Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda VTX1800F reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

19 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Matt

Wausau, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2010-06-08

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a used VTX 1800f spec2 with a lot of accessories. So far I have no complaints. I'm a big man, and it fits like a glove. With the Corbin seat, its almost too comfortable. The torque is awesome. The power doesn't seem to change with a passenger either. My thighs kind of sit on the rear of the tank, and I wanted to find a bib that covers the whole width of the tank at the rear. So far, the only guy I've found that makes such a thing retired.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DRussell

Everett, Washington

Reviewed on 2010-05-06

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Honda VTX1800F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my 5th bike in 3 years. Had just bought a VTX1300C and in less than a month wanted the 1800. Definitely a nice muscle bike. More bang for the buck too. Has more metal chrome than plastic. Runs very smooth. Doesn't feel much more bulkier than the 900 Vulcan I had. The digital tach is cool. The hydraulic clutch is great. Linked brakes are nice. Inverted fork tubes look sweet. This one is a "keeper"! Test drove a H-D_VRod 1250. The VTX smokes it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

richard

Maple Valley, Washington

Reviewed on 2009-03-08

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a 97 Vulcan 800 before, but this 1800 VTX is so sweet. I love it. If you want power, handling and braking, buy this. I have kept up with 600cc sport bikes. And it looks bad to the bone also. This is the best bang for the buck!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve T

Waukesha, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2007-10-16

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Clearly this bike lives up to its part dragster, part street bike label. Mine is a Spec 3 and looks great sitting in the driveway and even better on the move. It's a big bike and I've received many, many compliments and many "What is it?questions. The '05 has a very subtle tank emblem and outside of the few, discreetly placed Honda markings, it is difficult to immediately identify as a Honda. <br /> Reliability - 5 stars. I bought this '05 brand new in early '07. I have put about 1200 miles on it without a single problem. <br /> Performance - 5 stars. It has more than enough power throughout the band. It cruises comfortably at 75 mph. It has very good acceleration and excellent braking. Not sure which I like best: the acceleration or the handling. Together they're awesome! The extra wide rear tire adds so much handling it's almost idiot proof. <br /> Comfort - 5 stars. The seat is very comfortable for trips up to about an hour, which is nearly every ride (one way). I might recommend different than factory seat for long, cross-country touring. The handle bar and grip position and placement are perfect for a taller person. <br /> Quality - 5 stars. This is typical Honda quality. Expect nothing less than the best. This is my third Honda cruiser; all have been perfect. Attention to detail is really appreciated.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ESKIMO

DENHAM SPRINGS, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2007-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
AWESOME..AWESOME..AWESOME. 16 MONTHS AND 15000 MILES AND LOVING EVERY MILE. DIGITAL DASH IS HARD TO SEE IN BRIGHT SUN AND SEAT COULD BE A LITTLE MORE SOFT, BUT WHAT THE HECK... THROTTLE RESPONSE IS AWESOME EVEN IN THE ORGINAL SHOW ROOM SET UP. RESPONSE FROM OTHER BIKERS AND NON-BIKERS IS THAT THEY CAN'T BELIEVE IT IS A STOCK HONDA..VTX1800F2..TITANIUM TRIBAL. FUEL MILEAGE CAPABLE OF 54MPG IF YOU BEHAVE YOURSELF.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Heap

Kingwood, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-09-27

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800F

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Have had the bike for over a year with no problems at all. Bike runs and handles like a champ - especially for a cruiser. The only problem with the bike is the stock seat - very uncomfortable. you're lucky to last an hour on the road without pain in your rear end. Had to replace the stock seat with after market. Other than that, I love the bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Beaumont, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-09-05

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have only had this bike for a few weeks. It is a 2005 VTX 1800 F, Black Cherry Red. Great looking bike. I bought it new and only have around 250 miles on it. I love the way it looks and handles. It has a great ride and acceleration. Just a little rough if you hit some rough roads. The seat could be better. I have noticed a howling noise around 35 to 50 mph. Would like to know if anyone else has this same noise on a 2005 0r 2006 Honda. I took it back to the dealer and had a mechanic ride it. He also ownes a VTX 1800. He said his makes the same noise. He said it was the rear brake making the noise and said it was normal for this bike, even though somewhat annoying. When you increase the speed the noise is still there but not noticeable because of the wind noise. Other than that, it is a great bike. I get lots of looks and everyone wants to know what kind of bike it is. I have been thinking of adding some after market pipes and with the increased sound maybe the brake will not be noticeable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

rob

elmont, ny.

Reviewed on 2006-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm a 6' 2" tall rider and decided to buy this bike because it was a big bike and a power house. Afer going for a 5 hour ride I found myself in a lot of pain in my thigh mustles because my knees are too bent and I am struggling to keep my legs together. I installed a foward control extention kit with only some improvement in comfort. I just ordered cruising peg brackets and pegs. I'm hoping this is the solution. The seat is hard and uncomfortable. Other then the comfort problem I do love this machine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TheCrux

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2005-10-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my 2005 Honda VTX 1800 F Spec 1 after reading all the reviews. It's all and more of what everyone is saying about it. It's fast, smooth handling is dreamy. The only down side to this model is that you can hardly find any after market products for it. How many years does a bike have to be out before they start making a decent selection of accessories comparable to the C model? Corbin is the only seat manufacturer doing seats. That sucks because Ultimate X and Mustang seat are much more comfy. The stock seat is comfortable but, if you have an inseam shorter than 30 inches like me you're going to wish you had an Ultimate X Lowrider seat. I can reach the pegs ok, but when I am sitting all the way back against the seat back my arms are completely stretched out straight. Cobra is offering sissy bars, floorboards, and other bolt on chrome add-ons for the F model. Second to that I think if they would have made the handlebar risers 1 inch longer, every owner would be doing back flips of joy. I think every reviewer's opinion including mine is the reach is a little bit long. I find my elbow beginning to hurt after about 35 miles or so. But even still I have no regrets about my purchase. So go for it and buy what the magazines are calling the best VTX ever (The F model)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KrazyJ

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2005-08-19

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Honda VTX1800F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the 05 vtx 1800 style f spec 3 about 3 months ago and I haven't regretted one thing about buying the beauty. This bike is the best looking bike out of 1500 bikes I saw at the dealership. Style f with the sporty chopped fender in the back and the 10 spoke mag wheels makes this monster a beauty, if that makes sense. The only thing that I thought I didn't like was the fat fat tank. But I got used to it and now I am glad it has a big tank because the big motor will eat a lot of gas if you let it. Besides that the bike is a gorgeous mix of black and chrome and when you shine that sucker up it is truly breathtaking. Personally I would have bought a used 1800 vtx if they didn't come out with the new style f. Enough about the looks let's get to the performance. At first I found the bike to be jerky but rightfully so since the jerkiness is a sign of the power the motor has. Admittedly the 1st gear is deffinately a little short but makes for great acceleration. Anyway with a little getting used to and fine tuning your throttle hand you should not feel uneasy starting from a stop. Anyway you can just ease off the clutch and the bike will be on its way. Now for the fun parts the middle gears. Once you have the bike rolling and the weight of the bike is no longer a factor, this bike will take you where you want to go when you want to get there( hopefully without any speeding tickets). The pull that this bike has will leave an unwary passenger with the dust behind you so make sure you tell you passengers to hold tight. Good torque across a broad rpm range makes acceleration almost effortless at any speed. Now the fastest I took the bike was 130 mph down a empty expressway. I don't recommend that though. Overall a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 19 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: