Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles Reviews (16)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-10-09 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you like trails or hills or jumps, it will handle it with no problem. There are a few minor adjustments though. You'll need to remove the air box cover and remove the cap off of the exhaust. I'm completely satisfied.
- Steven Teal, West Covina, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-04 2002 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The KLX is a great bike. It does nothing perfect, but a lot of things real well. After the fee mods are done, it runs strong and reliable. Good bike in the woods, on the road, and in the trail. I have had no trouble at all with the bike and have enjoyed riding it every time. If what you are going to do is trail ride, ride this bike. You will like it.
- Tim Mahoney, Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-08 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike but it didn't take long for the lack of immediate response to throttle input to become annoying. After many hours of trying to find a work around, I found that removing the baffle from the breather box and covering 3/4ths of the hole with duct tape that I had all the necessary response I was looking for. A buddy of mine owns one and he chopped the internal portion of the baffle off and got the same results. don't walk, run to the dealer and get one now!!
- Robert Crawford, Roy, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-14 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2003 KLX300R a year ago after not riding for some 8 years. It is a reliable 4-stroke and has the power to get you there. It is comfortable and easy to ride. My biggest complaint with the bike was lack of immediate throttle response. A serious dirt bike rider could potentially get in trouble when they ask for the power and have to wait. The carburetor is for street bikes and is operated by a vacuum system so there is a delay between you twisting the throttle and usable power. If all you want to do is cruise along logging roads it will work. It needs a lot of work to be race ready.
- Brian Shields, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-25 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had dirt bikes on and off in my life , they've been all 2 storkes...i wanted a 4 stroke for it's different powerband and extended maintenance. after breaking it in correctly, i started to ride it alittle harder. it screams and launches through the gears just fine, 2nd gear is very near 1st in it's ratio, so be ready with 3rd ... it will pull itself along and up through the wrong gear if you find yourself there.be sure and play with the suspension settings, you'll be amazed at the ride quality there is in the stock components.this bike is geared for trails, it's hard to wheelie it, as the back tire just spins like crazy...even in good traction...i changed the bars to a much higher riser bar, as the stock bars were very low and offered little leverage...it's alot of bike for the money..it can do it all. and it looks fantastic...please unbolt the 2 muffler bolts and remove and throw away the baffle plate that comes on it...it will run so much better with the new opening and sound like a factory racer.....it can be set up for your riding style as is, without spending a bunch of extra money on parts...you'll see. ,,,enjoy..
- joe vital, huntsville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-09 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i own a '98 KLX300r and it has been a perfect dirt bike..it does very well on and off the motocross track...i love all of the torque it has..(but i did put $1100 in the motor so that helped too.)if u want to putt around u can and when u want to get up and go u do all u can to keep on it....found this bike to be the best for what you're paying compared to the 250cc Honda..Yamaha..and Suzuki..its an excellent bike
- Dustin Ashmore, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-03 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike back in March 2003, and let me tell you - life doesnt get much better than this~! Thanks KAwasaki for makin a bike worth my money
- Matt P., Westerville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-13 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2001 KLX300R, the bike has surprise many around my parts, the bike is very agile, and has enogh power do have lots of fun, I even take it to some local MX tracks on practice days, the bike performs well even suprisingly even over 60ft doubles allthough the suspension could use a little tweaking, the ony problem I've had is I developed what seems to be a slight cracking in a weld near the neck, my cousin developed the same problem and neither of the bikes have been in anything more than a slow speed spill ????? other the that the bike does everything it should and then some.
- Shawn Lewis, Akron, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-30 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the first '03 model that our local dealer got and have loved it! After several years of riding a '78 Yamaha TT 500 (almost 100 lbs heavier than the KLX), I found the light weight and agility of the KLX300R very enjoyable. I don't have the torque or brute strength of the TT but this is a very fun bike. I spend most of my time riding on tight, wooded trails with lots of corners and creek crossings and this bike performs extremely well in these conditions. Even though it shines in the tight corners, the 6 speed KLX300R can get up and move on the more open ATV trails and logging roads as well. Overall, a very enjoyable trail bike!
- Luke W., Walla Walla, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-15 2001 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My KLX is a smooth running bike. The brakes work great and it feels comfortable to ride. It's a little bit on the heavy side though. I had race tech do my suspension for MX and it rides excellent. Plenty of power but it just does not have the snap you would expect from a 2 stroke. Being a 300 puts me in the 250 class, so i have my work cut out for me. I ride just for fun anyway. Reliability seems good so far. Check out thumper racing, stroker and planet klx web sites for neat stuff on this model bike.
- Stan Wojtowicz, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-02 2000 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was designed for woods racing. It is at home on the trails. I installed a Stroker complete exhaust for more power. It helped out a lot. I recomend Stroker (www.strokerspeed.com) for your four stroke performance parts. I began racing at local tracks, and the bike did fine... at first. I now am a lot faster and need a beter bike for motocross. I am going to get a YZ400 or a YZ426. These bikes are a lot better for motocross. I do recomend the KLX for anyone who intends to ride the trails. It isn't a good motocross bike. It only has 11 inches of travel front and back. ~written by a 13 year old 5'8" 125 lbs. FOUR STROKES RULE!!
- Chris Ryan, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-15 2000 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had a lot of fun riding this bike so far. It took a little getting used to after riding 2 stroke 250's for so long, but i'm a little older now and don't seem to be in as much in a hurry around the track as i used to be. I do like to ride trails but spend most of my time on small local motocross tracks. This bike does very well to my surprise. The power is smooth, but not a neck snapper. The suspension feels plush but would benefit changing to stiffer springs front and rear. She handles really well and the brakes work great. I recommend checking out Stroker, Thumper Racing and Planet KLX for some cool stuff for these bikes. I think Ill keep her!
- Stan Wojo, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-27 2000 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having been a KDX200 pilot for the past six years, this bike was like going home. The handling is great and the weight feels almost identical. At 5'11" 214 lbs this bike has excellent power and low end grunt. The only real difference between the two bikes is the throttle response. With the stock baffle in place the 300 is lacking but with it out there is a real improvement in snap and the bike will wheelie nicely with a little clutch action. For my size and weight the front shocks are a little soft in the rough whoops and ruts but for everything else they are just fine. In stock form this bike is really quiet which makes it a great bike to take camping. Once out in the hills or trees take the baffle out and have a ball. I once owned an XR250 and was most disappointed. This bike is by far a better more powerful bike and the list of improvements is really exciting. If you are looking for a bike to put up against the Yamaha 426 look elsewhere but it runs really close to the XR400 with in my opinion better handling with less weight to boot. The biggest weakness for my KDX200 was sand. This bike has much better torque and doesn't bog down at low speed but it does have a tendency to knife in if I don't sit back on the seat and keep the revs steady but not screaming. The only thing that keeps me from giving it 5 stars is the soft suspension in front and the slight lack of throttle snap. Maybe about 6% more low-end power would make this bike perfect and I think that will be easily achieved with simple bolt on exhaust mods. In time I may even go for the slide carb but for now why mess with a good thing.
- Mike C, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-05 2000 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good bike,I've road it up in northern ca. And it did all right it overheated twice once blowing out the plastic plug on the radiator. I'm 185 lbs 5'11, I just ordered a new exhaust for it 375.00 from STOKER.And im getting the 33mm carb for it. I hope this will make the bike alot faster. The bike since up north has done real well and has not over heated. The suspension is a little low to the ground but haven't really had to many problems with that. The trans pops out of gear sometimes when riding which is a problem when it happens on a hill. They sell a gear to fix that problem. Over all I think the bike is good and with spending a extra 675.00 the bike is going to be the best in its class.
- chad washlake , Orange County, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-22 2000 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got the 2001 KLX300r and have to say that the bike is great! I rode the DRZ400E a week before I bought it and this bike just feels better. The DRZ400E has great power but it is too heavy, too uncomfortable in the seat and the lame cramped handle bars drove me crazy did I mention the seat? It's too flat and hard you can't get in tight w/ the tank like you need to in woods riding. The KLX300r is light and nimble yet seems to hold its track fairly well! The power delivery has a very even feel but hop up is easy. Too even for some but with a new carb and some muffler mods the bike would kick! I have heard people getting the green monster to 361cc's WOW! A bike with great hardware and it starts out as a 292cc. Remember that I got this bike new for $4800.00 out the door that is the same as all the other 4-stroke 250 trail machines it simply can't be beat! I love the price, power, cornering, and comfort plus this bike is a carving knife with the power to cut through whatever you got! And it's GREEN! Blake
- bchenry, Alpharetta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-04 2000 Kawasaki KLX 300R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been out of riding for many years and this is my first four stroker. Overall the bike handles very well. I ride mostly wooded trails in Michigan with lots of woops and turns, the bike floats over the big stuff and does pretty well on the chop as well. It seems to float a little in deeper sand but sit farther back on the seat and there is no problem. If there is a shortcoming to the bike its that it lacks a little power. Im 6-2 and 220 and I would like just a bit more in the hill sections. I find its best to get the rev going before the hill and let her rip. Overall I'm pleased with the bike and would recommend one for moderate trail riding. I'm thinking about adding a new headpipe/exhaust to give it that little extra on the big hills. If anyone has tried an aftermarket pipe I would love to know the results. Enjoy.
- Ted Blanzy, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: