Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Motorcycles Reviews (23)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2017-06-12 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A comfortable ride for one. More power than you can safely use. Good riding position, low center of gravity. A 900 lb beast that draws attention everywhere. Especially noticeable when riding with a group of Harleys.
- James Vander Poel, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-14 2005 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Rune is a wonderful ride. It is smooth, comfortable, reliable and fast. The elaborate trailing link fork does not dive - not at all. The engine accelerates effortlessly and on a slow summer day, I've seen 51 mpg. How cool it is to have a flat six cylinders on two wheels! High speed handling is like a locomotive on wheels. The low speed handling requires good form and confidence. The long wheelbase, hardtail style rear end, trailing link fork and 811 lbs dry weight create rock solid feel on two lane roads and highways. This bike will spoil you. Build quality is unbeatable, layer after layer of precise-fitting chromed parts. The only negative thing I find is the lack of a self-canceling turn signal.
- barron, boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-26 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new 2 years ago. I split lanes on the 405 the first day. It has heavy steering and requires very deliberate force on the handlebars to corner tightly at slow speeds but the amount this bike can be laid over in a smooth turn is amazing considering how low it is. Get it out on the freeway and this cruise missile keeps up with the crotch rockets to about 120mph where I tend to start to contemplate my mortality. Longest ride was to Big Sur with a couple Beemer guys. It is not hard to ride at high speed without a fairing. The stretch of the headlight creates a laminar flow of air that if you lean forward into it holds a full face helmet up nicely with no buffeting in the head or chest. It turns heads in Brentwood here in West LA and that's not easy with all the Aston Martins, Lamborghinis, etc. People ask me what it is all the time or just stand and stare at it. Always remember to stand up over big freeway bumps. The rear sport suspension can pound you.
- Chuck Shickley, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-27 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike without ever riding it or ever seeing one in person. I knew from the day my friend emailed a photo of it to me and said 'THIS bike is YOU' I had to have it. Once I took delivery of it and straddled this beast and fired it up, the grin did not come off my face for hours. My inaugural ride was over 500 miles from the dealership to my home and I could not have been happier. It performs even better than it looks. I have only owned it for 5 months now, and already have 10000 miles on it. The power from the HO six engine is super smooth and the torque is unbelievable, and the linked braking system is awesome. The only thing I wish Honda had done better is spec'd a more durable front tire for this beauty. I've had to replace the front after only 5800 miles and I am close to replacing the front again, while the rear tire still has lots of tread. That said, this is the most refined, elegant, and complete bike I have ever owned or ridden in my 40+ years of riding, bar none!
- Nate Monie, Woodstock, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-21 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I never knew that this bike even existed until my son told me to go and take a look at the 2004 Rune. After the test ride I said, "Let's make a deal.I had just seen the Harley Rocker C pictures on the web site and bike fever started to come over me. But I'm very glad I did not make that choice now. My 2004 Rune had only 4 miles on it when I bought it the month of September 2007 and I've only put 400 miles on it so far. But I can tell you I've found my friend for life. My wife likes a cool looking bike and I doubt I'll ever find one that looks better than this one. The ride is smooth, the look is great, and people strain their necks to get a look at it.
- Danny Davis, Mount Juliet, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-19 2005 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well it runs smooth, powerful, handles well and is quite comfortable and sometimes it takes a little muscle to move it around but man this thing just looks great. It could use a beefier deeper exhaust sound though. Why Honda only made this bike for one year is crazy. They should keep making this bike and offer it every year in limited production. Price is a bit steep on this one, but look what you get. A one of a kind and there is no mistaking this for any other bike. I have ridden Harleys all my life but when I saw this, I had to get one. Nice bike and I haven't had to wrench on it yet or take it in. Great bike but the price....OUCH.
- Harleyfan, pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-18 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own several bikes inlcluding Harleys, BMWs, and other. None could match the performance, styling and comfort in its class. What a wonderful shift of Honda's design team. I hardly ride my BMW now, I do still ride my Fat Boy but prefer riding my Rune. I would love to ride it all the way to Baghdad, Iraq.. but I may want to wait until things settle down a bit.
- Ed Melik, Salwa, Kuwait

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-26 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased my Rune and at first was concerned about the weight. The weight goes away very quickly and after about 40 miles I felt very comfortable on the bike. (This is my 40th something bike and I currently own other V-twins.) I just returned from Daytona and had a great time with the bike. At Daytona one gets to experience first hand how a bike handles in stop and go traffic and also on the open road. I give the Rune good points on all around handling.<br /> This Bike has to have costed Honda a lot to make and probably has lost money on them but it does make a statement.<br /> Everything about the bike is so different from the normal bikes of today.<br /> When the grip is twisted things happen. And they are good things. It has a lot of torque and the sound is great although a bit quiet.<br /> The backlash and throttle sensitivity are a bit of a pain. I put a couple of o-rings on the twist grip (between the grip and housing) and that gave me the slightest bit of friction and solved the problem.<br /> The riding position is a bit cramped for my legs but otherwise is a reasonably comfortable ride. People seem to love it including the v-twin guys and most appreciate the work that went in to the building of such a bike. Kind of like the union between a locomotive and motorcycle.
- Steve Culp, Shreveport, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-16 2005 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine last week. It was a sweet ride. Best ever. Some chicks were checking me out and I popped a wheely to impress them and the bike just took off on me. I slid down the expressway for about a 500ft, the bike ghost rided for a mile then just vanished into a guard rail. I must say the bike was easily fixed. It held up to that crash. that's because of the quality Honda puts into their bikes, this thing helps up good. I did the same on a kawasaki and it disintagrated when it got hit. Good job honda. And know, I didn't get those chicks phone #, so no doing wheelies!!
- water boy, cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-07 2005 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't stand it any longer.I've owned my Rune for 2 years this july,and cautiously waited until i reached the 10,000 mile marker before stating my viewpoint. The Rune is far &#038; away THE finest Motorcycle, by and large,ever manufactured.It Rules. It is heavy,but does not feel hefty,once in gear.It's long,which makes for true balance and ride-ability on the straights. It handles very competently, and with swervy grace, along the twisties. It has more than enough torque. Overall...an absolute sweet ride!!!
- Foolardi, Cleveland,O., Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-07 2005 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had quite a few bikes, from a 900RR to a VTX 18000, and this thing blows them all away! Not speed, but pure riding pleasure. It turns heads at EVERY stop light. Every time I go somewhere, someone says something about and wants to talk about it. It's just an awesome machine all around. Its also in the 04 Guinness Book of World Records as the Largest Production Motorcycle Engine!!
- Jeff Kehoe, Haddonfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-22 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in my beloved 1300 VTX Retro on this monster. It is everything I had read/seen it was and then some. The biggest surprise to me was how easily this cycle handles for a BIG bike. My best friend and Harley 1450 Softail rider says it best .."My bike sounds and rides like a tractor...the Rune like a Formula 1 race car." This cycle is my bike for life. I love EVERYTHING about it (including that it is scary powerful and fast) But wait....EXCEPT... no automatic turn signal shut off. Seems to me that with all the truly awesome design and engineering that has gone into this "one of a kind" cycle, an auto signal cancel would have been a given. Wind is an issue until I find something I like to shield me from it. Until then you will see me stopped beside the road happily picking the bugs from my smiley teeth.
- Rich Oas, AuTrain, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-19 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Corbin dual seats are very comfortable. The heating feature has already paid off in the chilly South Carolina winter. The fairing "seems" to work, but I am still playing around with turning the dial to raise and lower it at various highway speeds. Actually, during a light rain, the only part of my body that got wet was my forehead. The air goes around the legs. To make the passenger seat work you have to get the Rivco footrests. They are extremely well engineered for how they mount on the bike, and the solid billet chrome plated aluminum fits with the rest of the bike's engineering. I have found you can use the footrests like a "horse race jockey" and the position is a very comfortable alternative during long drives. I plan a cross-country ride later this spring. Harley riders drool on the Rune. I removed the Honda markings with the exception of the "Honda" machined in the valve covers, and the very discrete "Rune" in black on my black tank. I have ridden about 30,000 miles in the past year and a half, with a 5 month break while I was in Iraq. The Rune handles better than my Yamaha 1100 V-Star. I get about 200 miles per tank. I plan to mount 4 green lasers on the rear tail lights to supplement the visibility factor at night (15mW, pointing "up") If anyone has info on the radar signature of the Rune I would appreciate it. I suspect the signature is "stealthy."
- Ken Crawley, James Island, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-23 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This NRX Rune is great! I live in Japan and have owned a X4 and now a CB Super 4 "Big One" but this Rune is great. I purchased it 50-50 with my brother in Vancouver and have only ridden it once, but it is really smooth, quiet, great power and has state of the art gizmos with the front forks, etc. and "football" front headlight! Seriously long bike, and the headlight really does look like a football from the top! Any downsides? Well, cornering on that long unit is not exactly crisp. I think the gas tank capacity might also be a tad small for any true long distance riding. And I did not find any RPM meter and no hazard lamps for when you are parked by the side of the highway when out for a cruise. Why not? This is standard here in Japan. You say no need? Well, the whole bike is not exactly a "basic transport" unit, eh? It is all about fantastic design, great feel, and give yourself a dream... I love it!
- Hal Archer, Tokyo, British Columbia, Japan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-03 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is as good or better than I had heard. I came off a Honda Blackbird and a VFR so wanted the sportbike handling and feel even though it is a heavier bike. It is very fast and very smooth. And what a head turner! I cannot tell you how many people just love this piece of artwork let alone machinery. It is blue/purple and gorgeous. Sadly due to a serious scare on a different bike I am quitting riding for good.
- David Epp, Palm Desert, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-02 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok I was watching the Toys 4 Tots and out of 30,000 bikes 3 Runes came by. The bikes where awesome to say the least. I'm a sportbike fan and never considered a cruiser unless it was a Big Dog or some kind of custom. This bike has changed my view and has me totally confused about what I want. If I have the money my next bike will be the Rune.
- Tony Crudup, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-01 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes 6 motorcycles curently. 03 Wing, 00 Valkyrie, 99 Interstate, 03Vtx, even 02 954 crotch rocket, and 04 Rune. That said the Rune is the most awsome bike I have ever riden. Not the fastest or the smothest out there but all the best qualities rolled into one amazing motorcycle. The attention is unreal and I love to see the Harley guys droul! This bike is a work of art with funtion. Worth 2x the money. The only people I have seen that didn't like it probibly can't aford it. This bike isn't for everyone only the lucky few, isn't it great to live in America.
- randy, swanton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-29 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a Goldwing and a Rune. I thought my wing was unbelievable and super fast, which it is but I can honestly say this bike is so much fun to ride and much faster especially off the line. The ride is confortable. It feels like Honda put a seat on a Titan missle and when you hit the throttle you go into the launch mode. I am anxious for Honda to come out with some cool accessories. Honda will sell as many of these bikes as it wants to produce. Well worth the money!
- gary wabaunsee, choctaw, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-22 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a chance to put about 100 miles on the new Honda 1800 Rune. An absolute blast! Amazing how many folks darn near run off the road looking at the bike. First thing you notice is that there is a whole lot of motorcycle ahead of you when you settle into the seat. I found the seating, leg and arm positions to be most comfortable (6'-3, 195#). With all of the chrome out in front of you, you will notice the constantly changing reflections of the roadside on both sides of the bike. Kind of like watching a moving picture. The ultra low seat height and center of gravity provide immediate benefits of stable handling and easy lean angles. Making mid-turn line changes under power is a snap. As most of my recent riding experience is from a Honda Goldwing GL1800, I was anxious to note differences in engine performance and feel. If I had to pick one adjective to describe the experience, it would be SMOOTH. I do not understand why, but both the engine and transmission seem even smoother than the GL1800. Shift lever throw is very short and precise. With the hotter cam and 6 throttle bodies the engine pulls harder and longer than the GL1800. Combined with less weight this produces your basic rocket ride. Though most will use this amazing bike for local riding and cruising, its long legged manners and comfort begs to do a Four Corners run. The Rune is going to make their owners one happy bunch of riders.
- Bill Hearne, Blackhawk, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-16 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
An absolutely AWESOME motorcycle. I have never ridden anything like it.
- Ron Bray, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-06 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a chance to ride the Rune a couple of weeks ago at my dealers. This bike is all about "class". Very clean design, very well put together. The bike looks big when you get on it, but that goes away immediately when you start to move. Totally solid and stable feel. The suspension is excellent and the power is strong and smooth from a 1000 rpm and up. I've looked at the Harley factory customs and they are more or less just a stock bike with a few extras for a price far too high. The Rune is true factory custom and is where I would put my time and money. Barry
- Barry, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-05 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Today was my third day on the new Rune. Seat comfort is excellent as is the quite sophisticated sound of the engine. Everybody loves looking at this bike. It is equal parts of art and function. The bike has a long wheelbase feel and is comfortable to cruise. I enjoy it most under 50mph although it feels like you could go fast if you have the nerve and medical insurance to do it. Seating position is very comfortable and was an important selection criterion for me. Storing it in a secure facility is a necessity if you want to keep it very long (at least in Houston). This bike is tight, fast, comfortable and good looking. You will never have to share the spotlight with the Harleys if you have one of these. They look like they were put together by a committee compared to the Rune which looks like it was conceived by a world class architect. This bike is a keeper. I like it better than my second wife (and I was very fond of her !!)
- Don Compton, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-18 2004 Honda Valkyrie Rune NRX1800 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 45, been riding since I was 12, had around 50 bikes,Harley, Honda,Yamaha, Kawasaki and Suzukis, and the Hona Rune is the finest motorcycle I've ever throwed aleg over. Low rider, V-rod, Wide Glide, Valkyrie, Gold wing 02, busa,Zrx-1200,those are the bikes of the last 2 years. I would't trade the Rune for all of them Back. Still got the Valk for 2up.1600 miles on the Rune in 3 weekends
- Steve Reynolds, Candler, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: