Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda VTX1300R reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

34 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

redding, California

Reviewed on 2012-05-15

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Honda VTX1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is probably my last bike. Over the years I've had more than a few bikes, mostly Honda and mostly Cruisers. I can't say enough about Honda reliability. This bike was bought new in 2010 as a left over 2008 (saved a bunch of $). The stock seat as with most bikes was comfortable for short distance, but we went for the Mustang wide touring seat for all day comfort. This bike will go all day with her sweet spot around 80-85 mph. With accessories as noted below we have a solid touring bike with enough roll on power to pass all traffic.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Clarence E.

Ypsilanti, Michigan

Reviewed on 2011-05-23

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda VTX1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got this bike in the summer of 2010 with zero miles. Since then, I have put a few miles on it without any problems. I had to get used to sitting up (switched from sport bike). All of my riding friends love my bike! I only wish it had a gas gauge.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg

San Antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-03-16

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Honda VTX1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my bike for four years now and it still rides like the first day. Although there's only 3,500 miles on it, I take very good care of it and it's garage kept. The only complaint I have is regarding the vibration emitting from the metal shroud on the gas tank. Oh, and be careful cornering as it sits very low. It's very comfortable, I'd recommend this bike in a heartbeat.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kathy Emro

Middleton, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2011-02-07

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Honda VTX1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my license for two years and upgraded from the 750 Shadow. What a great change. It's very comfortable. I can't for winter to be over so I can get back out there.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joel T. Navarro

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2010-10-29

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Honda VTX1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have not ridden a bike on a regular basis in over 41 years. My wife, God bless her, bought me a brand new black 2009 VTX1300R and gave it to me on Christmas Day. Man what a surprise! I thought I was going to have some problems with the size and weight. But this bike is low, very well balanced and has been very easy for me to handle. Of course being older I do take it slow. I now have over 2200 miles on it without any problems at all. After a few months of practice on my own, I went and took the MSF class, which was well worth the money. You just can't beat a Honda. I sure love my bike!!!! P.S. And of course my wife, too.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom G.

Cary, Illinois

Reviewed on 2010-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda VTX1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the bike new, out of the crate, in July of 2010. The dealer had several that have been in storage since 2007. It's my first bike and I couldn't be happier with it. It's very comfortable (something I understand that used to be a problem). I've only had the bike for 2-1/2 months, but so far the quality and performance have been great. I get about 45 mpg and take it everywhere. It's a big bike, but easy to ride, with a low center of gravity. It corners well, accelerates well, and is heavy enough to feel totally in control on the windiest of days. I have no problem carrying my wife around on back either, with no loss of power or control. And I love the full foot rests and the heel/toe shifter. I get a lot of compliments on its looks too - I have the black 1300R. No real complaints so far. It's only been a couple months, but I can see having this bike a long time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Treganowan

Santa Rosa Beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2010-08-30

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Honda VTX1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just moved up from a Honda 750 AERO 2006. I loved that bike but it just did not have enough passing power when riding two up which I do a lot of. In fact, if my wife is home I can't get out of the house on the bike without her. The 1300R is everything I hoped it would be. I cruise at 70-75 as smooth as can be. If I turn the throttle, I am at 85 in about three seconds. I don't think I have turned the throttle more than half way since I got the bike. Right now I only have 275 miles on it but tomorrow I will have the Vans & Hines big shots put on along with the carb jet kit, mustang seat, saddle bags and backrest. Can't wait to hear it and feel even more power. I got a great deal - brand new, $7500.00 and a 10% discount on the upgrades. The whole bike with accessories and out the door was only $10,400.00. I highly recommend you shop the internet and find the best deal. Many shops will honor a lower price from another dealer. This bike handles as easy as my 750. It took me about three minutes to adjust (heal shifter). Anyone who wants a great retro cruiser without paying a fortune cannot go wrong with this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anthony C

Mt Airy, MD, Maryland

Reviewed on 2010-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Honda VTX1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just purchased this VTX1300R brand new with zero miles on it from a dealer in Virginia, and I couldn't be happier. I had been thinking about moving up from my Aero750 but was a bit hesitant. I saw this on special for $7,500 and thought I'd take the plunge. Right from the start I was impressed with the handling of the VTX1300R. Although you can feel that it is a bigger bike, the handling is very much like the Aero750. The braking is a lot more responsive with the disc rear, and there seems to be a lot more throttle left when cruising at 70+mph. My average MPGs range from 43 to just over 50 in the first 416 miles of driving.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roel Ybarra

Illinois

Reviewed on 2009-12-10

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda VTX1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Spent quite a bit of time looking at bikes before purchase. Very happy with the quality and price at purchase. I do have the rattle from the fuel tank but very rarely and it is the stock seat that prevents me from rating comfort at 5. Otherwise, the performance and styling of this bike beats most bikes I see on the road and at half the price of most HD motorcycles. I have to give a thumbs up to the dealership as they have been very accomodating for service since purchase and are always helpful. I brought my bike out to Virginia Beach this summer and trekked down to Kitty Hawk, NC a number of times. I am only sorry I was unable to ride the Dragon's Tail this summer but I will get back. I get great comments on the bike and styling and I love the metallic blue, since most of my friends have black bikes and it sticks out. It is finicky in cold weather, but like almost everyone says, once warmed up it is always fine and provides great power for the weight. Would buy another Honda without giving it a second thought.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Mobile, Alabama

Reviewed on 2009-12-03

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Honda VTX1300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I think I have really saved the best bike for my last one. I will be 66 soon and this is my 7th bike. It had been over 20 years since I rode a bike when I bought my 2007 VTX1300R, like new with 1600 miles on it. It was as if I had ridden it all my life. Actually took about one hour and I was back in the groove. I have owned a Harley Electraglide, Gold Wing, several Kawasaki bikes in the 1000cc range and while the VTX has fewer horses than some, the VTX is more fun to ride than any of them. It looks, sounds (Cobra pipes) and rides like a motorcycle should. The balance is about perfect and seating position is really comfortable. You can bet I was concerned about my age and how I would be able to handle the bike after 20 years of not riding. No Problem, bike is heavy and while powerful does not try to jump out from under you like those little 1000 Kawasakies used to. If you think this bike might be too much for you don't worry. This senior citizen handles it with ease and you will too.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 34 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: