Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles Reviews (167)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-12-02 2003 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this 2003 Concours for my first bike at the urging of several people. The bike was a little top heavy and challenging in low speed turns but I quickly overcame that. I used it for commuting to/from work which was 110 miles round trip. It's a nice comfortable ride with adequate power on tap. I averaged 40 mpg. at 80 mph. The only real problem I had was even with the fuel valve in reserve mode, the bike would occasionally die after riding 170 to 200 miles. I finally attributed this to fuel starvation after visiting several forums and eliminating all other causes. I put a fuel pump in line with the carbs and tank and the problem went away.
- Stuart Townes, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-15 2003 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Concours, first one was a 1991, red. I now have a 2000 repainted in blazing flame blue, (Ford F150 colour). I have enjoyed both bikes. It has a great touring range. I have gotten between 500 and 600 km. per tank. I would recommend this bike to anyone over 5' 10. It is a tall bike and top heavy.
- john nielsen, Kingston,, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-02 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had two street bikes so far a 1983 Honda 650 Nighthawk and a 2001 Kawasaki Concourse. I put 172k on the Honda when I bought the Kawasaki. It now has 86,335 miles on it and have loved every mile. I put bar risers on it and F1 exhaust pipes. I have even run it down the drag strip/eight miles only. It ran 7.80's and beat a few 600's. I have taken it cross country 600 plus miles a day. Other than a few oil leaks and the clutch slave leaking and the cams wearing out all under warranty, it's a great bike.
- r roth, Fontana , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-12 1999 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 99 in 2001 w/2614 miles on it. Have ridden nearly 53k miles over the last 8 years. Mostly trouble free, extremely reliable & cheap bike to own. I ride all year round & the fairing offers exceptional protection from the wind & elements, though there is a lot of helmet buffeting w/stock shield. My only complaint is that routine maintenance is a pain w/all the plastic to disassemble. Easily the best of the 6 bikes owned over the past 25 years (84 Kawi 440, Maxim, 88 Yam Virago, 89 Yamaha Venture Royal, 94 Magna & wife's 05 Vstar 650)
- gary smith, littleton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-06 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this thing last year and I am impressed with it. There's a reason why this bike has been around so long. Loads of power and a comfortable ride.
- Hoss, Ft St John , British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-20 2005 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I grew up riding dual purpose and standard motorcycles before taking a break from bikes for about 10 years. Finally got back on them two years ago (sorry I waited so long) by getting a '98 Honda Shadow ACE 1100. While it's a nice bike, I was not really sold on the cruiser riding position. About a year later, I decided to get something a bit bigger, a '04 Honda VTX 1800C. Another nice bike, but very heavy with the same marginal riding position. I had to get rid of it because it was hurting my knee when I had to move it around. I looked around and found a 2005 Concours with 1600 miles on it - practically new! Took it out for a 250 mile ride the next weekend, and fell in love with riding again. I love the riding position, the touring capability, the power, and the handling. I won't ever go back to a cruiser.
- R. Bender, Stafford, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-16 2002 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the first 1986 Concours to come to our area (then I lived in Rochester, NY) at its introduction. The Concours will always be one of my favorites. From weekday commutes to 200 mile after work jaunts to 500 mile a day travel, this bike never let my wife and me down. A Targa windscreen improved the helmet buffeting. A Corbin seat, comparable to the current model stock seat, made the bike more comfortable. Johar superbike grips eliminated the minor buzz at high revs. Progressive suspension fork springs firmed the front end and improved ride quality and handling. Large fuel capacity paired with good fuel economy means you'll travel a long time before needing to stop for fuel, and the bike is more than comfortable enough to accommodate that. It is also more than capable in the twisties with a comfortable riding position. This is one great all around motorcycle!
- tom viele, englewood, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-27 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like many other riders out there I had my eyes on her when she come out the first time in 86, after the first test ride it was love at first sight. Like many other riders at the time I was raising a family and working hard as a steelworker.....my hours where dedicated to work and support the best way possible my family but never for one moment I felt less for her. As the time went by I discovered that the bike was still there in production and after so many years I wondered into a Kawasaki dealer to only find out that 2006 was the last year of this bike being made. Something inside of me went funny and then I wrote a letter to my kids explainning that I see no reason why I should not buy her. Made my last will and went to buy it, sometimes I wonder if it will be my last bike (I have owned a few in my life time). I have not been this happy in a long time, it has calmed my soul just to know that she is near by (garage) and she is always ready to ride with out any notice or prep, yet the carry on power is excellent (I have the extra bag in the tail). I believe this bike is down to earth in more ways than you can mention and also hope to take the journey of my life in a not too long future. So far this bike has excelled all my desires and expectations, the power is there and as well is the looks. I took my grand kid for a ride in the country side and she was as natural on the bike that it made me think of her as part of the family.
- Tauro, Niagara Falls, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-25 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Found this bike by accident. wasn't really looking for a sport tourer. First ride felt top heavy, and sluggish, coming off high winding Hondas. But each day ridden, this big old babe worked on me. Soon I found that perfect balance round the tight bend by my house. Never wind it past 4000 and you have the smooth old mans bike your gramps rode. Comfortable, smell the daisies loping ride as the Ninja mill rumbles and whines like a small jet. Coming home from work one evening, some teenager passed me on a double line, in some econobox. Just for fun, I cranked the grip to the stop, no gear chage, and the Kwakerbird rocketed, surging through 100 mph, smmothly passing the startled kid, I let it wind to redline, and by now 120 easy. Wow. I let Mr. Hyde out of his box! Rock solid handling with the new Dunlops, even in the wet, and one of the best fairings in the business with a near buffetless Rifle screen. A Washington downpour had me hardly wet behind the sleek screen. Learn slow speed handling, dropped her twice. No complaints about instant starting, or slick gearshifs. Or any mechanicals at all. The motor has a great sound you will start it just to hear it run. Do the carb balance and the balance shaft, and then forget about what you read, there is no buzz. don't look for BMW fit and finish, not at this price. Who cares? 45 mpg, huge bags that swallow a full face helmet, shopping, and even stuff from the hardware store. don't bother taking off the bags for canyon strafing. Flies great with them. You don't see yourself coming and going. Not a ton of them out there even after 20 years. Harleys are smoked anytime you want. Squids on sportbikes can't believe you are still on their tail. Do the carb top mods, (a cheap gain of 10 hp,) the stainless brake lines, and the bigger handle for centerstand lifting. Join the Connie owners club. Dr Jekyl will treat you as gently as you please, but Mr. Hyde will scare the living daylights out of you if you let him out. The stealth bomber for the bike world!
- Eddie , Clinton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-17 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride my bike on average about 300-400 miles a week as a commuter! It has plenty of power and I really haven't noticed much in the buzz department. Only complaint I have is the paint at the side fairing seams are beginning to bubble. The dealer had not seen this before... I had to replace the coolant overflow tubing. It was touching the headers and leaked 2 qts of antifreeze out one day. NAPA had the tubing and in less then an hour and some antifreeze, I was back on the road. I wish it had self adjusting valves though! Saw the new Concours 14 and the first thing I thought was who designed that HUGE muffler!!! I plan on keeping this thing for many years to come...
- Scott, Stafford, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-07 2005 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The original shield was too short for me so I replaced it with a Cee Bailey's vented shield and raised the bars and lowered the pegs. The riding position was vastly improved. The oem rear tire lasted me 2 years and I replaced it with the same brand/type. Ride and mechanicals were great. I took 2 long trips and it rode and handled well. This bike is an excellent blend between sport and touring and was as much at home in town or on the twistys as it was on the highway. Anyway, for someone looking for a commuter that's also a lot of fun on the weekends and can definitely keep up with the big boys, this bike is an excellent choice. All of the rider modifications to change the rider position have been done.
- Keith H., Mankato, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-06 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a deal! This proven 20+ year bike is everything I hoped it would be. At first I thought it was a dog compared to my FZ6. But this old girl has some amazing power. It's loaded with extras and being the last model year, I'm all smiles. My wife is very happy for the comfort too. We plan on having some great trips this fall into the New England states for the beautiful fall colors.
- Bob H, Middletown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-05 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Loads of power throughout gears, brakes well, grips could be a little higher for rider comfort but still pretty comfortable even on longer trips. With the luggage removed you have a very quick, very fast, well behaved missile. Would love to see ceramic brakes as a standard feature in the future.
- david, eaton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-24 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike in May of 2000. It took me about a year and 12K miles to get used to her coming off a Harley Heritage Softail. After the first year I could not stay off. Another plus was the wife loves it and would ask me to take her for rides. We did a 3300 mile and a 2200 mile trip. I have taken her thru Deals gap at Mach speed right on the tail of a guy on a CBR600 RR who was very impressed I could keep up to him. I have dropped the bike twice when I first got it(Slow speed). I crashed into a ditch once. I also laid it down and slid 40 feet to avoid a deer. It cost very little to fix each time. I have done virtually nothing as far as normal repairs, just maintenance which I do all myself. There is a huge following of great Concours guys who will do practically anything to help you. I look at other bikes and think about buying something else like the FJR1300 but I can not find any reasons to upgrade other than ABS. I will probably ride Cinderella forever and when she or me is too old to ride I will keep her close by.
- Chris Rauch, Hampden, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-01 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2006 Connie a few months ago and I really like it a lot! I'm really happy and comfortable with the bike. I had to do a lot to tame down the vibs from 4000 and up! I did the risers and heavier bars weights with cruise. I installed heated grips and foam skins on the heated grips. I still need to check the engine mount torques. Also, I drilled out the mufflers and checked the counter balancer to help eliminate even more vibs. It really helped(Baffectomy) and it wasn't any louder! I feel that I elimiated most of the vibs and with the cruise, I don't get fatigued anymore! The only thing I need to research is using silicone or what ever works as a vibration insulator for the inside of my handle bars. It really is a great deal for the money! I've owned at least 30 motorcycles including six 1200 Gold Wings, three V65 Sabres, and 1 V65 Magna. It really does have a comfortable seat, and I love the fuel range and bags a lot.
- J.Zim, VIctorville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-11 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you're looking for a dependable, lower priced Sport Tourer, or high cargo capacity commuter bike, you really need to check into the Connie. But like magic, simply unsnap her 2 massive hard luggage cases, and she instantly becomes a 997cc Ninja Sport Bike eager to play. However beware, her 7.5 gallon gas tank and 31 inch seat height makes her a bit top heavy to some riders. However, if you can master her in parking lot riding, where fast stops & tight turns really test your skills on this bike, she'll steal your heart as she's done with many over her past 20 years of production.
- Bill Scott, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-15 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2006 Concours after 15 years of not riding. I used to ride very hard and fast in the younger years and did some roar racing. Had a young family and bills so I stopped riding. With much research I putchased the 2006 Concours. I got right back into it. 21,000km in 4 months. I ride this bike hard. With my wife, luggage and myself we are at max weight of 440lbs. I run the bike all day at 140km. Did a 5,000km trip in 7 days with my wife. When by myself I just beat up on the poor thing and blast the corners like I was young and stupid. For the money this bike is impressive. Life is GOOD !!
- Ron R, Selkirk , Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-08 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was riding a kawasaki kz1000 in 1986 when this bike made her entrance . I knew the first time I saw her the Queen had arrived . I have watched and followed this motorcycle from its beginning and got wind that 2006 was the last year with the 20th anniversary and the intro of the zx14 . So in july of 2005 I ordered my connie and got the 5th one off the line according to the dealer , she got here in early October . She is and always will be the queen of distance and daily performance . This bike puts fear in sport bike riders and crusers just look the other way . I can run you down like a california chip or slice up a curvy road like a can opener and she will let me ride her for eight hours and never blink . If you are looking for everything a motorcycle is suppose to do and do very well then bow to the queen , saddle up and get a big smile on your face .
- victor ring, franklin, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-02 2000 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride daily, but my first time on her I thought my hands were going to fall asleep, but after a week or so of riding the buzzing no longer affected me. Before making my purchase, I rode a variety of touring bikes, but was drawn back to the Connie. It's a VERY dependable bike and one of the best buys for sports touring. It's low maintenance for those who do the work themselves. The only draw back I can see are the tires. They're an odd size and hard to find when you need them right away! Other then that, it's a bike you'll love to ride.
- Antony , Austin , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-23 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you want a motorcycle with all kinds of doo-dads and thinga-ma-jigs, this is not the bike for you. This is a basic "do-everything-pretty-darn-well" bike. I bought this bike the day my 2004 Honda 1300 VTX coughed and stalled while pulling out on a highway, causing an 18 wheeler to almost gain me as a hood ornament. The Honda is fine if you are a fair weather rider, but doesn't want to idle when the temp drops below 30f degrees. I called two shops in town and lucked out when the second shop had a Concours on the display floor. The fit and finish on the bike are fine but I had to rebleed the brake lines, tighten about 5 screws, put the proper amount of air in the tires (back only had 15 lbs, front had 17 lbs.), adjust the rear suspension because it was totally out of whack, and correct several other odds and ends that the dealer missed. Once I got everything the way it's supposed to be, I fell in love with the bike. There is a trait that seems inherit with almost every Concours and that is a high frequency buzz in the hand grips that starts around 5000 rpm. I've done some stuff to limit the buzz and when I hit 6000 miles I'll find out if a valve adjustment and carb sync will completly smooth it out. The bike is a bit high strung when you want to play with it. What I mean by that is, it's very docile below 4000 rpm. When you hit four grand it begins to wake up. When you hit 6 grand you would swear you are riding a different bike! Get into some twisty curves, keep the tranny geared to where you stay above 6 grand, and it will take a week to get the grin off you face! In first gear, the front will definately dance under full acceleration with a full tank, but if you nail it in first with under a half a tank of gas from running at about 4,500 rpm, the front will climb skyward. On the peaceful side of things, I loaded it up and took the wife on a 1,500 mile road trip through the Smokey Mountains. It's performance was flawless. The sweet spot on this bike is just above 80 mph and always seems to beg to go faster. I never got below 40 mpg the entire trip, but around town it will go as low as 36 mpg if I'm playing with it a lot in stop and go traffic. Talk about a bike that loves curves, I didn't come across a single sports-touring outfit that would maintain our pace mile after mile. don't get me wrong, the bike is a nice ride like it is right out of the factory but I did make a few modifications to meet my wants and needs. The windscreen causes a severe vacumn at speed and causes your helmet to buffet quite a bit. I installed a Rifle vented screen and the wind disappeared. As summer came, I found I wanted some of that wind back to cool things off. Realizing that the vacumn behind the screen is what caused the buffeting, I drilled two, 2 inch holes at the base of the original shorter screen. This has given just enough equalization to smooth out the airflow. The bike will now run at 130 mph just as smoothly as it will at 60 mph. I also installed handle bar risers (not as young as I used to be) to allow me to sit more upright on the bike. Best bang for the buck? You bet!!! And it's my daily rider! What a great way to start your day going to work. (grinning from ear to ear) I've been riding dirt and street for over 35 years and have had too many bikes to mention, so my evaluation is from my experiences. I've never owned a crotch rocket, but have had just about every other type of bike that's out there.
- Mike Winkler, Bloomingdale, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-13 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I was first into motorcycling I purchased an early eighties Connie used for a great price. I fell in love then and when she had 112,000 on the clock and a little oil leak just over the exhaust pipes I let her go to someone else and bought a new cruiser. Two cruisers later I heard that they may not make Connie much longer and one day at my dealership I fell in love again. My new connie is a 2006 with 750 miles on the clock and it is like putting on a suit that you forgot you had but that fits great still. Having had cruisers and being too old and lazy for a GSX-R, Connie is my perfect bike. I added Gen Mar risers as I had on my old one and the fit is just right. Gobs of power and great handing. No, they are not fun in a parking lot but run your local daily ride stuff off the bottom third of the tank and fill up only for the highway. It took a lot of years to put 112,000 miles on a bike but that tells me that I have a lot of wonderful years of riding this Connie ahead of me. When I told my wife that this was my last bike for many many years she didn't believe me, but I know that this is the best bike on the planet for a practical function driven person like me.
- Frank King, Gastonia, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-06 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Can you say eye-opener? I have 30yrs. experience on motorcycles but NEVER on a sport-touring bike. After much research I purchased a used 2004 Connie because I wasn't sure I would like sport-touring. My eyes were opened! The research paid off. I love this old-tech tourer. I lowered the pegs. Installed Heli-bars and cruise control. Combined with a Rifle windscreen and Givi topcase the package was complete except for farkles I will list later. Proof is a 6005 miles ride that included a non-stop IRON BUTT RUN from Mexico to Canada in 33 hours. Comfort was GREAT! Wet weather - protection better than any of my other bikes. If the newer sport tourers are better (and I'm sure they are) I doubt they can be twice as good. It would be a hard sell to get me to spend $15,000 on a machine that is only newer and incrementaly better than the Connie. I am a VERY analytical biker and in my humble opinion the Connie still competes with modern bikes in the long distance arena. Especially, when you consider the initial capital outlay. And we all know buying the bike is just the beginning. Everyone adds accesories to make the sled comfortable to themselves. The engine is smooth. The tranny is effortless. The comfort is great for long days because the rider is protected from turbulance while sitting on a plush saddle. * See the big grin on my ugly mug as I know I bought this bike cheap! I do have some gripes... The bike is top-heavy at parking lot speed. Just take your time and be smart about your parking and this won't be a problem. The brakes are a little weak for the bike. Consider the weight of the bike full of seven(7) gallons of gas, me, all my touring gear and you have to slow down sooner than usual to avoid hard brakeing. The centerstand is hard to use when the bike is loaded with gas and gear. I have an extended lift handle to help with this. You know these are not objections that should keep a person from considering a Connie. ALL BIKES have something to complain about! I don't claim to be the world authority on sport-touring. However, I do have many years in the saddle and I LOVE this bike. I would recommend the Connie for a person who doesn't have a lot of stop and go driving. Mostly because of the closeness of the lower gears ratios. I know some will disagree with me, but it seems while in town, I am shifting all the time until I reach that beautiful sixth gear. The Connie can adapt to city driving alright, but its' forte' is the interstate and the curving backroads that are calling all of us. May the wind at your back...not be your own.
- Dillitype, Edmond, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-05 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike for trips, going to work and is reliable as the day is long. Great seat but I needed to add some genmar risers for the handle bars. Limited choice on tires. I really only use this bike for trips as I have a few others for around town. I have had nothing go wrong with this bike.
- rider, denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-05 2004 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I've rode this bike for 15000 miles now. After a summer on it, and a 10000 mile trip I still like this bike. I needed a front bevel gear gasget replaced, but on warranty. So I dropped my rating a little. This bike is great. I would buy again, but it looks like kawi has dropped this beast. Too bad for future riders.
- kurt fraser, cornwall, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-27 2006 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted to wait until I put some miles on her before writing a review, in a little over a month I've put 3k on so I guess I'm ready. I had it dynoed yesterday - 92hp at the rear wheel and it was 89 degress out at the time. I love it! I use it as a daily driver during the week and touring/playing on the weekends. There is a little vibration in the handle bars so I upgraded to gel grips and I wear gel gloves and it's no longer a problem. Last weekend I took it on a trip 500 miles down to the coast of S.C. on Saturday and back on Monday. She'll cruise at 80-90 mph all day long without breaking a sweat and still have plenty left for getting by trucks or other traffic. I clocked it at 47mpg as a daily driver and 40ish riding 2 up on the interstate. There isn't any point in checking that when your playing! Yes you can get the front end up if you want to. :-)
- Jim, Hillsboro, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: