Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles Reviews (9)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-10-06 2001 Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 45 years now and have had everything from Honda's to Harley's. For the past 25 years I had mainly Harley's and then I got my Indian. This bike is amazing in most all ways. It looks and feels small compared to my Harley Ultra but that does not stop it from feeling great on the road. The brakes are second to none and the power of the S&S motor can really get your blood flowing. The fit and finish of the bike is also better than most anything else out there. The only real complaints I could make would be the size of the gas tank and the poor gas mileage I am getting.
- Bruce, Thornville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-09 2001 Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Scout used. However I like the performance better than any Harley I've ever had. It has plenty of power and the handling is superb. Everwhere I go, it gets lots of attention. It's overall the best bike I've owned.
- ducktape, auburn, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-10 2001 Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BOUGHT THE 2001 CENTENNIAL SCOUT OFF THE SHOWROOM FLOOR AND WITH A FEW MODS IT BY FAR IS THE BEST BIG TWIN I've EVER RIDDEN. SEAT HEIGHT IS NOW 22 INCHES OFF THE GROUND AND IT FLAT OUT WILL CHEW ASPHALT. THE S & S MOTOR IS A BEAST THAT TAKES ALL AND GIVES MORE !!!
- INDIAN DAVE, EL PASO, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-23 2001 Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I adore this steed. She cranks into turns, growls like a lion, stops on a dime and gets looks from everyone.
- Blinky, North Wales, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-10 2001 Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off this is one fast scoot especially after removing the air restriction plate and baffles. Of course you must rejet after this but it adds a noticeable difference in horsepower. Also polishing the air intake cone helps the power curve. Handles great at high speeds and in the curves. This bike turns heads no matter where I end up and after two years of riding people walk over to my bike regardless what bikes are around mine and want to know more about it or tell me how great it looks. Another plus is Indian Dealers will deal with you where Harley will not and there is very little to add to this bike.
- R Moorman, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-27 2001 Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned 2 Harley Davidsons (well really only 1 the Sportster in my mind doesnt count) But the Softail does. The Scout is alot like the Softail and I dont think you want to go very far on this bike, but I love every thing about it. It handles well at various speeds, it comes equipped from the factory with most of the custom equipment you would put on your Harley but dont have to pay extra for later. My dealer in Illinois has been very helpful and he has a really good mechanical department. The one bitch I have heard the most is about the service or lack there of at most Indian dealers. Over all I love the bike and glad I spent the money.
- sleeved, Monee, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-24 2001 Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, an excellent bike. On the plus side, you get tremendous power after the restrictor plate is removed. Any stock HD will eat your dust (except the VRod). It includes boatloads of chrome alreay, riding the Scout will get you more attention than you sometimes want. People will bombard you with questions and positive comments. I have had no repair/maint. problems at all. It will hold its value well and should be a collectors item in the future. On the negative side, it is too quiet (removing the baffles or aftermarket pipes can change that). In addition, forget about using the horn. You can barely hear it. Lastly, this bike was not made for long distance touring. 350 to 400 miles per day and you are ready to rest from all the vibration. (It is comfortable, though). Overall, you can't go wrong with the Indian Scout!
- Steve, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-18 2001 Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I write this review with mixed emotions because I love the Indian history and brand recognition. In a world of Harleys and Japanese crusiers I thought the Indian was a great choice. Unfortunately since purchasing my 2001 Scout I have experienced excessive vibration from the front end, especially hand controls and Tear Drop headlight, much more than my Harley. I have also experienced and continued to be plagued by no netutral light, which the dealer has not been able to fix. Another problem is excessive amounts of blowing oil out of the air filter which was solved by a $150 Breather kit. I lost my speedometer after just 1000 miles and the dealer said it would take 3-4 weeks to just get the part from Indian, still unfixed. They said it was because Indian is in CA and parts would take long time to get here. In that case Indian should be just selling bikes in CA! I also have a constant loud squeaking in the rear suspension when ever the bike is ridden for a short time. I do not think this is a big problem, but has become very annoying! In another direction the quality of Indian dealers is poor in my area, most are car dealers with little motorcycle experience. I am sure there are good Indian dealers, but not in my area. I have expressed this to Indian in Gilroy, they have not returned my call, apparently customer satifaction after you purchase their bike is not a priority at Indian. After spending $17,000 plus on a motorcycle it is unfortunate that I have to write a review like this. On a more positive note, the bike gets more attention then any Harley on the road.
- RK, McAfee, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-12 2001 Indian Motorcycle Scout Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first big bike I have owned. I am impressed with the power band. It has more power than most think and surprises people all the time. The chrome on the bike is outstanding. I looked at Harley but didn't want to spend all the extra money to chrome it. It gets alot of looks. The problems I have had have all been easy fixes by the dealer with no complaints. No repeat problems. I would recommend. I like my S&S engine. At least I know it will start and run like a scolded dog. Swipter
- Rider, Avondale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: