Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles Reviews (63)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-06-14 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the ZX-9R a year ago. It had 13k miles on it and I put 11k on it. The power is awesome. The seat from stock was replaced with a Corbin which made a big differance on my butt. The brakes are weaker than say a CBR but once you get used to squishing or pushing the levers and peddle, it's OK. I been getting around 45-51 mpg.'s depending on how much throttle I use. It's a comfy ride. There's a big tank so you can go a little farther. There is no fuel gauge so have to use the trip meter.
- Bugs, Winchester, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-16 1999 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great all-around performer and excellent sport tourer. The last big bore superbike with carburetors. Comfortable with strong midrange and top end. The size and weight of a 600 with the power of an 1100. Smooth and quiet, no need for an aftermarket pipe (I have a 49-state spec bike). Handles great for a big bike, especially since my other bike is a TZR250 (Yamaha). Nice throaty sound from the stock pipe. Good brakes, large 46mm forks, and a 5 gallon gas tank round out this best in class performer.
- Jim, Arleta, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-09 1999 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. I bought it last summer and have already put 12,000 mies on it. Does wheelies with ease through first and second. Handles well too. I do wish it had inverted forks though. I love the rider position. It makes long rides tolerable unlike its competition. I never was big on Kawasaki but I found this one for a good deal and when I read about the reliability and power, it had to be mine.
- billy, durham, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-21 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have driven all kinds of bikes in my 30 years of riding. The 2003 ZX9R is by far the best bike I have driven for over all performace and comfort. I wanted to find a bike that would not kill me after 30 min of riding and I did just that!
- ZX9-R_kid, ohio, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-20 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the ZX9 2 weeks ago and the first time I rode it home, it stalled on me. Fuel ran out without any warning of any sort. I've been wondering eversince what my mileage per gallon was on the ZX9, and finally got an idea. I used the trip odometer and a full tank to get an average. Almost got it the hardway though. Since the bike doesn't have a fuel gauge or any kind of low fuel indicator warning, the bike sputtered and almost stalled AGAIN until I switched the petcock to reserve. I get around 160-170 miles before going on reserve. Aside from that, the missing fuel indicator flaw, the ZX9 is an excellent ride. It's very comfortable with lots of power and lots of torque. Caught myself in 6th gear at a stop with a passenger and rode it out from there!
- glenn, lockport, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-01 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First I will give the negatives: <br />It doesn't have a fuel light, it has the annoying petcock thing, and it takes a little longer to warm up than I am used to. I am not too thrilled about the color scheme (mine is red/purple). The seat was a little uncomfortable (not too bad), but I replaced it with a corbin seat that really wasn't too expensive (about $60) and I haven't had problems since. Another problem I had was with a rear rider leaning a little too much on to me, but that could have just been the girl I was with or the height difference between the new corbin seat and the stock rear seat (I never did find a Corbin or Sargent seat for the rear). That is really it for the negatives. As you can see it is just little nit-picking things. As far as the upside, it is unbelievable. One of the most important things to me is long term comfort, something not easy to find with my lanky 6'4" frame. Not only is it the most comfortable pure sportbike that I have ridden, it is more comfortable than the previous sport tourers that I have owned (2001 BMW R1100S and Triumph Sprint RS), and the cruisers (Honda Shadow and Victory V92C). It is fast enough that I have yet to be consistantly beaten by any other bikes (I generally ride with sport bikes of all sizes), and it is just a blast to ride. Most importantly of all, I have yet to have to do any work on it at all. All in all I would recommend this bike to anyone and I plan to keep this one a very long time.
- Jeff Olofson, Reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-11 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 9R new in the spring of '02 and have never looked back. I have over 19,000 miles on my baby and have to honestly say that it is the BEST all around bike. It has enough power to hang with the big boys on the 1/4 mile, can hang on the twisties yet has the comfort of a Gold Wing. I have a 125 mile round trip commute to work. I have been on rides of 550 miles in one day and still ride the next! All the guys that sit on my nine don't want to but have to admit that the comfort and wind protection makes sense for an everyday rider. I have had no mechanical problems and most of the service you can do yourself.
- James, Saint leonard, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-07 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great all around performance bike. It's good for long highway rides, city riding and loves the twistys. The motor is a little loud from the cam or valves but never affected the performance. Once you get the suspension dialed in, you can do whatever you want on this bike. Overall great bike, no regrets about buying it.
- Anthony Cunningham, Amherst, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-04 1999 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike brand new in 1999, when I got a deal on it from a local Kawasaki dealer, who had too many blue ones (the best color in my opinion). This is an amazing machine, it is very comfortable, nimble and fast. I have started to settle down as a rider and have lost the racerboy wannabe attitude. I find this bike very pleasant to ride fast or slow. A great bike.
- Sean, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-19 1999 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this bike for a year now. The riding position is great not too bent over like a R1 or GSXR. That means you can put on 300-500 miles a day if you wanted to do a little sports touring. The bike handles great. I have ridden with guys with Aprilias to Yamaha Rl's. The ZX9r hangs with them in the twisty stuff. And pulls away in the straights. My bike has a Yoshimura carbon fiber RS3 exhaust. The bike makes about 140hp, which is plenty of power. I smoked a CBR954 the other day. Hands down this is the best all around sports bike made. Ask any one who's rode or has owned a ZX9r. And I have owned a few sport bikes. I love this bike
- Plenty, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-12 1999 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is sweet. This is my frist bike so I am still getting use to the power but the bike is still easy to ride. This is not a racing bike but more of a touring bike that you can ride for hours but don't get me wrong it is very fast (my ZX9 has gone 182mph on a track of couse) I am 5foot 11 and 200 pounds so this bike fits me great.
- Mike bishop, lansing, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-27 1999 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I trade in my shadow spirit for this monster. After the test drive it was all over, but the paper signing. I love this machine. Very fast and light. Thought about the 929 but was not sure on the comfort. Would like to get a Hayabusa in a couple of years. This is perfect for now. More then enough bike for anyone!
- Blade, Smiths Falls, Ontario, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-14 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my 2001 in August 2003 BRAND NEW!! It was a leftover and they gave me a deal I could not pass up. I have been riding a very nice Suzuki GSX-R 750 for the past few years and I loved it, but my 40 y/o body hates it after 1 hour. I wanted a bike that is sporty but comfortable. I am still in the break-in period and have not gone over 110mph, but I can tell that this bike is a monster!! This bike is not the on the magazines 'wish list' because I think that they focus too much on the 'track'. Frankly, I may NEVER go to the track and I'm certain that 90% of the folks who ride these do not either. I wanted a bike that would exceed where my Gixxer failed; be less twitchy in the corners, be comfy, get better fuel economy, have more low and midrange power, do highway speeds without buzzing me to death, etc.. My new ZX9-R does all of these things great and more. It has the longer wheelbase and a lower center of gravity which makes it feel much more planted at speeed and in the corners. It is very comfortable to ride. I have yet to go on a very long ride, but so far it feels wonderful and at my avg. speed of 80 mph the rpm's are at 5,100, so I'm not getting buzzed to death by vibration. It's five gallon fuel tank combined with the 43mpg I seem to average, this bike will be great for long stretches!! The power down low is awesome, a couple of times I forgot to downshift when traffic slowed and found myself in 6th gear, but you can just roll-on the throttle and the torque is there! No downshifting required. With my Gixxer, I had to be above 5K rpm's in order to access the power, this bikes power is available as soon as you press the starter button. The only complaint that I have is that it has no fuel warning light/gauge. I'd hate to get killed someday as my bike sputters to a stop in on the freeway, before I can turn the petcock(I thought they stopped making bikes with these in the 80's?)to the 'reserve' tank. Besides that one item, I love everything else about this bike!!!! I highly recommend it for anyone who wants a sexxy looking sport bike, but is not yet ready to buy the Gold Wing- ok so that may be a bit of an exaggeration, but you get the point.
- Ed, Menlo Park, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-03 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have always liked the 9. I needed a sportbike that felt a bit bigger than the current supersports. I like the extra heft cause it takes some of the pounding of the road better and the awesome wind protection is great. Its has decent low end torque but you will need to wind it up a bit to get it going. Mid range and top end are a scream. And it's comfortable. I added helibars and now can travel with zero wrist pain.
- Jon, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-26 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best real world bike around especially for the price, the silver color is sick!!! still can hang with the other superbikes without you having to get back surgery....cant wait until the 2004 model...
- Big Meeks 365, AWKSNARD

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-20 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Actually , I wanted to buy a 2002 model ZX-9R which is carb-ed , but after test riding the 2003 model , I was hooked . The new model has the same performance of the preceding model which is great ! better buy when compared to an R1 or a GSX1000R !!!
- Lokesh, bangalore, India

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-12 2003 Kawasaki NINJA ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a new '02 ZX9. I've ridden 600's for 6 yeards and I love the extra displacement,comfort and prowess the 9 has. I think of the ZX9 as the best of a Yamaha R1 and a Honda VFR800. I can't give anything 5 stars because nothing's perfect. Great price compared to the R1 and GSX1000R!
- Mike, Santa Barbara, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-14 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Couldn't find any other place to post a question. Hopefully I don't get into too much hot water for doing it here. Needed a few lines of opinions for Kawi riders about their ZX-9's. Heard all the phrase but I just want to be also prepared for any issues that might come up. Thanks for the help in advance. From what I've read and test rode this is the bike for me. First one and all but I'm limited due to my size. 6'2" at 250 lbs.
- Bishopxl21, Glendale, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-27 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike! I've been devoted to Yamahas for the last 5 years but this bike is increadible. I've looked at and riden the 3 competitors (R1, CBR, and GSXR-1000) but this is by far my first choice. The Niner makes more ponies than either the CBR or R1 after just a little carb tunning, K&#038;N filter and a Yoshi pipe. Which all together with the cost of the bike still beats compitition prices. My bike is pushing 139.6 HP at the rear wheel. The wheight difference is nominal between it and other liter classers. For street use this is the best 01 bike you can buy. Especially if your a large rider 6 foot +. The ergos are comfy for hours at a time and the bike will do everything and then some. I started riding this bike in the rockies, on nice twisty mountain roads, handling is excellent, and you come to appreciate the stability gained from the extra weight on poorly maintained roads. If your looking for a bike that is capable of anything on the street and more than enough for local track days, this bike is awsome.
- Rider, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-11 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased my first 2001 Kawasaki Race Green ZX-9R. I&#8217;ve been riding off and on for several years now, my very first bike being a 1975 100cc Yamaha Enduro. From the dirt I graduated to the street with a 1984 Honda V-45 Interceptor, 1988 Ninja 600, and the last bike before my ZX9-R was a 1989 FZR 1000. My ZX9-R is fantastic, very quick, and the bike seems as if it reads my mind when I want to turn (very light feel). Arguably, it has more than enough power for the street, in any gear. In sixth gear at 40mph I rolled the throttle back and I was nudging 100mph before I knew it. No lag, hesitation. I&#8217;m not too interested its top speed of ~160mph on the street, I&#8217;m not brainless. At a stop from 1st the bike will stay with and beat most anything I come across. I haven&#8217;t done any serious &#8220;canyon carving&#8221; yet, but from what I experienced my bike will hold its own. Some &#8220;crazy&#8221; riders on the new 600s and good riders on the GSXR 1000, Honda 954RR, and the R1&#8217;s might give me some trouble and pull away (just a little) in the turns, but I&#8217;ll suck the headlights out of those new 600s on the straights. Besides, the R1 and Honda 954 the Pros say are the best on the track won&#8217;t get away from me in the real world. Overall I love my ZX9-R. Not to mention it has better looks than any other bike out there. Can&#8217;t beat the price either.
- Conrad , Rio Rancho, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-08 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think this is the best looking bike made in 2002, everyone loves the color of the bike I traded my ZRX-1100 for the 900 you can feel the torque difference but maybe thats because of the 4000 rpm rule for the first 500 miles. I need some help my 900 developed a chatting sound coming from the engine. Customer relations stated the 02 ZX-9 are noisier than the 01 the only problem with that answer my bike started making the chatting sound at 240 mile so far they haven't stood by their warranty. I have done everything they ask, compared my bike to another 02 900, and got three different mechanics to listen to the bike all three say they never heard that sound.
- DENNIS L KEY, PENSACOLA, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-17 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only had this bike for a couple of weeks. I had a really tough time chosing between it and the GSXR 1000. In fact I am still wondering if I made the right choice. Partly because the GSXR reminded me of my 91 GSXR 1100 that I have always regretted selling. I have been without a bike for about 5 years since selling that GSXR. I looked at all the reviews and I thought the 9R was the best all around bike in the open class. My buddy is riding a 2001 R1 and I am not having any trouble staying with him. This bike has a really nice feel to it. I have an 80 mile round trip commute to work and I have found the bike to be a lot more comfortable than my old GSXR. The bike handles corners better than I will ever be able to, so I don't feel like I am limited by the machine I am riding. Since I am still breaking the bike in, I haven't pushed the tach to the limits I would like to. I have been impressed with the powerband (it is very smooth and the speed will creep up faster than you would believe). I give it 4 stars, because it is lacking in a couple of areas. The first is that it doesn't have a fuel light. I know that may seem trivial, but one more light and a float couldn't have added enough weight to make that much difference in the performance. At least if I had a light I wouldn't have been running through the gears passing a line of cars when the bike started to stutter. It is pretty tough to find the reserve switch at high speed in the face of an oncoming Peterbuilt. The other thing is that it does have a little hesitation/stutter at low rpm. All the reviews mentioned this, but I never thought it would bother me. Those first 500 miles when you have to keep it under 4000 rpm make it very frustrating. If the bike was fuel injected I think it would be a lot tougher. All in all, I think I made the right choice. The only thing that really bothers me is that I know the GSXR has more power. Even though I can't handle the power of the 9R, the desire to have more power is tough to deny.
- Tim, Poplar Bluff, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-10 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 2 years and 20,000+ miles with no problems, This is still a good all around pick. A pipe and jet kit make 134hp. The Corbin seat gets rid of any butt burn. 600 mile days anyone? It cound handle better, but it still handles better than I can ride. I know the gsxr, r1, 954, duc &#038; milie are faster, lighter, kooler. Just sit on one for a couple of hours. OK maybe I'm a sport/touring old guy cause I can smoke bemmers, cbrs &#038; sprints.
- Barry Beckemeyer, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-28 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I struggled recently on my new bike purchase, I've owned numerous sport bikes over the years, but now I needed my last sport bike that I would really excersize before old age creeped up on me. With my riding associates purchasing new bikes, an R1 and GSXR-1000, I knew I had to pick something with power and reasonable handling. Well, we're all 45-48 years old, and my choice of the 2000 ZX9RE is proving to be the best for we mature riders. Living in Southern California, we have excellent roads to attack. I find that on smoother roads, my ZX9 can leave my pained friends behind. The GSXR-1000 is smooth, with compliant suspension and a turbine like power delivery, but its extra power rarely helps in real world road riding. The R1 is quite capable, but I notice the longer we ride, the slower my companions go, so it's obvious to me that the ergo's on my bike allow longer missions. On rougher roads, the suspension's harshness shows itself with a few problems holding a fast line resulting. I suspect a bit of fiddling will improve somewhat. Other than a bit more mechanical noise than other bikes, the Kawasaki is the first choice for the mature sport rider who must first ride the freeway for an hour or so to get to the good roads. My 2000 went out the door in September, 01 for $8400 vs. $11300 for the GSXR-1000 my friend picked up. I have a better all arounder, he has a smoother, more powerful, more refined bike- none of which makes it faster on the roads we ride! The Kawasaki's rough edge begs you to thrash it, the Suzuki demands you are more controlled with your inputs, personally, the Kawasaki is just plain more fun to ride!
- Jon M, Anaheim Hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-05 2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I finally did it. I bought a crotch rocket. This is after I swore I never would. It is a very good bike. This is my fourth bike in less than a year and half. I am going to keep buying until I find the bike I can't live without. The zx-9r is a really fast bike. It is a lot more comfortable than I would have thought. I've already been on a 500 mile trip on it and it did a lot better than I thought. I was hurting some when I got home, but overall the bike did a lot better than I thought it would. The performance of this bike is a lot more than I will ever use. I can't understand why you would want more. I read the test and comparisons and the zx-9r always comes in last! Why, I can't understand. It has a lot more performance than 99% of most people will ever use. The test talk about how it is not the best track bike there is. How many of you actually go to the track? Its straight line performance is awesome. I gunned it in first gear and it pulled so hard I up shifted into second without using the clutch, this was by accident because I was pulled back so hard I missed the clutch lever. The motor makes a little noise but you get used to it. One of my buddies drives a Honda f4i and he says my bike is more comfortable than his and that my gearbox is so much smoother. So far the only complaint I have is that the bike is not a two-up bike.
- Felix A Valadezf, Midwest City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: