Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Honda XR400R reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

11 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

nick chat

lake hughes, California

Reviewed on 2007-03-02

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda XR400R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is one the greatest bikes I have ever had! It's fast and can go up any hill. There's nothing wrong with it. No radiator for lighter performance if you want a trail-race-hill climber. It doesn't really do wheelies but sometimes you can wheelie for a moment. A+++
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

St Louis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2011-03-15

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda XR400R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My only complaint is that it can be hard to start especially when it's below 50 degrees. Other than that I couldn't ask for a better trail bike. I am a large person and the bike is plenty big for me. Its also good on gas and very easy on maintainance. I've never had a problem with the bike. It's still running on original everything except gas and oil, including tires, which is amazing because this thing flies! I've clocked it at 78 mph. on gravel, a 200-pound rider could easily break 80 mph. on asphalt. It wheelies with ease and if you give it too much gas in 1st gear, it'll put you on your backside in a hurry. Which reminds me, it's been laid over several times without any visible damage to the bike. They should never have stopped making this one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shawn

Gilbert, Arizona

Reviewed on 2010-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Honda XR400R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's a great bike for what I do. I am all over the desert trails and this bike has never let me down. It is very fast and nimble. Perhaps what I love most about it is how comfortable it is. It's like riding a Cadilac over the rocks. The only thing I wish it had was electric start. I love how simple and bullet proof it is. I owned an XR250R for a while and loved it too. The extra power comes in handy on this bigger bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry

Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Reviewed on 2007-02-12

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Honda XR400R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
These are the ultimate Trail Bikes...durable, easy to maintain, good power and affordable. While the 1995/6/7 models had some carburation glitchs and unusual suspension settings, the post 1998 bikes saw those items addressed and yielded fine machines that were fun to ride. With occasional valve clearance inspections/adjustments and oil & filter changes with a quality oil, these bikes are capable of many thousands of miles without any motor work. I know, my 1986 XR600 has logged over 30,000 miles of Colorado 500 and Baja trips with NO motor repairs whatsoever. It continues to run with the pack as it accumulates greater mileage. The 400 has a lighter feel and makes a better woods bike while possessing all the legendary dna that made XRs famous.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Moffett

Yuma, Arizona

Reviewed on 2006-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda XR400R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is an extremely FUN bike. It has usable power throughout the power band, excellent brakes and semi-tunable suspension. The bike is predictable in nearly all situations except soft sand where it tends to wander and nose dive at slower speeds. It has amazing grunt at lower RPMs in steep, tight situations. Very good clutch out of the crate. It's an excellent wheelie bike in the first three gears. The bike starts easy but is cold blooded. Very seriously FUN play bike for those more interested in riding enjoyment than wrench turning. Air-cooled does not overheat even when hammered under desert conditions over 100F.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

B

Boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2005-10-25

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Honda XR400R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased the XR 400 with the 440 power up kit already installed. It has the packing removed from the muffler (which I am told by a Honda dealer can't be done, but I have proof it can) the air box lid has also been cut out to allow for better air flow, but it has the stock carburetor, I am unsure if the jets have been changed out, but I do know it has been dialed in for maximum performance. I am very impressed with the power of this bike, combined with the light weight and maneuverability. I am comparing it to the XR600, which has a much heavier feel, and although the XR 600 has more power, I have not been at a loss for power or speed. The XR 440 in my opinion does outperform the XR600 on everything but a flat out drag race. (One of my riding companions has an XR 600) I have read reviews that the stock XR400 suspension is not adequate and I disagree. I am not a small rider, and the suspension on this bike has performed very well for my style of riding, mountain trails, open desert, light jumping, etc. Overall, I highly recommend this bike, the only flaw I can find is hard starting when cold, which I am told is typical with XR's, but mine may also be due to the 440 kit.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Clint

Los Gatos, California

Reviewed on 2005-10-18

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda XR400R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's been over twenty years since I rode in the dirt with my dad. I picked up a used 2004 XR400R to join my son on his 125 and what a ride! It does everything extremely well (braking, cornering, and climbing). The suspension is so plush, but very responsive and predictable. Plenty of stock power across the entire band. Enjoy!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Billy Worthington III

Derwood, Maryland

Reviewed on 2005-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda XR400R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The XR400R is the best bike for riding with your friends. It is a great play bike for riders who know what they're doing. I have been riding it for 8 months straight and the bike and I are like one. Unbelievable wheelie power. I always spray my friends with dirt when they're not paying attention. My friend Mike who rides an XR250R can never touch me when we are racing even though he has one more gear than me. The 400 has blown away any bike we have gone up against.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan Mongillo

bradford , Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2005-05-20

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda XR400R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is awesome. It climbs any hill I want it to and it's always gotten me home. It runs with any bike I've ridden with. I just raced my first haire scambel about 2 weeks ago and this bike dominated the competition.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Trey

Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2005-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Honda XR400R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and I must say I was a little intimidated by the 400. It's tall and pretty heavy, but once I got up on it I felt right at home. The power came easy, the bike gets me through everything that I could possibly go through, and I've gone through a lot. Well this is a great bike, I highly recommend it, so have fun and be safe!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 11 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: