Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles Reviews (20)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-05-13 2009 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It all depends on what you want out of a bike. I live in the country, gravel roads (which sometimes means mud, ice, snow). When I do get to a paved road it's a highway. I have access to a lot of back country roads, paved and unpaved, straight and twisties, good conditions and terrible. I'm 58 and I haven't had this much fun on a bike, ever. I've dropped it so many times I can't count, crossing streams, getting hung up on logs, negotiating rocks, crossing low water bridges covered with slick moss, parking on a hillside and watching the kickstand sink in the mud, so I need something I can pick up. I can pick this up. And, it seems to be bullet proof, but if something does break (carry pliers to pull the shifter away from the engine after you drop it). It isn't going to cost an arm and leg to fix. As for comfort, it's upright, which is great. The seat is narrow, which is great for standing up, and I stand up a lot. It is fairly hard, though not bad. I bought a Corbin, which I didn't like. It passed on vibration, and it was too wide to comfortably stand. This isn't a highway bike. It will do it, but it's tiring. Having said that, that sixth gear is fantastic when you do get up to speed. And this bike is no slouch. I have made no mods except hand guards, which I recommend. Lots of folks want to do the slip-on exhaust and carb kit, which I may do, but if you're going three miles an hour on a steep, rocky hill, or 50 on gravel, you don't really need more power. The gearing is about right. Brakes and suspension work for me. I fill the tank at about 100 miles, and haven't run out yet, not even close. It sips fuel, generally. It's almost embarrassing to pull up the pump and put in a gallon or two of fuel, which is usually the case. I've used the reserve once, after spending most of the day going up and down trails, then hitting the highway to get home. It's a great weekend bike, commuter bike, on/off road bike. The only kind of riding I wouldn't want to do is long haul on a highway. It's light and simply isn't designed for it. But I would take it across the country on back roads.
- jim, Edwards, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-12 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I use it primarily for street use, going to and from work when the weather cooperates. The bike has always been reliable. It gets extremely good gas mileage, even when pushed hard. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- Leon Wilkens, DesMoines, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-16 2009 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just did the Black Dog Dualsport ride, Mt. Hood Oregon on my 2009 KLX250S, 270 miles over two days. The bike did great in every way, pavement to dirt. I'm very happy with my choice. The seat is a little hard after 150 miles.
- KYSTUR, Spokane, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-21 2009 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A dual sport will always sacrifice in some ways, both on and off road, and before buying one you MUST accept this. It is not the street or the dirt king. However this bike does both amazingly well. I am awestruck. I ride 4 miles to work everyday on it, and I play in the dirt every day on it. The longest street treck has been 150 miles in one sitting & one fuel stop. (my kiester was sore) Yes it has a firm seat and small fuel tank, and is quite choked up from the factory, but these are things you will get acustomed to, and they do not limit the bikes ability too much. I have had this bike airborn many times & have never bottomed out the suspension. The highlight of the bikes life with me was in box canyon in Florence Az. The klx went everywhere the straight dirtbikes did, and I mean everywhere. From pearock riverbeds to bowling ball sized rock riverbeds, stairsteps & steep hills, anywhere. Its lack of power and higher gearing became evident here, but I still got through everything just fine, you learn to alter your aproach to these obstacles. (I got to the old goldmine through the river bed) If you want a bike to dirt and street on, this is the one. I have had not one issue, the bike is amazing. I would recommend it to ANYONE!
- Tom, Spicer, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-17 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike out preformed all of my expectations. It has plenty of power when you need it, but is still fairly tame for new riders. The klx 250s can take the punishments of trails like a champ and still rides nicely on the road. If you ride a KLX 250s, you will certainly be impressed. I would not hesitate to recommend this bike to anyone.
- Jeremy Carte, Queensbury , New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-22 2009 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm getting on in years but didn't want to entirely give up dirt bikes. This is more of a trail bike instead of a serious performance machine but that's ok because that's what Kawasaki set out to do. Surprisingly fun on the twisty paved mountain roads we take on the way to the trails. Great gas mileage (I average around 70 mpg)even when flogging the heck out it. Overall very pleased with this purchase.
- JohnT, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-27 2007 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for riding, commuting or just having fun. Break in was tough at first; not going over 4000 rpm the power felt low. Now that I am over the 500 mile mark and can go to 6000 rpm, what a difference when the motor is broken in! I use it for riding and running around town. Off road the bike is great. The weight is great for trail riding and it is geared low enough for tight trails. You can jump back on the road to ride home at 60 mph (6000 rpm limit until 1000 miles). I had a KLR 650 but it was too big and heavy. This bike is just right and is great on gas (70 mpg). I went 100 miles before using the reserve. No regrets.
- Jim, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-11 2007 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The KLX_250 is a good street bike as well being capable off road. Thr suspension is soft and forgiveing but the riding posison is a little hunched over. The engine is smooth and the trans. shifts nice, but at speed the revvs are high (4,000 rpm at 40 mph) wich limits where you can go during the first part of the break-in. On the other hand the acceleration is relly good.
- Victor, Dearborn, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-30 2007 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my KLX 250 so I could ride to the trails instead of having to load the trailer and use three times more gas. I have found it to be a very nice trail bike, light and nimble. The suspension is very good as long as you don't get too crazy. I would recommend this bike to any one looking for a play bike that does double duty as a commuter also.
- Jeff Miller, marion, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-24 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just got my license on this bike and it spends most of the time on paved roads. It is very good to ride to work and on the weekend it is just as good off road. don't get me wrong, this is not a race bike but it does me very well. I have modified the carby and fitted a klx 300 muffler to make it sound better. With the use of 98 octane fuel it starts much better and it has more mid range power.
- Alan, Canberra, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-22 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All my friends have dirt only bikes but I know the temptation of taking it to the steet is too much for me. I am a big guy with years of riding under my belt so even the dealer wasn't sure if this was enough bike for me. I am here to say this bike is great! I've had it on the tightest of trails and narrow switchbacks, it has been on the freeway at 70mph, sand, mud, you name it! This bike chews up all riding conditions and asks for more. I even have won bets on how step of a climb this bike can make up. When I go on a ride with my dirt bike friends I lead the way throught the wildest of trails, and wait for them at the top of steep hills. Monday morning I ride it to work without missing a beat. I have dropped it many times ripping off the rear turn signals but that is not the bike's fault. I have pushed this bike to the limits and I can say this was the best purchase I have made in my life. If I won the lotto tomorrow I still would not buy a different bike. If you read this and are ever in Hawaii and want to go for a great ride contact me via my e-mail.
- Mark, Kaneohe, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-08 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Does everything as advertised! haven't ridden in 13yrs. but glad to be back. I'm used to racing 2 strokes but this thing goes pretty good for a 250 d/p. Could it use more power? Maybe, but this is a 250 d/p not a motocrosser or a competive trail bike. You can really have fun on the trails and also on the street. This thing will get out of it's own way on the streets and in the right hands on the trail could be very good to great!
- Kevin, Lincln Park, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-18 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I BOUGHT THE BIKE ON MY BIRTHDAY, TRADED IN MY 2002 KAWASAKI MEANSTREAK WITH A LOT OF MODS, WANTED SOMETHING I COULD HAVE FUN ON. THE FIRST 100 MILES WERE RUFF BEING USED TO A LARGE BIKE. THEN THE BIKE BROKE. SINCE I AM A KAWASAKI MECHANIC, I WAS THE ONE TO GET TO FIX MY BRAND NEW BIKE. THE CRANK WAS BENT ON CLUTCH SIDE. BROKE OIL PUMP GEAR - that's HOW I FOUND OUT. REPLACED CRANK, EVERYTHING IS GOOD. WOULDN'T TRADE IT FOR ANYTHING. IT REALLY CAME TO LIFE WHEN I PUT THE BIG GUN EVO AXHAUST AND TOOK THE SNORKEL OFF.
- WFO KAWASAKI, SPRING HILL, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-11 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After rejetting the carb and installing a Muzzy full exhaust this bike has become a mini rocket. Good power throught the band. It went from sounding like a moped to sounding like a real dirtbike with power to spare.. So far it has taken everything I can throw at it on and off road.
- VPCS, South Plainfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-27 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great suspension with lots of travel (I've ridden on a MX track), excellent brakes, wide ratio 6-speed gearbox, and smooth motor and with some simple external engine and carb mods and an aftermarket pipe, it has plenty of power. Not great for long distances, but the trade-off is excellent performance on tight trails. A supermotard version would make the best city bike you could possible get. I love scooting across town and it makes even my short 3 mile commute to work a fun little event. You can't take a KLR or adventure bike on a MX track. I even dropped this thing off my trailer, and it dented the trailer... but only a small scratch on the bike's unpainted plastics. I've dropped this thing on muddy trails a half dozen times and never broke anything. Most times, I even kept it running.
- motoguy128, Keokuk, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-27 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, I love it, I pulled into a local gas station the other day and I was told by a woman getting out of her car that I couldn't ride dirt bikes on the road. I told her it's not a dirt bike it's a dual sport, I pointed out the turn signals, inspection sticker, and license plate, and she left me alone. Even though I ride it like a dirt bike, its still street legal. I've had mine for 4 weeks already and have 900 miles on it. I haven't traveled anywhere important (like work) yet on it. Fuel mileage is great; people are impressed and sometimes almost faint when they hear it gets 67.8 mpg. The last 400 miles on my bike have been off-road; I don't care for riding on the street. Now, it is time for the complaints. The Dunlop 603 rear tire wears out quick, it has a small 1.9-gallon fuel tank and the factory suspension, even when adjusted properly, is too soft for heavy off-road or motocross style riding. It has a restrictive exhaust and the carburetor is jetted lean from the factory to meet EPA standards for emissions, so the bike isn't at its full potential out of the box. Overall, it's a great bike, decent price, and with a few mods, this bike would be awesome. So flock to your local Kawasaki Dealer and order one today.
- Matt, Slatedale, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-26 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I highly recommend this bike if you want a dirt bike that can be ridden to the trails. It's a blast on the road, and off. Aftermarket parts are non-existent so far, although most of the the KLX 300 parts will work. The Muzzy exhaust is an example of that. Check out the Kawasaki Forums for a lot of great info.
- Dave, Longview, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-16 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absoutly love my bike. Myself and 3 others bought them together (got a great deal)3 of us just got them back 2 weeks ago from HMF. The made pipes for the bikes for us. Sound much better but deffinately louder. You can feel the power difference. The only neg I think it did hurt gas milage some. Before pipe I was getting between 62mpg and 68mpg. Not real sure about new milage yet because it has been raining. The bike is great on the road. Even better than I expected. Very Very smooth on the road no vibration. The weight of the bike is great. They kept it low and it feels much lighter than the Suzuki 400. My only complaint is the 2 gal gas tank. I would highly recommend this bike. All 4 of us that bought them are very happy with them
- Jeff Boakes, Clare, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-30 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sure can't say enough about the KLX250. I really like this bike. It has great performance on and off the road. It has great maneuverability over rough terrain coupled with an overall confidence on blacktop. I use my bike to commute to and from work, I also like the gas mileage it sure helps me save that almighty dollar. Overall, I would recommend buying this bike.
- brandon horn, kila, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-17 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my 2006 klx 250s at a local dealer when I actually went in to check on the Suzuki drz and the Honda 650l. I saw this sitting in the back and was instantly in love with it. After a few miles on it, the bike is a perfect size for me. Nimble and relatively light, it is very easy to ride on the roads. I ride just about everything when it comes to PowerSports. My first love is my Harley, and I am in no way going to try to compare this bike, while very nice, to my beautiful H-D. I am also currently letting go of a KTM 300MXC, which myself and several other people I ride with, have found to be WAY too much bike. This bike is the perfect way to get back down to reality because of the power, or lack thereof. The biggest thing is the E.P.A. restrictions that SEVERELY choke the engine. I have read of many different modifications that can be done to bring this bad boy to life. Until then, I will still be happy with the choked engine and the 70mpg. 3 dollar a gallon gasoline - Who cares with 70mpg?
- Corky, Lusby, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: