Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles Reviews (82)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-06-29 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the bike a year ago with 20,000. Yes, 20000 miles on it and it now has 28xxx miles no problems. Still smokes the new GSXR and runs all over the CBR f4i's. The bike burns no oil and I have never had a problem with it. Had it going about 160mph and scared the crap out of me. Wheelies like a champ all the way up to 100mph. I had a 2001 R6 and on the R6 the plastic didn't fit together good and it was a snail compared to my ZX6. The ZX6 plastic fits together like a glove. Comfort isn't too bad. I went on a 12 hour trip and only stopped for gas once and it wasn't too bad on the back.
- greg kerr, cumberland, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-08 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the quickest bike I have ever owned. I think my 1986 VF1000R has a higher top end speed but I like the quickness of this 636. I have it set up with a 1 down in front and 3 up in the rear and it accelerates faster than GSXR 750 and close to a 1000, but the speedo ends up being WAY off. When it shows 75 MPH I am really going 63 MPH. This bike is very harsh to ride, but sticks like glue. Yes, it will hurt the wrists a little bit on long rides if you are a novice sport bike user, but I rode bicycles professionally so that position feels very natural to me even on 300 mile rides-----no wrist or posterior or back pains. I have so many mods to this bike to make it even faster than stock and for pure speed it is amazing. The aftermarket selection is HUGE and so far this bike burns almost no oil and VERY little coolant in the hot Texas summer. I am guessing reliability to be top notch as with most Japanaese bikes, but not quite as reliable as my KLR (bomb proof). Overall I am very satisfied. I give it 4 stars for comfort because I think most people will have some problems, but I like it. Everything else gets 5 stars.
- Paul T, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-21 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the bike in spring of 08. Being a very tall person is always a concern when I get on a motorcycle. I have tried all different makes and models, but this bike is the only one that accommodates me (in this class). It has fantastic power and control through all types of corners and riding. Kawasaki did everything perfectly when they made this machine.
- blake johnson, berkshires, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-11 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Kawasaki is selling guns out of the back room of the candy store. This screamer accomplishes the perfect balance of power and precision. What a motor! Exceptional braking power. Add a Corbin saddle and a cruise control for steroid induced sport tour duty. Not sure why Kawasaki dropped the Cheater from it's lineup. Why fold your Aces? Found one bone stock with 4,500 miles on the clock. SWEET!
- Bravado, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-24 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a pretty tall person at 6'2", this bike is great. Super comfortable and very fast. Handles like a dream in the corners and you have the option to bring up the front end coming out of corners. The only real downfall I can find is the passanger seat. I ride a passanger every once in a while and it is not to cunfy for them. Overall a GREAT bike and I am happy I purchased it.
- Mark, Buffalo, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-18 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Let me start by saying my first bike was a 95 Ninja 600r, then this became my second bike, which I picked up in June 2005 used with 4500 miles on it. All I can say is the power on this bike is very impressive, good low end, then around 9000 RPM you start to hear more engine growl and pull, and by 12000 RPM, she is blasting off to the 15,500 redline. Handling is great, feels planted around turns and my only problem is the fact the 04 636's are known to have rough suspensions stock but overall it is awesome and the bike is lightweight to start with great flick ability. My only honest complaint with this bike is the seat, it is designed so your crotch is up against the tank, add in the rough suspension then, you see where this is going. If you want a great reliable bike with great power and awesome looks, then give the 636 a shot on your next bike purchase.
- Mike, Egg Harbor, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-05 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great bike, don't get me wrong but the suspension rates are way to stiff for a street bike. I'm not sure what Kawasaki was thinking but they didn't get it right in '03. I've done some suspension work that has made a huge difference. Comfort is okay but the 05 bike is much better. The seat on this bike reminds me of an EX500, too slanted, drops you into the tank a bit too much after a long day of riding. No problems with the motor or any other parts. Finish is good but it could be a wee bit better, of course the stock stickers are ugly. I'm giving it a 4 star rating due to the stock suspension. If it was not for that, it would be a 5. Would I buy another Kawasaki after owning this one? You bet. ;) <br /> Note: my weight is set for full gear.
- Eric Robinson, Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-11 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing can move! I've only had it for a week and I must say it is the most exhilarating experience whenever I step onto it. You can really feel the extra cc's on this bike, it feels almost like a 750 but it handles like a 600. This definitely is the best bang for your buck. I would not be happier with any other 600cc sportbike.
- Aaron, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-13 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started on an Sv 650 and it was fun But I just bought a 636 and WOW! I'm freaking out...The Sv was like driving a scooter compared to the ninja. The power is amazing, the look is very aggressive and with the full exhaust system and a K&#038;N air filter the 636 screams though the streets, turning heads...I'm very happy with this bike . I've driven the R6 and there is no comparing..The Cbr 600 rr is comparable but I love the Kawasaki.
- Eric Franciosa, Stoney Creek, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-27 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had the chance to purchase this bike about a year ago from a friend, who could no longer make payments. I was totally taken back at the power and agility of this bike. Being an avid fan of the GSXR, I could not believe the power of this bike. I think that it was a little sluggish in the lower range RPMS, but getting the front up is no problem at all. I would totally recommend this bike... it's totally awesome.
- Michael , Knoxville, , Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-06 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for two days and it's blown my socks off. Wheelies come in first gear, and this thing pulls like a freight train even in sixth. My first morning ride to work I went 137mph like it was nothing. Power is awesome and handling is great. This bike is snappy but stable. Only complaints are heat, and lots of it, especially at a stop. Ride comfort is an issue if you don't move around much (highway).
- Aaron Campbell, Red Lion, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-14 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For a 600 it is quick. The bottom end (below 5000 rpm) is a sled - but who rides below 5000 when this thing is an animal from 8000 to 15500? As a taller guy, the legs tuck nicely behind everything. Performance wise; it dives into corners with no effort, and floats the front wheel as you exit. You can flip this bike around like it's nothing. Power compared to the other 600's (pre-'03 it walks away from all - and even pulls from some of the 750's (not the newer ones). It's pretty stable at high speed cornering, but could be a little hairy if the suspension isn't dialed in correctly. Straight line is a dart, stable and true.
- JSM, Pataskala, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-01 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got mine in April of '03. Put 50 miles on before I went to get my bike license. I've gone 154mph and not topped out. Friends have rode and said it's snappy, they have CBR's. I can't complain, it's my first bike and I love it.
- Tim Brown, Northfield

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-24 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
(Jan 2005) I have just purchased a new 2003 ZX6R that was left over from '03. The bike only had one mile on it when I rode it home. Previously I had a 2001 R6 and in no way does that bike compare to this one. The handling and braking is quite impressive, and the power on this bike all through the ranges will put you in a new dimension. I lowered the clutch and my wrist never hurts even on long rides. As far as the stock sound goes, I love it, and it damn near sounds like other bikes with a pipe (save your money). I have not yet reached the break in period, however I have managed to crack her open once or twice. This is the only 600 that I have been able to get the front tire off the ground in the first three gears, how does that sound for power? The other time I pushed the bike was against two of my friends. One rode an '04 R6 and the other had an '05 GSX750. This bike absolutely smashed both of them. I recommend this bike to anyone who not only craves power, but wants the looks to go with it. The Kawasaki ZX6R truly is the bike to beat. For all you other riders out there good luck at the light.
- Beau Myers, Fayetteville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-20 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the 2nd bike I have owned, it is mostly bottom end and tops out about 146 mph. The only problem that I have experienced with the bike is the rear wheel likes to find every little thing in the road. But the engine power and the bike's over all style makes up for this. I hope you all enjoy your bikes and keep riding on.
- R Lawson, Old Fort, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-11 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike in March '04 and the only thing that I changed is the front sprocket (14 tooth) and there is not a 600 out there that can keep up. I can out run most other bikes on the street. With the exception of an extremely low top end (158.5 - 160 actual), top speed is my main gripe with this bike. You eventually get used to the riding position and the suspension stiffness.
- Jaeson Reese, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-11 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When it comes to the 600 class, nothing beats the green team. My friends call my ZX-6R 2004 "HULK" because after the break in period the beast within my bike was revealed. No R6 or GSXR [600 or 750] could keep up with me. Sorry if your ride does not have the letters ZX-6R on the side. You better stay away or "HULK" might smoke you.
- Hector E. Marietti, Kissimmee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-27 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is an awesome stoppie bike. The first gear roll on wheelies are strong on this bike. It is an all around track, race, and stunt bike. A Must Buy!
- TheSilverBullet, Central, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-10 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From what I've been through the last month I would definitely say this is the fastest 600 out there. Great all around bike. Easy riding. You can take cornes all day long. you're not going to beat a 1000 but you can stick right with them.
- dustin, california, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-08 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike really competes with bigger 750's and 1000's. A rider with good skill will love this bike. Might be a tad too much for a beginner. Add a slip-on and you will be the envy of bike night.
- lexojon, cerritos, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-06 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '03 636 and I think it is a great bike! It is a bit aggresive but which sportbike isnt!?! My wrist doesn't hurt too bad, I just get tired due to not riding for so long! It is great! It picks up and goes. You can hit 100 mph with no problem you won't even feel it! I have two bad things to say about it! It feels like it is a bit shacky at low speed and you feel every little offset on the rode. The back end moved a bit! I am going to see what I can do about it! And I think I am going to get a steering damper. When the bike leans I have to push it down to lean, diffrent from my older bikes. Other than that... watch out for those people on their cell phones! And don't let people try to push you when you are just cruising and they are late for work!! Great bike!
- Eric, Chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-05 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I will admit I chose it because of looks! That orange is slammin'! It sat in my garage for four days until I finally called my brother and asked him how to ride. After that it was smooth sailing ever since. It is most definitely rider friendly. don't be fooled one second by its 600 classification. For all of those who would like to know the answer to the GSXR750 vs ZX-6R: In a quarter mile the GSXR750 without a doubt is faster and will win but if you add a YOSHI full exhuast with power commander to the ZX-6R, the GSXR750 blows out the frame by heavy margins, if you got skills. If anybody out there can tell me where to get a clear orange shield for my ZX-6R, let me know.
- Choke on This!, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-03 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike that I've ever ridden, let alone owned! I love it. It's like an addiction. A couple guys I ride with have other 600 class bikes, and all agree that my 636 is faster, better looking, and sounds better! For a first bike, this is the one. Hope this helped someone out!
- Nick, Wappingers Falls, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-28 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's my first bike and I love it. I know you can't go wrong with any of the 600's, but after having the 636 for 2 months there is nothing that I can find that I don't like about the bike (maybe the tach but you get used to it). I get compliments and chicks love it. It goes fast and handles like a dream!
- John, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-18 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been a while since I have ridden, but it is all coming back now! I chose the 636 after looking at many different bikes. It seems to fill the spot I am looking for. I commute a short distance to work so comfort is not really an issue. I do like performnace though. During break in I have been averaging over 40 mpg. Will finish break in today so I can really see what the power band is like. I think this one is truly a winner!
- Chuck Harrington, West Richland, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: