Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Motorcycles Reviews (35)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-12-14 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have taken this bike everywhere, from cross town to across states. The bike is dependable, comfortable and very appealing. The bike always hauls two riders and never misses a beat. My only immediate recomendation is the addition of floor boards for the passenger.
- Pete, Imler , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-05 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BOUGHT THIS BIKE A YEAR AGO AND I MUST SAY IT IS A ROCK SOLID RIDE! REPLACED THE SEAT WITH A MUSTANG WIDE TOUR SEAT AND BACKREST. NOW THE RIDE AND HANDLING IS AWESOME. PERFORMANCE IS AMAZING FOR SUCH A HEAVY MACHINE. NO REGRETS HERE!
- MIKE, INDY, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-28 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2006 VTX 1300R this bike is great in the city, and has the weight and speed for the highway. Turn the key and the bike purrs like a cat everytime. This bike holds its own against any other crusier out there. I have rode enjoyable miles, and have many many more miles to go. Make sure you get a wind shield to have wind protection. Be safe and enjoy the ride.
- Paul J. Andrews III, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-30 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had never ridden or even owned a motorcycle until my 2006 Honda VTX 1300R. I purchased this bike over a year ago and have fallen in love with this bike from the first moment I rode down the interstate. It is very smooth, comfortable and responsive. And the 1300cc motor is very stout, especially hauling a big boy like myself. I highly recommend this bike to any rider, new or experienced.
- Landon W., Mayflower, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-30 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I came to riding later in life (45). My first bike was a moped. No kidding. Two years later in 2007 after completing the MFS course I bought my VTX. I love it. It has great power and balance. It is very reliable and quiet for a big V-twin. It looks great and it fits me great. I like the floorboards and the heel-toe shifter. If you drive more than 75 miles per trip you may want to consider an aftermarket seat. In two years I have 10,000 problem-free miles and look forward to riding my VTX for many years to come.
- Robert Kollath, Chilton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-29 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have bought 4 bikes for myself within 4 years before I was able to finally get my 1300. This is what I consider my dream bike. I love it! I can maneuver it like there's no tomorrow. I started in 2001 with a 250cc, then went to a 600cc, 750cc, 1100cc and finally to my VTX1300R. I love the metallic silver color.
- Donna Proehl, Theodore, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-23 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding since my dad bought my first bike, a Honda 50cc, when I was 8 years old. I have had on road, off road and on/off road bikes. One thing is for sure... I LOVE to ride!! I bought my VTX 1300R as a replacement for a 600 VLX and never looked back. One thing I couldn't do on my 600 was take it on long trips. As many of you already know, that is no problem on the 1300! I knew from the minute I sat on the 1300 that it was the bike for me. Short in stride, I needed a bike that I could comfortably sit on (with my feet on the ground). I was worried that I might have to lower anything I got but soon found out that the 1300 fit just fine. The bike is well balanced, easy to ride and a true joy every time I am on it. Thanks Honda for continuing to create such fine pieces of machinery!
- Lindsey, Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-15 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 10 years of wanting a road bike/cruiser, I found the one I like. It has great handling and is very fun to ride. I have had lots of compliments on it. I am waiting for some warm weather so I can enjoy this bike on a long trip.
- Allan, Tobaccoville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-02 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like some others I took quite a few years off from riding...though I have no idea why. Bought an older Yamaha Virago 1100 to see if we would still enjoy riding. That lasted for about 5 months then just had to upgrade. And what an upgrade it was! Bought our '06 VTX 1300R in Feb. of '07 and already have 5500 miles on it! Love this bike, great power, outstanding handling, and just plain fun. Only concern with this bike is the factory seats...they have to go!Just ordered a new Mustang wide touring seat, I'm sure it will make the hours in the saddle even more fun.
- AFFIRE78, CHEYENNE, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-11 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started out about a year ago on a Honda Shadow 750 Aero. I always add Mustang seats to my bikes, so I thought that little Honda was comfortable. Then I got a Harley 883Low Sportster, which really made the little Honda seem comfortable, even with a Mustang. After having both entry level bikes for a month or so, my girlfriend preferred the Harley and I preferred the Honda. So I decided to upgrade the Honda to this bike, a metallic blue VTX1300R with an even bigger chrome dome headlight for watching the scenery overhead. The stock seat could actually get me 30 miles without stopping, so I upgraded the seat to a Mustang again. Still no windshield, as I refuse to add one to any of my bikes. Well, this Honda makes the 750 Honda seem like a Harley when it comes to riding comfort. The combination of 1.2 inches more on the wheelbase, the 150 pounds extra weight, bigger tires, and better suspension make for an extremely comfortable ride. Painful roads are now non-existent on this VTX. It handles quite nimbly for such a large bike and actually corners better than the 750 did. The little Harley can smoke it off the line, but this VTX still has plenty of power cruising along at 80 mph, such that you can easily humiliate tailgaters at that speed. With the nice floorboards, it feels like sitting still in an easy chair doing 80. I recently took it for a 409-mile one-day ride to the Florida beaches, and I still had more energy left in me at my age of 51. This one is built for the highway! Is it perfect? Absolutely not, but the quibbles are minor. The thumb screws on the brake cylinder like to come undone every few weeks, so I just need to remember to check them. For this upgrade from the 750 Aero, one would think that it would have self-cancelling turn signals. Nope! The same cheap turn signals from the 750 Aero adorn this one. I rarely use them because I forget to turn them off, which is a bad habit. The red lights on the speedometer make that guage hard to read at night with a face shield, but I rarely ride at night. What I liked about the 750 Aero was it's quiet shaft drive and liquid cooled engine that allowed one to ride with short pants. Not so on this VTX! The shaft on this larger engine makes an annoying chirping sound, and the heat from the engine at slow speeds can be worse than my smaller air-cooled Harley. Notice that the larger Yamaha cruisers switch from shaft to belt drive and liquid-cooled big V-Twins are non-existent. Yamaha has Honda beat on this one, as I would prefer belt drive, air-cooled, and fuel injection on this VTX. Gee, that sounds like a Harley, but I don't have another $8000 to own another Harley. (I do like using regular gas on one of the last carbureted V-Twins.) For the money, you can't beat this bike as a highway cruiser. Just don't try to learn on it.
- Paul Bellocq, Slidell, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-10 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2 days ago was the first time I rode a motorcycle. It was the VTX 1300R I bought last week. Had a short riding lesson from my bro and over the last 2 days have ridden through the neighborhood as much as possible. I'd say the fact that I'm already comfortable with it after 2 days is a testament to its ease of ride. Cannot compare to other bikes as I have no experience, but cannot imagine wanting something else.
- Vince, Farmington Hills, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-15 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I first saw the VTX 1300R nearly two years ago. My hubby has a Sportster, and I was about to buy a 2007 Lowrider, but something held me back. After one of the H-D guys at work teasingly asked me why I'd want twice the bike for half the price, I went back to look at the VTX and bought it. I LOVE THIS BIKE!!! The first weekend I had it, I rode with two H-D friends - one on a Sporty. He got pushed all over the road by a little breeze while I sat there enjoying the ride. I got to ride our Sporty home from the shop last weekend and rediscovered why I'm happy with my VTX. The ride is smooooth, and there's plenty of power. It's well balanced, and just plain fun! I've put 500 miles on it in two weekends. If it had self-canceling turn signals and a gas gauge, it would be PURRFECT!!
- C. Fell, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-13 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being a first time rider, I took my time looking for the right bike. After four months of looking, there was no question this was the one. I love the way the bike handles and the ride is great. My wife loves to ride with me. I will have many great rides on this motorcycle to come in the future.
- Fred Davis, Sanford , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-21 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike just gets better and better. I got all my extras in that I ordered at purchase and installed them. This bike has power to spare especially with all my weight on it, that is saying something. I am including an updated picture of Blue.
- Eric Eck, Keizer, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-27 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought new, but back into dealer at just 500mi due to a coolant leak. Hope this isn't the sign of things to come. So far, I like it a lot, though was just able to have a couple of 200+ mile rides before the current problem. It doesn't feel like a heavy bike and I do enjoy it's handling and ride better than my old Virago 1100... noticeable amount of top-end there. The coolant leak kept me from giving better marks & has me looking out the window on a sunny day right now. Has a similar riding feel to a V-Star, to which was my second choice of cruiser.
- Wes Laxton, Oneida, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-23 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been on a number of bikes over the years and found them all fine. This bike for a big guy is great. I take my little wife with me and we have a blast. In the 2.5 months I've owned this bike it had treated me well. With drives well over 200 miles at a time, I find the comfort fine. I drive almost daily as this is my main form of transportation and would not trade this in as it is a great ride and the weather is great here year around.
- Santa, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-01 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sold my 1988 1100 Shadow and bought my 1300VTX the same day. This is one sweet ride. haven't had a chance to ride it much but going to the LONE STAR RALLEY this weekend. My wife rode with me for the first time and had a blast. She says it's very comfy but needs rear floorboards. The only problem so far is the tank emblems are coming off. BACK TO THE DEALER. Other then that , this bike is perfect. Keep the metal side up and the rubber side down.
- J. Marshall, Mont Belvieu, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-27 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a 1985 Yamaha Virago 1000 for over 20 years. I have buddys with everything from Harleys to Yamaha's, and I have ridden all of them. I have to tell you that this Honda VTX1300R is one of the best. I bought it in May 2006 and put over 2500 miles on it so far. I find reasons to ride it. Everybody has their own look they are going for and the Honda VTX1300R was mine... Cool retro look with modern technology. I can't say enough about this bike, and for the money, probably the best value out there. I was in the market for a Harley FAT BOY and really love that bike, but for almost double the cost of the Honda I went for the VTX and I don't feel I missed out. Awesome Bike!!!
- Tim, Jackson, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-22 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Seat needs to be replaced. They need to switch the bike over to fuel injecion like the 1800. 8100 miles and the bike still runs like new, that's Honda for you. Great bike to commute on, I cruise around 80mph and get around 45hmpg.
- al, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-02 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I downsized from a 1999 Honda Valkyrie Interstate to the 2006 Honda VTX 1300R and it has renewed my interest in riding again. The performance and handling is better than I expected. I would recommend this bike to someone looking at Hondas.
- Glen Junker, Orion, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-23 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Honda hit a home run with this bike: power, comfort, style, and ease of operation. I have rode Yamaha's, Kawasaki's, and Harley's for over 20 years and this bike is the best I have rode off the showroom floor, bar none.
- amn38343, Jackson , Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-22 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike on a Friday and rode 5 hours to the mountains and back. It handles great, power is phenomenal, and balance is awesome. Seat is questionable-will replace.
- WOW!, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-16 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With gas prices, I was finally able to talk my wife into a motorcycle. The biggest problem was, she had to approve it. I had spent many weeks looking at new and used bikes and always kept coming back to this one. When we stopped into a shop, she walked right to it and said that this is one that she liked. Imagine my happiness. SHE bought it on the spot. I have riden through high winds and calm days and love this bike. I have many upgrades in mind over the next year, but as it stands, it is stock and looks and performs better then other biles that are customized out. I have had a lot of compliments on it. You will not be disappointed.
- Mark Thill, Algona, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-06 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Honda stays true. Comfort, rideability, looks, from the beautiful silver finish, retro styling & nicely cast wheels, customizable, price, power, you name it. This bike fits me perfect, and my husband can ride it comfortably too; The forward controls are well placed, and ride height is good for both of us. I'm 5'7 and he's 5'11.
- Lisa, Topeka, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-26 2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only had this bike for four days and already put 250 miles on it. Can't seem to get enough of riding it. It handles real smooth for it's size, even in rain storms. I got caught in a bad thunder storm on the way home from the dealership. It is a beautiful bike to look at when not riding it. I love it.
- Tommy Laroze, Lutcher, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: