Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda Valkyrie Tourer reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

13 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Young & Cruising

Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Reviewed on 2008-04-18

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Honda Valkyrie Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was 17 when I bought my first used bike (2001 Yamaha R-6). I was 19 when I bought my first new bike (2004 Yamaha R-1). Man that R-1 could move! I sold that bike after I turned 21 and thought about getting out of riding the sport bikes, but I knew that I would always have a need for that sport bike power. I stumbled on to a 1999 Honda Valkyrie. Wow, was I swept off my feet when I laid eyes on this beautiful, yet beastly dragon. I had to have it. I was 22 years old in my town riding with kids my age that would laugh at me when I pulled my bike into the group for a Friday night ride. But when I got to the front of the line and was waiting at the next stop light for them to catch up, they didn't laugh much after that. I'm glad I made the switch to the Valkyrie. I've had more guys tell me that if I ever want a good bike that I should never sell my Valkyrie. I listened to them and I plan to ride this bike for a very long time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TERRY

TOMBALL, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-02-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Valkyrie Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had 21 bikes in my riding career. Bought a new 99 Tourer in 99 and put 42,000 miles absolutely trouble free miles on it. Recently I bought a 2001 Valkyrie. They didn't make a 2001 Tourer. NOW THERE IS ONE. I transfered the Tourer package over to the new bike. It's great. The only inconveniences of a Valkyrie are Stiff Suspension on bumpy roads, Too small a gas range, and for the life of me I can't understand why Honda would make a gas tank that you can't put gas in without it splashing out all over the paint job. I can live with the inconveniences to have the awesome crank on power of the Valkyrie.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy

St. Louis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2002-04-24

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Honda Valkyrie Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased a used Valkyrie Tourer in March of this year and have finally had the chance to take it through all of it's "paces" multiple times. If there is a smoother, more powerful, more intimidating bike that handles like a damn sport bike, then I sure as hell can't find it! This bike handles like a dream and will pop a weelie if that's your thing! The comfort is amazing on long rides and windshield provides all the protesction you could need. Only complaint? On hot days, she sure can put out some serious heat on you! That gorgeous, flat six starts pumping out all that torque and you can just feel the heat eminating from the engine. Other than that, this bike is the closest thing I've ever seen to motorcycle perfection. Harley this! Yamaha can't touch her, and she can go toe to toe with any of the new power cruisers on the highway.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

L Allen

Modesto, California

Reviewed on 2001-04-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Valkyrie Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Just got my hands on a new 1999 Model. got a sweet deal on it.I talked to the Service Manager about that winening noise that starts at 35, and goes away at about 55. Said its the way the gears are machined.I would give it 5-stars, if it wasn't for that.My Friend has one, and he said its just the Fat Lady singing to you.Well, if you have never ridden on one of theses Fat Lady's,you better hang on, cause she wants to do nothing but burn the road up!And with that big Six, theres no Vibration!So do yourself a favor, and go Test Ride one. You won't want to get off it! Ride Safe.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Denver, Colorado

Reviewed on 2001-02-14

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Valkyrie Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
The machine itself is smooth, powerful and reliable. My irritations are from a different perspective though. I have owned two Goldwings prior to this bike. I regularly travel over 12K per year in trips and commuting, which brings me to my point. Tire changes every 7500-8000 miles and valve adjustments every 12,000 miles becomes EXPENSIVE! This means an additional $600 to $700 every year just to get out of the garage. As a consumer as well as a rider, I am faced with the decision of either paying for the "convenience" of owning this ride, or reducing the number of miles I wish to ride. I am not willing to secumb to either and therefore will be selling this bike. What happened to the days when riding was uncomplicated? More than likely it changed when those with money to spend on the "trendy things" became involved in this religion of motorcycling.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill McDaniel

Oak Harbor, Washington

Reviewed on 2000-12-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Valkyrie Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 1998 Tourer; rode recently from Seattle to Washington, DC. Incredible. In the mountains a 'Crotch Rocket' passed me doing about 90, hugging the curves. I decided to see if the cornering was sufficient to stick on his tail. After 20 miles I backed off; he was having a nervous breakdown looking in his mirror. Incredible power, and lots of 'thumbs up' from folks along the way. One HD owner said that were it not for the 'image,' he would much prefer the Valkyrie over the HD. I watched his 'image' disappear in the mirror.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

New Zealand

Reviewed on 2000-07-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Valkyrie Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
How can a bike that looks so outrageous be so practical? No twin vibrations, and smooth as silk. Power on demand, from about 700 revs. Comfort and handling are good. Plan ahead a little and the brakes are fine. Panniers are good, as long as you are happy to carry your helmet. Range is 140-150 miles before reserve. Fiamm horns on custom brackets are a major essential safety-upgrade, and a 100/80 or 130/90w headlamp bulb a useful boost. The only complaint from pillion is a tendency to crash over bumps and ridges. So if you are going to ride down under (in NZ) consider a progressive-spring upgrade.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phil Tuttle

Orange County, California, USA

Reviewed on 2000-06-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Valkyrie Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased the bike 3 mo. ago, put on over 3k miles. All the power one would need, and lots of style. Comfortable seat, quiet ride, handles tight turns flawlessly. Absolutely no drawbacks about this bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

M.L. BERRY

Ridgeland, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2000-06-22

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Valkyrie Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After having my Valkyrie tourer for only one day, my eyes have been opened. The room on this bike is incredible. I went from a ZX9r to the Valkyrie and the ride home from the dealership was a pleasure, I was actually COMFORTABLE. My hat is off to Honda for creating such a wonderful bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Keith

Michigan

Reviewed on 2000-06-12

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Honda Valkyrie Tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Doesn't compare to nothing out there, especially the other H bike.......
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 13 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: