Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

M.Grignani

Jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2012-10-29

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's the best bike on the road bar none!! I have the VTX1300R and the 1800 runs circles around it!! Not too many things on the road can keep up with this bike!! Hang on for the ride!! There is one minor set back to the bike. Honda should have made it a 6-speed because the bike would cruise much better! Once you ride this bike, you wont want another!! You will be impressed!! I love mine!! It's an awesome bike !!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jack

Buford, Georgia

Reviewed on 2010-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike. It's comfortable, sleek, powerful and reliable. I just put Metezler 880ME tries on it and the ride is fantastic.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

capt. Stubby

Valparaiso, Indiana

Reviewed on 2005-02-17

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I don't believe there will ever be a bike that is everything to everyone. The VTX is close, really close. Being an older rider, I have been fortunate to watch the growth of the cycle industry as it emerged from its Asian roots. Honda is always trying to fill a nitch, the VTX fills a big crater. Large but lean, this bike is never not fun. On a run last fall, from Indiana to Fargo was 12 hours of every type of riding you could ask for. Highway, city, suburbs, and wide open country. She was perfect every inch of the way. Could not give me another road bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Big Mike

Middleburg Heights, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-01-18

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm talking about my "2002" 1800R. Comfortable ride, great handling, great looks, and PLENTY of power. Over 13,000 miles without a single problem. It just doesn't get any better than this!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paddy

Townsend, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2004-06-29

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I came to the VTX from a '94 Magna 750. I was looking to move up the food-chain (talk about going from pirahna to great white, but...) and wanted a bike that would last for a while (both size and performance). The dealer I got the Magna from had 3 VTX 1800's, all '02, but only one was already modified a tad and had the lowest milage. Black Retro Spoke with Cobra drag pipes, Power Commander, and K�ryakyn ISO Grips. So guess which one I picked? First time saddling up, I found it heavy (used to the Magna), but not overpowering. Cracked her over... nearly made myself deaf thanks to Cobra. Found it surprisingly stable at low speeds for her size (I'd ridden Fat Boys before so was used to larger bikes), but straighten out and lay on the throttle... I thought I got whiplash. I was in third before I knew what happened. Twice now, I've been at a stop light and had some guy in a sports car revving next to me. I guess they like seeing vapor trails. It's been about 2 months and I haven't stopped smiling. Even when I dragged a board in a tight turn, I never felt more secure and sure of a bike. I like Harley's; I like the history of the name, I like the styling. But I love my VTX and wouldn't trade it in for any Harley.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff D. Jordan

Santa Clarita, California

Reviewed on 2004-02-26

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
On Feb.10th, 2004 my life began again. Got a brand new VTX -showroom floor model- and have not looked back since. This puppy rumbles. 1st NEW bike ever! What a good choice. The power is tremendous. A twist of the throttle and I'm there. I've owned a lot of cycles but this is the cream of the crop. My kids call it "The Monster". This is the most beautiful creature I have owned.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don Rodgers

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2003-11-23

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This machine is well ahead of it's time. From the day I picked it up from my dealer, it has never ceased to amaze me. When I'm on the highway it just keeps asking me to let it go!! It feels like you're riding a dream. Every extra dollar goes towards dressing it up more. Can't wait for spring to get here. The VTX RULES!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kirk Kirkpatrick

Palm City, Florida

Reviewed on 2003-11-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As far as I am concerned this is the unchallenged King of the Road. I have a Corbin edition with seats and saddlebags. Rides like a dream and the women absolutely love it. I get a comment from someone at practically every light. One girl (a car passenger) got out and on the back of the bike! We rode for about 1 mile and I let her back in with her friend after a great kiss! Never asked her name but she said after she kissed me, "I really love your bike!" I have had bikes for 25 years and this is by far the finest machine I have ever seen.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JT

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2003-09-02

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Engine is to big, bike is to heavy, wheelbase is to long, in short; just about perfect. Having spent the vast majority of my 19 years of riding on sportbikes and standards before jumping on this monster, it took a fair bit of mental adjustment before I felt I had this thing under complete control. Once there however, the bike is a blast. Tons of torque and quite a bit of speed, (for a cruiser/battleship), when your rear tire stops spinning that is..... I'd still keep a sportier bike around for the twisties though, this thing scrapes even in your typical midwest corners!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Jensen

Salt Lake City, Utah

Reviewed on 2003-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda VTX1800R VTX1800S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have ridden for 30 some years. Starting primarily with dirt bikes and progressing more and more into cruisers as time went on. Probably driven 30 motorcycles. Everything from Sears MoPeds to Harley-Davidson. Before my VTX 1800 C, I had a Shadow Spirit 1100. I have had many people ask me to compare my Shadow Spirit to my present VTX. My retort has always been, my Shadow Spirit was like driving a Mustang or Camaro with a V-8. My VTX is like a 426 Chrysler Hemi. I will admit, I was somewhat skeptical about the 1800. After all who needs that big of an engine and isn't that bike heavy? Well after the first 5 minutes of driving the beast, I was like a kid in a candy store. Not only does it have power, it has handling, looks, smoothness and let me tell you, everyone notices the deep rumble of those 900 cc pistons moving up and down. I've done very little to my bike. Added K&N Filter, Roadhouse Shorty, Memphis Shade Slim, Sissy Bar and Sissy Bag. And let me tell you this. I have never been on a bike that scares Harley riders more than this bike. You pull up to a light and they can't make a right or left hand turn fast enough or pull into the nearest 7-11 for a refreshment. Anythig to get away. Wherever I go, people turn around and stare, look and wonder. When you park next to Harleys, the Harleys look puney. I've raced a few Harleys. Actually I felt sorry for them. The other day a crotch rocket went screaming by as I was going up a Canyon Road. Suprised me, scared me. You know how those crotch rocket guys drive. Well there was a turn ahead and I caught up. After the turn, there was a big long steep climb. I got right up behind the screaming crotch rocket and he of course came out of the turn a little faster than did I. When I saw nothing but pavement in front of me, I got on the throttle. Guess who was the first one up to the top of the hill? Was fun passing one of those stratosphere red line machines, and I'll guarantee, that kamkiaze crotch rocket driver had a new respect for a V Twin Xtreme (VTX) cruiser. I just absolutely love my bike. Can you tell? Hope this helps. Good luck.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: