Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636 reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

83 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Patrick

California

Reviewed on 2021-10-26

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
03/04 kawasaki 636... looks, power and it completes me♥️. My favorite bone stock or fully set up to stunt or just enjoy two wheels and the open air. I prefer fully adjustable clip on's so I can push them forward and move them up about 2 inches over stock heigh. For street gearing, I like a 50 tooth rear sprocket,stock front and if it's a dedicated lot bike 60 rear 15 front (stock.) They like to run hot so a 13 radiator for added capacity and two R-6 fans for more air flow. One fan coming on at the stock 216°F, the other on a switch I'll throw on if it creeps above 220°. Which it often does. Stunt piece definitely a handbrake. 13mm if it's a magura master 16 if it's a Brembo with a Hohey double caliper bracket. Stock foot brake and nissin 4 piston for the handbrake. RSC easy pull 2 finger clutch lever and gotta have the stealth stay front fairing stay and metal wind screen. I've had graveyard custom tanks before but a hand made hammer myself dent with HT moto is easier for me to transition from tank to sitdown or highchair from 50/50 and out side saddle with confidence. I've got one 04 bone stock extra pristine with 1,100 original miles in orange. Not a scratch and I just changed out the stock Bridgestone rubber that came with it. Then, my '04 stunt piece that's almost as clean fully built with 15k. Second motor as I hydro locked the original because of long, tall wheelies and rev limiter coasters with no kleen air mod. Bike was smoking like crazy and the airbox was full of oil. That oil then finds it's way into the #1 cylinder and bogged down the motor eventually shutting it off and filling the hole full of oil. Since it wasnt high in the RPM's it didnt break internals just bent the #1
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

greg kerr

cumberland, Maryland

Reviewed on 2009-06-29

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got the bike a year ago with 20,000. Yes, 20000 miles on it and it now has 28xxx miles no problems. Still smokes the new GSXR and runs all over the CBR f4i's. The bike burns no oil and I have never had a problem with it. Had it going about 160mph and scared the crap out of me. Wheelies like a champ all the way up to 100mph. I had a 2001 R6 and on the R6 the plastic didn't fit together good and it was a snail compared to my ZX6. The ZX6 plastic fits together like a glove. Comfort isn't too bad. I went on a 12 hour trip and only stopped for gas once and it wasn't too bad on the back.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul T

Fort Worth, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-06-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the quickest bike I have ever owned. I think my 1986 VF1000R has a higher top end speed but I like the quickness of this 636. I have it set up with a 1 down in front and 3 up in the rear and it accelerates faster than GSXR 750 and close to a 1000, but the speedo ends up being WAY off. When it shows 75 MPH I am really going 63 MPH. This bike is very harsh to ride, but sticks like glue. Yes, it will hurt the wrists a little bit on long rides if you are a novice sport bike user, but I rode bicycles professionally so that position feels very natural to me even on 300 mile rides-----no wrist or posterior or back pains. I have so many mods to this bike to make it even faster than stock and for pure speed it is amazing. The aftermarket selection is HUGE and so far this bike burns almost no oil and VERY little coolant in the hot Texas summer. I am guessing reliability to be top notch as with most Japanaese bikes, but not quite as reliable as my KLR (bomb proof). Overall I am very satisfied. I give it 4 stars for comfort because I think most people will have some problems, but I like it. Everything else gets 5 stars.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

blake johnson

berkshires, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2009-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased the bike in spring of 08. Being a very tall person is always a concern when I get on a motorcycle. I have tried all different makes and models, but this bike is the only one that accommodates me (in this class). It has fantastic power and control through all types of corners and riding. Kawasaki did everything perfectly when they made this machine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bravado

Savannah, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-09-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Kawasaki is selling guns out of the back room of the candy store. This screamer accomplishes the perfect balance of power and precision. What a motor! Exceptional braking power. Add a Corbin saddle and a cruise control for steroid induced sport tour duty. Not sure why Kawasaki dropped the Cheater from it's lineup. Why fold your Aces? Found one bone stock with 4,500 miles on the clock. SWEET!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Buffalo, New York

Reviewed on 2006-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am a pretty tall person at 6'2", this bike is great. Super comfortable and very fast. Handles like a dream in the corners and you have the option to bring up the front end coming out of corners. The only real downfall I can find is the passanger seat. I ride a passanger every once in a while and it is not to cunfy for them. Overall a GREAT bike and I am happy I purchased it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Egg Harbor, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2005-12-18

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Let me start by saying my first bike was a 95 Ninja 600r, then this became my second bike, which I picked up in June 2005 used with 4500 miles on it. All I can say is the power on this bike is very impressive, good low end, then around 9000 RPM you start to hear more engine growl and pull, and by 12000 RPM, she is blasting off to the 15,500 redline. Handling is great, feels planted around turns and my only problem is the fact the 04 636's are known to have rough suspensions stock but overall it is awesome and the bike is lightweight to start with great flick ability. My only honest complaint with this bike is the seat, it is designed so your crotch is up against the tank, add in the rough suspension then, you see where this is going. If you want a great reliable bike with great power and awesome looks, then give the 636 a shot on your next bike purchase.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric Robinson

Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2005-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
It's a great bike, don't get me wrong but the suspension rates are way to stiff for a street bike. I'm not sure what Kawasaki was thinking but they didn't get it right in '03. I've done some suspension work that has made a huge difference. Comfort is okay but the 05 bike is much better. The seat on this bike reminds me of an EX500, too slanted, drops you into the tank a bit too much after a long day of riding. No problems with the motor or any other parts. Finish is good but it could be a wee bit better, of course the stock stickers are ugly. I'm giving it a 4 star rating due to the stock suspension. If it was not for that, it would be a 5. Would I buy another Kawasaki after owning this one? You bet. ;) <br /> Note: my weight is set for full gear.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Aaron

San Francisco, California

Reviewed on 2005-10-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This thing can move! I've only had it for a week and I must say it is the most exhilarating experience whenever I step onto it. You can really feel the extra cc's on this bike, it feels almost like a 750 but it handles like a 600. This definitely is the best bang for your buck. I would not be happier with any other 600cc sportbike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric Franciosa

Stoney Creek, Ontario

Reviewed on 2005-08-13

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-6R 636

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I started on an Sv 650 and it was fun But I just bought a 636 and WOW! I'm freaking out...The Sv was like driving a scooter compared to the ninja. The power is amazing, the look is very aggressive and with the full exhaust system and a K&#038;N air filter the 636 screams though the streets, turning heads...I'm very happy with this bike . I've driven the R6 and there is no comparing..The Cbr 600 rr is comparable but I love the Kawasaki.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 83 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: