Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Kawasaki KLR650 reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

140 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

w f travis

leesville, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2013-07-12

Motorcycle reviewed2013 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What a great unit. I should have bought this machine first. It's fun and inexpensive to ride. It takes me to work in style and fishing with the extra fun of getting to ride it to the fishing hole. All my friends are green with envy!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Nelson DePaul

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2022-06-12

Motorcycle reviewed2013 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have always appreciated the reliability and durability of the KLR. It's the best of both worlds being a duel sport bike. The KLR has its drawbacks, however I think any bike in this class share the same ones, i.e. weight, comfort.. What the KLR gives up, makes up in all around performance. I have cruised my bike up the coast of California, and the desert of Nevada. It has been a work horse and has stood th he test of time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

tom jones

Colorado

Reviewed on 2021-02-22

Motorcycle reviewed2014 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought used 14 model with 2300 miles on it for $4300. Had a klx250 and was way under powered. The 650 really has 3 times the power and is way easier to ride on the road. Just did a 25 mile trip down a sandy beach through some soft sand..no problem. Starts right up, idles nice, no hesitation. Give it gas and hold on.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason Hill

Woodstock, Georgia

Reviewed on 2014-01-17

Motorcycle reviewed2013 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second KLR with the first being a 2003 model that I purchased used in 2003 with low miles. I am very pleased with the upgrades Kawasaki did in 2008 to the KLR. It is basically the same bike, but with more modern looks, better wind protection and a few needed mechanical upgrades. While my preferences have taken my KLR far from stock form to fit my preferences and riding style, it is still a great machine off the showroom floor with excellent aftermarket support to make the machine truly fit your exact needs. It is the Swiss Army knife of motorcycling. It does nothing absolutely perfect, however it does everything!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Buck Oil Billy

Abingdon, Virginia

Reviewed on 2012-09-17

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The KLR 650 has earned its reputation for dependability and very reasonable total cost of ownership as compared to its rivals. What I would like to talk about is the hidden potential of this bike as opposed to the two bikes I owned prior (Suzuki DRZ 400S, DR650s). The KLR is superior in ride comfort for those all-day rides as opposed to a two-hour ride. I don't have to be looking for a gas station every couple hours with the KLR either. I seldom have to switch to reserve as I did with my DRZ. The KLR kowling is a little big at first, but if you are not in heavy woods it is fine. The luggage rack is much more practical than the DR and tool kit is better placed. If you are like me, you have to ride a few miles on the Interstate to get to fresh new trails. The KLR is at home on the Interstate and unlike the DRs, it has more top end speed without winding out the engine to its maximum. Water cooled and temperature gauge go together well and you need both in order to monitor your engine conditions properly. On the fire trails the DRs were great, especially at 5K rpm range. The KLR takes some getting used to as it seems to be better suited for cornering at low RPM and using the sheer torque to accelerate out of turns. Engine braking is just as effective at lower RPMs. If you like to ride your thumper at high RPMs, you will not like gearing down in turns with the KLR. But if you can trust the thrust, you will find that the KLR low end still brings you out of tight switchbacks with the tire throwing mud like you like it!! I must insist that you ditch the stock pipe and re-port your carb and open the airbox or else you will never discover the hidden potential in your KLR!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob

akron, Ohio

Reviewed on 2012-07-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I sold my 2006 KLR 650 three years ago and got some other DS. It was the worse mistake I made. I'm not saying that the DS I replaced the KLR with was bad or anything, it just was not a KLR! Well I found a 2006 KLR 650 on Craigslist last week with 810 miles on it and I went and looked at it and it was mint! I fell in love with it right off the bat! The thing was pretty much new so I bought it and I'm so happy I got the KLR back. It might not be the fastest DS or the lightest one but it sure is a nice riding bike and with some skill it will pretty much go anywhere on earth.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steven Pierce

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2012-04-24

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Now at 11,500 miles and love my KLR. Bar end weights are the best biggest improvement on the old model. At ~7k miles it left me stranded. The fix for no spark was to tighten the sparkplug cap onto the lead wire a 1/4 turn. Earlier at 500 miles the vacuum on the fuel cock came off and I learned that lesson. It uses more oil when I am consistently running 75-80 on the freeway. It's a great bike for the money. Never off road, but I know it will do great on fire roads.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Trouble

Winnipeg, Manitoba

Reviewed on 2011-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've owned the KLR for about a month now, and so far it's been a positive experience. Being tall and well built I've had trouble finding a motorcycle to fit me; sport bikes I cannot sit on, and cruisers do not appeal to me. I want a simple machine that is not big and cumbersome nor one that is over-powered. To me the KLR feels like sitting tall on a mountain bike, albeit a heavy one. The riding position is very natural and well suited for the longer-legged (32" inseam here). Any negatives are, I'm sure, mostly due to my inexperience. The suspension is quite soft and the nose will dive when braking. Also at higher speeds (80 kph.+) a stiff crosswind will make it dance about nervously. For me there is more than enough power. First gear gets you off the line. If you are in a hurry you can roll on plenty of throttle in second and jump right up into fourth and be at 60 kph. Throttle response is predictable and in no way twitchy or sensitive. Brakes are good, plus I do a lot of engine braking. I do not notice a whole lot of vibration - the mirrors remain useable at all speeds. It's a thumper, though, so there is always some. All in all if you're tall and want a bike that will serve you as a trainer and beyond, depending on your desires, the KLR is hard to beat. Go and test ride one
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lucio Oliveira

Spring

Reviewed on 2011-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's been a year since I've gotten this beast! Being a short guy made me a bit reluctant to adapt, but am past that stage now. I cut loose anytime I can on my KLR! This bike will stop at nothing! It's mechanically sound, and handles itself very well under any circumstances. I have only done city and highway riding thus far! On the highway I have had it up to 80 mph. Beware, on a windy day, you feel it more than the bikes with a lower center of gravity. Mileage consumption is now around 50 if I ride it hard, 55+mpg. if I baby it. The KLR is truly a do-it-all bike. I am getting a cruiser to add to the family, but no way I am getting of my big THUMPER!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian

Tallahassee, Florida

Reviewed on 2011-01-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki KLR650

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my bike in September of 2009 with about 13,500 miles and have since put about 4,500 miles on it. I had no riding experience until I took the MSF course. I was worried about the seat height and balance of the bike but after more than a year of riding on mostly street but a little sand and dirt, I could not have made a better choice. My only complaint that I did not get a bike years ago. I am planning on trying out a little neighborhod riding with a passenger before considering buying a second bike in a few years. THE KLR STAYS! It is a great first bike and will make an excellent "spare" down the road.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 14
  • 1 - 10 of 140 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: