Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles Reviews (78)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-05-30 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Indian Chief and believe me it's a great point of interest from other bikers.
- J.Pierre, Boucherville, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-01-03 2001 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I found my 2001 Chief six months ago. It needed some cosmetic repairs from being left outside under a tent for years. The chrome on these bikes was of low quality and frequently peels when left in high humidity. The S&S motor is superb with plenty of power and a beautiful sound. I've been able to find every part I have ever needed on either Ebay or from Aardvark Cycle.
- Bobby L., Germantown, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-15 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike as a repo two years ago with only 1,900 miles on it. The previous owner had added Legend Air Suspension and a drag racing cam. Since then, I've added an OEM windshield, chrome Arrow shift linkage, chrome Indian Head gas cap covers & the Aardvark ignition jumper to alleviate the problem of blowing ignition relays. The ignition relays are the only problem I've had with the bike and that was an easy and inexpensive fix. With the air suspension I can drop it to the ground for shows and the cam would allow me to burn through tires at an alarming pace!! My only real complaints about the bike is (1) cosmetic - I think I'm gonna have a fat rear tire conversion done because the rear tire is a little too puny for my liking and (2) mechanical - the clutch is extremely heavy and apparently I'm not the only one who thinks so since clutch replacements are pretty popular for these bikes. Potential Indian riders beware - you cannot ride an Indian and be an introvert! Be prepared to have someone ask you about your bike every time you stop. I've had people take pics of my bike while filling up at a gas station, it is nothing if not a conversation starter. On the highway, the ride is awesome, but the rake and longer wheelbase that feels great on the open road can be a bit of a beast in town, especially with the wide bars and heavy clutch. I don't recommend this bike for a beginning rider or strictly city driving. To really be appreciated, this bike needs to be opened up on the highway! I doubt I'll ever sell this bike.
- GRS, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-20 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Other than a few minor items, this is the finest motorcyle I have ever owned. It is a crowd magnet and even my Harley friends will agree that it is a fine bike with many extras that came stock whereas you pay the piper with Harley extras.
- Pete Rogers, Chaumont, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-02 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a few bikes over the years but this is my first Indian. It is a real head turner and is a lot of fun to ride and most of all it has a very distinct sound and look. Wouldn't trade it for any H.D. on the road.
- Brian Phillips, Fredericton, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-27 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had numerous bikes my whole life (all v-twins since 1973). By far my '00 Chief is the most fun to ride on pavement. I have had some issues (starter, stress cracks) but nothing major. The 88ci SS hangs with or out runs any other v-twin. I have a Geezerglide HD screamin' eagle ultra classic hot head 110ci for the long hauls but absolutely love riding my chief. Love the beach bars and overall look is traditional Indian and perfect!
- Kim, Falls Lake , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-11 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Vintage black on black in 2003, 6 months before Indian went under the last time. While I don't put a lot of miles on the bike, this machine has been very reliable and I always get the most attention from enthusiasts at rallys and bike nights. The 2-up seat is not really that comfortable for long rides but great for local cruising. When the time is right I plan to get a new one and would highly recommend the Indian to all other contrarians. This is pure American.
- Steven W, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-27 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 99 Chief in 2001 with 26 miles on it. It belonged to a Nascar owner who displayed it in his shop but never rode it. It has the California smog kit on it and is S/N 0041. The reason I bought it was the way it felt when I mounted it. I wanted a Road King my whole life, but being a big man, they just didn't feel comfortable to me. When I mounted my Chief, I felt, for the first time, here is a bike made for big guys. I was informed the 99's were 6 inches longer and 2 in. lower than the Road Kings. Every year after 99 they got shorter and higher...I will never sell my 99.
- Chris F., Cornelius, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-03 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Chief in August of 2003 (luckily, with a 5-year aftermarket warranty, as I needed the drive belt and seals replaced in 2006!) and have been pretty happy with the bike ever since. As others have stated, it always elicits the question - is it a REAL Indian? - from someone whenever I'm out for a ride, and I've gotten pretty good at telling the story of the rise and fall and rise and fall and rise of the Indian brand. I've done a lot of mods/upgrades to the bike, and so I'm at the point that I'm happy with how it fits me (although fuel injection might smooth things out a bit). My only concern is what I should do if/when I want to try something new - I honestly don't think I can afford a new one. Anyway, I'll cross that road when I come to it. Safe riding, all. Mike G
- Mike G, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-09 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike from Corona Indian in Ca. I love this bike and would like to purchase a 09'. This 99' chief is just that. I can pull up into a Harley dealer and the sales guys come out to see it. You should pick one up for your self. I know I'll wind up getting a 09' but they are a little high priced right now, I hope they come down some soon. God Bless to ya'll Mike G.
- Mike G , Fredericksburg, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-19 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my blue/white Deluxe new in 2003 (accessorized so that it has the appearance of a Vintage). I have 3 other bikes and the Indian remains my favorite. It's impossible to ride without generating positive comments from other bikers, etc. The bike has been reliable, comfortable, and has a great sound. I am happy to see the Indian name return.
- Bill Foree, Marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-21 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I actually own a different 03 bike and a 03 Indian (guess I'm lucky). I believe the Power Plus 100 has a very noticeable difference in horsepower as compared to the other bike. When I ride the Indian, it always gathers a crowd. I get a lot of questions like, "Is it a real Indian?Of course I have to explain. I enjoy the feel of the Indian and the history behind the Indian Motorcycle tradition. The engine design (Power Plus 100) is beautiful, however, I like the added chrome on the 09 Indians and the 6 speed. Since buying the Indian I've put approx 4000 trouble-free miles on it and expect many more. Occasionally I use H-D poly oil on the drive belt. This eliminates the chirping sound when decelerating. Overall I love this bike.
- Wayne Ferguson, Glade Hill, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-05 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike new in 2003 and life hasn't been the same since. I fell in love with the traditional lines at first sight. Shortly after my purchase I learned of the close knit community of Indian riders that went with it - A camaraderie that is matched by no other.
- Scottdog, Enfield, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-22 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 00 Chief new, have had umpteen different bikes over the last 25 yrs, mostly Harley in last 15. This bike is without a doubt the biggest head turner I've had. I had some minor problems with it early on but Indian was excellent in taking care of it. I complained about the top end noise in the motor so Indian had s&s rockers and boxes put in. They put cc garbage in a lot of them originally to save $. If you have cc in yours, get rid of em. I also strongly suggest 2 sets of fender struts on the rear fender especially if you have open pipes. I put struts on mine {they even look good} years ago and have never had a problem w/ cracking. I put a dyna ignition, a single fire coil and 561 s&s cam in mine and it made quite a nice increase in umph. As soon as I aquire the room for a 2nd bike I'm going to get another Harley dresser for long hauls but I will always love my Chief. It's been a great bike.... keep the shiny side up bros.
- bill c, seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-30 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Chief in July of 2002 and I have ridden it hard. I have had issues with it, the worse being the engine. I had it rebuilt and it hasn't failed me since. For an 800lb bike, she handles like a crotch rocket, and my floorboards prove it. She handles 130 mph easily with power to spare. My current dyno numbers are 104 HP and 112 ft/lb and the bike is basically stock with new air filter and exhaust. She rides like a recliner. 600 mile days are not unusual and don't wear you out. This bike is amazing. Ride safe.
- Jason P. Morris, Romeoville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-27 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Right after hearing this bike fire up, I was sold! Cost probably a little more than the Harley's I was looking at, but hey...... EVERYBODY has a Harley and only a FEW have the Indians. Even though they're out of business again, I'm still glad I bought it and enjoy all the people that awe over it. Have only had a few minor problems with it. Has been a real crowd pleaser and it looks, performs and distinguishes itself everywhere we go.
- Terry Tipton, Nampa, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-29 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this bike since 01 and put about 8-9000 miles on it. I have not had one problem with the bike in 3 years. It is exceptional. In addition, all the Harley riders have to stop and eyeball the machinery. I had it custom painted, and added V & H pipes. No one has a bike like mine. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- N Laporte, Lansing, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-19 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all, it is an awesome bike. Second of all, too bad the warranty is pointless now that they're going under. Certainly a Kawasaki Drifter is no comparison but at least you can buy parts and have it serviced until you're too old to ride. Also, with the $20,000+ saved buying the metric bike you and your old lady can take a couple of cruises and still have extra spending money when you return. I love my Indian and wouldn't trade it for anything but I DO have just as much fun on my Drifter and I didn't waste the extra $$$ again. It's all a matter of pride (or should I say arrogance). Too bad we've all swallowed the Harley lie, that all good bikes should be ridiculously expensive. PS: Promote motorcycling; WEAR A HELMET
- Herman Munster, Hollywood, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-17 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I bought my 2000 chief "pre-owned". Spent a little time fixing all of the BS repairs the previous owner had done (without loctite I might add). Have put over 10,000 miles on it since in the last 6 months. Rides great, looks even better. However, many of the issues I've encountered shoulda never happened. Leaking rocker box - mechanic used OLD gasket. Rear floorboards coming loose - no loctite on them. Clutch basket came loose - no loctite on nut at all. Electrical bugaboo - plug not fully engaged on back of Electrical Box (between tanks). Only remaining issue I have is the ignition. There's a gremlin in there somewhere - fouls front plug until it gets warmed-up - runs great after that. Have entire new ignition system in box ready to go. I've ridden this bike from Austin here to Sturgis with no problems. Turned around and rode it to Vegas no problems. Bottom Line: I am able to work on a bike and kinda enjoy it sometimes. I understand the risks of buying a used bike. If some of these issues popped up for original owner, I'm sure they would have been covered under warranty. Local dealer is pretty good at getting issues resolved. Oh and did I mention? This bike will wax a twincam's ass - every time. Woohoo ! tomt
- tomt, austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-26 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2000 Chief , best ride Ive ever owned , a real attention getter at evert event . The Dealer I purchased from is excellent and really knows his stuff . As far as problems go .. who can have problems with aride this great !!!
- Spotted Raven, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-28 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a 2000 Indian chief on Jul.4 2003. God I love this bike! Yes it has been in the shop for shocks and fender recall,but its worth every bit because in my humble opinion this is the prettiest bike ever made. I like all bikes but there is not one single bike out there that looks like this.
- rider, walkertown, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-09 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2002 Chief and the changes for 2003 only refine it more. I agree the air cleaner is terrible but Gary Stark of Starklite is making an aftermarket setup that will be available this month through him and Indian both. The awesome is a torgue monster...since we all know that HP without torgue is nothing. The ride is good...the handling on the road is good...though it can be a bit of a challenge at parking lot speeds but then again this is a big bike. Fit and finish is awesome and the amount of chrome that comes std is eyepopping compared to my friends on HD bikes. This bike has no more problems than any of the other American counterparts...including the Motor Company and Polaris/Victory... Finally, the naysayers that said it would only last a year or two were wrong...as were the calls of kit bike especially since it now makes its own frame and motor for the Chief. Many feel this bike is going to make it...and continues to grow stronger and better each year...afterall, how manyother companies are putting out a product this nice and refined after only 4 years back in business...? The Chief is a great bike...better than the Fatboy and Roadking in my opinion...and definately has more show and go than competitors. If you like Indian bikes and have wanted a classic ride...then buy one. If you are a fan of the motor company or metric cruisers...then you might be better with one of them..since if you do not get what you want the first time...you will never be happy. Just dont balk when you pay 3k over sticker for the Road King..and then sink 2-3k more in chrome...and another 2k in upgrades just to get your bike equal to the Chief off the showroom floor. Good riding, no matter what you choose...but the Chief is a great bike and will be around for a while and hopefully regain the glory as it knew as AMERICAs FIRST MOTORCYCLE company...
- Brock, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-17 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE THE RAKE AND RIDE ON MY 2000 CHIEF, I TRADED IN A ROAD KING FOR IT. IT WAS A NICE BIKE, BUT SINCE MAYBE IM TALL THAT CHIEF RIDES GREAT I LOVE IT.I BEEN RIDING FOR 18 YEARS AND I HAVE NEVER ROAD SO MUCH,WILL SOMETHING GO WRONG, YES WHAT HASENT, ALL MY PAST BIKES HAD PROBLEMS, HARLEY YA REMEMBER AMF, SUZUKI EVEN A GOLD WING, HAVE FUN
- DAVID KNOBLE, FRANKLIN, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-15 2001 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wish I would have found this website before I bought my indian chief. It seems there was a warning from someone named James that austin texas had the worst indian dealer in the united states.Beleive me, he knows what he is talking about. I am telling everyone I know to buy an American Ironhorse or a Harley. I have a 2001 indian chief for sale, cheap. Unfortunately there are a lots of problems that go along with it. Mainly electrical and transmission problems.
- Ronnie Rodriguez, austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-17 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The chief is so uncomfortable the air cleaner will wear a hole through your left knee.The motor shakes the poop out of you,so you'll won't be buying any Exlax.I tried to sell it back to the dealer,but he only offered me $15,000 for it.I took it and lost $12,000 in 2 months.What a nightmare!
- jason, El Cajon, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: