Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles Reviews (84)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-10-08 2003 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing is by far the fastest thing I had ever ridden. 150 in no time at all- and was still pulling like a train! Wheelie in every gear (but 6th, ran out of guts!). Home to work 45 miles in about 20 minutes. Awesome carving ability, great stopping power, and holy cow- the giddy up is incredible!
- Jerry, Gloversville, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-07 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I personally owned this bike. I upgraded from a ZZR1200 to this bike. From the beginning it performed FLAWLESSLY. I NEVER had any problems with this great bike. It always was garage kept - never crashed - and had EVERY service done to it according to the book. This bike has a POWER COMMANDER installed - maps are downloadable. It is a great carver and a total blast to ride! It has an extended mileage tire on the rear (Diablo).You will LOVE this bike!
- monty, kalispell, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-13 2003 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding almost every type of bike there is, this one is by far the best for comfort (even after back surgery), and pure, raw, sick power. Riding on the highways you feel secure and you know the bike is planted firmly on the corners. A true (Super) Beast in all forms. Only problem is that you have to get used to riding with all your friends behind you.
- Gary, Lakeland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-28 2003 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 1st experience w/ a true sport. I have had a 1981 CB900C, an '89 Goldwing, and have an '86 V65. I have always had bigger bikes and thought I knew about power (especially since the V65 is the original crotch rocket) but you can't believe what happens when you twist the throttle. My only beef is tire wear. It is hard to get them to run 2000 miles. If you are a small, light, or inexperienced rider-BEWARE!! It will meet performance expectations although. Be safe, ride hard!!
- Don Kindle, Pine Bluffs, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-21 2005 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When Kawasaki released the ZX12R in 2000, I knew I had to get one. It was love at first sight. I recently purchased a 2005 ZX12R and I now know what true love is. Absolutely the best bike on the road. Proformance is unbelieveable. Comfortable and she looks good.
- Melvin Reed, Washington, DC, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-08 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up this bike used with only 2700 Miles on it. I have been riding the hell out of it and I'm totally hooked. In 2 months I have already put 2000 miles on it and counting. It is a very smooth while riding and is actually very comfortable on long trips. The Exhaust is kinda big, but its going bye bye in a couple months. I had this thing up to 150 in 5th with half throttle and it still wanted to scream not to mention there was still another gear left. This bike is limited at 186 (along with the Busa starting which started in 2001 as well) but is easily eliminated with a purchase of $80 "box" which bypasses it allowing you to reach warp speed.
- NDC_Bullet, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-24 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is not my first Ninja, nor my last, just one of the better ones. With a curb weight of over 500lbs, she uses up the fuel but still handles like a dream. I've never had a liter bike that you can flick through corners as if you were on a 600cc. The Busa doesn't have this bike in the corners. No shake at high speeds, but needs smooth roads. If your bike is having wobble at 150+, you're doing something wrong. I have had this bike on Willow Springs, open highways, Button Willow, and Palomar Mountain Road in San Diego and it just doesn't get much better than this.
- Daniel Palo, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-22 2003 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In my 17 or so odd years of riding, this is by far the best bike I have ever owned or ridden. I started my street riding on an '84 Ninja 900 in 1987 and have owned many bikes since including a GSXR 1100 and a 2001 Big Dog Husky. This bike is so much more than any other bike. I will never ride another!
- mattu4ea, new bedford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-05 2003 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The first bike I had was a ZX-6, and I wrecked it after two weeks of riding it. Four months later, I bought THE HULK (2003 ZX-12R) contrary to the advice of all other bikers..."that's too much bike, that's too much bike." I'm here to tell you that, being a big man (250lbs of football player), the ZX-12R was a perfect fit! I felt much more comfortable on the bike than on the R6 and actually felt like I had a real bike under me! The excelleration is uncanny and it responds better than any bike I've test drove. The 600s were just too small and uncomforable to me, which lead to my not being able to respond quick to a stupid driver. To the big guys out there... look, get a bike that feels right and respect the throttle! You can't go wrong with the 12!
- The Hulk, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-04 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently purchased my second Kawasaki and am over the moon with it, I also got a great run out deal. I test rode the Busa and the Black bird as well as all of the litre bikes. I have been riding for only 8 years and am 25. I believe that the ZX-12 is the best bike on the market at the moment. It handles just like a six hundred but with heaps of power. Go buy one, you'll love it!
- Paul, Brisbane, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-25 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I`ve being riding bikes since my early teens. From small mopeds to dirt bikes and supersports. I`ve always been a great fan of Honda`s and especially the CBR line. My last two bikes were a '96 Honda CBR600F and later on a '98 CBR900. And I must say that I never thought that I could switch to another maker-model. Right up until I met up with a friend`s '02 Kawasaki ZX12-R and I got to test ride it. I felt instantly in love with the bike! So I decided to go for a 12R after my CBR900. So I bought a 2004 model early this year. What can I say! It`s probably the best bike I`ve ever ridden. It's rear 160hp delivery is an amazing fact. The bike accelerates like a missile with all gears (you can use this bike as an automatic moped. Just put a 4th in gear and forget about gear changing). Under sudden acceleration there`s a small hesitation point at about 3000-3500 rpm, but I think that this is due to the large displacement and the huge 46mm throttle bodies that the bike has, and at most cases it`s almost unnoticeable. The suspension is great and the rear uni-track sytem, seems to work just fine. Although I must say that in twisty roads and at quick paces, you feel the bike a little "loose". Braking power is more than enough and under heavy braking you feel comfortable without losing any info from the front. The bike is very comfortable for a supersport (better than any CBR, R1, GSXR etc) and you can use it for some basic road trips, but it can't be compared with the comfort that a sport-touring bike offers (like a CBRXX). But I guess that when you`re buying a bike like this, comfort should be the last thing that you must consider (no pain no gain). Building quality is unmatched (Kawasaki has no rival on the subject, Japanese makers wise) and the looks are spot on (it does great and it looks great as well). The oversized Titanium muffler produces a "chill-thrilling-big kahuna" sound (trademark of all Kawasaki sports bikes). I personally replaced it though, with an Akrapovic carbon muffler, and it sounds even better. I forgot to mention that this bike is very maneuverable (that`s a big plus if you`re living in a city) and easy to drive (even if you`re a beginner. Just pay respect to its tremendous power). I use the bike every day to go to work, without any troubles (traffic etc). I could go on and rumbling for the ZX12R for ages. The overview is that this bike offers a lot, and not only to the speed freaks.
- John, Athens, Greece

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-27 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Kawasaki Heavy Industries proves their point by building the fastest street production bike ever seen. They set the standard for high performance like no other. Just think, the next generation of sportbikes will utilize many of the ZX-12R's highly refined technologies. that's what a flagship standard does for the future. It makes the next generation even better. I ride my 2000 ZX-12R with grace and confidence knowing the bike can deliver an incredible amount of power. 150 MPH stand-up wheelie is not something an inexperienced RIDER should attempt, but I am here to tell you, this bike does it with ease. I have owned several other bikes in the past 27 years, and from a rider's perspective, the ZX-12R is definitely an engineering advancement.
- DC12R, wilmington, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-05 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yes this is my first bike, and I am in love with the bike already. I am 42 years old and have wanted a bike since I was a teenager. I took the MSF course and have my endorsement. I got such a good end-of-the season deal on the bike, I could not turn it down. Anyway, this bike is a dream; It makes up for all my mistakes. Take offs from stand still are effortless. I am in the break in period, however she has reinforced my confidence with each ride. Things I have noticed: 1. At low speeds (limited by break-in recommendations) it blows a lot of heat on your legs by the dual fans. HOWEVER, THIS IS NOT NOTICED AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. 2. Needs a steering dampener. The head shakes with hard acceleration on freeway. 3. Need to change stock shock settings, she gets jumpy on rough pavement.
- David W., Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-03 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new 2003 zx12r and I love it. This is my 4th bike and nothing can compare.I'm still breakin mine in all I can say is awesome.
- clinton oulds, chesterfield, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-30 2003 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I must admit I'm a Kawasaki guy, but I have owned Honda's as well, but mainly the big ZX 11's a '92 and a '97. This bike is so totally different. It is a tall feeling bike. Brakes are a 4 out of 5, very good, little fade, even in the twisty stuff. Suspension is a 5 out of 5, I haven't even adjusted anything and it is so smooth that my buddy just picked up a 12R because he rode mine over the bad road we have here and knew it was a much better riding bike than his '98 ZX9. Power is a 5 out of 5, how can you complain with 170 hp 91 fpt it's a land rocket. Handles well unless you are a pro rider you'll think it is great in the tight stuff. I can keep up with my crew who ride ZX9 and 954 and a 750 Kat and as soon as I get a chance the torque just rails me out of the apexes. I just completed a 3800 km trip it was packed like a mule and it ran like a top, never a problem. Comfort is a 5 out of 5 for a tall rider, it is great with a lot of leg room. Add to this the mirrors, they actually work! No kidding. Overall so far, I have very little to complain about. It is a great bike that does everything a good sport touring rig, a good commuter bike, and a fun in the turn's bike should do.
- Dan, Peace River, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-08 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second ZX12R, I bought the very first one in 2000, this 2004 version is a lot better. Great highway bike for those over 5'10" but handles very well for a big bike in all turns, especially the long sweeping turns. Bike stays planted when you want to twist it wide open, but hold on... at around 6800 rpms it really takes off. It rides smooth though, you don't bounce around or feel like you're out of control. I don't find the seat very comfortable but then again, I do have a boney butt. I bought a butt buffer and this really helps, during the winter I'll will be redoing my seat. I will also be adding Helibars to bring up the bars a bit. FUN BIKE. I couldn't ask for better... you get on and never want to get off.
- MARK, MONTREAL, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-10 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The ZX12r is the first bike I have ever owned. More than a few people have told me that I am crazy for buying it for my first bike but it fit me like a glove. The first summer that I had it I put over 8k miles on the bike. I bought it used with 4k. It has been unreal. The bike is sooo fast and easy to flick that it enables me to make "experienced" riders look silly in the bendies and you can forget about catching me in the straghts. I have wrung her neck over and over and she still loves me and comes back for more. Top speed is every bit of 200mph. You better believe that the zx12 will bring tears to your eyes in more ways than one.
- Silver Bullet, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-16 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have come off of a 1989 cbr600 a classic, but since I got this Ninja I haven't looked back. The power is unreal and I have no mods. It handles like a dream. Everyone said it would be too heavy, but in the twisties I keep up with my buddies and their 600's. And on the highway it's over. All they see is my back. So in conclusion, buy it now. And it's great for the taller people because it sits great so my legs feel better on those long rides.
- manny, new haven, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-02 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my ZX-12R. It is the greatest bike out for tall riders or any for that fact. So far no one can keep up, not even Busas. If you are looking for a bike to be the king of the streets get this one. And I am saying this during break in!
- Tommy, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-18 2003 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for almost a year. In my stable is a ZRX1200, previously a Suzuki 1500 and an Interceptor. For my height, this ride was perfect. As for performance, I ride regularly with a '02 Hayabusa. The Hayabusa has a Two Brothers system, PC3r and K&N. I kill him every time through about 170 where we usually run out of room... definitely much more of a fun bike.
- Rudy, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-05 2004 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my ZX-12R. It's my fourth Kawasaki and I plan to stay with Kawasaki forever.
- K. Harris, Killeen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-04 2003 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second ZX-12R, I first purchased the 01 model, and I took that to Prescott AZ, & the Grand Canyon. My first ride on my new Silver bike but it was unforgettable, at 146.miles. Life began to take on new meaning. It responded well, just a twitch of ones butt and you where off into that direction. The engine purred like a lion & the breaks stop you on a dime and gave change if you wanted. I must say a feature that goes sadly unnoticed is the hazard light's they have come in handy more than once. This is a feature all motorcycles should come with. To make a long story short, buy it if you like carving up the mountains & roads and your fellow bikers. It's worth it!! Now I have the Green Machine off to Virginia we go.
- JOANN, DENVER, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-20 2003 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third Kawasaki and it just gets better, 2-ZX-11's previously. The ride, the power, and the handling are right on point. A larger rider can have drivability and comfort. 1/2 mile to the long haul, this bike can do it all with style. No bubbles here (Busa). Get one, before your buddies find out what they are missing and beat you to it.
- Strykker, Waldorf, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-23 2003 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My ZX12-R now has almost 25,000 miles on it and runs as strong as it did the day I bought it. I have not had any problems with it. Well, I guess one, it eats tires. This bike will blow away any bike out there. It is light for its size, but it has a whole lot of power. This thing can do 0 to 60 in about a second. Make sure you are holding on. I have had my bike up to 175 mph, and it still has a lot to go, the road was just to short so I backed down. I still had about 4,000 RPM before red line. Want a fun bike, this is it. This thing is sturdy and holds onto the road, never laid it down, not even close, you can lean this thing and pull it right back up. RIDE SAFE !!!
- Bobby, Chula Vista, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-17 2003 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I love it! Unlike the other guy who posted, I have never dropped it and don't see how you can if you know the mechanics of how a motorcycle works. I have no problem with it...the only thing I had to do was learn the clutch and throttle. I don't ever see why you would drop it unless you hugged a fast corner too tight...but that's just me. Of course you should read a lot on bike riding before getting on one and you won't drop it! But this bike puts a smile on my face constantly! Just put 300 miles on it in 3 days, my first 3 days EVER on a bike! Its not the cc that you have to worry about, it's about you learning the throttle control w/the clutch. You can die on any bike...so if you want it get it...I love it! Just make sure you are at least 5'10....Buy It!!
- Nick G, Wilmington, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: