Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Kawasaki KLX300R reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

12 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Gary Howard

San Antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki KLX300R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I had ridden enduros back in the early 80's on a KDX420 so when my son asked me to get another 0ff-road bike so I could ride with him, I twisted my own arm for about a second and said good idea. I wanted a 4-stroke so I found a 2005 KLX still on the showroon floor on 2006. I have been riding for over thirty years so I thought the bike wasn't up to speed as far as power but a good deal of fun anyway. I have added some mods, along whith the free mods and the bike is a blast. I think I would be more suited for the new KLX450 but for the price I'm happy for the time being. Suspension is a little plush but that can be cured and I sure wish I had electric start and a pumper carb! The cv carb is a pain after the bikes stalls or get's laid down.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

chris

wellington, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Reviewed on 2007-04-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki KLX300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was looking for a bike for all around type of riding and ended up with the 2004 KLX which had most of the more common mods already done.(muffler, air box removed, carb changed with a dynojet kit etc) So upon riding I found the bike was very impressive. However as time has gone a bit I have found although it still stays up with most you have to really ride it hard to get pass them and it gets bogged very easily on the tight stuff. Another problem I have found is that it needs air and lots of it getting through the front fins to keep it cool. I ride a lot of rocky trail and mud so if you leave it idling while helping others etc and not getting the air flow it will over heat very quickly. All around it is a fun bike and very reliable while your mates are working on their's all you have to do is regular oil and filter changes and all the other standard maintenance and you'll have plenty of time for a beer while not digging into your pocket. Have fun and get out there and go hard. Enjoy the bike for what it is and don't try and make it a racer cause it's not what it's for.....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephan King

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Reviewed on 2007-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki KLX300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike based on my height-challenged stature, and the fact that it possessed a lot of great standard features for a low price. Once I had some time to ride it, I found it needed about $300 in aftermarket parts to perform well. Since installing them, I am entirely satisfied with the bike. It has plenty of power, is reliable, and allows me to challenge pretty much any trail or obstacle. I would recommend it to anyone who is newer to riding, or is very advanced but not ready or willing to ride a full-on race bike (enduro or motocross).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott Johnson

Newark, California

Reviewed on 2006-11-19

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki KLX300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Best bike for the money. Only thing is parts are hard to come by aftermarket. I ride this bike hard on trails and not 1 problem with it. Looking forward to upgrade to the 450KLX.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin

Knoxville , Tennessee

Reviewed on 2006-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki KLX300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is awsome. I just moved up from a ttr 125l to this. Let me tell you it has a lot of power. If I were you, I would by it and buy it now.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cr8on Johnston

Grimshaw, Alberta

Reviewed on 2005-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki KLX300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased the bike new in November of "04 and was thrilled with what I bought. Where I live I could only really ride it in the beginning of April. So during those long winter months I would store the bike in very nice garages, the bike was begging to be ridden. As soon as most of the snow left I took it out for the break in. I didn't know what to expect from the power because I was going from a Yamaha TTR 90. Once I figured out how to not stall on the take off I was set. This bike is like a rocket ship. FYI if you guys out there who own one throw on a 48 tooth sprocket it does wonders to your speed gains without losing bottom end power. I can easily pass the 125's and play with 250F's. I love it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brock G Bittner

Coloma, Michigan

Reviewed on 2005-03-31

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki KLX300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the bike for trail riding. I wanted a reliable bike that I didn't have to work on. I have not rode a trail since I bought the bike. It is a fun bike to ride motocross with. I couldn't believe how well the bike handled. I sold my Yamaha 250f & ride my 2004 KLX 300 every time I ride. I rode a local indoor track, I attracted a lot of attention, no one could believe how smooth I was on the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

Cypress, California

Reviewed on 2005-01-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki KLX300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is an all around great bike. Powerful engine, awesome suspension and great handling. I rode the CRF250X and the CRF450R and let me tell you for the price and ride, you can't beat it. Those other bikes are far too expensive and the ride is no better than the KLX. I researched for 10 months before I made up my mind on what to get and I am very happy with my KLX.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Cheyenne, Wyoming

Reviewed on 2004-11-05

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki KLX300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am an intermediate rider and ride all types of terrain. The KLX300R is a great bike in my opinion for any type of experience. I ride in the mountains and the bike is quick and responsive. It is sometimes quicker than me. It likes the mud and loves the rocks. The suspension loosened up after about 200 miles and is great now. I did a few modifications that really improved the handling and power. I first opened up the air and exhaust so it could breath, then I changed the handle bars to 1" higher and could now control the bike in any situation. Lastly, I re-jetted the carb to run at higher elevation of around 8500ft. I now have a different problem I have to overcome, it has an enormous amount of power that can get away from you if you're not careful. I will need to replace the tires about every 800 miles.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe Yalda

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reviewed on 2004-08-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki KLX300R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the best bike for the money. I will recommend this bike to anybody who is looking at trail bikes. I ride it everyday and take it up to the mountains at least once a week and I am more than satisfied.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 12 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: