Honda XR250R Motorcycles Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda XR250R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda XR250R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-11-03 2002 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought this bike. I haven't ridden it a lot because of all the rain we have had in my area. The time I have spent on this bike I have enjoyed though. Before this bike I had a smaller 03 CRF150. It was a good starter bike, but didn't have the power I would have liked for trail riding. When I bought this bike it was a whole different story. This bike had everything: power, comfort and it is a joy to ride.
- Heath, glasford, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-02 2004 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I spent some time between riding the XR 250 and the XR 400. Although the bigger sister is powerful and stands back for nothing the power/agaility ratio of the 250 is magnificent. Although it lacks a bit on the power side, this is a great bike for a new entrant to the wonderful world of dirt biking.
- Adriaan Ferreira, Johannesburg, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-12 2004 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey all of you XR250r owners! I puchased this bike to begin my riding experience. I have gone to Cow Mountain in Ukiah, CA and it handled really well. The weight to power ratio of the bike is amazing. It is light enough to handle trails and powerfull enough to get you where you need to go!
- Darrin Younker, Healdsburg, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-22 2002 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only owned this bike for a couple of months, but I've been riding on and off road bikes for 20 years, so I speak from experience when I say that this bike is awesome. It handles very nimbly and has plenty of power, climbing super-steep uphill bar-huggers in 2nd and 3rd gear like a tractor. Engine braking is nice for steep downhills. Kicking it over from top-dead center starts it in one or two tries; the manual decompression lever keeps me from yearning for an electric start after I've dropped it (twice so far). The suspension is perfect for my 130 lbs; a 210-lb buddy had to stiffen his a little. Overall, a great high quality motorcycle.
- Ben, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-16 2000 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2000 Honda XR250 and was very pleased. The bike has a top speed of 65 MPH, and I can do a wheely in 4th gear. What is really great about this bike is its low end torque. We have a drive way that is at about a 30 degree angle and I can idle up it in 2nd gear. I could also go up just about any hill I could find in 3rd gear easily. The suspension is very good for TRAIL RIDING. I bought this bike thinking it could handle hard core jumps, and I was very wrong. Yes, it can clear 25-30 foot doubles, but anything bigger, and you will bottom out pretty bad. If you like to do little jumps then the XR250 will work fine. Just don't expect to feel good after casing a 50 foot double with this thing. Overall a very good bike, just not meant for jumping.
- Justin Brinker, Mexico, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-01 2004 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. I have won lots of hare scrambles on it. Honda really knows how to make a bike. I have had yamaha's (yz 85) ktm's (250 sx) suzuki's (DR-Z 125) and kawasaki's (KX 125) but by far honda has beat them all out. Great job on this bike.
- sarah, eugene, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-30 2004 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Man this bike has real power. I got on this bike thinking it would be weak since I'm used to a KTM 250 two stroke, but boy was I wrong. This thing had me zipping up and down my 20 acres like the wind. If you're looking for a dependable, powerful, fun four stroke, look no further than your local Honda dealer!
- joe, marceilles, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-02 2004 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The xr250 is an excellent trail machine, good power, reliable. When weather is cold it does take some know how to start, but when you figure it out it is very good. Not a racer, but on all of those horse trails who needs to go fast. It will get you there.
- Mike, Boise

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-28 2004 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike for my birthday and I love it, in fact I rode it today! There's no where to ride in Rhode Island but I find my way and I love it, I don't know how fast it goes but it does haul, reliability is not an issue, nothings an issue with this bike I love it, start it and go.
- Nick, Coventry, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-13 2004 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently was looking for a new bike and I got an XR200. Even down 50cc's from the 250 these bikes are very good a performing. I am going to start racing in Hare Scrambles with my 200. This bike is a great bike for trail riding! GO HONDA!
- Taryn, Hillsborough, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-07 2002 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The XR250 is my second bike and it rocks my world. It's called a girls bike and you get made fun of by your friends but when you get in the woods you can own them sideways. However in the fields you have no chance, but oh well!
- Travis, mURrysville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-22 2002 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey my name is mike and I have only owned an XR250r for 1 year. The guy that owned it before me really didn't ride it. I put more wear on it in 1 weekend then he did the whole 2 years he owned it. For the most part even though I am only 14 I like the bike its my second and I would like to check out the other 250s and like a 125 or something but I guess I'll rate it a 4 because its a good woods bike and good for every thing that I use it for.
- mike, jackson, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-24 1990 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike as a 250 with a Mikuni flatslide carby. It was great to ride in comparison to my mates bikes. They were '93 & '95 model XR250's as well, but had standard carbs. Mine had superior power and acceleration to theirs, however the later model bikes had much better lights. The only downfall of the '90-91 models were their electrics and their soft suspension. I fitted a77mm Wiseco piston, and a lumpier cam(Ballards) to it, as well as a "hotrods" conrod and bigend. After running it in properly, I gave it a good run down south. I had a few straight line Drags with anXT350, aTT350, as well as my mates XR's including a '97 model 400. The only bike to beat mine was the 400, but as soon as we left the road and hit the twisty trails, the 280 really shone. I think its lighter weight combined with it's love for revving, beat the others convincingly. The other advantage was in the fact that it was probably the least tiring to ride. I regularly reach speeds of up to 130 kmh on the powerline tracks. Most of my mates don't like going over 100 on these tracks, but the 280 just asks to be revved hard:-) I run a Michelin H12 at the front and for our gravelly roads and tracks, I don't believe there is a better tyre on the market for this type of riding. I also bought a new stator and fitted one of the UFO "Twins" halogen headlights to it, which not only made it lighter, but also lit up the road so I can see where I am going at night. Conclusion: Well worth the effort. Do it and you will have a bike capable of mixing it with the best, particularly in the tighter stuff.
- Chris Trigwell, Western Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-12 1986 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an XR250R a few years back because it was being sold for next to nothing. Riding a dirt bike was something I looked forward to after a tough day at school. The XR250R brought back these memories. It has enough power to go anywhere without being "CR crazy-like" in the powerband. Actually, it has not much of a powerband at all...but the lightweight and narrow size make it a blast on tight trails and moderate terrain. don't try to hill-climb a mountain or slog through knee-deep mud, because the XR250R just isn't made for that kind of riding...just stick to your state's fire trails and your pappy's farm trails. Ironically, when I sold my XR it went to some guy's girlfriend so she could ride with him in the mountains. Yeah, everyone calls XR's "girl's bikes" but fun for all can be had on the appropriate terrain.
- Deadhead, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-23 1990 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Honda XR250 is a good bike that is very reliable and fun to ride, it can be ridden fast on the right terrain (no jumps) and is not tiring to ride, but for jumps and aggressive riding it needs firmer suspension and a bit more power.
- Anonymous, Auckland, New Zealand.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-14 2000 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought the 2001 Honda xr250. The weekend after I got it, I took it straight to the trails. I ran the bike through the ringer. There were at least 20 miles or more of rugged mountain trails. The bike handled excellent. This bike is great for beginners and experts.
- Jonathan Robinson, Chesnee, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-15 2000 Honda XR250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have about 500 miles on the bike this spring and I have to say that I am surprised on how well the entire bike is put together. The bike has excellent response to the throttle, has great braking, smooth suspension, and tracks well through the ugly stuff like loose sand, gravel, and greasy mud. There are only a couple of things to watch out for. The 4-stroker is a little hard to start in cold weather so only kick it down on the power stroke. Also, the rear brake toe on the brake arm is too small and too close the engine to be easily reached. You may want to bend the break arm out or add a longer toe to the arm. Once it is started, you go all day and still feel great when you climb off the bike. Honda did this one right!
- Tim, Duluth, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: