Honda XR650R Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda XR650R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda XR650R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-07-03 2006 Honda XR650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is the best! Nothing goes faster. Not a 625sxc or 525exc. Uncork it! Stock is plugged up. Very hard to start, as heavy as it is it should have a button. If Honda allowed test rides most would buy unless they had to kick it started 1st. Then it would be a tough sale @ 1/2 price. Honda needs to step up and make this a dual sport now the 450R and 450X has taken the racing duties. Electric start and dual sport, I would buy one today!
- Hungry, Land O Lakes, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-08 2006 Honda XR650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like the other review said, the bike needs a few mods from the start. However, do a little research and do it right. Search for uncorking the 650 on the internet. You can buy the parts from Honda. The bike sold in North America is very restricted. It makes 43 horsepower, overheats easily and is a pain to start. With a new spark arrestor, and intake spacer on the carb, removing two pieces from the airbox and rejetting, you get a 27% increase in power. It runs much cooler, and starts like a dream. You can do this for a little of nothing or have your dealer do it, and in my opinion, it makes the bike not only more fun, it gets easier to ride because of how it puts the power down. They don't call it the king of baja for nothing. I think it's the best value in a dirtbike, period.
- Bill, pitkin, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-21 2006 Honda XR650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. If you are not sure about buying it or buying another one, read this. There are a few modifications to make and ALL of the problems related on forums and reviews sites will be gone. It has an average power of 45Hp to 47Hp stock. If you trash the exhaust and change it for an aftermarket one, you will get nearly 4 more Hps, lose 10 pounds on the bike, stop boil-overing, get an incredibly good fuel consumption (mine got from 55 miles to 95 with stock tank!!! TRUE!!!). Trash the handlebar because it is garbage and get a FatBar. Trash the air filter and drill holes on the side-panel to get more air flow and add a little foam to prevent mud getting on the filter (more air out, more air in!). Jetting must now be around 185. Again, 1Hp to 2Hp gain and the engine won't stall anymore at extremely low speeds (did it even stall once?). that's all! It is not too much! Now you get a powerful 649cc thumper which accelerates has as much as a 450 and goes a bit faster without having to change oil every ride and worrying about engine failure. I know it is like 20 pounds heavier than a 450 Enduro but yet very maneuverable and competitive in the trees. Hey boy I am 130 pounds and never fell down, never had any problem because of the weight, can get it in a truck without problems... I guess people are scared for nothing. Only 2 hardcore rides are needed to get used to the heavy feeling. The kick-start lights-up the engine in one shot IF YOU KNOW HOW TO DO IT RIGHT... This is not an XR600r! I changed the light for a baja one to ride at night because the stock unit is cheap but don't mind it will get you back anytime after sunset. The only TRUE problem with the bike is... 2 hard rides = 1 rear tire! But that's due to the power! I can wheelie on all of 5 gears and during 30 long seconds. User-friendly, big power but perfectly linear. Get in sand, mud, tight trails, gravel roads if you want, it will get over everything with ease. And if you don't brake with the engine, it will not be drinking drops of oil after 1 year. Brakes are superb but I tried an oversized one on another XR and I think this is money well spent! Long life to this thumper and trash modern 4strokes. Reliability FIRST.
- Nick, Chicoutimi, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-25 2005 Honda XR650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best bike on the world!!! More strong and more powerful than other 4 stroke bikes. For more power, buy a complete big gun race series exhaust with new jet in the carb and open your air box!! Honda forever!
- snoopy, longueuil, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-17 2004 Honda XR650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the ultimate baja winning machine that rules whatever the land throws at you! Sand washes, rocks, bushes, gravel or mud. Even quicksand won't stop you with all that four stroke power.<br /> I have blasted by raptors up sand dunes at Glamis and Dumont with knobbies!!! When I throw on the paddles (custom nine paddle} it is hook up city! Warning, This a big bike for big boys but an awesome toy! GET ONE NOW!
- John McEwan, Riverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-11 2002 Honda XR650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great desert bike, gobs of torque and 60 HP with the restrictors removed, stable and fast, has been 100% reliable, the king of BAJA but when made street legal the seat isn't good for long trips. Once uncorked and jetted it runs cool and starts easy, Tops out at 108 with knobbies on the street. It would climb a tree if it could get traction.
- Captb, Scottsdale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-31 2000 Honda XR650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In 2001 I rode a 2000 XR650 over 500 miles in Death Valley, CA with Trailbosstours.com. I weigh 220 pounds and typically ride an XR600 on the mountainous trails in Vermont. Accross the open desert and gravel/dirt and even snow and mud, the bike was awesome. I was smokin' past 175 pounders on XR600's. The suspension was great, the acceleration was great, the bike was very nimble for it's weight. The only negative I felt was the stopping distance and inability to slow the bike down when coming hot into corners. I have a few friends in Vermont who have bought these bikes, and actually wish that for the tight, single track trails that we ride that Honda still made the XR500 (the XR400 is not enough for us big guys and the 650 can be a little much on the tight trails) In Baja, Death Valley, Moab or any other open space riding, there is not a better bike in my opinion. The only must add on is a strearing dampener. If you have the dough to add a baja designs street legal kit to it, it's a great bike to go exploring some of those hidden trails off the side of the road you have always wondered about but didn't want to park a truck or trailer at.
- Chris, Danby, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-15 2003 Honda XR650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a new 2002 XR650R from the dealer in 2003, and got slight price reduction do to this. I took it out the first ride stone stock. While the power did not impress me so much the feel of the motorcycle did! I had a 96 KLX650 that was stolen some months back, so I knew what riding a big four stroke felt like. I was stunned how nimble this 300lb bike really was. After the break-in period I decided to go for the hop-up kit available from my dealer. The change was unreal! The bike easily pulls 3rd gear wheelies now! I love this bike, it's nimble enough to hang with the 2-strokes in the rough stuff and the power of an old school hot rod. My only suggestion to you is go buy one!
- Kyle Copeland, Colorado Springs , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-29 2003 Honda XR650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike lacks any pizzazz stock. You have to uncork it. WWW.XR650R.net XR'S only header pipe &#038; White Bros. R4 Exhaust didn't help enough for the cost. You can yet a HRC baffle for a lot less and get near the same results. Holes in the air cover makes a big difference.K&#038;N Air filter = Main jet 182, pilot 68, raise needle one or two.
- BWB, Cherry Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-27 2000 Honda XR650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is fast once you uncork it. The power is good and even. If you are looking to keep it totally stock, get the XR400R. If you want to touch to clouds get the CFR450R (if you have the money). If you uncork it and want to do some serious trail riding fast this is the bike! With some money (and a lot of skill) win the Baja 1000. WWW.XR650R.net - To uncork it. XR's only header pipe White Brothers - R4 - Exhaust. 182 main 68 pilot
- BWB, Cherry Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-05 2000 Honda XR650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I moved up to the 650R from a 400R to keep up with my riding buddies. I love the power and you don't notice the weight once it is moving. I ride on all types of terrain, from sand dunes to tight woods trails, it works great everywhere.
- Bret, Dayton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-12 2000 Honda XR650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding Baja for years, an if you want a bike you can depend on buy a Honda. change the oil , filter, clean the air filter as recommended an this bike will take you around the world. and back! ive had my 650 for about 3 months and have rode 4 long trips in Baja. about 500,600 miles each time .. not a problem at all .. well the spokes all came loose that's it. great bike, but take it easy till you use to it its fast, comes on fast an might surprise you at the wrong time
- Kirkm, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: