. After my first year on the road with this bike, I have backed off a bit on the thottle and am now averaging about 35 mpg. I love the power & speed to pass anything in my way and look forward to the next ride everyday of the week.
- Greg D., Mount Vernon, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-18 2005 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my bike in WV after the dealers in my area of MD refused to even try and work with me on a price. The end result was a savings of over 3K dollars by traveling an extra 300 miles. My 2003 VTX1800C was my first true cruiser. I had a 1993/750 Nighthawk and I was looking for a step up. This bike starts every time and really gets the looks wherever I go. Once you figure out the power band, the fact is this bike is actually a beast if properly operated. I've smoked past several crotch rockets who were more interested in wheelies than racing.
- darrin paxton, curtis bay, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-27 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Logged over 11000 miles this last summer on this bike. Not one bit of trouble. Rode it to Sturgis, from CA, the Grand Canyon, Vegas, Death Valley, Reno Street Vibrations, Yellowstone, Jackson Hole, etc. Added a Mustang touring seat which I highly recommend. Looks great and allows you to sit for 3-4 hours without discomfort. Added tallest aftermarket windshield I could find and chrome lowers. The lowers are a must. Otherwise the wind comes under the windshield and shoots right up into your helmet. If you wear a full face helmet the nosie level is maddening w/o the lowers. Added Bubb pipes too. I love the power of this bike. I road with 7 riders to Sturgis. All of them on Harleys. The VTX blew everyone of them away. Especially on hill climbs. I'm looking for a sport tourer just to ride something different. Eyeing the new Triumph Tiger. Think I'll keep my VTX though. The resale isn't that great. I still get lots of compliments on the bike. Especially the pipes. Would recommend the bike to buy. Great value when compared to a Harley. Although the HOG club is a lot of fun.
- daddirt, santa cruz, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-18 2005 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Dang it, I love this bike. It is all of the above and more. But, I hate the seat. Now, granted, I am a bigger guy. But still the seat is awful. All I need is to save the pennies for an after market seat and I will be happy. It is my daily driver---wife has the car and this is the Florida Keys after all. I have had the bike nearly a year and drive it about 15 miles a day. I have loved every mile. I wish riders would stop comparing it to Harleys. It is not even close. It is more powerful, more reliable, better designed, liquid cooled and half the freakin price! Come on guys...If you want a Harley, buy a Harley. don't sell your Honda bike cover though....you will be back!
- Patrick Leadens, Big Pine Key, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-28 2005 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my new 1800VTXC in September of 2005, and I got a killer deal on it. Mind you, I had never ridden a V-Twin before, man was I impressed when I rode it out of the dealership. The handling was so smooth! To my surprise, I found out what cruising at lower speeds meant. I could stay in 5th gear while all my other friends on their Harley's had to downshift going up hills. This bike is so cool! My wife loves it too.
- RICHARD LUNGI, Clinton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-13 2005 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is just fun to ride. It's comfortable and has more power than a sane person needs. It handles like a dream and is very forgiving. I've noticed the Harley guys look, but stay out of the way. I think they know. A friend of mine who owns both a Harley and a VTX 1800R, says there is no comparison. He rides the Harley for nostalgic reasons once in a while, but gets on the Honda when he wants to do some serious riding.
- Dean Stoddard, Amarillo, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-08 2005 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 2003 750 shadow spirit it was to small so I upgraded. I bought the VTX 1800c 2003 new in 05 and love it. I have ridden Harleys before and there is no comparison. Honda knows what they are doing. They make the best quality bikes. I have always ridden Honda's since the early 70's and I never had one break down on me. That should tell those Harley guys something.
- Ron Nitrio, Duffield, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-01 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my bike since Oct. of 2001 and I have nothing to complain about except for the seat, but all stock seats are horrible so I'm not upset at all. The power of the bike is exceptional. When I first got it a friend of mine on a stock 600cc Ninja challenged me to a race to 100mph, and when I hit the mark I looked in my mirror to see how far behind me he was. AWESOME.
- Rob Miller, Upper Sandusky, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-23 2005 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my X in 2004 and it was my first time on a crusier. Since then I have ridden many different bikes (including Harleys) and none of them compare to the Honda. I plan on keeping this bike for a long time. Thanks Honda.
- Brian Klippert, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-09 2005 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Outstanding, a Harley dosen't compare to the VTX 1800C. Power response handling, and most of all what a rider needs for safety. No sore butts when riding for a long time and comfort. There's nothing I could say bad about the VTX. It gives you the tough guy image on a nice guys bike.
- William Wilson , Kempner , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-03 2005 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 1300C has more power than needed, but I'm glad it's there incase I need it. The seat is not the most comfortable thing in the world on a long trip. I find myself stopping around 70 or 80 miles to rest the my rear-end. Honda needs to have a more comfortable seat for those long hauls. An OUTSTANDING motorcycle!!
- Phil Wilson, Merced, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-24 2005 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love the way this bike rides and performs. It will outperform any HD for sure. I rode a friends HD ultra classic and it was a dog compared to this. This bike is so well balanced it is very nimble for a big bike. It handles 10 times better than the Vulcan 750 I had. What a difference and what a bike.
- Rick Adams, Dilworth, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-12 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being a first full time rider, I found this bike fun and easy to ride. It handles great and there is plenty of power if needed. Very smooth ride. Love it!
- Mark Fritts, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-25 2005 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Where to begin? Last January I purchased a Honda 919. Yeah, it was fun around town but long trips were killing my legs! My friends talked me into looking at the VTX 1800's. I traded my 919 and got the 2005 VTX 1800. I am the first person to order this new bike, in fact the serial number for it ends with 101! During the time they had her on their showroom floor they got more inquiries than all of their other bikes combined!I left the dealer @ 5:00p.m. and before I knew it I already had 100 miles on it! This morning I put another 225 miles on it and WOW, I feel great! It was like nothing I've ever ridden before! Once I got used to shifting in low rpm's she was a dream! Honestly I thought it would be too much for me, but no. She has great response in town and especially on the open road! The time just flew! I turned more heads and got more compliments than I ever anticipated! I feel like I'm riding on the back of a tiger! She even purrs like one! I can't wait to get back on her tommorrow! Before I purchased her I read the reviews for the other VTX's and just about everyone loved theirs with the only gripe being the seat! What is up with that? I had no such problems, those people just need to build the calluses on their rears. If they rode as much as I do there wouldn't be a problem. I recommend this bike to anyone who loves the open road and loves long rides! My most favorite feature is the LCD display. It just sets it off and apart from the rest. The others have the needle displays and I just didn't care for the retro look. The LCD is the way of the future. Live long and well, and ride hard!!!
- Carlos Campos, Pasadena, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-25 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my VTX1800c new right before July 4th in 2002. I've been on many trips with it and it's a great straight-line cruiser. Get this bike in the twisties and you're bound to scrape the foot-pegs. It's a heavy bike, but handles well at slow speeds. Being heavy, it doesn't get pushed around in the wind like other bikes. The only problem I've had with mine is a spring on the kickstand broke, but my dealer replaced it under warranty. The muffler is pretty big (I nickname it the "Cannon") and it gets pretty hot. More than one passenger has done the dance-of-discomfort by touching their leg against it. The low-end grunt is awesome...the engine pulls strong at very low RPM's. For straight-line cruising, this bike is my choice. If I'm going to go where there are twisties, I take my Yamaha FJR1300. Two completely different bikes, each with their own strengths and weaknesses.
- Craig Baumgartner, Bluffton, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-20 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Former Goldwing rider goes to VTX 1800 Retro. I love the bike. It has so much power and is smooth from low gear to 5th geat. I have mounted a few accessories and am waiting on the chrome radiator cover to come in. Sound is a little to low, needs more growl sound, but not bad. I can tell you it is much better a bike than what some of the magazine writers say it is. It is easy to handle, takes corners prety well, and is balanced excellent. Only gripe is the limiter set too low and I exceed the limiter sometime, and that really slow it down whe you want it to go fast!!!. Come on Honda, raise the limit. Beautiful, fast comfortable bike.
- Tom Hilton, Richmond, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-24 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like my 1800Retro. that's why I bought it. It looks better than any other "affordable" bike. It has alot of power. Comfortable ride everytime, fast or slow or cornering!! Tons of accessories are waiting for you when you are ready throw out more money. I keep mine in a my garage and not a shop. You can guess where I'll be when I am finished with this review. p.s. Factory floorboards, are great. I have learned that their mounting bracket will not allow the bike to lay down "and squize my right leg off". Wow, I am outa here!!
- A.K., Wilmington, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-08 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As I stated in my previous article it was love at first site I have now purchased my VTX 1800C and must say I am very please with the ride. I will change or upgrade the seat and add some more goodies to her to dress her up but I must say it feel goods to pull along side of a Harley an be given the thumbs up rather than your normal snobbish look when they catch up at the next light. All they can do is look amazed and reconize it is an awesome feeling not to say the bike turns heads where ever you go. HAT'S OFF TO HONDA!!!!
- JERRY WINFIELD, BUFORD, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-24 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best scoot I have ever thrown a leg over... from riding in town, to the interstate, there is nothing it can't handle. The added accessories like the Hypercharger and the PC3 are real pluses!!!
- Barry Kern, Bogue Chitto, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-21 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I FINALLY got my VTX. Been looking at this bike since it first came on the market. I went from a 550 6 speed rev happy yamaha to an 1800 cc beast and LOVING every minute of it. My favorite color is now Illusion Blue!! The bike looks fast standing still and gets compliments all the time. Only complaint is that its too easy to hit the rev limiter having all this fun and the pegs will drag when you bring the fun factor up to much in the curves. The bike handles nicely for the size (too nicely sometimes when the pegs are draggin while your going for more lean angle.....LOL). I am 5' 8" and have no problems with the seat height or weight. Added a windshield and backrest for longer rides, and didnt have the problems of previous posters waiting on the parts! And now I can go from a windshield and backrest to a single seated rocket in less than a half hour. Its great being able to "transform " the ride so quickly!! AWESOME. After 1000 miles of smoking rear tires, a few wheel hops(YEP.....it does happen),and lots of hole shots, the bike continues to amaze me. Its fast, its smooth, its got power in ANY gear.....just twist the throttle, hold on, and SMILE. Lots of bike and lots of fun! I wont be trading the beast in any time soon. And like so many others, I couldn't see spending another 6 to 8 grand for the HD name. And as far as resale values go.....its true that a harley will maintain value better than a VTX. HOWEVER, my reply is simple; "Who the hell cares, cause I aint selling MY VTX!! Dont get me wrong, I like the harley, but I LOVE MY X!! Email me with any questions if your thinking about a beast of your own.
- R Jackson, Snyder, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-06 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Stock + windshield, rack/sissy bar. 5000+ miles in first year. Longest trip was 1350 miles in six days carring 420 pounds (with passenger). No leaks, fouled plugs or problems of any kind. Great heavy weight power cruiser. You can burn of the rear tire in no time if you want or you can slide it into 5th gear and and let the huge torque band move you from 40 to blured vision. don't look here for a light, nimble, high rev machine to burn off your knee pads. This is 730 pounds of muscle ready to rumble across town or the country. Seat is at 27 inchs, Driver position is very comfortable even on the long runs. I do wish there was a little more position adjustment in the foot break pedal. The passenger pegs are well positioned, but the removeable back seat is starts to feel thin and narrow on the long runs. The fuel injection system feels like it almost anticipates your throttle input, its only draw back is while doing extreme slow manuvers like snaking thur cone drills in first gear and barely working out of idle(it tends to be a bit choppy when you want "real smooth"). Law abiding driving will average 34 MPG. Sell the horse you rode in on and get your hands on an VTX 1800. You'll never look back except to see your budies faces. Semper Fi (Latin: Always faithful)
- J. Jones, Payette, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-06 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles on and off for over 20 years. I was intrigued by this bike when it first came out. I have owned 2 Honda Nighthawks a 650 and a 2001 750. Great bikes. I recently found my 2002 VTX on Ebay and it was right in my back yard. I was very concerned that this bike was too big for me or too much power. It took a couple days to get used to the difference in weight and handling. But I must say I love my VTX. It is a great bike. I had it up to 110 MPH and it was as smooth as it can be. The acceleration it awesome. The power is there but it is also a very smooth mild manered machine at the same time. But the beast is there is you ever want to let it out of it's cage. I would recommend this bike Highly.
- Michael Freed, Crestwood, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-11 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have always been one for the "crotch rocket" because I wanted a bike that when I rolled on the throttle it would go. I did not want a cruiser because they have no "get up and go". My brother owns a VTX and he loves it so I purchased one in Miami and Zigzagged across Florida until reaching Orlando. We spent a couple of days at Bikeweek and while there I got to "play" a little after putting about 700 miles on it. Let me be the first to tell you, this bike has the "GET UP AND GO!it will leave you sitting on the pavement at the light if your not careful. I looks and rides great, smooth, comfortable and the Honda name behind it. Since I have been home I have put some "country road" miles on it and it handles great, a little low to the ground and easy to scrape pegs, but handles great. I have no complaints on this bike. IT ROCK AND ROLLS!
- Daniel Stowe, FT. Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-11 2002 Honda VTX 1800C Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted a big bike that would fit my interest. The VTX caught my eye first, because I new very little about it. But after getting on line I quickly realized everyone was talking about the new Honda that did it all. The price was right, it looks great, and it has the same maintance free back ground Honda is famous for. I was curious about the long road trip. So after the break in period I left Lompoc early one morning and started toward Yosimite Vally. It did'nt take long and I was pulling into Mariposa 31/2hrs latter. I spent the night and started home, honestly I could have started back, the same day. The bike is smooth, lots of power, and runs very clean. I know have 5ooo+ miles with absoultly no problems. Thanks to my local shop and Honda for another great experience.
- Dave Long, Lompoc, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: