Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Motorcycles Reviews (50)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-08-02 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an excellent ride especially when you hit the highway. It's better than any other Harley or Kawasaki I have ridden.
- Big John, Carlisle, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-27 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2004 VTX 1300 used in early April 2007. It only had 1497 miles on it when I picked it up! It's a great bike but I'm not crazy about the plastic chrome and the motor sounds like it has a little rattle in the front. I don't know if this is normal or not! Over all, it has plenty of power and rides great.
- Thomas D. Kane, Springfield, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-30 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ever since the 2004 VTXC arrived on the show room floors over 2 years ago, I have dreamed of owning one. Ever since I sat on the bike, and put my feet flat on the floor, and after I could feel how comfortable I felt on the seat, I knew the bike was for me. I am a short guy, but big in stature. I like the fact that my bike is 1300 cc's of raw power. I bought the bike in Maryville Tennessee. They gave me a killer deal and great service. I rode the bike back to Orlando Florida where I am from. What a rush. The bike is totally bad!!! Performance and riding all in one!!! This bike moves, I even left those other riders with me (all riding Harleys) in my dust!!! Thanks Honda for making the best bike ever!!!
- Chris Belardnelli , Winter Park , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-28 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
AFTER 20 PLUS YEARS OF NOT RIDING, I PURCHASED A USED 1982 HONDA MAGNA AND PUT 10K PLUS MILES ON DURING THE FIRST YEAR OF OWNERSHIP. I DECIDED TO BUY A NEW MOTORCYCLE AND AFTER 6-9 MONTHS OF COMPARING ALL MAKES AND MODELS, I DECIDED ON A 2004 HONDA VTX 1300R. IT'S BEEN 2 YEARS AND 22K MILES LATER AND I COULDN'T BE MORE SATISIFIED. I've BEEN TO NORTH CAROLINA(745 MILES IN ONE DAY)AND AVERAGE 200-300 MILES ON MOST DAYS OFF. I've MADE NO SEAT CHANGE BUT DO HAVE A GEL PAD ON THE SEAT FOR THE LONG RIDES. I WOULD BUY THE SAME MOTORCYCLE AGAIN AND FROM THE SAME DEALER. I ONLY EXPECT ADDITIONAL SERVICE AND ACCESSORIES WITH THE NEW OWNER. THANKS AGAIN.
- BOB OLASIN, LAFAYETTE, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-20 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 2 years, I could not be any more pleased with this bike. I made the right choice for sure. It's that good. The seat is a little uncomfortable still but that can be fixed with an aftermarket one. I would reccomend this bike to a fellow rider.
- PP, Port Clinton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-14 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I Just got my 04 1300s. It only had 650 miles on the odometer. When I picked her up. I've put 300 miles on it in just a few days. What a great bike! If you're in the market for a bike, look no further. It's that good.
- PEP, Port Clinton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-14 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. It sticks to the corners very well. It has a lot of power and giddy-up. Cruises very good between 65 - 80 mph. After replacing the stock seat with a Mustang seat with driver backrest, I can ride for hours without discomfort. The stock seat was the only drawback to the VTX 1300 S for me.
- Kent Eisenhauer, Herrin , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-12 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in April of '04, and have approximately 5000 miles on her. It's going to be 60 soon and have a respect for riding motorcycles. Most of my trips are day rides between 100 to 200 miles. This bike truly rides s m o o t h ! Oh, sure it 'klunks' shifting down from 2nd to 1st but Honda reliabilty is more important... I'd buy another!
- Rider, South West, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-09 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I picked up my '04 VTX 1300S in late August 2004, it was my first bike. I have been more than pleased with the performance, reliability, and comfort my "X" has brought. Most of my co-workers ride, they are a split of street bike riders and Harley owners. I can keep up with the younger street bikers and the Harley riders have complimented me by all "wanting the keys to that black bike out there". My only problem is finding more time in the saddle. I was also told to "buy what you want to ride", instead of buying small and wishing for more bike in a couple months, and have no regrets; this bike has basically taught me by itself. Stay safe and zap me if you're riding in the central Louisiana area!!
- Kevin Lewis, Sr., Natchitoches, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-11 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't give you a real technical reveiw, or even tell you how it handles on long trips. I purchased my 2004 VTX Retro a week before Thanksgiving and have only had a few chances to ride. I have owned one other bike, an older model 500cc that I had for about a year and a half around 15 years ago. I had the desire for a bike and narrowed my search to the 1100 Sabre and the 1300 VTX. The Sabre was winning out smaller and gave the impression of being less intimadating than the VTX's wide and low style. At the last hour a friend gave me some advice "I would rather learn to be comfortable on a larger bike than be comfortable and want a larger bike". Made sense so I went for it and I have no regrets. My Candy Red Retro is beautiful, and it handles fantastic. Now lets talk sound. Before I bought, I read reveiws on the bike where several had complaints on noise. Load clanks and things they just didn't like. I read through them and noticed most of the complaints were coming from people who had owned Hondas before. My guess is they didn't understand this is Honda's attempt at Harley's market. The bike is made to be noticed, not slip by not being heard. This isn't to say it will wake your neighbors, but it calmed my fears of having to put new pipes on just to get some sound. To sum up, I Love It; No regrets. I'll be going to Washington DC this May I'll let you know how it does.
- Chris, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-15 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been very happy with this bike! It is powerful and great looking. I always get compliments about the looks. As for the valve noise, ride a Sportster or Bonneville America, I've owned both and my VTX 1300 is much quieter than they were. This bike handles well for its size, although I still drag the floorboards from time to time. I put a Mustang seat on it the day I bought it, and put 500 miles on it in a day several different times. You can lug it through towns in 5th gear at 30 miles an hour. It loves hills, the steeper the better, stops good for a big bike, I've got 29,0000 miles on the factory brake pads! My only complaints are plastic chrome and weak front springs, but I'm going to replace the fork springs soon. I have had eleven bikes, and this one is my favorite.
- Ron Burnett, Stilwell, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-21 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I cannot tell you how exciting this bike is to ride! It is all I had wished it would be! I love the bike and would recommend it to others. Happy riding!
- isotox, north shore, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-09 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I believe that non-VTX riders are missing out on what I would say is the best riding motorcycle that I've ever ridden. Now granted, I just moved to my VTX from an '81 Yamaha 650 Special Edition. But the VTX drives itself. All you have to do is lean back and enjoy the ride. The only complaint I have is that the seat leaves a little to be desired on longer rides. And a man of my height is hard to find decent highway pegs for. But other than that, by far the best bike I've ever encountered.
- Quimby, Sackets Harbor, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-07 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike seems to ride very smooth for a v-twin bike. Had no problems with it yet and have been very pleased with the performance of the bike.
- michael, satellite Beach , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-04 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Two weeks ago I traded a softail custom and got a 2004 VTX1300 Retro. There is no comparison between the two. I go for a ride now and don't want to stop. I am a senior and I can ride without discomfort. I love the way it handles, rides, looks and sounds. The only thing I am going to change is the vinyl on the saddle and passenger seat, on a hot day it feels like I have a sunburned butt. This is truly a great ride.
- jd, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-29 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a well balanced bike and comfortable enough that you can ride for hours and it won't beat you up. No vibration! The seat is the right height (a little lower than the 1800). It comes chromed to the max (stock), and the retro look turns a lot of heads. It gets a lot of respect from some of the hard core Harley riders I know. Maintenance is low/minimum, and the bike is easy to care for. I intend to accessorize it and I have no intentions of giving it up!
- Paul DeLuca, Tewksbury, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-20 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a silver 2004 VTX. The bike has a ride that is great, the comfort is outstanding and the stock power will snap your neck back. I have found 2 minor draw backs that Honda needs to improve. 1 is the backlash in the drive shaft at low speeds. 2 is the valve chatter after a long ride. I have no problem overlooking both of these issues when I ride because the bike is truly awesome to ride.
- jeff bailey, lawton, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-18 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a 750 Aero first whiich is a great bike also, but I quickly traded up to the 1300. Great handling bike with excellent performance and comfort for my wife and I. What a looker too! Even if you leave it pure Honda.
- Rob Wolford, Ocoee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-17 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I originally bought this bike to offset the amount of miles I put on my car and of course to get out on the weekends and ride a little. From the day I purchased it to now, I've driven my car once. The ride is so smooth and enjoyable and the compliments from complete strangers while sitting at lights are a reassuring sign that I picked the right bike. Thumbs up to Honda!!!! Braking, clutching, manuverability and acceleration just can't be matched. I test drove many bikes prior to my decision and by far, the honda has beat them all.
- Darrell Phillips, Mission Viejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-06 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't believe how many total strangers have told me what an awesome bike this is. It really gets attention. I find it to be a very comfortable, rock solid ride. For the price, I don't think there is a bike that can match this one.
- Tim Beck, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-29 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wanted to buy the Shadow Sabre, but the dealership sold the last one in stock and suggested a VTX1300 for a few dollars more instead. All I can say is thank goodness they sold the 1100. I was a little concerned about the difference in size, but in less than a mile it was like I had ridden it all my life.
- Ron, Racine, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-03 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. Power is there at any point in the powerband. Bike pulls strong from 80-100 for cruising. I've had no trouble since I bought my X a little more than a year ago. Closest thing to a problem was a battery cable vibrating loose. A lockwasher fixed that. The bike is rock solid. Dependable, great looking, strong performance. It handles as well as you could expect a cruiser to handle. I've ridden up to 10 hours at a time with no discomfort. What else can I say? I love it!
- Christian Noftz, Montgomery, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-26 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my '04 VTX 1300 May 1st. So far, the only complaint I have is the clunk between 1st and 2nd gear. Otherwise, this bike is smooth and surprisingly easy to handle for it's size. I love the big wide saddle and large floorboards. The throttle is responsive and braking is great. I considered the 1800, Kaw's Nomad and Yamaha's Silverado. I made the right choice. "Man, what is that thang. It's a perty one", is what the other riders are saying. It even turns the heads of HD riders. Yup, its a headturner.
- Levi Leverette, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-13 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike after trading in my Kawasaki 750 vulcan-which was my first motorcyle. I can't even put into words the difference. It's amazing-the power, control, tracking, and it has really turned the group of Harley riders that I ride with. They are impressed with the way I can keep up with them now with no struggle. And smooth is the word. Absolutely the best bang for the buck bar none. I am an older first-time bike owner (49 yrs young). I wish I had done this years ago!!!!!
- Steve Lovett, Lexington, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-29 2004 Honda VTX Retro 1300 (VTX1300S) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my candy red Retro for a year now. This bike has the power, the comfort, and the feel. I can't get enough. The paint job is a real head turner. This bike is a great value, not to mention Honda reliability. This is the bike for me.
- Kevin W, Lowell, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: