Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles Reviews (24)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-06-27 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a pretty awesome bike, some may think that it has lots of ancient technology but this is what keeps it reliable and easy to maintain (atleast for me), I bought a used Zx6e with 2500 miles on it and now at 10500 miles on it with zero problems whatsoever, the thing just works, all I kept doing was a regular oil change. Has speed when you need it , hit 145 MPH before I chickened out with enough juice left to do atleast 155 Mph. Comfort is average , Butt starts going stiff on the stock seat after like 70 miles, performance is good to average considering it's a very heavy bike compared to some of the new ones. If you are looking for a regular commuter bike and want something which would pass as a sports bike this one is for you. Only complaint I have is you have to remove like a zillion interlocked and unreachable screws on the fairing to get to the innards of the engine.
- Sundara Pandian, Herndon, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-06 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been around a while. Now the new name badge is ZZR600, but it is still a ZX6. I recently purchased this bike used with 7100 miles and now have 10,000+ after just a month of ownership. This could easily be one of the forgotten greats. Comfortable, fast enough to keep you scared if you dare push yourself that hard on the street. Great for back roads, one or two up. If you find a used one or are considering the ZZR600, trust me, you won't be disappointed.
- DDAY, KANNAPOLIS, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-09 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lots of motor, sound ergonomics, and nice detail touches (like fold-out bungee hooks) make this the base for a great sport-tourer. Put on an aftermarket seat, firm up the suspension, remove the stickers, and you've got yourself a bike that'll let you do big miles in style and comfort, and have fun on twisty roads. <P> I've put 4000 miles on my 2002 in less than a year, and I really like it. It's small enough to handle sharply but big enough for highway riding. Think middleweight BMW K1200RS or less-expensive Honda VFR. <P> The red attracts attention: From cops who think you're riding one o' them Duck-artis at 100mph, from people on the street who go "Wow, nice bike!," and from cell-phone-yakking SUV drivers whose reptile brains dimly recognize it as something like a big stop sign.
- Chris Charuhas, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-22 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own an '02 ZX-6 and currently have 6500 miles on the bike. The ZX-6 is a comfortable and fun way to commute daily for me. Other than a little extra weight, it keeps up well with most 600's. On the highway, the ZX-6 is smooth and stable even at speeds in excess of 150mph. Recently I put away a TL1000S on a local freeway. GREAT top-end power! I recommend this bike to anyone who has a passion for riding daily. The ZX-6 also handles amazing for the "softness" of its suspension. If you want a race bike, dont buy this street fighter, buy the ZX-12R.
- Will S., Pasadena, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-19 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am +7000 miles into my cross country journey, on my 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX6 -and I am having a blast. For those who say sports bikes are not comfortable for this type of a journey - I can prove them wrong. I came here from Argentina to do this ride, alone, and haven't been dissappointed yet.
- RussellF, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-01 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Dont be fooled, for those who value the all 'round bike with comfort, power, speed, low seat height! this is for you. Stable as a rock at highway speeds and easy to maneuver at low speeds. Great power and smooth transmission. This is 1993 technology but the bike looks great and unless you are some sort of speed demon or track fiend I dare the everyday rider like myself to challenge this bike's limits. Down sides usually cited are weight, but I feel this helps stability on the highway. True, the suspension is a little "soft" but I prefer to call it "cruising plush". Great bike, recommend it to anyone who wants a cheap, awesome looking sports tourer. Not sure about aftermarket stuff yet, have about 1500 miles on the bike and look to keep this for the long term. Finally the 780mm/30.6inch seat height is perfect for the vertically challenged, drive one and you wont be let down by this old 600 cc champion.
- edmd, phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-09 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the third bike that I've owned and I'm reasonably satisfied with it. It has a very smooth, fairly powerful engine once you rev it out, an upright seating position, and a decent fairing (I like the look and quality of the plastics and such in the cockpit). As far as complaints, the seat is comfortable for about an hour, bodywork has to be removed in order to change the preload on the rear shock, and the pegs are fairly high for what some consider a sport-tourer. It is a little heavy for a sport-bike, but this actually makes it comfortable on the highway. My advice? Buy this if you want an inexpensive do-it-all bike, but if you want a hard core sport bike, look somewhere else.
- Cory M, Whitecourt, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-28 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I agree with previous comments. Ancient design and feels it big time. Only good thing about is that it is fast and good for touring. Horrible looks, poor build, Plasticky cockpit, clunky gearbox, Avoid.
- big ben, london, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-03 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow, what a dated bike this is. Kawasaki really need to sort their range of bikes out and drop this old barge. This bike design is over 10 years old and looks and feels it. Bodywork design is from the same era as the original VFR750. Very old fashioned dash and dated layout. I rode a example that only had a few thousand miles on the clock and it felt like it had done three times that thanks to the cheap budget suspension. The brakes are nothing to write home about either. I dislike the bikes detached feel from the front end which doesnt inspire confidence in the corners. This bike only gets two stars from me because it goes quick in a straight line and is comfy to ride and has a decent tank range. Other than that, nothing really to recommend it. My advise is don't bother unless bought at a big discount and you dont mind riding a 10 year old design.
- Dave Roy, Nottingham, Yukon Territory, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-15 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With 35,000 miles in a little over 2 years, my 6E has given great service.I've had some warranty work done (plug wire went bad @ 12,000 and kickstand return spring broke @ 29,000). Other than normal wear items replaced, it's been a great bike. I highly recommend a Corbin seat, GenMar handlebar risers, Throttlemiester throttle control, Yoshimura Zyclone exhaust, Factory jet kit, and 15 tooth front gear,51 tooth rear gear. This combo definitely works for the long haul. Feel free to Email me for more ideas.
- kevin w., Buna, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-29 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a '97 Ninja ZX6 at a steal for $2300. Seeing how I just complete the Maryland Motorcycle Safety Program and this is the first sport bike I've ever ridden and haven't ridden in over 15 years. This joint is a BEAST!!!! Man, as big as I am" 250+ "the bike pulls me like I was in Jenny Craig's program for six years. It fits me does not hurt my back at all. Just feels good. You can just cruise in comfort or take off like a Rocket. LIKE IT LOVE IT. I give it 10's across the board. TORQUE MONSTER!!!!!!!!!!
- Tuflyty, Washington D.C.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-22 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I felt a little sheepish buying early nineties technology. Could've had the SV650 at $1500 less or the 6R at near the same price, but the ZX6E just felt right. The betty wanted another cruiser but I was addicted to plastic that day. NO REGRETS! This bike is all you could want. Great streetable performance, even 2 up with saddle bags LOADS of power. Not a lot of aftermarket stuff but you don't need much. Some helmet buffeting at super-highway speeds. Am planning some GIVI hard bags and a new windshield. With a bigger tank for longer legs, could be better than a BEEMER (meybe). don't be ashamed to like or buy this bike. Your pals on their R1's aren't going to go much faster, and why would you want to. Bargain hard. Ride safe.
- Jef Hed, Beaufort, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 1999 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one nice machine all around. Affordability, Comfort, Performance, and Speed are of the highest standards. I usually go riding with a few 2000 R1's and never have a problem with the pace. This bike will go as fast as you dare, +220km/h.
- Carl, Fredericton,NB,Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-16 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a 1998 Honda Shadow A.C.E. this February for a new 2000 ZX 6. I am more than satisfied with this bike. This is the first sportbike that I've ridden and I am very impressed with the way it handles the curves and how well it feels at higher speeds on the interstate. I enjoyed riding the Shadow and it was a very good bike, but this bike is so much more exciting to ride and the ZX is just as comfortable. The ZX is ever so agile on the winding roads here in West Virginia, and the transmission and the engine are effortlessly smooth. I hope that Kawasaki keeps making sportbikes that handle so well and yet are so comfortable to ride.
- Samuel, Beckley, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 5 years without a bike, I decided the 600 class would be a good start for me to get back into riding. After looking at Yamaha's YZF 600 and Suzuki's Katana 600, I chose the NX6 and am very happy. I am 5'9 and this bike fits like a shoe! Great handling, more power and performance than I ever use and the comfort you need for those longer cross country rides. Highly recommend to everybody that is looking for comfort, reliability and FUN!
- Kris, Marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-04 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In Oct of 99 I purchased my 99ZX6 and love every min I ride it. It really is the best all around bike for everyday use, sport riding and those all day tours. Since then I've put a new Muzzy exhaust system, Jet Kit, and carbon fiber parts on different areas of the bike. My friend has a 99 CBR F4 and I keep up with him very nicely.
- Tom A, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-11 1999 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '96 ZX6E new in '97. After a careful break-in period, I've really put this bike through the ringer. Everything from touring with my wife on the back to serious canyon carving and this bad boy hasn't missed a beat. Even though it's no longer on the cutting edge, its performance is still a thrill. If you're considering buying your first sportbike, take a serious look at the 6E. It's inexpensive, reliable and after 20,000 miles, I still smile from ear to ear every time I ride the thing.
- Ben Gilmore, Aurora, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-09 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding motorcycles just over a year ago. My first bike was a Kawasaki Ninja 500. It was a great bike, but I quickly outgrew it and wished for more performance and refinement. After about 7 months I moved to a Honda CB1000. Plenty of horsepower and very smooth, but its huge size and weight made it very cumbersome. I was about to give up when I read a review about the Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6. It seemed to have all the bases covered. It has enough performance for any sane person, yet it's light and comfortable. After a test drive my mind was made up. Best of all, the bike was overshadowed by the more performance oriented ZX-6R, so I was able to find a new 2000 at a great price.
- Steen, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-25 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchase 2000 ZX6 and I love it. I just finished breaking it in. My bike now is in the shop again after a valve adjustment went bad. It makes more tapping sound after the dealer mechanic adjusted the valves so I took it back and complained about the noise. I hope when I pick up the bike today everything is in tip top shape, otherwise the bike is fast enough for my use and it has a lot of power I'm 5"10 186 pounds.
- Joey Macapagal, Winnipeg

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-03 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a '95 in the spring of '96 and have yet to find anything that can replace it. Stock, a ZX-6 is fast enough and comfortable for all day riding. As good as it is, though, take the time to set the static sag and set the suspension for your weight, and this bike will really handle well. Forget the rap of it being a little heavy, set it up and it goes. don't forget, before the "R" this was the factory race bike. For real thrills, Yoshimura Slip-ons add about 3HP and shave about 2 pounds, without losing any midrange or being noisy. The carburation is already on the lean side, and although the bike ran fine, a Stage One jet kit really brings it alive and adds a few more horses. Drop a tooth off the front sprocket and it's the bomb. Or don't! I rode it for three years and never did a thing except general maintanence. Fit and finish is also very good. Find one, buy it.
- Chris, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-27 1999 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being 5 feet tall with a 28" inseam poses a decision most riders don't have to deal with. What's the best bang for the lowest seat height? I tried plenty of standards and cruisers because I like to at least tippy-toe on both sides at once. Then my friend told me he sat on one of these and was amazed at its riding position. I went to look at it, and ended up buying it. This bike is so easy to handle, and is comfortable for all day use to boot! I never seem to have too much trouble staying with my friend's CBRs in the straight or the twisties. Sure, it isn't the cutting edge of technology, but it seems capable of everything I'm brave enough to try. (Excepting it's tendency to drag the center stand when hustling through the twisties, of course.) My only reason for giving it 4 instead of 5 stars is because the carburetors were set up poorly on delivery which caused it to stall when dropping to idle, sometimes. But that is what warranties are for. A little time spent with my dealer and is seems to be great now. Now it wheelies without having to clutch it :)
- David Shaw, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-19 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
excellent choice Comfortable seating. Plenty of power and performance. Extremely rider-friendly. Best value in class. Absolutely Perfect. No complaints.
- Chris, Long Island , New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-05 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike new in 1999 and my only complaint is some carburetor problems that cause a flat spot at 4000--5000 RPM. If anyone has this problem or any advice on what would cause this would be greatly appreciated.
- DEX, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-17 1999 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike has good power and excellent handling. One of the things that stands out is how comfortable this bike is to ride. It's a bit heavier than I'd like, but once you're rolling, it's light and feathery. High speed stability is good. Ground clearance could be a bit better I think. After grinding the center stand a few times, I removed it. Now I just grind the hero nuts, and part of the lower fairing. After some carb mods and an exhaust, the bike makes great power. For what I use it for, it works great!
- Anonymous, Hercules, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: