Indian Motorcycle Motorcycles Reviews (118)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Indian Motorcycle Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Indian Motorcycle Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2015-01-22 2014 Indian Motorcycle Chieftain Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a Indian Chieftain in November of 2014. and I love it like no other motorcycle I've ever ridden. I have ridden many types of motorcycles, the last was a 2008 Harley Davidson Sportster XL1200. It was nice but the Indian Chieftain has options that Harley-Davidson only wish they had thought of. It has a 111 HP Stoker engine 1811cc of pure power. It also has a lA powered windshield that goes up and down like a car window. It has a faring with an on-board computer that links up to your smart phone and does anything that your smart phone can do - navigation, calls, searching internet, etc. a 100 watt stereo with am/FM aux., weather station, etc. It also has large spacious saddle bags with plenty of room for hauling whatever you want - just about anything. I can go on, but you just need to go see one yourself and check it out. I enjoy riding my bike like no other ride I've ever ridden. It's very smooth and comfortable. I give it 5 stars plus...go check it out. You will find something there that you have to ride and it will be better and cheaper that a Harley-Davidson.
- Jack McDaniel, 'Byron, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-07-15 2014 Indian Motorcycle Chief Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not ridden much since the 70's. Beyond the great looking lines on this bike, I was looking for a platform that fit me well and was easy to handle. After a sketchy ride in the neighborhood (my doing not the bike), I ventured out on the main roads for a day of riding. Riding cautiously I became comfortable after 134 miles, both city and open road riding. The following day I rode 177 miles. This bike is very comfortable, handles well, and has incredible power. It is also a great looking bike with people curious about Indian and happy to see a tradition coming alive again.
- Robert, Keswick, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-05-22 2014 Indian Motorcycle Chieftain Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My last ride was on a Yamaha 750SP and wrapped it around a mail box post. It has been 10 years sinse then. By the time I reached the 2nd stop sign from the dealer my confadence was back, For a big bike, it was nimble, smoooth and responsive. I was back, in a saddle again! for good. More reviews to follow as I will pick up my, and my wife's, Springfield Blue Chieftain on the 9th.
- Brian Slack, 'Gaffney, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-12-23 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Roadmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The very first motorcycle ride I ever had was on a 1953 Indian Chief when I was 5-years-old. I fell in love and always wanted an Indian. Years later, after riding a 90 Kaw, and two Gold Wings, I saw this Indian Spirit and fell in love. I had to buy it. Right away I had a few problems with it, but got them fixed (warranty work/recalls) and it's been smooth sailing ever since. It starts right up and the performance is excellent. It's not a Gold Wing but it's still a lot of fun to ride for a couple hours and gets just loads of attention every time I take it out. What led me to buy this Indian was that this is an "AMERICAN" motorcycle. I take a lot of pride in telling people that "there's not one part, one piece, nut, bolt, wire, nothing on this bike that wasn't made right here in America, by Americans for Americans". Maybe it's not as fast as my old Kawasaki 900 Z1-B but it has more than enough hp. for 2-up riding. This is an "old school" cruiser and they don't make them like that anymore. I've been so pleased with this bike and it's like a old Timex - "It takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'". This is my last motorcycle and will be passed on to my grandson when he's ready for it.
- Marty Smith, Kankakee, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-10-06 2001 Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 45 years now and have had everything from Honda's to Harley's. For the past 25 years I had mainly Harley's and then I got my Indian. This bike is amazing in most all ways. It looks and feels small compared to my Harley Ultra but that does not stop it from feeling great on the road. The brakes are second to none and the power of the S&S motor can really get your blood flowing. The fit and finish of the bike is also better than most anything else out there. The only real complaints I could make would be the size of the gas tank and the poor gas mileage I am getting.
- Bruce, Thornville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-08-15 2009 Indian Motorcycle Chief Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold a 2002 Indian Chief from Gilroy with the first year PP100 motor and this bike made by Kings Mountain is head and shoulders above it in reliability, performance and handling. The bike cruises effortlessly at interstate speeds and above fully loaded with gear and still pulls mileage in low to mid 40s. A little roll on the throttle and she will pull up through 95-100 without downshifting. It's a pure pleasure to ride.
- Brock, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-05-30 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Indian Chief and believe me it's a great point of interest from other bikers.
- J.Pierre, Boucherville, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-01-03 2001 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I found my 2001 Chief six months ago. It needed some cosmetic repairs from being left outside under a tent for years. The chrome on these bikes was of low quality and frequently peels when left in high humidity. The S&S motor is superb with plenty of power and a beautiful sound. I've been able to find every part I have ever needed on either Ebay or from Aardvark Cycle.
- Bobby L., Germantown, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-15 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike as a repo two years ago with only 1,900 miles on it. The previous owner had added Legend Air Suspension and a drag racing cam. Since then, I've added an OEM windshield, chrome Arrow shift linkage, chrome Indian Head gas cap covers & the Aardvark ignition jumper to alleviate the problem of blowing ignition relays. The ignition relays are the only problem I've had with the bike and that was an easy and inexpensive fix. With the air suspension I can drop it to the ground for shows and the cam would allow me to burn through tires at an alarming pace!! My only real complaints about the bike is (1) cosmetic - I think I'm gonna have a fat rear tire conversion done because the rear tire is a little too puny for my liking and (2) mechanical - the clutch is extremely heavy and apparently I'm not the only one who thinks so since clutch replacements are pretty popular for these bikes. Potential Indian riders beware - you cannot ride an Indian and be an introvert! Be prepared to have someone ask you about your bike every time you stop. I've had people take pics of my bike while filling up at a gas station, it is nothing if not a conversation starter. On the highway, the ride is awesome, but the rake and longer wheelbase that feels great on the open road can be a bit of a beast in town, especially with the wide bars and heavy clutch. I don't recommend this bike for a beginning rider or strictly city driving. To really be appreciated, this bike needs to be opened up on the highway! I doubt I'll ever sell this bike.
- GRS, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-09 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this motorcycle for my wife, She loves it and so do I. This sickle has the looks, the power and it's surprisingly comfortable.
- LUCKY , Jacksonville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-09 2001 Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Scout used. However I like the performance better than any Harley I've ever had. It has plenty of power and the handling is superb. Everwhere I go, it gets lots of attention. It's overall the best bike I've owned.
- ducktape, auburn, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-11 2001 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 9/11 Indian recalled 100 of the Indian Spirits to give a new paint scheme. On 6 of them the American flag was painted on the tank and the fenders. I have one of those 6. The others only had the tank painted with the flag. This bike is one of the most comfortable bikes I've ever been on. Not to mention the most beautiful. Wouldn't trade her for anything. We're thinking about getting an Indian Chief next!
- Leigh Graves, Pleasant Hill, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-10 2001 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had dreamed about finding this particular motorcycle and could not believe my fortune when I saw it on Ebay. Bought it for a steal and she has not disappointed me in any area. She is everything I dreamed of!!
- Robert A Vick, IV, Whiteland, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-20 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Other than a few minor items, this is the finest motorcyle I have ever owned. It is a crowd magnet and even my Harley friends will agree that it is a fine bike with many extras that came stock whereas you pay the piper with Harley extras.
- Pete Rogers, Chaumont, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-01 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 03 spirit deluxe. She's chrome yellow over pearl white. I get nothing but compliments where ever we ride, the ones I enjoy the most are from Harley riders, oh ya! I sit proud on my Iron pony. And because so many people ask about Indian, I get to enlighten the public on the history of Indian and where they can get thiers. To be honest, I wanted a chief when I walked into the Dealership back in the summer of 2003, but by the time I could actually get my hands on one (the spring of 2004)the Chief I wanted was long gone. So because of my ol'Lady I ended up with the one I now own. NO REGRETS. I love the fender style and the colors. All this make my bike a one of a kind here in Hampton Roads area of Virginia. I will, one day, God willing, own that Chief, then I can die happy, me on my chief and my gal on the Spirit.
- Ed Monarque, Hampton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-02 2001 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put over 32k on my scooter and it still purrs all the way down the highway. It's a great bike. I'm 54 and have owned 2 Harleys in my lifetime (been there, done that). It's just a different riding experience on an Indian; enough said.
- Bigo, Harlingen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-02 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a few bikes over the years but this is my first Indian. It is a real head turner and is a lot of fun to ride and most of all it has a very distinct sound and look. Wouldn't trade it for any H.D. on the road.
- Brian Phillips, Fredericton, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-10 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Indian new in 2003. I have ridden it for over 10,000 miles in all weather conditions, no problems whatsoever. I get lots of compliments on it, lots of polished aluminum on it, things you pay extra for on other bikes came standard on this bike. She's black with gold Indian script & pinstripes. I always wanted an Indian. It's not the same as everyone else rides, it's better.
- stanley l bair, dothan, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-27 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had numerous bikes my whole life (all v-twins since 1973). By far my '00 Chief is the most fun to ride on pavement. I have had some issues (starter, stress cracks) but nothing major. The 88ci SS hangs with or out runs any other v-twin. I have a Geezerglide HD screamin' eagle ultra classic hot head 110ci for the long hauls but absolutely love riding my chief. Love the beach bars and overall look is traditional Indian and perfect!
- Kim, Falls Lake , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-16 2003 Indian Motorcycle Spirit Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The old indian never dies! It has done its share of suffering and will soon gain the popularity it is due. The new Chiefs are great! I have been riding a 2003 Indian Spirit and thinks it rocks. I jumped on a newer ultra classic and felt like I was riding a limosine. My indian isn't as comfortable but keeps up well and has lots of power.
- Jon Bercier, Butte, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-11 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Vintage black on black in 2003, 6 months before Indian went under the last time. While I don't put a lot of miles on the bike, this machine has been very reliable and I always get the most attention from enthusiasts at rallys and bike nights. The 2-up seat is not really that comfortable for long rides but great for local cruising. When the time is right I plan to get a new one and would highly recommend the Indian to all other contrarians. This is pure American.
- Steven W, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-27 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 99 Chief in 2001 with 26 miles on it. It belonged to a Nascar owner who displayed it in his shop but never rode it. It has the California smog kit on it and is S/N 0041. The reason I bought it was the way it felt when I mounted it. I wanted a Road King my whole life, but being a big man, they just didn't feel comfortable to me. When I mounted my Chief, I felt, for the first time, here is a bike made for big guys. I was informed the 99's were 6 inches longer and 2 in. lower than the Road Kings. Every year after 99 they got shorter and higher...I will never sell my 99.
- Chris F., Cornelius, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-03 2003 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Chief in August of 2003 (luckily, with a 5-year aftermarket warranty, as I needed the drive belt and seals replaced in 2006!) and have been pretty happy with the bike ever since. As others have stated, it always elicits the question - is it a REAL Indian? - from someone whenever I'm out for a ride, and I've gotten pretty good at telling the story of the rise and fall and rise and fall and rise of the Indian brand. I've done a lot of mods/upgrades to the bike, and so I'm at the point that I'm happy with how it fits me (although fuel injection might smooth things out a bit). My only concern is what I should do if/when I want to try something new - I honestly don't think I can afford a new one. Anyway, I'll cross that road when I come to it. Safe riding, all. Mike G
- Mike G, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-09 2000 Indian Motorcycle Chief Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike from Corona Indian in Ca. I love this bike and would like to purchase a 09'. This 99' chief is just that. I can pull up into a Harley dealer and the sales guys come out to see it. You should pick one up for your self. I know I'll wind up getting a 09' but they are a little high priced right now, I hope they come down some soon. God Bless to ya'll Mike G.
- Mike G , Fredericksburg, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-10 2001 Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BOUGHT THE 2001 CENTENNIAL SCOUT OFF THE SHOWROOM FLOOR AND WITH A FEW MODS IT BY FAR IS THE BEST BIG TWIN I've EVER RIDDEN. SEAT HEIGHT IS NOW 22 INCHES OFF THE GROUND AND IT FLAT OUT WILL CHEW ASPHALT. THE S & S MOTOR IS A BEAST THAT TAKES ALL AND GIVES MORE !!!
- INDIAN DAVE, EL PASO, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: