Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Motorcycles Reviews (24)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-10-29 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's the best bike on the road bar none!! I have the VTX1300R and the 1800 runs circles around it!! Not too many things on the road can keep up with this bike!! Hang on for the ride!! There is one minor set back to the bike. Honda should have made it a 6-speed because the bike would cruise much better! Once you ride this bike, you wont want another!! You will be impressed!! I love mine!! It's an awesome bike !!
- M.Grignani, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-01 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. It's comfortable, sleek, powerful and reliable. I just put Metezler 880ME tries on it and the ride is fantastic.
- Jack, Buford, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-17 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't believe there will ever be a bike that is everything to everyone. The VTX is close, really close. Being an older rider, I have been fortunate to watch the growth of the cycle industry as it emerged from its Asian roots. Honda is always trying to fill a nitch, the VTX fills a big crater. Large but lean, this bike is never not fun. On a run last fall, from Indiana to Fargo was 12 hours of every type of riding you could ask for. Highway, city, suburbs, and wide open country. She was perfect every inch of the way. Could not give me another road bike.
- capt. Stubby, Valparaiso, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-18 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm talking about my "2002" 1800R. Comfortable ride, great handling, great looks, and PLENTY of power. Over 13,000 miles without a single problem. It just doesn't get any better than this!
- Big Mike, Middleburg Heights, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-29 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I came to the VTX from a '94 Magna 750. I was looking to move up the food-chain (talk about going from pirahna to great white, but...) and wanted a bike that would last for a while (both size and performance). The dealer I got the Magna from had 3 VTX 1800's, all '02, but only one was already modified a tad and had the lowest milage. Black Retro Spoke with Cobra drag pipes, Power Commander, and K�ryakyn ISO Grips. So guess which one I picked? First time saddling up, I found it heavy (used to the Magna), but not overpowering. Cracked her over... nearly made myself deaf thanks to Cobra. Found it surprisingly stable at low speeds for her size (I'd ridden Fat Boys before so was used to larger bikes), but straighten out and lay on the throttle... I thought I got whiplash. I was in third before I knew what happened. Twice now, I've been at a stop light and had some guy in a sports car revving next to me. I guess they like seeing vapor trails. It's been about 2 months and I haven't stopped smiling. Even when I dragged a board in a tight turn, I never felt more secure and sure of a bike. I like Harley's; I like the history of the name, I like the styling. But I love my VTX and wouldn't trade it in for any Harley.
- Paddy, Townsend, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-26 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
On Feb.10th, 2004 my life began again. Got a brand new VTX -showroom floor model- and have not looked back since. This puppy rumbles. 1st NEW bike ever! What a good choice. The power is tremendous. A twist of the throttle and I'm there. I've owned a lot of cycles but this is the cream of the crop. My kids call it "The Monster". This is the most beautiful creature I have owned.
- Jeff D. Jordan, Santa Clarita, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-23 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This machine is well ahead of it's time. From the day I picked it up from my dealer, it has never ceased to amaze me. When I'm on the highway it just keeps asking me to let it go!! It feels like you're riding a dream. Every extra dollar goes towards dressing it up more. Can't wait for spring to get here. The VTX RULES!
- Don Rodgers, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-09 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As far as I am concerned this is the unchallenged King of the Road. I have a Corbin edition with seats and saddlebags. Rides like a dream and the women absolutely love it. I get a comment from someone at practically every light. One girl (a car passenger) got out and on the back of the bike! We rode for about 1 mile and I let her back in with her friend after a great kiss! Never asked her name but she said after she kissed me, "I really love your bike!" I have had bikes for 25 years and this is by far the finest machine I have ever seen.
- Kirk Kirkpatrick, Palm City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-02 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Engine is to big, bike is to heavy, wheelbase is to long, in short; just about perfect. Having spent the vast majority of my 19 years of riding on sportbikes and standards before jumping on this monster, it took a fair bit of mental adjustment before I felt I had this thing under complete control. Once there however, the bike is a blast. Tons of torque and quite a bit of speed, (for a cruiser/battleship), when your rear tire stops spinning that is..... I'd still keep a sportier bike around for the twisties though, this thing scrapes even in your typical midwest corners!
- JT, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-31 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden for 30 some years. Starting primarily with dirt bikes and progressing more and more into cruisers as time went on. Probably driven 30 motorcycles. Everything from Sears MoPeds to Harley-Davidson. Before my VTX 1800 C, I had a Shadow Spirit 1100. I have had many people ask me to compare my Shadow Spirit to my present VTX. My retort has always been, my Shadow Spirit was like driving a Mustang or Camaro with a V-8. My VTX is like a 426 Chrysler Hemi. I will admit, I was somewhat skeptical about the 1800. After all who needs that big of an engine and isn't that bike heavy? Well after the first 5 minutes of driving the beast, I was like a kid in a candy store. Not only does it have power, it has handling, looks, smoothness and let me tell you, everyone notices the deep rumble of those 900 cc pistons moving up and down. I've done very little to my bike. Added K&N Filter, Roadhouse Shorty, Memphis Shade Slim, Sissy Bar and Sissy Bag. And let me tell you this. I have never been on a bike that scares Harley riders more than this bike. You pull up to a light and they can't make a right or left hand turn fast enough or pull into the nearest 7-11 for a refreshment. Anythig to get away. Wherever I go, people turn around and stare, look and wonder. When you park next to Harleys, the Harleys look puney. I've raced a few Harleys. Actually I felt sorry for them. The other day a crotch rocket went screaming by as I was going up a Canyon Road. Suprised me, scared me. You know how those crotch rocket guys drive. Well there was a turn ahead and I caught up. After the turn, there was a big long steep climb. I got right up behind the screaming crotch rocket and he of course came out of the turn a little faster than did I. When I saw nothing but pavement in front of me, I got on the throttle. Guess who was the first one up to the top of the hill? Was fun passing one of those stratosphere red line machines, and I'll guarantee, that kamkiaze crotch rocket driver had a new respect for a V Twin Xtreme (VTX) cruiser. I just absolutely love my bike. Can you tell? Hope this helps. Good luck.
- Dave Jensen, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-03 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2002 VTXs is the strongest, most torque laden bike I have ever ridden, but it still is very well mannered and easy to ride. My normal ride is an 1800 gold wing, so I was used to engines this size. The low seating position helps even more for someone my size, 5'6 150 lbs. But I was amazed at the low end torque. I was doing 65 on the highway, and didnt realize I still had 5th gear left. The VTX likes to operate at lower rpms than the wing, and normal around town riding only requires second or third gear. Even on the two lane back roads 4th is more than adequate. Even with all that power, the bike is amazingly well behaved, very smooth shifting, smooth powerful brakes, strong low end acceleration. Red lines a little early at 5500 or so and rev limiter kicks in. Some falling into a stop at low speeds, but the seat height of 27" helps out. I couldnt believe that one of the motorcycle magazines rated the Harley V rod, Kawasaki mean streak one other power cruiser ahead of it. V-Rod costs almost twice as much. Mean streak lacks in power. VTX even does well on the highway with windscreen on. Weight makes it dead stable, even in high wind. Would expect more vibration from such a big v twin, but dont see it on the VTX. Had more vibration on a 750 virago.
- shai nyi, pontiac,, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-22 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike I have is a 2002 leftover from the dealer.Although I haven't logged many miles yet,this bike is pretty impressive.Lots of power,heavy.Bike just floats as you're going down the road.I love the ride.Only drawback is that it's not loud enough for me.
- Chiefrider, Glen Haven, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-20 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is just about everything a cruiser fan could want. With a pair of Cobra slip-ons and a processor for your intake, this machine puts out a thunderous rumble matching it's looks. There is enough torque and horsepower to satisfy any man. While at speed, the stability is phenomenal. The only draw back is that it doesn't corner very well. You really have to slow down considerably when banking. It's not a sport bike and not built for that, so there's no real unhappiness. The Beast does everything it promised and more. It's beautiful and chicks dig it. Honda has reached the zenith of cruiserdom. I can't wait for the Rune.......
- Flapjacks, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-06 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
when in doubt.......buy it. great ride performance, low maintenance, looks, sound, a real head turner. if it sounds like i'm a thoroughly satisfied customer ...........like they say here in the south..."YEAH YOUR RIGHT"
- m. davis, norco, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-08 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my illusion blue 2002 vtx 1800 Retro May 2002 and have not regretted it in any way. I have not experienced any problems in 5,000 miles. I love this bike! Head turner when stock but now with my DG Kickers exhaust, PC3 dynojet, and Thunder air kit she finally sounds as bad as she really is. Nothing can touch or match this machine. If anyone is looking for a super cruiser this is your ride. Ride hard and keep the shiny side up!! HOOK
- Hook, Bozeman, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-23 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THIS HAS BEEN A REAL PLEASURE. MY HARLEY NEVER GAVE ME THE POWER OR COMFORT THAT THE RETRO HAS. I HAVE TAKEN LONG DAY RIDES AND HAVE HAD MORE COMFORT . I DONT HAVE ENOUGH MILE TO OPEN IT UP ,BUT IN ALL HONESTY THERE IS ENOUGH POWER THAT AN EASY CRUISE IS GREAT. I HAVE HAD A QUESTION ABOUT A RATTLE WHEN THE RPM IS RAISED IN NUTRAL BUT NO PROBLEM IS NOTED WHEN UNDER A LOAD. MY WIFE LOVES THAT THE SEAT IS BIGGER THAN MY HARLEY AND LIKES THAT FACT IT OFFERS MORE COMFORT THAN THE PAD I HAD ON MY FAT BOB REAR FENDER. EVEN THOUGH ITS NOT A HARLEY ..SO WHAT !..I HAVE PRAISE FOR WHAT THE BIKE HAS TO OFFER. THE EXTRA POWER IS GREAT BUT THE COST OF FUEL ECONOMY IS PRESENT. WHAT THE HELL...SO YA STOP A LITTLE MORE OFTEN. LOVE THE BIKE!! I THINK YOU WILL TOO. SCOTT
- SCOTT VB, BLAIRSVILLE, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-24 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the VTX one month ago. Changed oil @ 700 miles. Changed out pipes to Vance and Hines Big Shots. Installed the Dyno Tech Power Commander to compensate for the new pipes. Put some Arlen Ness Eye Ball mirrors and put on a Drag Tech. Tach on it for perf. shifting. Got rid of the "bitch" seat. Awsome cruiser with big sound. Smooth ride with power to spare. Everyone wants to ride it!. Bullet proof bike would not consider any thing else. If you are thinking about one, don't. Go and get it.
- J.Jergel, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-23 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i have had this bike for just six (6),days. this is only my second bike,my first being a vlx600,no comparo between the two,just sarting to get the feel for this sweet thing.life is good but this will make smiles mile after mile,yes this is fine machine,as my son said,who by the way rides a cbr600f4i, this is sweeeeet !!!! ride safe.
- nick zaccheo, dania beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-20 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my VTX now for 2 weeks. Had a Hond Magna 700c before. So right from the start you have to be aware of the power. On my way home from the dealer, I stop at a stop sign. Went thru 1st, 2nd, and into 3rd gear. In 3rd gear i gave it some gas as i had with the manga. OMG !! Scared the sh#% right out of me. The front end raised up and almost ripped my arms out of there socket. The ride is a little harder than the Mangna. But still in the comfort rang. The styling. Well everyone stops to look and ask about it. You must plan for the time loss. lol. Handling was something that i was worried about. Going to such a big bike. To my surprise, this handls better. I cheacked all the reviews for it before i bought it. Damn if i could find anything bad. That made me even more interested. Could this be for real?? Well let me tell you it is. The only problem that I have with it is gas mileage. About the same as my Magna with racing carbs. Oh 1 more problim. I can't get this damn smile off my face. And its been 2 weeks and over 500 miles. When a Harley man comes over and say's nice bike, But it's not a Harley. I say " exactly"
- Verne Thayer, Milford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-17 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike and looking forward to driveing more as weather permits. Has a good clean pickup and drives with ease on faster roads. Sounds a bit loud as far as a Honda but if you like the feel of power this bike has it. I like the style and color orange was my choice but because of this buying bags and things to cover the bike I am holding back. Do not want to lose the looks of a great bike. However sence I want to travel I will have to add them to carry gear in. Will report back as I ride more.
- HondaHenry, Dundee, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-11 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey all, purchased my Black Retro on the 29th of December 2001. Now have over 1,000 miles on it. I worked it in a reasonable fashion while breaking it in and changed the oil/filter at 700 miles. Gradual and steady climbs to high rpms before smooth shifting. I did this style of break in with my 1997 Shadow spirit and when I sold it to my buddy at 24,000 miles, it used no oil and ran great. Anyway, the VTX showed minor wear (fine metal shavings in oil)when I changed the oil. the bike comfortably carries my girlfriend and I and performs surprisingly well in corners. A rider can still take corners pretty fast unless there are dips in the bottom of the curve and the suspension works well to help keep the frame up. the engine pulls smooth and hard and passing is not a problem. Keeping within legal speeds is. The VTX will hit 119 or maybe more but the roll-on power begins fading at around 95-100 mph. Still pulls, just less of an instant rush. My gas mileage is poor mostly because of my riding style and need for speed but even on trips, I'm only hitting about 30-32 mpg. Not much of a problem because of the 5.2 gal tank. Maybe the mpg will increase as I continue the break in. Should also mention the bike handles very very well at all speeds and turns well due to the large tires and low center of gravity. All in all, a beautiful bike. I always thought the Valkryie was built to test a large frame for a future large-scale V-Twin....this bike feels like the dream has become reality.
- Jim Tucker, Kelso, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-04 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder. So I guess stying is a personal thang. But for me, the Retro styling is very nice. Or put a different way - it looks damn good to me. Driving it is loads of fun. I just can't fight off the temptation to accelerate like a bat out of - well you know. Now on the quality and reliability aspect - it is a honda. For all yall Harley guys. I like Harleys a lot. And I guess you might describe this retro as a H-D wannabe. You are probably right on that - the inline V-Twin and all. However, for the price tag and all things considered, I think the Retro was a good choice for me, but I guess I will have to forget about getting those H-D tatoos.
- lever, atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-22 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Thought I was going to purchase an Indian Chief before I viewed the Retro. High quality design, incredible power and smooth ride. I have to chuckle when the individuals with the image problem roll up next to me. Have made some modifications and anticipate manufacturers are and will be developing aftermarket products for this beautiful machine.
- Big Bucky, Santa Rosa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-13 2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Beast for about 4 weeks now. From day one without even riding it my wife and I loved the styling. The Retro resolved my concerns re: "telephone pole" exhaust and racing style front end. Excellent job by Honda listening to the customer. Awesome power- almost to a fault. First and second gear slow speed handling takes some practice to keep it smooth. At speed, the thing's a dream. You hear the thumping going on under you but really don't feel it. The windshield and light bar were delivered within 3 days of ordering. Simply AWESOME overall!
- Mark de Smit, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: