Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles Reviews (18)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-07-27 1999 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had one of these when I was 14 and I had always regretted selling it. I saw one in the paper and went and picked it up at a good price. The front and rear fender are faded and the seat is faded but nothing is broken. I will have to do some repair on the kickstand/footpeg as it seems to have had the bolts stripped on it. The cool thing is that it starts every time on the 1st kick. I was worried that it wouldn't take me around like it should because of me being too big for it, but if your not worried about impressing anyone it will get you around trails just fine. I am going to use it for deercamp, goofing off, and following my kids around on their various motorsports adventures as they get older. In this case power and speed are not necessary. I personally would never take it out on the highway but for small town streets and suburbs it will do good. I am a big fan of cruiser bikes but right now this will do and hopefully I will keep it for a long time to come. I will update in a year or so.
- Quicksand, Fort Smith, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-05 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This little bike was my first dirtbike. It is without a doubt the best built bike in its class. I had it for two years, and never had a problem with it. The little thing kept up with my friend's XR250R and Yamaha 350 Wolverine. I rode this bike through it all and back, and still running like a top. I think it would be perfect for a rider just starting out.
- Will Hunter, Chesterfield, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-28 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an '02 KE100 for my 14 year old son to learn riding on, so he could learn off road and then graduate to the road as his motorcycling skills improved. He really hammered the bike, rode it right up the neighbors fence once, various spills, and the bike never lost heart. It served its purpose very well, and is still amazingly reliable. It starts during the top portion of the kick EVERY time! Easy to maintain, and surprisingly quick while in the power curve. Unlike most off-road bikes, you don't have to be an NBA Center to flat-foot it while stopped, which, in my opinion, makes it safer to ride. I'm very happy with the bike, and would recommend it for anyone who likes to take the road less traveled.
- Joel McClain, Milford, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-17 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The little Kawasaki had been sitting up at our local cycle shop for some time. I noticed it next to all of the faster and more expensive motocross bikes. I couldn't believe that a dual sport with a plate could be so cheap. I talked to my dad, and about a week later, in late June; the Kawasaki was coming home with me in my brother's Ford pickup. OK, so maybe it wasn't quite that dramatic, but all said and done, my dad bought the bike, plus a case of Yamalube 2 stroke oil. The case of oil is way overkill, because the oil injection system is very efficient. In the 600 miles t that I have ridden this machine, I have burned a little over 1 quart of oil. With only 100 cc in displacement, you would expect that this bike would be fuel-efficient. I am estimating about 55 miles per gallon, but it is thirsty for its size. The big plus of the oil injection is that you put straight gas into the tank, and it doesn't smoke much except on startup. Riding the KE 100 is a very unique experience. You will want to drag the clutch a little bit more than you would on a big 4-stroke bike, because that little 2 stroke will stall very easily off the line. Hill starts are a real bear; so don't get into a very steep hill start situation. Hill climbing power is adequate, but it is important to anticipate hills and keep the engine on its power band. My bike is totally stock except for a slightly different battery. Build quality on this machine is what you would expect from Kawasaki. That is the bike is flawless except for the handlebar bolts that the dealer rounded off. Suspension is on the soft side, not set up for competition. I keep the rear preload at the 3rd notch because I don't drive that fast. Frond and rear suspension is very easy to bottom out. The small 19 inch front wheel makes the bike impractical for very rough terrain. The little two-stroke engine is a real gem. The bike just begs to be wound out in first gear, then pop the effortless gearbox into second and roll on the power. It's like starting all over again. I have seen about 25 in second gear and about 35 in third. In the tight trails I don't have the guts to push it any harder. The engine is somewhat buzzy when wound, due to the deep air-cooling fins. Driving the bike fast on the road is a chore. The engine screams and the bike is kind of jittery on the open roads. This would be a good bike for smaller back roads where nobody is in a hurry. I understand the maximum speed of the KE 100 is around 60 miles per hour. I don't have the heart to push mine past its 45 mile per hour break in limit. The low seat height gives the impression that you are sitting in, rather than on top of the bike. This bike is lightweight too, perfect for the beginner. So what are my complaints in my 600-mile relationship? The bike is actually very good overall. More power would be needed for road use, and when it gets hot, there is a tendency for the bike to stick between first and second gear. Keeping the bike on the power band on a hill can be hard sometimes. Passengers would be very uncomfortable on this machine. The low seat height is an advantage for smaller people, but my 6 foot 1 inch brother is folded up like a pocketknife on this machine. I also had an issue with a wood chip in the carburetor, and the oil injection comes set too rich from the factory. I also had a small clutch problem that worked itself out. Overall, the character of this bike is cute, and not annoying to most people. I highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for cheap wheels.
- Craig Gerasim, Berwyn, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-20 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a classic. It is the last of it's kind. It hails back to a more innocent time, where a motorcycle was supposed to be just a cheap source of fun. Riding this bike, you can't take yourself too serious. It isn't the fastest dirt bike and it does not have the best suspension for dirt, but it is honest and will give you the freedom to take it off road safely. Street wise, again it is honest. It has enought get up and go to get you around town and do it safely. Do not take this bike on the highway though. It is not a cruiser. But just around town, it will make you smile and do it for pennies. Bottom Line: This little bike is cheap honest fun. Does not pretend to be a major dirt bike or a heavy cruiser. Just an old fashion dual dirt/street motorcycle. Perhaps people today are just too jaded and specialized for this little fun machine. Too bad, they take themselves so serious. But for those who just want to ride for fun and enjoy the simplicity of a small motorcycle, this bike is a blast from the past. Worth every penny. I smile everytime I fire it up. Suddenly I am 16 again, and it is always Summertime somewhere.....
- Dave Wedner, Bellevue, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-21 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 6'4" and bought one to ride around town and to the beech. This bike would pull me around even with a passenger. I found the top speed increased greatly once I hit about 1000 kilometers and the motor started to break in. I have since sold the bike to buy a bigger bike to tour on. I still remember heading to the beach with my girlfriend on the back cruising down the sand looking for the perfect spot to swim
- mike, toronto

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-07 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this last summer to put on the front of my RV while towing my boat. Light as a feather and easy to put on RV tray or inside (Aerostar) minivan (w/ mirrors off). Seat not long enough for two (even slight) people but it's great on the trails, in the pits, or on short hops for groceries or corn on the cob. Uphill or the freeway? A struggle for one, a big mistake for two! Simple, bulletproof, great special purpose bike; so much more versatile than a scooter. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.
- amidship, Ossining, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-16 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike as an early present for my thirteenth birthday. It's a sweet little bike, that was a little tall when I first got it, but I grew into it, at 5'3" it's a perfect fit. It's, or rather she's, a new bike with a classic design, which is why my dad wanted me to have this particular bike, so I could ride something similar to what he grew up on. It'll hit 65 mph, but I certainly wouldn't push it like that for long. It's very cold natured, but that isn't really a problem especially living down south. It is my first bike, bought new, so we learned to ride together, and we got quite well at crashing before I finally got the hang of it. It's though so no scratches or dents resulted. I'd recommend it to anyone over 5' tall.
- Jamie Pearson, Mississipppi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-01 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in the summer of 2000 for my 12 yr old daughter to learn on. I rode one of these when I was her age. Overall the bike is the same as 20 years ago. Its dependable and pretty good on flat two tracks etc. If it has one draw back it would be the forks. They are too soft and have no adjustments. My daughter enjoys the bike a lot and I would recommend it for a starter bike. Keep on the trail and enjoy!!!!
- ted blanzy, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-08 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has all of the basic elements for the beginner dirt rider. Shifting is easy, controls are easy to use and when your done riding the trails, you can hose it off and ride it to school. It's reliability has kept it in the Kawasaki production line for quite some time and that speaks for itself. However, if you have any dirt or riding expierence, this bike will probably disappoint you. It's only a 100cc and the power band is extremly narrow. You get what you pay for and the bottom line lies with your riding skill and annual income.
- Stan Wojo, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-23 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike about a year ago because I didn't know anything about dirtbikes and it was the only thing I could afford. I am an off road rider, and this dirtbike is terrible for it. The shocks are weak, for one thing, bottoming out when I hit a two foot jump. There is no low end, the real acceleration starts in the top of third gear. It is also very ugly, as you can see. I recommend this bike to any idiot who wants to waste $2000.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-03 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike for my wife a couple of years ago so she could go riding with our son and me. She loves the bike even though she rarely gets out of 2nd gear. This is one of the easiest manual clutch bikes to learn on. My son wants to race next year so he needs to know how to use a clutch. I put him on this bike this fall, showed him the controls, made him start the bike himself and within ten minutes he was starting, stopping and going through the gears on his own. My son is 8 years old and about 4ft9in tall, a little short for the bike but can manage. My wife is 5ft3in and the bike fits her perfectly. I am 6ft 4in and about 220lbs. I am partial to my xr650 but still have a lot of fun on the little KE 100. I highly recommend this bike to a first timer or someone looking for a cheap commuter that will also get them to there favorite fishing spot.
- Will Davis, Burlington, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-07 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was returning to motorcycling after a five-year break due to back surgery. I had been using a Yamaha Zuma II, neat around town but it was a little hard on the back. My town has streets in extreme states. So I bought the KE-100, I had experience with the old SS 90 and liked it. From the first I noted the greatly improved ride, no back pains after a ride. Gas mileage: 68 MPG. Power and speed enough for town use; 60 MPH indicated, and leaves traffic stops well. This is a light D-P bike suited for 160 pound, 5'6" rider on a strict new bike budget, like me. I use to put in 300-mile days in Atlanta as a courier on a Suzuki GN 400 or Kawa 440 twin; so I'm no stranger to bigger stuff. As long as I know the limits of the machine, I won't be disappointed. The old SS90 lasted through me, and four boys as a basic trainer. It was stolen so I never did determine its service life. I figure this one for 20,000 miles of rough town service before it needs anything. If you play on the freeway, get something else. For town this is OK. Regards, Ed
- Edward Cravey, Gainesville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-25 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't own one, but my girl's father does. It's a nice bike, great for camping --that's his main use for it. It is used on the street and he likes it a lot! When we ride together, he uses it and one day I let him try out my bike. Well 5'3" of him (really), but I'm 6'5" and weigh around 240.Let me put it this way; "if there is a stop sign just before a hill, PRAY the person behind you has not got a heavy foot. If you're on the small-light side it's greataverage - maybe, big -- forget it. All in all it's a "FUN" little bike. Test ride one first, you will by it or you will joke on it!
- buddy, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-10 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love to show off my killer bike to my lady friends and they love it, especially how it looks!
- Anonymous, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-10 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for people without much experience. I crashed mine 5 times and it still looks and runs like new! So it shows you just what this thing can do. I love to show it off, it makes everybody so jealous. I have a great time riding the dirtbike trails and leaving all my friends behind to eat my dust. If I were you, I would consider getting this bike if you are a beginner who wants to do some major trail riding and street riding. In fact, my neighbor "Adam" is about to get one. This bike can go up the steepest hills and not stall out. I heard that the double rear shock is better and gives more support than a single rear shock. This truly is a classic which will increase in value in the years to come. My KE100 is the fastest bike I've ever had and it ramps the highest too. I only hope that one day you can experience the fun of this COOL, FAST, AFFORDABLE dual/purpose motorcycle.
- Anonymous, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-05 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has little power and is not the best bike for jumping or hill climbing because it has weak shocks and it doesn't have a good enough gear in it for hill climbing past 1st. It only has a top speed of about 55 M.P.H. and will not hold it on any uphill runs. This bike is decent for some one this is small and has never rode before.
- Anonymous, Dinwiddie , Virginia , USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-01 2000 Kawasaki KE 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The KE100 is an all-around good bike for anyone to go offroading on or just commuting. You would be surprised on what the KE100 can do offroad. It can take even the highest jumps without damaging much. It also can climb hills, even ones with mud, and still make it to the top. On the road it's good, too. It accelerates very good for a little dual purpose bike like this. Its top speed is about 65 mph, so it will even manage parkway speeds. The only complaint is the street equipment could be better. It especially doesn't last long if you take the bike off roading. The turn signals and other electronic devices seem to fail after awhile, so that would be the only bad thing about this bike. Otherwise this bike is very versatile--it can offroad with the real mx'ers or even cruise along with the other streetbikes. All together the KE100 is a good quality bike with an engine that doesn't die and a bike with good performance as well. And it's cheap... just 2 grand will get you one... probabaly even less.
- Mark Kester, Keyport, NewJersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: