Honda VTX1300R Motorcycles Reviews (34)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTX1300R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VTX1300R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-05-15 2008 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is probably my last bike. Over the years I've had more than a few bikes, mostly Honda and mostly Cruisers. I can't say enough about Honda reliability. This bike was bought new in 2010 as a left over 2008 (saved a bunch of $). The stock seat as with most bikes was comfortable for short distance, but we went for the Mustang wide touring seat for all day comfort. This bike will go all day with her sweet spot around 80-85 mph. With accessories as noted below we have a solid touring bike with enough roll on power to pass all traffic.
- Anonymous, redding, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-23 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike in the summer of 2010 with zero miles. Since then, I have put a few miles on it without any problems. I had to get used to sitting up (switched from sport bike). All of my riding friends love my bike! I only wish it had a gas gauge.
- Clarence E., Ypsilanti, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-16 2009 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my bike for four years now and it still rides like the first day. Although there's only 3,500 miles on it, I take very good care of it and it's garage kept. The only complaint I have is regarding the vibration emitting from the metal shroud on the gas tank. Oh, and be careful cornering as it sits very low. It's very comfortable, I'd recommend this bike in a heartbeat.
- Greg, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-07 2009 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my license for two years and upgraded from the 750 Shadow. What a great change. It's very comfortable. I can't for winter to be over so I can get back out there.
- Kathy Emro, Middleton, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-29 2009 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not ridden a bike on a regular basis in over 41 years. My wife, God bless her, bought me a brand new black 2009 VTX1300R and gave it to me on Christmas Day. Man what a surprise! I thought I was going to have some problems with the size and weight. But this bike is low, very well balanced and has been very easy for me to handle. Of course being older I do take it slow. I now have over 2200 miles on it without any problems at all. After a few months of practice on my own, I went and took the MSF class, which was well worth the money. You just can't beat a Honda. I sure love my bike!!!! P.S. And of course my wife, too.
- Joel T. Navarro, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-07 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike new, out of the crate, in July of 2010. The dealer had several that have been in storage since 2007. It's my first bike and I couldn't be happier with it. It's very comfortable (something I understand that used to be a problem). I've only had the bike for 2-1/2 months, but so far the quality and performance have been great. I get about 45 mpg and take it everywhere. It's a big bike, but easy to ride, with a low center of gravity. It corners well, accelerates well, and is heavy enough to feel totally in control on the windiest of days. I have no problem carrying my wife around on back either, with no loss of power or control. And I love the full foot rests and the heel/toe shifter. I get a lot of compliments on its looks too - I have the black 1300R. No real complaints so far. It's only been a couple months, but I can see having this bike a long time.
- Tom G., Cary, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-30 2009 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just moved up from a Honda 750 AERO 2006. I loved that bike but it just did not have enough passing power when riding two up which I do a lot of. In fact, if my wife is home I can't get out of the house on the bike without her. The 1300R is everything I hoped it would be. I cruise at 70-75 as smooth as can be. If I turn the throttle, I am at 85 in about three seconds. I don't think I have turned the throttle more than half way since I got the bike. Right now I only have 275 miles on it but tomorrow I will have the Vans & Hines big shots put on along with the carb jet kit, mustang seat, saddle bags and backrest. Can't wait to hear it and feel even more power. I got a great deal - brand new, $7500.00 and a 10% discount on the upgrades. The whole bike with accessories and out the door was only $10,400.00. I highly recommend you shop the internet and find the best deal. Many shops will honor a lower price from another dealer. This bike handles as easy as my 750. It took me about three minutes to adjust (heal shifter). Anyone who wants a great retro cruiser without paying a fortune cannot go wrong with this bike.
- Jeff Treganowan, Santa Rosa Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-14 2008 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased this VTX1300R brand new with zero miles on it from a dealer in Virginia, and I couldn't be happier. I had been thinking about moving up from my Aero750 but was a bit hesitant. I saw this on special for $7,500 and thought I'd take the plunge. Right from the start I was impressed with the handling of the VTX1300R. Although you can feel that it is a bigger bike, the handling is very much like the Aero750. The braking is a lot more responsive with the disc rear, and there seems to be a lot more throttle left when cruising at 70+mph. My average MPGs range from 43 to just over 50 in the first 416 miles of driving.
- Anthony C, Mt Airy, MD, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-10 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Spent quite a bit of time looking at bikes before purchase. Very happy with the quality and price at purchase. I do have the rattle from the fuel tank but very rarely and it is the stock seat that prevents me from rating comfort at 5. Otherwise, the performance and styling of this bike beats most bikes I see on the road and at half the price of most HD motorcycles. I have to give a thumbs up to the dealership as they have been very accomodating for service since purchase and are always helpful. I brought my bike out to Virginia Beach this summer and trekked down to Kitty Hawk, NC a number of times. I am only sorry I was unable to ride the Dragon's Tail this summer but I will get back. I get great comments on the bike and styling and I love the metallic blue, since most of my friends have black bikes and it sticks out. It is finicky in cold weather, but like almost everyone says, once warmed up it is always fine and provides great power for the weight. Would buy another Honda without giving it a second thought.
- Roel Ybarra, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-03 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think I have really saved the best bike for my last one. I will be 66 soon and this is my 7th bike. It had been over 20 years since I rode a bike when I bought my 2007 VTX1300R, like new with 1600 miles on it. It was as if I had ridden it all my life. Actually took about one hour and I was back in the groove. I have owned a Harley Electraglide, Gold Wing, several Kawasaki bikes in the 1000cc range and while the VTX has fewer horses than some, the VTX is more fun to ride than any of them. It looks, sounds (Cobra pipes) and rides like a motorcycle should. The balance is about perfect and seating position is really comfortable. You can bet I was concerned about my age and how I would be able to handle the bike after 20 years of not riding. No Problem, bike is heavy and while powerful does not try to jump out from under you like those little 1000 Kawasakies used to. If you think this bike might be too much for you don't worry. This senior citizen handles it with ease and you will too.
- Bill, Mobile, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-08 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 5th bike. I get more comments on this bike than any I've owned. It really is a good looking bike. I haven't had any of the noise problems others have mentioned. For my height, it would be nice if the seat was back just a bit. I'm looking for an after market seat for it. Had it now for 3 months, ride every Saturday, and so far, this is my favorite bike.
- Suthern, St. Pete, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-13 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 5th bike. They have always been HONDAS. This 1300r is by far the best one so far. I just took a 3,400 mile road trip and loved it.
- mark legg, marshalltown, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-25 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Honda has a hit with this one, very dependable, sweet riding, the best bike I have ever owned.
- JDIVEY, Oakville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-21 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has plenty of power to run with the bigger boys, Great around town, canyons and freeways. It does have the HD thud going from first to secound gear (normal). It is also very cold blooded! Once it warms up, it's a mid sized power house. Handles like a smaller bike and looks Great. I get tons of oohs and ahs. Just a very nice looking and dependable bike.
- Roger, Taylorsville, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-25 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the VTX1300R, 2007. It is very comfortable and stable. I do wish 1st gear gave me a longer acceleration period before having to change to 2nd. I have heard about the tank vibration from others. I have yet to deal with it. To cover the noise (which is rarely there - only when chilly), I installed a Rumble-Road speaker system that plays my tunes from my MP3 player (very loudly and clearly). I added bags, highway bars w/ pegs, a windshield and backrest. If you have never had a backrest, you do not realize what you are missing. I now feel I could run to Florida w/ no problem. I would however like to look down and see a fuel gauge (doesn't have). I ran out of gas once and didn't like it. I purchased the extended warranty and prepaid all maintenance (Honda Gold) covering all oil changes, etc. for the 1st 3 years - unlimited mileage. All said I would buy this bike again and again.
- MSF. Ryder, Midlothian, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-05 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had Harleys in the past and this bike... hands down...is clearly, a better machine. Everything about it is better, faster and nicer. An excellent choice and I feel very safe on it.
- Sheryl Fresk, St. Petersburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-30 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding a VT750 DC Shadow Spirit for about 7 years. I love the bike and it handles great and runs great. I do all the work myself on it (which isn't much at all being a Honda). However, at highway speeds I have always been looking for that extra gear. I have kept the 750 but recently got the VTX 1300 Retro (2007). Being a much bigger bike I thought it would be a little more cumbersome and there would be some break in period where I would get used to so much weight. However, that couldn't have been further from the truth. This bike hugs corners BETTER than the 750 and is easier to maneuver and control. This beast has sooooo much power; I chirped the back wheel one time going from 2nd gear to 3rd at 40mph! I have been thoroughly impressed with this bike. I chose it over the 1800 for only one reason... more agile!
- Cruisin on my VTX, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-15 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle and I couldn't have made a better choice. I learned on a small 250cc and was a little scared of the power my VTX1300R has, but after a week of riding it, it is the absolute best. It has excellent balance and plenty of power. All of the controls are exactly where they need to be. I drive the interstate a lot now. There is plenty of power to spare. Even with my large size, it doesn't think twice about acceleration when I give it the gas. If you are thinking about buying one... BUY IT! You won't regret it.
- WHD, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-07 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a great bike. No wonder it's so popular. It handles with the greatest of ease. It is such a well balanced and smooth riding machine. I've made some upgrades which makes it even sweeter. It puts other over-rated brands to shame.
- Jim C., Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-22 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The VTX has more than enough power for me to ride highways or back-roads without worrying about keeping up with traffic! It handles well and holds the road very well when faced with windblasts from trucks! I also love the classic styling of this bike. It weighs in at somewhere over 720 lbs wet, but feels lighter than it is because it is well-balanced. Most people have needed to switch their stock seat out, but I have been comfortable with it for now. I suppose after I do some longer trips, I might reconsider, but for now I am comfortable. The bike is a cold-natured beast. It needs to be warmed up before it is happy. Once warmed up, it runs beautifully and happily. Most of the competition is fuel-injected, but I have no issues without it. The only downside for me is not being able to simply start up and ride away immediately, but as I said, it doesn't bother me at all. I checked out many different bikes before buying this one. I felt that this bike was the best overall bike, most comfortable and best value for me. I am extremely happy with my choice. If I were walking in to buy another bike today, I wouldn't hesitate to pick this bike up a second time!
- Lunytunes, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-08 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
SaaaWeeet! Is the word for my VTX1300R. If I could ride if until I fell off the earth I would. Easy to manuever even for a small guy like me. Great balance.
- A.Moran, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-28 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first venture into motorcycling after nearly 100,000 miles on a bike, pedal style (my motor was about to quit). Once tuned-in it is a great ride, the longest being about 6 hours. The miles have resulted in about 6 weeks. It seems to handle well and has great power. The stock seat nearly killed me, the Mustang tourer solved those issues. As I've read elsewhere, it is very cold natured even when starting out in 95+ degree weather. I'm looking forward to fall in the Ozarks and additional touring. The weight loss potential of a motorcycle pales in comparison to a bicycle but this is great fun on an excellent machine!!! My wife will get it soon as I'll move up the ladder a bit.
- Doug Killgore, Sherwood, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-25 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Stepping up from a Vulcan 900 LT, I found a bike that is more comfortable and is a lot more stable, especially at slow speeds. The bike has very good power torque, without giving up much on fuel consumption. I thought about getting the VTX 1800, but after riding this bike I don't see any reason to. This is a great midsized cruiser that can cruise with the big boys and do it cheaper. The ONLY thing that would improve this bike would be a fuel gauge.
- Roger Herriott, Clover Bend, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-19 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After sitting on the C model first, I knew this was the ride for me. Has the floor boards, the better seat (not that stock seat is the greatest but it is way better than the C model) and the pullback on the bars is almost near dead on! I wanted to go with the big bike for a first cause my loving wife said that there would be no buying another!!! YIKES! I have had it 2 full weeks now and I have a little more than 1600 miles on it. Man, it's a great bike. Has plenty of power in I-270 traffic too!! Needs a gas gauge though and a better gas cap!!
- Michael Brannum, saint louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-07 2007 Honda VTX1300R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had mine for 3 1/2 years and absolutely love the bike and its performance. Power with my wife on the back is plentiful. This bike loves the road, as do I. Recommend it to anyone.
- Glenn Avila, Elk, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: