Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R) reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

35 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Pete

Imler , Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-12-14

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have taken this bike everywhere, from cross town to across states. The bike is dependable, comfortable and very appealing. The bike always hauls two riders and never misses a beat. My only immediate recomendation is the addition of floor boards for the passenger.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MIKE

INDY, Indiana

Reviewed on 2009-10-05

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
BOUGHT THIS BIKE A YEAR AGO AND I MUST SAY IT IS A ROCK SOLID RIDE! REPLACED THE SEAT WITH A MUSTANG WIDE TOUR SEAT AND BACKREST. NOW THE RIDE AND HANDLING IS AWESOME. PERFORMANCE IS AMAZING FOR SUCH A HEAVY MACHINE. NO REGRETS HERE!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul J. Andrews III

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2009-04-28

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 2006 VTX 1300R this bike is great in the city, and has the weight and speed for the highway. Turn the key and the bike purrs like a cat everytime. This bike holds its own against any other crusier out there. I have rode enjoyable miles, and have many many more miles to go. Make sure you get a wind shield to have wind protection. Be safe and enjoy the ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Landon W.

Mayflower, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2009-03-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had never ridden or even owned a motorcycle until my 2006 Honda VTX 1300R. I purchased this bike over a year ago and have fallen in love with this bike from the first moment I rode down the interstate. It is very smooth, comfortable and responsive. And the 1300cc motor is very stout, especially hauling a big boy like myself. I highly recommend this bike to any rider, new or experienced.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Kollath

Chilton, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2009-03-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I came to riding later in life (45). My first bike was a moped. No kidding. Two years later in 2007 after completing the MFS course I bought my VTX. I love it. It has great power and balance. It is very reliable and quiet for a big V-twin. It looks great and it fits me great. I like the floorboards and the heel-toe shifter. If you drive more than 75 miles per trip you may want to consider an aftermarket seat. In two years I have 10,000 problem-free miles and look forward to riding my VTX for many years to come.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donna Proehl

Theodore, Alabama

Reviewed on 2008-11-29

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have bought 4 bikes for myself within 4 years before I was able to finally get my 1300. This is what I consider my dream bike. I love it! I can maneuver it like there's no tomorrow. I started in 2001 with a 250cc, then went to a 600cc, 750cc, 1100cc and finally to my VTX1300R. I love the metallic silver color.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lindsey

Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reviewed on 2008-05-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding since my dad bought my first bike, a Honda 50cc, when I was 8 years old. I have had on road, off road and on/off road bikes. One thing is for sure... I LOVE to ride!! I bought my VTX 1300R as a replacement for a 600 VLX and never looked back. One thing I couldn't do on my 600 was take it on long trips. As many of you already know, that is no problem on the 1300! I knew from the minute I sat on the 1300 that it was the bike for me. Short in stride, I needed a bike that I could comfortably sit on (with my feet on the ground). I was worried that I might have to lower anything I got but soon found out that the 1300 fit just fine. The bike is well balanced, easy to ride and a true joy every time I am on it. Thanks Honda for continuing to create such fine pieces of machinery!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Allan

Tobaccoville, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2008-02-15

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 10 years of wanting a road bike/cruiser, I found the one I like. It has great handling and is very fun to ride. I have had lots of compliments on it. I am waiting for some warm weather so I can enjoy this bike on a long trip.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

AFFIRE78

CHEYENNE, Wyoming

Reviewed on 2007-07-02

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Like some others I took quite a few years off from riding...though I have no idea why. Bought an older Yamaha Virago 1100 to see if we would still enjoy riding. That lasted for about 5 months then just had to upgrade. And what an upgrade it was! Bought our '06 VTX 1300R in Feb. of '07 and already have 5500 miles on it! Love this bike, great power, outstanding handling, and just plain fun. Only concern with this bike is the factory seats...they have to go!Just ordered a new Mustang wide touring seat, I'm sure it will make the hours in the saddle even more fun.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Bellocq

Slidell, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2007-06-11

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Honda VTX1300R (VT1300R)

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I started out about a year ago on a Honda Shadow 750 Aero. I always add Mustang seats to my bikes, so I thought that little Honda was comfortable. Then I got a Harley 883Low Sportster, which really made the little Honda seem comfortable, even with a Mustang. After having both entry level bikes for a month or so, my girlfriend preferred the Harley and I preferred the Honda. So I decided to upgrade the Honda to this bike, a metallic blue VTX1300R with an even bigger chrome dome headlight for watching the scenery overhead. The stock seat could actually get me 30 miles without stopping, so I upgraded the seat to a Mustang again. Still no windshield, as I refuse to add one to any of my bikes. Well, this Honda makes the 750 Honda seem like a Harley when it comes to riding comfort. The combination of 1.2 inches more on the wheelbase, the 150 pounds extra weight, bigger tires, and better suspension make for an extremely comfortable ride. Painful roads are now non-existent on this VTX. It handles quite nimbly for such a large bike and actually corners better than the 750 did. The little Harley can smoke it off the line, but this VTX still has plenty of power cruising along at 80 mph, such that you can easily humiliate tailgaters at that speed. With the nice floorboards, it feels like sitting still in an easy chair doing 80. I recently took it for a 409-mile one-day ride to the Florida beaches, and I still had more energy left in me at my age of 51. This one is built for the highway! Is it perfect? Absolutely not, but the quibbles are minor. The thumb screws on the brake cylinder like to come undone every few weeks, so I just need to remember to check them. For this upgrade from the 750 Aero, one would think that it would have self-cancelling turn signals. Nope! The same cheap turn signals from the 750 Aero adorn this one. I rarely use them because I forget to turn them off, which is a bad habit. The red lights on the speedometer make that guage hard to read at night with a face shield, but I rarely ride at night. What I liked about the 750 Aero was it's quiet shaft drive and liquid cooled engine that allowed one to ride with short pants. Not so on this VTX! The shaft on this larger engine makes an annoying chirping sound, and the heat from the engine at slow speeds can be worse than my smaller air-cooled Harley. Notice that the larger Yamaha cruisers switch from shaft to belt drive and liquid-cooled big V-Twins are non-existent. Yamaha has Honda beat on this one, as I would prefer belt drive, air-cooled, and fuel injection on this VTX. Gee, that sounds like a Harley, but I don't have another $8000 to own another Harley. (I do like using regular gas on one of the last carbureted V-Twins.) For the money, you can't beat this bike as a highway cruiser. Just don't try to learn on it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 35 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: