Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles Reviews (107)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-04-16 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding nothing but bigger cruisers my whole life. I had an opportunity to get a Ninja 650R with 8 miles on it for 1,000 bucks. How do I pass that up? Riding this bike is a pleasure. Since I bought the bike I haven't been in my car since. I take it to work every day. If I had to say one bad thing about the bike. There is a slight vibration right between 58-60 miles per hour on the handle bars. But you can ride right through it. Overall, it's a great commuter and new rider bike. But if your looking for a speed demon, this is not the one for you.
- Nico, bayport, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-30 2011 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Its a fun bike to ride. It keeps up with bigger bikes and has plenty of power. The bike is really comfortable for long rides. I ride to San Diego often and it's a little over two hours and my back isn't killing me when I get there. It's my first bike and I have had it for 10 months now.
- Juan Valencia, Coachella, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-19 2011 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my fourth bike. It's an excellent choice for a first bike, too. It's sporty and fast, comfortable (not leaning way over the tank) easy on my back. It has super lines on it. I love to be the girl riding an awesome sporty bike!!!
- Kimberly St Hilaire, New London, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-31 2011 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for a week now and I'm completely impressed. It has plenty of power, and is very responsive. The seat gets a bit uncomfortable after being on the saddle awhile. It looks great, I even got compliments from my die-hard Harley friends.
- Neeko, Stockton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-10 2011 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm still in the break in period so I have to give this bike a "5" on everything. I used to ride a GSXR 750, but hadn't ridden in a while until I got the 650R a couple of weeks ago. Ergos are perfect for me. It's been running smooth and flawless the few times I've been able to get out (still a little cold here). Overall it's a great bike I would recommend to anyone.
- AD, Olathe, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-10 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up this bike used with 6,800 miles on it, and it's probably the most fun I've ever had on the open road. There are definitely more powerful bikes out there, but this thing accelerates fast enough to get you in trouble in a heart beat, and when you're on the highway in top gear, it's not even turning half its RPM range. If you're looking to upgrade from a 250, or even if you're a responsible rider looking for a first bike, this one is predictable and easy to ride quick.
- Isaac V., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-08 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my EX500 Ninja and bought one of these. It looks better and it handles about the same. It has more power. To me, sport riding is all about handling, not about rocket-like acceleration. If you want a drag racer, get a V-Max. Oh yeah, it's comfortable too. I have ridden a GSXR750 and a ZX6R Ninja. In a straight line, they will blow this bike away. But they don't handle any better, if as well. I have ridden all day on this, about an hour was my max on a hardcore sportbike, and by that time I was hurting all over. This is a "real world" sportbike, not a roadracer with lights. Oh, and one more plus. The price and the insurance are a lot less than a hardcore sportbike. Unless you really are a roadracer and ride on the track, I don't see how you could possibly go wrong with this bike.
- Gearld, Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-03 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first street bike and I have no major complaints. There's plenty of power when needed enough to get into trouble. The color and performance add to the thrill of the ride. My only complaint is that the bike doesnt show you what gear you are in. Besides that, no regrets. I'm actually going in tomorrow to buy another street bike for the wife.
- Lance , Chehalis, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-12 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Pros: Comfortable, reliable, great bang for the buck, economical, fast, this list could go on for a while. Cons: Exhaust sounds a bit like a Briggs and Stratton, Suspension is not adjustable. I bought this bike in 2007 simply to save money. I wanted a bike that was fuel injected and affordable. The "little" Ninja 650 fit my needs perfectly. I didn't have anything to compare it to but after riding just about everything out there I'm fairly certain that the clutch action on the 650 is about the smoothest in the industry. I knew that this bike wouldn't have "supersport" power but I was pleasantly surprised the first time I opened the throttle fully and about flattened my eyeballs. It moves. Yeah, a good rider on a CBR will beat it but he'll have to try pretty hard. It's fast enough to keep a rider of any skill level entertained but tame enough for a beginner. MPG is around 45-50 or so. Sometimes a little better, I saw 59 MPG once being really nice. Got as low as 39 on a tank whilst beating it like a rented mule. The reliability is amazing. I didn't do anything to it except for a couple of oil changes and maintaining the chain. It's a great bike, I cannot recommend it enough. I did eventually sell it and bought a 2007 CBR. While I love the CBR I do miss the Ninja from time to time.
- Jeremy Bryan, Black Hawk, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-01 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike had a Scorpio Alarm w/pager and Throttlemeister Cruise Control when I sold it. The photo shows the cruise control still on it. This bike has never had a bad day. No crashing, burnouts, stunts. It's a very good bike. I just got too old for it. MPG was mid 40's and the top speed...over 130.
- Eddy Gilliam, Jonesboro, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-30 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After completing the MSF course, I bought an '09 as my first bike and it has never let me down. The throttle and brakes are very forgiving and I never felt as if I was out of control. But don't underestimate it's capabilities. I had no trouble keeping up with a pack of middle-weight supersports on the highway and whipping around twisties. My only complaint is that the wind really buffeted me around at speed because I am a taller rider. The handle bars allow for a very comfortable, upright ride, but it was awkward to duck behind the windscreen. Simple solution though: I bought new handlebars which allowed me to lower my riding position, and gave me more of a supersport feel.
- Wilson, Monroe, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-24 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted a sportbike that I could sit up, afford the insurance and would be a great starter bike that will keep me happy for a bunch of years. I found it - my '09 650R. What a great bike, it looks great, feels great and handles well on the road. At a street light I blow away cars behind me with no effort. I tool around on it every chance I get and have driven it to work a few times in D.C. rush hour traffic, which is horrible. I've ridden well over six hours with little to no discomfort. It's fun in the twisties and does a good job keeping up with my friends 1000cc bikes. My only complaint is that the bike is too quiet but I love that the exhaust is under the bike (no chance of getting burned when I get off).
- oh2b21, Manassas, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-10 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I chose this bike as my first, due to the seating position and low power. The price was a big seller, too. I recommend this bike to any learner or commuter but those looking for power or performance should look somewhere else. It's a blast to ride but tops off too quick for us "speed freaks". I traded it in for a ZX6R after a few thousand miles but owe all my first riding experiences to this great bike.
- Brandon R, Middletown, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-17 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Ninja 650 in September 2008 with 1300 miles on it, and couldn't be happier. It's a great commuter, weekend warrior, and with the right mindset, a light sport-tourer. Most of my miles are commuting when the Colorado mountains allow it, but I've done long multi-day rides on it as well. It has a comfortable seating position. The seat isn't the best, but is acceptable. On long days a couple ibuprofen make the seat a bit better ;). The engine is a fantastic, flexible real-world street engine. Great midrange make it an ideal traffic commuter. I get 50-55 MPG on average, but have gotten as high as 75 on multiple tanks during long days where the speeds were kept at 55 or below. The bike is not expensive, but that does not mean cheap. My only complaint is with the fairing, it does create a "buzz" at certain RPM's. Other than that, it is a basic, but great bike that is more than the sum of it's parts. It's also a great value that won't break the bank to own.
- Rich, Rifle , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-22 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this as the 2nd bike I've ever owned. I originally had a 1989 Kawasaki EX500 which was great for learning without burning a hole in my wallet. The 650R was everything the reviews and riders have placed it. Basically an all out perfect bike for the daily rider from beginner to advanced. I took this on a 220 mile ride the first summer and it didn't bother my back at all. I even had the sport handlebars installed. It also has plenty of low end toque for local cruising but enough on the highways as well.
- Ellery, Rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-06 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Big time happy. Not for the squeemish. This bike rocks. Low end torque is not for a newbie. Just did my 1st oil change, and did it come to life. Runnin Mineral for couple thousand, and then goin to switch to syn. Motul only please. No need to down shift for passing. Just twist and hang on. don't even have to put your feet down at stop signs the bike is so well balanced. This is my 1st sports bike after many others, so I am definately taking it easy. Hardly any vibes in pegs or grips. This is my 2nd. Kawi. and glad to be back.
- DRH, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-16 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I began riding one year ago to date and bought a used 07 Ninja 650R as a starter. So glad I did! Superb handling, not a fearmonger-unless newbies unleash it's throttle without being ready (He-He). Sure, my buddies zoom past me at 150+ mph. I'm okay with that. Alone, I hit 130 easily, with power to spare! The engine and exhaust upgrades listed below opened up the little beasty engine. Yes, I want an open class liter bike, but I enjoy riding my ninja too much to justify the upgrade. Guys guess the engine size to be larger, because of the deep gurgling exhaust note. Lower handlebars give better handling at higher speeds. 4 star for seat discomfort-easily fixable. I made all upgrades at home. Smoked a New Vette trying to cut me off in a quarter mile.
- Ed , Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-21 2008 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now owned the bike for two seasons, and it's been unstoppable. I have used the bike as a daily rider putting on 130km each day round trip, and has had an average of 48mpg. Good low end power for city driving, strong mid-range for the twisties, lacking a bit at the top end, but by that time your already speeding. Suspension could be tighter in the front, to help with more aggressive cornering, but will give you a smooth ride on the longer trips. Seat will leave you sore after an hour plus of riding, but it's still worth it in the end. Great bike.
- Ian, Hamilton, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-19 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It was very easy to learn how to ride. It shifts like a champ and is a lot quicker than I thought.
- C. Johnson, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-09 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2007 in 2008. I rode for 6 years before giving it up when my son came along. This is a great bike to start with, great power, torque, non-threatening, capable handling. Faster than any car with less than 400 horse power.
- Andy, New Canaan, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-08 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Upgraded from a Ninja 250 to the 650. This bike handles great! It's pretty quick and so much fun in the twisties. I personally wouldn't recommend it for a new rider as the front wheel does come off the ground a lot and it has a lot of torque, but if taken easy it could be. I love my bike! It has been great to me so far.
- N/A, harrison, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-31 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my very first bike ever, I have ridden motocross but never a sport bike. This bike has been fantastic, it shifts like a dream, and accelerates like a champ. Love this bike.
- Brent, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-19 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm very impressed with this bike. It has a very comfortable riding position without sacrificing the ability to throw it into corners. It might not be a screamer like the Ducati or Honda supersports, but in real world conditions (off the track and on the street) its ability to do it all is second to none. It has the power and performance to thrill seasoned riders, while providing a laid back demeanor for the less experienced. The Ninja 650r is my 2nd sportbike and definitely my favorite.
- Erik Tyler, Beverly Hills

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-06 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very comfortable ride and handling. Perfect if you don't like laying down when you ride. Good gas mileage and very reliable.
- nick, abington, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-26 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 56 and have been riding 2 years, real small (Rebel) and smallish (Suzi S50) cruisers. Another year, another cruiser...1 day I sat on a 'sport cruiser' in a shop and surprise, hands were high, upright posture and both feet on the floor. I liked that, but had never felt it in a sports type bike. This 1st attraction was a Yamaha FZ6, just a beautiful standard, and I wanted it very very bad. So no cruiser this year. Moved on to sit on a Kawi 650r and both Suzi 650 high grip sports models. The Suzis just felt awkward for my size, they just didn't fit. But the Kawi just fit like a glove. My local shop had the FZ6 and the 650r sitting next to one another, so after dozens of times hopping from bike to bike, the Kawi just fit noticeably better (and the Yamaha fit great...). I looked for every reason i could to get the FZ, but just kept coming back to the Kawi. And what a great deal it was. Having never ridden a sports bike, this was kind of scary. I've heard the stories about 1st timers screaming off into oblivion before they got the sport bike clutch-throttle down pat. But 5 minutes into the 1st ride, what an easy, secure feeling experience (that included dodging a blind entrance truck, inbound left hand turners, and a u-turning semi, all within about 200 feet of the shop). At my age and riding ability, if I got out of that experience on an alien bike with so little problem, this was definitely 'da bike'! Got to ride about 2 hours right out of the chute and another hour since, the low miles is cos I did a fair amount of tight parking lot assessment, and even that was exhilirating. that's the best way to describe this bike, pure exhiliration. Keeping it at 4000rpm, haven't even exceeded 55 (well, maybe a couple times, just a little), and this is just a great riding experience. I feel so secure and comfortable on this bike in any situation I've tried to put it in so far, it just doesn't feel like that'll change much when I can fully open it up, this thing is just buttery smooth. My Honda and Suzuki are both great machines for what they are, and I really love em. I think their quality is commensurate with their cost, can't complain. But with the Ninja, it just feels somehow like this machine is built at a quality exceeding it's price. This seems a very precise, well assembled machine. If this is an entry level 'sport cruiser I can't imagine what a Concourse or an ST or FJR1300 or those quality levels of bikes must feel like. The Ninja 650r is an exciting and comfortable machine with future potential that I can't really imagine at my experience level. I'll definitely be writing again after the break-in is history.
- aef, sterling, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: