Honda VTX1800R Motorcycles Reviews (28)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTX1800R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VTX1800R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-07-05 2007 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Aesthetically a thing of beauty, a work of art. Jack be nimble Jack be quick Jack jumped over anything that gets in his way. For a cruizer, it's got a little crotch rocket in it.
- Ron Higginbotham, Sheridan, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-21 2007 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First, the background. I'm a very experienced rider (70K+) who was in the market for a new or nearly new HD. I kept dropping by the Honda shop to check out their used Harleys. After seeing the 1800S, it didn't take me long to reconsider. After a test ride, there was no turning back. Less than 2 weeks later, I've racked up nearly 1000 miles, &#038; can't stay off the thing, even in November. Of course, the appearance grabbed me at first glance. I love the classic, retro styling. Sitting on it revealed the most perfect ergos I've ever experienced on a motorcycle. While I'm relatively short, my legs and arms aren't, so it's always been a tradeoff. The floorboards were a hit. I've ridden bikes with floorboards before, but they just didn't seem to be in the right spot. The big VTX fit me like I designed it. Then there's the motor. Visually stunning, and operationally outstanding. Remember, I was in the market for a HD big twin with 70hp/90ft lbs torque, so the 110 inch VTX with its 106/120 numbers was like a dream come true. No more wishing I had more power &#038; torque going up hills or against a big Okie headwind. I've spent the last 5 years on an 883 Sportster, so you can imagine I'm in horsepower heaven. The power isn't of any use if you can't get it to the ground, and I found that the gearing was really spot-on. A low first gets all the mass moving, then 2-4 gets you there with all the thump you need. Fifth is there for the ride when you get out in the open. In fact, it took me a while to get used to using fifth at 55. Initially, I thought I was lugging the motor. While letting my brother ride it, with me trailing on his Road King, the VTX's exhaust note let me know that it wasn't lugging at all. I just wasn't used to all that torque down low. Once you get out on the super slab, that fifth gear has plenty of leg room, with a sweet spot that stretches from 65 to 85. The only downside is that running at 80 will diminish the MPG noticeably. In fact with me at the controls, MPG is always diminished. I just can't seem to keep my hand out of the throttle. Roll-ons are a blast. A healthy dose of throttle at 50 in third will have you grinning' like a possum. Do the same at 70 in fourth and you'll be on the top side of triple digits in very short order. This thing pulls like an airplane taking off. I feel guilty for submitting to this new addiction, but I'm hooked. I've noted to anyone who'll listen, that the brakes on this beast work at least as good as the motor. The modified linked braking system feels very natural, and affords controlled quick stops in about as short a distance as I can imagine. I've yet to lock the wheels, and yes, I've tried. There are not many miles on the odometer yet, but with a grand in the first week, I'm getting the feel of it, and it feels like I'm looking forward to a really long relationship. On a finishing note, the stock 1800S saddle had studs, so I accessorized to match. On my backside meter, I've logged 250 miles in one day with no ill effects. On other bikes, I've experienced the need to get off at as few as 15 miles. My wife is still considering recommending an aftermarket seat, but at this point, I'm very happy with the stock seat, both in appearance/fit and comfort. If I were to ever wear this bike out, you can be sure my first look will be at the next generation of the VTX.<br />
- Rick, Shawnee, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-16 2005 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went through the MSF Course at the local community college, got my license, and bought this as my first bike. One of the instructors at the class advised us to get the bike we really wanted, instead of getting a smaller one and learning on it before moving up. Am I glad he said that, because I bought a crated 2005 Spec 3, in Black. After adding minimal accessories, like a back-rest and saddlebags, I rode off into the sunset with it, and have had a ball. The VTX is amazingly easy to learn to handle, as long as one remembers to start off slow and not push it's limits while still learning it's temperment. This bike is very balanced, and goes through turns and corners in an almost intuative manner. It is smooth, but with so much power that you need to be very careful with the clutch throttle and brake levers, so that you don't let the bike get away from you. All that being said, this is the most fun one can have out of bed I have ever seen. It is responsive, balanced, comfortable (although I haven't taken it on a ride longer than 1 hour yet), and well designed. About the only downer is the grips could be made more comfortable, but a pair of ISO grips is in this bike's very near future.
- Norman, Bowie, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-26 2005 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just completed the initial maintenance (600 miles) on my new VTX and can say without reservation that I just love this bike. I was drawn to the 1800 by 'word of mouth'. Originally, I was not considering a Honda at all, but leaning toward a Susuki or Kawasaki Cruiser. My body size just seemed to fit nicely on those bikes. (Ironically, my local dealer did not have an 1800 in stock and I was making my comparisons against the 1300's, which were just a little too small for me.) But, eventually I found a dealer with an 1800 and fell in love with it the minute my tail hit the seat. Then I started my research.....the feedback and data were overwhelmingly in favor of the VTX1800 as being the overall best cruiser on the market. Finally I found a dealership on the web and a marriage was made. I found a 'left-over' 2005 VTX1800S for the right price and it now sits in my garage. Most of my riding has either been trips into town for errands or rides up the canyon toward Woodland Park. The bike is big and heavy but that gives it great stability at highway speeds. Amazingly for this big of a bike it handles mountain corners wonderfully well. I have only had my 'S' for 4 weeks and riden for 600 miles but I can give it two enthusiastic thumbs up!
- John, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-08 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a wonderful machine. Looks, style and performance all in one package. Can't believe the ease of riding such a massive machine. Carries passenger with no effort at all. My Harley friends hate me as they can't keep up!!!Scary fast if you're not paying attention. Wife loves the ride, makes my life much easier!
- Antonio Santagata, linton, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-12 2005 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With over 65K miles on my X, I think this is one of the best bikes I have ever owned. Visit some of the VTX web sites and you will find the majority of owners agree. I'll expect to put well over 100K miles on it and know several people that have over 100K on their bikes.
- Bill Scriven, Valley Springs, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-10 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have yet to find something wrong with this machine, well it does get low fuel mileage, (but maybe that's because of the throttle controller, meaning the person doing the twisting) which when twisted responds quite well. With two riders it just glides, and I can't get enough free time to really enjoy it. I bought mine new in June of '06 and then went to Sturgis with a bunch of buddies, what a great time. Mine is a spec 3, S version and I'd buy the same machine for long travel. Piped it sounds awesome, and most newbies think it costs MUCH more than the going price. GREAT BIKE!!!
- Kevin Moore, Provo, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-09 2005 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2003 VTX 1800R holdover in 2005. The power, torque, ride in the wind, all of these things was great. At 12000 I started to hear a rattle in the engine and found that the cam chain was stretched, taking out most of the top end when the cam jumped a cog. So far I know of 2 other VTX-s, all 03s, with the same problem. The cam chain is lighter than one put in a four wheeler and has a long run on top of it all. Still don't know if Honda will or can fix it. Get your chains checked if you have one of these critters!! Damage was estimated at $3,100.
- Dale Sallans, O'Neill, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-29 2005 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my VTX 1800 R (Black Beauty) from Honda East two years ago. Notice, I'm not even close to Ohio, but, the deal they offered me online was the best anywhere. There wasn't a dealer out here that came within $1k of deal they made for me... and that included shipping. Two years and almost eight thousand miles later and the trade in value of the bike is about what I paid new. This is one of four bikes in the garage, but it is always the first one out, and the others mostly just collect dust now. Love the bike. Although I don't push the limits of this monster, there isn't a cruiser on the road that comes close to its' performance. The stock exhaust is very mild, but, all the folks who ride with me know that sound doesn't equal speed. They know the VTX is relatively silent but definitely deadly. If there is a complaint to be made it would be the seat it's a little hard after about 100 or so miles.
- John , Murray, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-09 2005 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last year I purchased my first Motorcycle in 25 years. I purchased a Suzuki C50 to get started in the cruiser line. I have passed it onto my Son because he is ready and I purchased the Honda VTX 1800R. All I can say is what a machine. For a big bike (and I mean Big) it is surprisingly easy to handle. When I say easy to handle I mean at low speeds practicing slow manuvers which are most difficult. On the road it is a dream, smooth, and powerful are the words that come to mind. Fuel is used on the low end at 32mpg and high end 42mpg, it is best on fuel on the road, this crusier likes to cruise. The seat is.... well it is a motorcycle seat and takes some getting use to. Honda could have added a clock but over all I love the Bike and would recommend it to anyone that had been riding awhile. This is a real crusier but not a good first bike. If it proves to be half as reliable as my Suzuki (and I am sure it will) it is going to be the standard by which all bikes are measured. Great bike.
- Andy Schaumburg, Killeen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-08 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My confidence in the bike was greatly inceased after attending the safety course. Way more power then expected, pulled a wheelie going to 3rd gear. All comments from people so far is very positive and many are amazed it is a Honda upon close inspection. My MPG started out at 30 and now has increased to just at 41 mpg. I believe that I will end up with about 45-48 mpg range after the 4000 mile value adjustment during scheduled maintence. I defintely will invest in better seats and pipes in the future.
- Bruce, Waynesville, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-30 2005 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been saving my pennies for about 5 years for a Harley,(Hey I Got Tired Of Saving And Not Riding) so I started looking at other options. I test rode every thing I could find; Yamaha, Kawasaki, Victory, Big Dog, you name it and I probably rode it. What I was looking for was a retro old school cruiser with lots of chrome. Something big and powerful and shiny and loud and well... you get the idea. Then I walked in to a Honda dealership in Dallas, TX. I started walking around admiring all the bikes (As usual) when my eye caught a massive line of about 10 clydsdales. WOW! I sat on one and then another, I didn't want to leave. I was in awe of their size and shape and to be quite honest I sat on a few 1300's but there was just something about the 1800's that held my attention. I've owned and rode a Kawasaki 550 LTD for over 25 years and I've always thought that If I ever buy another bike; It's Gonna Be A Big Bad One. that's it.... the search was on! No not for the bike, I knew what I wanted, the search was for the right price. Through extensive research....Yeah I know your not interested in the boring junk. I now am a proud owner of a Black Honda VTX 1800R, as a matter of fact I'm so proud of it I have already ordered and installed about 30 chrome accessories (It's A SICKNESS)I'm putting my studded bags on tommorrow and I swear that is the last thing I'm adding to it........maybe. I love my bike and I don't regret not buying the Harley. Go and get one! Reaserch it , Ride it, pick it, price it, and buy it, but BEWARE there is alot of After Market SAFETY CHROME(at least that's what I tell my wife)available for these puppies. Chrome...man how do they know that's one of my weaknesses, hey who cares I'm having a ball on my Black Beauty. Ride On Brothers, I know that's what I'll be doing!
- Brian Lowry, Fort Scott, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-30 2005 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I moved up from a Honda VTX 1300R to the 1800R and could not be happier. I gave my wife the 1300R (she moved up from a VT750 Aero) and she couldn't be happier either. We have just returned from a 3 day 750 mile trip and my VTX did an excellent job in every test I gave it. I truly believe I have the best cruiser on the market today.
- David, Fort Smith, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-08 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike, and it's got power to spare. This machine will do 100 miles an hour and it's not even breathing hard. I'm a little new to cruisers, so I had to get used to not leaning too far in the turns because the floor-boards will drag, but hey... it keeps me alert, and within the speed limit when I'm driving around town. I had to downgrade the VTX a little on the reliability part because my battery cable worked loose, and the bike would cut off and on, but it didn't strand me so that was cool. The mechanic that fixed it said this was somewhat common for this model, but said it should no longer be a problem. As far as comfort, the stock seat left much to be desired. I was starting to get trucker's butt after only about 25 miles riding. I bit the bullet and got the mustang seat with the driver backrest, and the difference was night and day. I feel like I can ride virtually any distance now without any significant discomfort. For those of you that are heavily into touring, a quality seat is a must. Lastly, I think a bike this size needs to have some bark to it so I ordered a set of Vance and Hines bigshots, and a Kuryakyn hypercharger, and oh my, what a difference!! This baby has some serious bark now, and I don't know that the hypercharger did that much for the performance, but it sure looks awesome!
- Dean McMillan, Ashburn, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-31 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my retro since last July. I now have 3000 miles on the clock. We are planing a 3,500 mile ride this coming June, but I will have to upgrade the seat before that. I am looking to go with the gel pad and memory foam from Americana soft seats. The bike is the coolest I've owned, and this is number 14 for me. I love the H.P. this baby has, and was a little shy at first just because of the sheer size. But that lasted about a day. The bike handles great and I love it in the mountains. I have to really watch it 'cause I end up leaving all my riding buddies behind. It gets between 35-43MPG, honestly. But what was the coolest, was two weeks ago on a toy run, it was about 40 degrees out and when all the guys were ready to ride all I did was put my index finger on the starter button it fired right up and idled perfectly. The guy next to me on his 2003 Indian had to choke his and start it four times before it would go. I just smiled!
- Greg, Dinuba, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-16 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had not ridden a bike since high school! I always wanted a Harley, but when I found my '03 VTX I fell in LOVE! I have 14000 miles on it in less than a 1 1/2 years. I have put on V&#038;H pipes, power commander III, Mustang Seat, Hyper Charger, and a whole lot of other things. I love the power and handling and have no regrets buying a Honda! As far as a Harley goes, I really do not care, I have passed a lot of them on the highway and a lot of them broken down. I just love to ride and that is all that matters to me. Now I just have to wait on Honda's next big bike to come out, hmm... maybe a 2500cc VTX.
- Robin Campbell, Fort Payne, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-19 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great looking motorcycle that is great fun to ride! Whether with one or two up, this bike smoothly scoots on down the road. But, be careful though, as it gets lots of attention with its great lines and styling.
- Carl Crackel, Hillsboro, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-04 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THIS BIKE IS AWESOME. THE TORQUE BAND IS ENDLESS. I LOVE THE SIZE OF THE BIKE. I HAVE OWNED QUITE A FEW BIKES IN MY 51 YEARS AND MOST OF THEM HONDAS. I LOVE THE FIT AND FINESH AND THE QUALITY OF THIS BIKE. AS I SAID BEFORE THE POWER BAND IS REMARKABLE FOR A 2 CYLINDER MACHINE. I GOT DOWN HARD ON THE THROTTLE THE OTHER DAY WHEN I WAS BY MYSELF AND WHEN I SHIFTED INTO 2nd THE FRONT TIRE CAME OFF THE GROUND ABOUT 8 TO 10 INCHES AND WHEN I SHIFTED INTO 3rd THE FRONT END SETTLED DOWN AND THE BIKE JUST KEPT ON DIGGING UNTIL I GOT OUT OF THE THROTTLE. I LOVE THE WAY THIS BIKE HANDLES. THE BIKE IS HEAVY BUT IT HAS A VERY LOW CENTER OF GRAVITY SO IT'S EASY TO MANEUVER. THE ONLY THING I WISH THAT HONDA WOULD HAVE CHANGED IS THE SEAT, IT'S ROUGH ON MY BEHIND AND LOWER BACK AFTER ABOUT 50 MILES. I WOULD ALSO LIKE TO HAVE THE TURN SIGNALS SELF CANCELING. I WILL PROBABLY KEEP THIS BIKE FOREVER AND HAND IT DOWN TO ONE OF MY SONS. AFTER ALL IT IS A HONDA AND IT'S GOING TO BE AROUND FOR A VERY LONG TIME.
- BUDDY MILLER, WOODSTOCK, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-27 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing. A little scary up front until you find your balance. Almost too fast, almost too powerful. Very smooth, a little quiet and understated. All Honda quality, except the seats. They feel hard after 10 miles and can put your butt to sleep. I got gel pads which are great but will probably be replaced with a Mustang or Corbin next year. Bought the bike on Honda's "Need to dump the previous year program". Insurance would pay me more than I did.
- Tim Raleigh, Monroe City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-15 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has awesome power and is a real head turner. You will not get a better deal for the money and you will be happy with what you get. The only negatives are that I hear a slight vibration noise around the headlight area at times and the seat is not the most comforatble on long rides. I test drove this bike with a Mustang seat and will soon be getting one. If you go on long rides a different seat is a must.
- Russ Witzig, Troy, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-09 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First bike I've been on in over 30 years! Read everything I could find, and THIS was the one. The reviews are correct! Fast, smooth, powerful, and vibration-free with one or two riders. You want a big bike? THIS is your only choice. Only complaint: the seat is uncomfortable on long rides (my next upgrade).
- Don Bates, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-23 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome bike. The power... wow. The price... wow. The looks, you know... wow. Drove 5 hours to a Honda dealer, it was worth the drive. 2-up, this bike doesn't even know you're there. If you're thinking of buying the VTX1800, you will not be sorry.
- Danny Powell, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-26 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We walked in to buy a helmet and walked out with a helmet and a new Candy Black Cherry VTX. Traded in a 2002 750 Shadow Ace we had just over a year from the same dealership. My husband had been eyeing the 1800 ever since it came out and he was shocked when I said "go for it." Wow, it was like buying a cadillac. The seats were more comfortable and I have been riding two up with him as a passenger nearly every weekend since we bought it in Feburary. Much more enjoyable since it is a bigger bike that can handle the both of us like I'm not even there in the passenger's seat. We had to add on passenger peg extenders, the stock pegs put my knees way up in his ribs and my legs were cramping on the over-100 mile trips. Now we easily put on 400 miles on a weekend and no more leg cramping. Since this bike will probably be ridden till it dies, we are accessorising it alot and there is still more he wants on it. I keep pointing out things to add on it too. After we got the leathers on we put it in a bike show and won first place in the cruiser class!!! Everywhere we go this bike turns heads and we get asked alot...thats a Honda???
- Jan (wildabouthorses), Claremore,, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-19 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did my homework before I bought this bike. Read the magazine reviews and everything I could find on the net from riders who bought one. I was somewhat apprehensive about buying such a big bike, but I only notice the weight when I move it around in my garage--and think I have a system down for that. I am new to this whole game and only had small bikes when I was a kid. However, I got such a good price on a new 2003 R I had to buy it. Rode it 75 miles home. The power is awesome (needed if you do much highway driving) and I found I didn't really need to shift into 5th gear until I was going at least 60. Pretty much vibration free (clear mirrors at 60 MPH) The bike was the recent pick between the new Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 and the new Yahmaha 1700 in an article I just read judged by 4 riders. Glad I went big--I'll never have to say I wish I would have. If you go big, you will never go back! It is an awesome machine.
- Mark, Carver, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-10 2004 Honda VTX1800R Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in my 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic on this last year. It is an amazing bike. I was concerned about a bike that is this big and heavy. Fact is, it handles great! It has a lot of power to spare.
- Dave, Greenfield, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: