Honda XR650L Motorcycles Reviews (46)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda XR650L Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda XR650L Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-06-23 2015 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Found the bike I was looking for on Cycletrader.com. I found a good, clean, used bike , with low miles on it that was within my price range. This website was easy to navigate and made it easy to pinpoint the bike that was right for me.
- Steve, Slidell, LA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-01-21 2009 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2009 new off the floor in 2012. I have to admit it's one of the best bikes I have ever ridden. This bike is very reliable, decent on gas, plenty of power and by far the best dual sport for off road. Another upside is that the design hasn't changed since 1993 so there are plenty of aftermarket parts and you know this engine is dependable. Now the down side is from the factory. It doesn't quite run right. don't let that put you off because with a few mods it runs great. It just needs to be rejetted and add a new exhaust. But that's just what I have done and what has worked for me. Other people might find they like it stock.
- erik, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-25 2009 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my XR650L as a 2009 leftover new. Power is great from the factory. Seat height is very tall, I'm on my toes at stop lights. The height of the bike can be very intimidating but don't let that stop you from buying one. It feels much smaller once you're up riding it.
- Gary, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-25 2006 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a beast. It always runs. It never leaves me stranded. Aye, she's a heavy one, and you need to be at least 6 ft. tall and have a strong fortitude to handle it, but, if you do, there is really no place you can not go. The low end on it can pull boards from the floor and just chew them up. It was some of the best money I ever spent.
- todd, vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-21 2006 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yes it is outdated and Honda gives it no respect, meaning no updates since '93(1st year?). But it is everything anyone needs with a true dual sport. Only tough for short riders on uneven terrian if you had to put a foot down. It can handle the roughest single track and zip down the interstate with ease. There are better dirt bikes, and better street bikes, but this big L works well as both. Simply set it up for your preference.
- JO, Jonesborough, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-03 2006 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Currently own 2 Honda atvs, so Hondas are no strangers to our motoring fun. The big XR is pretty top heavy and not for a beginner or even those that are a bit out of shape. The XR is excellent, though once underway. It can sip fuel at 55 mpg and can still rage up to a three digit pace if needed. Engine is bullet proof, quiet, uses no oil, starts impeccably and vibrates very little. It is hard to believe it is a single, it is smooth and comfortable about town, and only gets tiring after a 100 miles or so in the saddle. Workmanship of paint, fit and finish is the Honda of old, with a metal tank, no oil leaks and just as tight as could be. Highly recommended on road or off.
- peter, shawnee, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-24 2004 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1996 model that has given me a lot of service after much abuse and play. I had a cam bearing problem that my extended warranty took care of. I have had it stolen/blown up once. I have run it out of oil and taken it swimming. I finally put a new piston in it three years ago and found that the head was cracked by the spark plug hole. My connection at my CDI box was making the bike shut off on me but I found it and fixed it myself. I have a lot of miles on it for what it is but it is always ready. And now that all of the bugs have been worked out I plan to go super moto with it. For the the low price I paid a decade ago compared to the performance, I really can't complain about bugs after all of the abuse I have given it.
- Chad, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-30 2006 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my XR650L since last December, and I've rode this bike like crazy. Never had ONE single problem. Change the oil every couple thousand miles and check the valves 2x (no adjustment necessary). I've got the bike set-up as a supermoto for everyday riding and some Pirelli MT-21s mounted up to the stock wheels for dirt action. ON the street this bike kicks major butt, 100mph on the highway, twisties faster than any sportbike; you name it, it'll do it. Dirt is its weak spot, it's a bit too heavy for serious dirt riding but it will go anywhere just not as fast as a lighter bike (can't say the same about the KLR). Quality (Fit and finish, componetry) is better than the other bikes but not as nice as KTM. KTM (625cc LC4) also makes noticably more power than the Honda; both bikes uncorked with no internal motor modifications.
- DukeRyder, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-16 2006 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I live in the country and drive 12 miles a day into town to work. This bike gets up on the highway 70 m.p.h. easy, and yet performs great in traffic in stop and go traffic. I've ridden it in the rain, hail, high wind (yikes), off road in heavy mud, even dropped it going up a muddy hill in the hailing wind storm, it's a tough bike. No problems yet. The seats a little hard after 50 mles of riding though.
- Justin Stevens, Idaho Falls, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-20 2006 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So for so good. I use the bike mostly on the street and it handles quite nice for such a high center of gravity. Plenty of power to keep up with traffic on the highway but a little scary with the wind blowing any amount. Find the seat a little hard for long rides but with the small tank you get to stretch quite often at the gas station. Overall I am very happy with the bike and would recommend it to anyone.
- Kendell, Liverpool, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-16 2006 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2006 XR650L two weeks ago and am extremely happy with this bike. In two weeks I have put 600 miles on it which includes a 200 mile trip down the freeway,riding some fire trails in the gold country and a day with my son at Prairie City Cycle Park. How many motorcycles can handle this kind of variety? Not many. I was surprised at how smooth this thing is on the freeway.You would think that a 650cc one piston thumper would vibrate your bones apart but it doesn't. Right now I am getting 55 miles per gallon and I'm sure it will improve when it is broken in. Overall, it's a great bike. If you buy one you won't be disappointed.
- Rod Wilkinson, Fair Oaks, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-02 2006 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes for 40 years and this is the only time I've owned a motorcycle that is good on the street and in the dirt. I believed that if it could do both it was no good at either. I was wrong. I purchased this bike on May 1, 2006 and put 140 miles it that day. Riding home on the freeway at 75 miles per hour, I was surprised at how smooth it is. You would think that a 650cc one-cylinder thumper would shake your butt numb, not the case. I filled up the tank for $6.00 vs. $50.00 in the car and found a dirt road along the American River. The tires work well in the dirt. I slid around corners, hit potholes and found a couple of jumps. This bike has good suspension, it's well balanced and I like the high ground clearance. I plan to use this thing for dirt riding with my kids and running around town. It's the best of both worlds.
- Rod Wilkinson, Fair Oaks, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-04 2006 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this thing; it is my first bike and I had the choice between the 600RR or this bike and I think I made the right decision especially since everybody and their momma got the RR. I feel a lot better knowing I'm riding something that can perform great on the street and in the dirt if there's ever an emergency and traffic is terrible as usual, I can always go off road and take some short cuts. It has lots of power and plenty of upgrades available to have fun with. This bike is worth every penny.
- Houstan Downey, Riverside , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-18 2003 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The XR650L is a true dual sport motorcycle. I recently picked up my '03 XR pre-owned with 2000 miles in great condition. It handles rough ground with ease and tackles the pavement with a "what is that guy riding" type of style. I'm 6' and the 37" seat hieght is a bit of a stretch and can put you in an awkward position on un-even ground, however I see it as a bearable handicap on an all around great machine.
- Kevin, Augusta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-12 2004 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my bike a few months after selling my CBR900rr. I miss the 150+mph blasts, and twisties. But after 6 years was due for a change of pace and less tickets. This puppy maxes at 85-90 mph on highways. But it's a fun kick in the pants to hooligan around on. I wish they made a factory tank that was 4-5 gallons and will buy an aftermarket soon to rid that problem. I have taken this in some pretty wild hill scrambles, mud, ruts and jumps. It does very well considering you can commute on it as well. The rear seemed a little soft on big landings. But it's not a CRF. Buy one and have a blast.
- J Roberts, San Diego , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-20 2004 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had certain expectations when I bought this bike. Thus far it has done very well. My other bike is a BMW GS1100 so I needed something lighter to really play off road. However I still needed to get to the trails. For what is a dirt biased bike it performs very well on the freeway cruising at 75mph with plenty of grunt left to pass. Off road you will need to get better tires always a balancing act with on road riding in mind. It has a very smooth motor with plenty of grunt. In comparison to the Suzuki 650DR it is a thousand cheaper. YEAH The KLR650 from Kawasaki is the same price but vibrates so bad that your teeth shake loose, you will need stocks in blue locktite! Fairly new into the market is the BMW 650 GS a much better bike on road but you do not want to go off road with it plus at almost $10,000 they have out priced themselves. This is from someone who will be buried with my GS1100. Last in my list of bikes that I have tried in this area is the KTM 640 adventure. A fantastic bike and the closest in performance to the Honda. But it weighs more due to the larger gas tank. Which the Honda could do with. Better fairing for the road then the Honda. But once again it is in the $10,000 range and too much for my wallet. The Honda has been around for a long time its flaws can be fixed with aftermarket parts for a very reasonable price. Down sides to the Bike: waiting at the trail head for my brothers to catch up with me!
- Peter Evenbly, Ennis , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-31 2004 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode offroad years ago and decided I needed something that could do both once I could afford one. Just rode the bike to Madison in the rain(about 190 miles round trip) and the only complaint I have is the small gas tank. I will be replacing it in the very near future. If you don't mind stopping often, it won't be a problem but 70 or 80 miles for me is too soon (remember I am in the 300 club so your mileage may be a little better). I can't wait to get this thing offroad for real. I've done some short little runs on dirt roads and it is just asking to be let out.
- P. Gales, Cedarburg, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-14 2004 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 2004 XR650L a month a go, WOW. It's a blast to ride, the bike is exactly what I expected. It's not a sport bike,and not a motocroser either, but its definitely the right compromise. It is fast enough on the higway and good enough for light offroad riding. I don't mind the small tank, since I need a "rest" quite often. With a little rest every 100 miles or so you can go ANYWHERE! My only complaint is the height of this bike,it's real tall. There is a lowering link from baja design but I decided not to install it. I think I can live with the bike as it is, and I don't want to fool around with a superb machine... I guess the guys at honda built it that tall for a reason. If you have any questions or comments don't hesitate to e-mail me. Ride safe.
- Ben Barr, long island NY, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-14 2004 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a 46 year old male and this is my 5th dual purpose Honda. The other four were the XL series, so it goes without saying I've been out of the saddle for a few years. The engineering has come a long way since the old XL days. I was concerned about the tall height of the XR650L before I made my purchase but after a few hours in the saddle it felt very natural. The extra height gives you more swing arm travel for a soft landing on those big jumps. I agree with the websites I've visited that say the bike needs to be un-corked before you can truely appreciate the hidden power in this big bore thumper. I ride a 50 / 50 mix on the street and in the dirt. The XR650L is a well designed dual purpose bike that truly fits the bill, be it street or dirt. In closing, if you ride hard in the dirt and enjoy doing 3rd gear wheelies, then I'd recommend you un-cork the air intake with an after market air filter, remove the air inlet snorkel, rejet, install a free flow exhaust, and add three more teeth to the rear gear. There is just enough chain for you to remove the stock 45 tooth gear and replace it with a 48 tooth gear. I can still cruise down the freeway at a crisp 75 mph even with the additional teeth on the rear gear.
- Mark Gaarz, N. Richland Hills, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-11 2004 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great ! I have now owned it for three weeks and it just keeps running better everyday. I spent a full day with it out on the trails and it did great. I was beat at the end of the day but the bike was ready for more. I ride this bike to work everyday that I can and it loves the intersate. If you want a bike that you can use for fun or to ride to work this is the bike for you.
- Steven Friend, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2000 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is fun in its stock form but is a great / awesome wheelie bike after you uncork the in-let & exhaust, re-jet, and add three more teeth to the rear gear. Best dual purpose bike on the planet in my opinion.
- Mark Gaarz, North Richland Hills, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-28 2004 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well since I picked this bike up 2 weeks ago I have been slowly breaking it in. It's been about 60% street and 40% dirt for right now. Well today I just got done putting on renthal bars and removing the baffle. When I pulled the beast in from a test ride I was pretty surprised on the slight power increase. Ever since I started riding the bike it just kept getting stronger, more powerful and more top end. Since it's all stock I am only topping out at about the 105-110mph range. This is a great improvement since the first few days he bike was so tight it was having a hard time pushing past 80. I can roll up the front end in 1st and 2nd gears and clutch it up in 3rd and 4th gears. The bike is nicely balanced for me on one wheel and can give you a nice wheelie run. Now everyone knows this bike is on the heavy side as are all big bore stock enduros, but this bike has that legendary honda dirtbike feel. Every time I pull out I feel illegal!!! I haven't done any hard core off roading with it yet but I have easily gotten 5-6 feet of clean air and it lands nice and smooth. Excellent suspension. The Xr650L handles the whoops alright you just have to ride it hard and be strong. It's a little different than riding a motocrosser or a street bike but I think honda has put together the best of both worlds. I can really say nothing bad, but that's just because the bike is perfect for what it was made for. I will work it into upgrades for about 20 more HP after I fully break it in. I mean, who doesn't want a super motard??? Thanks Honda!!
- Chris Elk, somers point , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-21 2004 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 41 years old and I love riding motorcycles. I wanted something that I could ride to work and go off road on the weekends. The XRL is the perfect bike for me. I've had it up to 90mph on the freeway with plenty more than that available. That is fast enough for me on a dirt bike. It is right at home at 75. Off road it has great manners too. I have gotten some good air with it. The engine is very powerful. 0-60 is fast. If you like off roading and want a machine you can ride on the street too, The XRL is a great choice. The only drawback is that the gas tank is too small, 2.8 gals. But I can live with that. Acerbis makes a bigger tank but it's ugly.
- KH, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-12 2003 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I got my new 2003 machine last spring, I was a bit disappointed at first. Everything people say about it coming from the factory choked up for emissions purposes are true. It seemed as if it was a track star trying to run flat out while breathing through a soda straw. Never having been one to try and out-think engineers, even I was driven to do something about it. I changed the gearing from 15-45 to 14-48, put in the Baja Designs smog pump block off kit, re-jetted it with a Dyno-jet stage 1 kit, put in a K&N filter and finally topped it off with a White Brothers E-Series exhaust. I would urge you not to do some of the above, but all. Each step alone will not make a huge difference, but let me tell you, the night I bolted on the White Brothers exhaust (the last mod) and took it out on a back road, she tried to peel my fingers off the grips. It looks like the bike I bought, but doesn't act like it. Honda made a wonderful machine and these mods are the lightning bolt that will bring it to life. It jumps, it wheelies, it climbs like a beast and other than being a bit tall and heavy, I can't imagine a better dual sport. I know you can't buy one. In short, buy it, but if you don't do the mods, you will never hear her roar.
- Firefighter Willie, Middleton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-10 2003 Honda XR650L Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike since 1980. I have owned many dual purpose bike's in the past. I am 59 year's old and cannot belive how wonderful the springs are on this bike. Could someone put me in touch with a vendor for a bigger gas tank and a sugestion for a little better gearing. We will be retiring to Bradenton, FL in about 15 mounths so I would like to look at jetting for the sea level area. I will alos be using my bike to go to and from work a lot so is there any seat options for a more comfortable seat?
- Dave DeLong, Thornton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: