Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles Reviews (25)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-12-20 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been looking for a long time for a motorcycle that fits me, and one day I stumbled upon the ZZR1200. When I got on, it fit me like a glove. I have looked at Hondas and Yamahas and they didn't come close. I have a 2002, this thing is like a rocket when it takes off - it has a lot of power and handles like a dream. It has great gas mileage and awesome performance. Too bad Kawasaki won't be making anymore. They moved up to the zx-14. Ride Safe.
- Jayson Trewburg, Land O Lakes, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-16 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off I gave the bike a 4 star rating for reliability due to a lingering issue with the cams. It's a minor problem with pitting that has never left anyone stranded, but it's out there. And for comfort I took off one star for the stock seat. This bike is a powerhouse. Not many people know this bike is one of the fastest in the world. A published 187mph in some reviews and 145 rear wheel horse. What I most enjoy about the bike is its motor. This thing is a steady pull with no defined power band, it just keeps pulling. It's fun to pull up beside the young bucks on there ultra light sport bikes and then blowing there doors off. You can even spank the bottom of the 1000cc super sport bikes. Really shocks the youngsters that a big bike with a wide fairing whips up on there once thought to be invincible super bikes. Big, fun, powerful, comfortable and a sleeper if speed is your thing. They'll never see you coming till it's too late.
- Pwrslave, missoula, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-16 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Zed is a unique bike. that's why I love her. You don't see many on the road, and not many folks are talking about them, but i don't think that is any fault of the bike. It has more to do with the lack of press this bike actually gets in the mags. But be thankful, becuase what the mags. choose to overlook could be the best kept secret in the sport touring world. Sure it doesn't have FI, a shaft drive, standard hard bags, ABS, or an adjustable windshield, but it is a darn good value. Lots of good deals can be found on these bikes if you can find one that's been sitting on a dealer floor for a about a year. (not hard to do really). For the kind of perfomance you get at that price it think it's a really good deal. Not only that, but when you compare performance of the Zed to other bikes that are in its class, or the bikes that have all the "bells and whistles" it will eat them up, or at least give'em a really good run for their money, both figurativley an literally. And I don't just mean in a straight line either. I chucked the stock bridgestone 020s and got a set of Avon 45/46 ST tires and it transformed the bike from a school bus to a sport bike. I couldn't belive the difference. It feels like it shed 20lbs and the ride is better too. I am scraping pegs and toe sliders and I would have never done that with Bridgestones. Those tires downright scared me. I never had any confidence in them. Not only is she a hoot in the twisties but she can go distance too. All of my last 6 rides have been over 400 miles/day. The longest being 550 miles in about 11 hrs. stopping for fuel and lunch only. I did a 1500 mile trip on a four day weekend once too. 250 miles between fillups. On my old bike (MG V11 sport) I used to make the 2hr ride on the curvy mountain roads for some lunch and then come home. Now I ride to the coast for lunch! 5+hrs away over the mountains, through the valleys, by the rivers, in the canyons etc. Hello sport touring! (It's box stock except for big rubber Oring I use for my cruise control, and I get a sore butt after a couple hours but I'm only 28 and can deal with it. A custom saddle is not far away though. Wrists can get a little sore from pushing on the bars after riding her hard through the twisties, and the clutch gets a little tiresome to pull in when doing the same after a while. I kinda short shift it though, and let the 80+ ft/lbs of torque launch me to the next corner. Some folks would rather rap it out... depends on your riding style I guess. You choose. I'm also going to try the genmars. The fairing does an awesome job at protecting its rider from the elements. Some folks switch to a touring style windscreen but, the stock has worked fine for me. The motor makes a little buzz around 5k rpm but barely noteworthy. Chuck the thin/hard stock grips for some thick soft gel grips and problem solved. FI? ahhh who needs it?!If you have good FI from the factory it's great, but if it's not, then your hating life. Ask a BMW rider if you don't believe me. The carburation on the zed is really very, very good. I rode it over Lassen pass at 8500' elev. the motor/carberation was an after thought. The ONLY hiccup is a little flatness around 3k rpm, but that can be tuned out by shimming the needles and turning the fuel screws out a couple turns. Problem solved. She just keeps pulling all the way to redline. The bottom and midrange is strong and plentiful with a typical Kawasaki screaming top end. The motor simply rocks. Brakes do a good job of slowing her down. Reliability has simply been a non-issue. Some folks have complained of pitted cams, but to me it seems more like cosmetic issue than a performance/reliabilty concern. This bike has been worry free for the last 6000 miles. It's really a great bike if you find a good deal on one. If I had to pay retail I might look at other bikes though. I'll admit standard hard bags would be nice. A little more adjustability in the suspension would be nice too(compression damping), but realistically how many of us ever tinker with that? The preload and rebound damping adjustments fill the bill for most riders. I haven't really even messed with mine yet. No need. This a is a bike I plan on keeping for a long time. It can only get better from here. I'm looking forward to lots of miles with my silver sweetheart. Enjoy!
- Danimal, K falls, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-07 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought an 02 ZZR-1200 last May 02. Warratny just about up on year one but no warratny work required to date. Have 7500 miles on her so far and just got valves adjusted and third oil/filter change. Three valves out of 16 needed adjusting. In Iowa we only ride about 5 good months. Anyway took her out on a a few 1000 mile weekends and one 4500 miler over 10 days with Harley buddies. Their commnets were always about the locomotive headlight and how they could see me a mile back in the group amongst everyone else. Went to Montana from Iowa by way of Yellowstone,Grand Tetons and stopped through Sturgis a couple of days. She is bulletproof and wants to run. I agree she will be doing a 100 and you have got to watch out because you won't know. I added GIVI saddle bags, and Corbin seat the first month. Stock seat just hurts in a short amount of time so I store it in my basement. My wrist hurts a little after all day rides I added a Throttelmeister for cruising/touring which helps a lot. Still need the 1 inch risers I have heard about but haven't found to take the load off my wrists. Its not unbearable thoguh an much better than my old 1992 ZX-11. She is supposed to do 169 but I don't know personally, but I think she would. Took her to teh top of Beartooth Pass,Wyoming. She climbed it like nothing. I love her.
- Steve Brookshire, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-25 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my ZZR for about 7 months and have 7,300 miles on it. Overall, I am pleased with the quality and workmenship. Kawasaki builds a good bike. Performance and handling is at least at par with its compition. Being a relatively short rider (5'6") the bike can be a handfull in the parkinglot. Once on the road, I experienced no problems, the 600+ pounds of the bike seem to disappear. from day one I replaced the stock seat with a Corbin so I have no experience with the stock seat. I can say that with this setup I can ride all day, stoping every 200 miles to re-fuel. The only problem I had with the bike was after riding 10+ hours in the rain, water entered into the airbox and caused some fuel delivery issues (The bike wouldn't run). Had it repaired and has been performing nicely. The only thing I would alter is the handlebar position. It is a bit of a strech for the vertically challanged. I can see a pair of risers in the future for me. Overall, the bike is a good value.
- Jim A, Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-24 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Fast. Good handling in moderate cornering, be aware with sharp cornering at higher speeds. Not really suitable for pillioning on long winding hauls. Awesome torque up-hill and into stiff headwind! Relatively economical for a big bike. Unfortunately still doesn't o'haul the big Suzi Hayabusa...though perhaps getting closer!
- Leighton, Invercargill, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-23 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just put 3000 miles on the ZZ-R1200 last week inclusive with Givi saddle bags and Corbin seat. Although a bit on the crude side the ZZ-R redeems itself with the yahoo feeling I get when rolling into the throttle coming out of a sweeper, Wow! The bars are just a bit low for me and I will raise them a bit for the long distance runs. Maybe this will help keep my right hand from going numb, due to engine vibration. After about 2500 miles I let go of the bars to rest the right hand and noticed a little shimmy in the front end. This trait was not there when new. Hopefully it is the front tire. The bike takes a bit to muscle it in to the very tightest of hairpins but it is killer in the sweepers. This bike deliver's the adrenaline I need and I can take the wife long distance as well. We will be flying the bike to Europe next summer for a jaunt through the alps. My VFR is refined, my kawasaki is RAW! George
- George Spinali, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-19 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've got just over 1,500 miles on my zz-r and just love this bike. To answer other riders complaints about the buzz from the fairing: it comes from the tip of the fairing, below the windshield, in the center of the headlight. For some reason, there is no rubber gasket on the top of the headlight, which causes the fairing to rattle. My dealer installed some foam under the fairing and cured the problem. I also will be getting the handlebar risers to relieve stress on my wrists. Otherwise, this bike is such a blast, it should be illegal!
- Brian, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-11 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 1,000 miles on my bike in 10 days. I confirm all that everybody else has said: 1. Huge power. 2. Great handling. 3. Great looks/fit/finish. 4. Seat not comfortable - will goose you. Want to replace with Corbin asap. 5. Bars need to be higher - will try the 1" risers and see. 6. Threat to wellbeing of driver license.....one ticket on 6th day. The thing WANTS to go over 100. The trooper gave me a break "because I stopped" and only wrote it for going 70. 7. Rattle in front fairing - headlight loose? Will know on the 20th when shop will remove fairing. 8. Throttlemeister will be installed. 9. Windscreen is nice. I am 6'2", always wear an ARAI, and there is absolutely no helmet shake. Might consider a little bigger screen from Zero Gravity. They are cheap and easily installed or removed - might make long distance even better. 10. Good mileage and range. Expect 250 miles on a tank/reserve. 11. The gas gauge needle didn't move from full at all until 80 miles. Then goes to E in 120 miles or so.....then reserve. 11. The goofy taillights are growing on me. 12. Love the hazard flashers....use them in construction zones, etc. 13. Bright lights are awesome.....like a river barge. Email me if you can give me input on Corbin seat.
- Eric H, Peoria, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-09 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my ZZR1200 in Riverside, CA. Power is unbelivable, Handleing is unbelivable, Looks well they are belivable and very nice. Just put on 279 mi. So I am a nuwbee with this one. I ordered a Corbin Seat, because of the info on this board. Also, got risers and they helped with the wrist. Am looking for a windscreen. I can use the one I have but would like more protection. Came from a Honda Magna, also a very nice cruser type bike. It had a very good windscreen and I miss that but, am not looking back. I realy like this bike. I am 60 yrs old by the way and think if you want a nice tour - sport bike check these out. It took me four months to decide on this one and I am glad I did.
- D. Ricketts, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-09 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome bike! Unfortunately I totalled the first one. For those of you who ride the canyons in So Cal, you may be familiar with Lake Hughes Road, between Lake Hughes and Castaic...well smoking along on a beautiful day, round a corner, and surprise...SAND. Let me just say it was one wild ride...new ZZR to be picked up any day now. On to the review. PERFORMANCE...what can you say...incredible. Recent trip to central Cal with a few riders from the ST.net site and all had sport bikes. The ZZR had no problem keeping up or leading. Santa Rosa Creek and G14, front end is off the ground rounding the tight turns while accelerating. High speed run...no competition...ZZR to 160+ into San Simeon from the north on Hwy 101...rest of the pack well behind. VISUAL APPEAL...almost as nice as watching Pamela Anderson (ok, maybe not quite that nice, but you get the idea). COMFORT...Seems most of us are in agreement when it comes to the wrist/elbow stress. I see quite a few recommendations for the GenMar risers and Corbin seat. I will start with the Corbin and think about the GenMars. Only irritation on my now scrap heaped ZZR was the buzzing from the bowls of the fairing. If you held the fairing below the headlight the buzzing stopped. When you judge the bike for what it is and what you bought it for...most of us here are probably looking to reclaim our youth or to naive to admit we need something MORE comfortable at our stage in life. The full on, bent over, rockets would require most of us to spend an hour of down time in the Jaccuzzi for every half hour of riding time. The ZZR allows me to cruise relatively comfortably, haul ass when I feel the urge, or even scrape the knees if I dare... Bottom line the ZZR is elegant and graceful, but is not afraid to put the gloves on when needed...
- Shizoku, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-06 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A ThrottleMeister is a machined throttle lock that replaces the bar end weight. A matching end is provided for the non-throttle side. It's a quality item and looks sharp on the ZZR. It takes a little getting used to as far as engaging, but it can always be overridden in emergency situations. As always, never use a throttle lock engaged while riding in traffic.
- Mark S, Addison, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-06 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ive got about 2,600 miles on my ZZR now and I can say that I am very happy with it. I wish you could have seen the smile on my face the first time I whacked the throtle open. (After break in of course) Very fast. Nothing like hearing those 4 carbs sucking air at 10 grand. Great handling for a heavy bike too. Doesn't feel heavy in the twisties There is an annoying rattle under the instrument panel when ridding over bumps and a buzzing noise in the same area at around 4 / 5 grand. I got the corbin seat and gen-mar risers. They are definately a big plus for comfort. I am 46 and comfort is verry important. You may have to remove the tank and airbox when you install the gen mar risers. Seems thst these bikes were made in two or three different locations and depending what side of the fork tube the choke cable was routed it could be too much of a stretch when the risers are added. If the choke cable is too tight the rpms will rise as you turn the bars to the left. (not good) What is a throttlemeister? Where can I get one? Will this help my sore right wrist on long rides? Throttle pull seems a bit hard. Someone asked about riding double on the ZZR and I can say that unless you get one of the corbin seats ($299) and backrests ($199) forget it. Puts all of your weight on your passengers right on your wrists. Ok for short rides but that's about it.
- Bob, Manchester , New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-04 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well she just gets better as the miles increase. Did my second service at 2,500 miles. Just checked the chain, oil filter and sync the carbs. I am getting about 38 mpg in the canyons and back roads. Options to date include a Corbin seat, cruise control and custom .75" machined handle bar risers. Typicaly my weekend rides are in the 100 to 200 mile range in comfort, but with the above mods the ZZR can be a great touring machine with a sport kick. I also ride solo, so I can't comment on the passenger aspect but belive it would be fine as well. The best part about the ZZR is you kind of fit in with everyone else. It can keep up with sport bikes if you have the skill, standards and other sport tours no problem. Want to hang out and enloy the view with crusers it all good. Although it is very hard to go slow on, with 145 RWHP.
- Jim, Camarillo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-24 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I PICKED MY ZZR1200 UP IN MARCH AND HAVE OVER 1500 MILES ON HER AND LOVE EVERY THING IT CLAMED TO BE. SHE HANDLES WITH AS SMOOTH AS A BMW AT HALF THE COST. THIS BIKE OFFERS THE " WHY SHIFT ME EFFECT" IN 3RD AND 4TH AND "HAVE A NICE DAY OFFICER IN 5TH, 6TH GEAR IM CALLING HOME "HONEY COME BAIL ME OUT". IVE RIDDEN WITH THE BUSA AND R1 AND CLAIM THE FAME OF WHERE DID HE COME FROM. PERFORMANCE IS THE KEY. AT 175 THE DAMN BIKE KEPT ASKING FOR MORE. BUT MY SENSE OF TOURISM SET IN. IS IT WORTH IT.. YOU MAY ASK. WHEN I PULL UP TO A GROUP OF BIKES, I HAVE THE RESPECT OF BEING A KAW, THE SPORT & TOUR APPEAL, 145 HP TO BACK THAT UP AND THE CAPIBILITY TO HANG WITH THE BIRDS OF PRAY. THAT MAKES THE ZZR1200 THE BEST INVESTMENT IVE EVER MADE.
- DAVE BRUCE, CHARLOTTE, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-15 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Let me start by saying that I'm a big guy. Around 6ft tall and just north of 300lbs. Comfort is really important to me and I can sit on this bike for hours at a time. 4hrs being my longest road trip thus far. The foot pegs are the right height, the reach to the bars is comfortable, and I've got room to get tucked when I need to... And this bike gives me plenty of opportunity to get tucked. I've had a few open expressway triple digit runs and she's as steady as a rock. I love the pull of this bike when it's needed. And at the same time it was completely docile during break in when I had to keep the rpm's under 5,000. It only feels heavy when I'm moving her around in my garage, and she leans over nicely although I don't feel as comfortable raging into the corners as hot as some of my Gixxer riding buddies, it still proves to be a spirited steed in the twisties. Bottom line, at 3,200 miles, I'm confidant I purchased the perfect bike for me.
- Rudy Blyden, Bowie, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-09 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the zzr a couple of months ago to replace my triumph sprint rs,( a good bike, but wanted more top end speed.) Put 4,000 miles on the zzr so far.Yowza! If this bike doesn't clinch bike of the year in every major motorcycle magazine publication this year, I'll be surprised. The motor must have been designed by the horsepower Gods. There are no flat spots or stumbles anywhere in the rev range. You can putter around at 1000 rpm, or you can twist it hard and turn youself into a human guided missile.(Just make sure you don't run out of road before you run out gas!) Which, by the way would be hard to do. I just took a 500 mile ride out to the NY Finger lakes region and got 223 miles on the odo before I had to switch to reserve. Mind you I was riding conservatively. If you've got a completely undisciplined throttle hand, this thing will drink gas like Benny Hill drank beer! Tank capacity is what it should be for the sport touring role. If your concerned about the bikes 609 lb wet weight, don't be. This bike handles as good as anything I've ever ridden.(And having owned a 2001 gsxr 750 and an svs 650, thats saying something.) At an indicated 160,the bike was as stable as an Amtrak sleeper car! Only a couple of complaints. First, the bike is not as comfortable as it should be, given its role as along distance mount.The driver portion of the seat is to thin, so after 150 miles or so I have to stand up on the pegs to stretch. Your butt won't get numb, it will be in pain. Also, there is quite a bit of pressure on the wrists at slower speeds. I'm 6 ft and 185 lbs. so these things may not be an issue for a rider with a different physical stature. At any rate, these things are probably easily remedied with some after market snap on stuff. I'm going to keep the zzr totally stock because that's how I like my bikes. Besides, adreneline overcomes pain and discomfort.Riding the zzr, you can rest assured that there will be a prodigious amount of adreneline in your bloodstream.
- andrew montalvo, albany, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-23 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've got only 170 mi on my ZZR and I really love it so far. I can't wait until I get past the first 1,000 mi break in period so I can find out what she's really made of. But so far it's satisfied my need for a sport tourer with tons of hp and handling. Weight on the hands is a little heavy (I kicked the Harley to the curve this is my first non cruiser)And on my bike there seems to be a buzz/vibe coming from the windshield area (anyone else experience this?)Other than that it is a awesome bike and would recommend it to anyone looking for a sport tourer with size, power!!, comfort, styling, handling and serious brakes. Be nice to see some accessories. DWB
- DWB, Frederick, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-17 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded up from a 2000 Concours and after 1700 miles, I am not looking back at all. This bike is everything I wanted out of the ZG1000 and 10 times more... The styling is great, the braking performance is impressive even under hard braking conditions, the handling is awesome in the corners (even with a passenger). And the heart and soul of this machine, the powerplant, is simply... dynamite! I commute on the SOCAL cement slabs on a daily basis, and up in the twisitiesd on the weekend... After tweaking the preload a little, the ride is somewhat improved on the slabs. I am very interested in hearing from other ZZR owners as to the availability and installation of the GIVI saddle bags and an alternate windshield for colder weather. Would appreciate any feedback...Overall, this bike is the best I have ever been on...And YES, it can keep up with the Hayabusa...
- A. Carroll, Yucaipa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-03 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, wow. I dont even know where to start with this bike. I just got off a 2002 Honda CBR954RR (yeah I know different class sorta, but still) and this ZZR is amazing. It has incredible power, incredible comfort and is by far the best bike I have ever ridden. I got it today and went for a 250 mile ride and didnt stop for anything but one fuel stop and was right back on the bike. I ride with people who ride sportbikes, cruisers and tourers and this ZZR makes them all jealous. My friend has an ST1100 and he hates it now, he's getting a ST1300, but considering serious looking for another ZZR. I called all over the state looking for one and finally my dealer got me one, man am I glad. What more can you ask for. 1. Power 2. Looks 3. Comfort What more is there? Ok, enough drooling. In short this bike rocks.
- Dave, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-02 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked up the bike today from the dealer. Found the power to be amazing and the steering precise and light. Love the looks. Even the oddball tail lights are growing on me. Too much pressure on my wrists, though. Definitely need a throttle lock and a set of risers before I would venture out for a long ride. Noticed I slid forward in the seat a lot. I'd say a Corbin might alleviate that problem. Still, the problems are few and the bike is a looker and a performer!
- Mark S., Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-25 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well after 1200 miles I am very happy with the bike. it's first service was easy, just oil and filter change. Checked the chain tension and bled the brakes. It's incredibly fast above 5K, the power just keeps building as the rpm climbs. Your into triple digits before you know it. Someone at the Rockstore looked at its wheel base and thought it won't handle corners. Not true, while it's not a R1, it will handle corners as well as any sport touring bike. I like the stock wind screen at 5' 7" it works just fine for me. Still waiting on the corbin seat, hope to lower my seat height by .5 inches. My throttlemiesters off the bandit fit fine with a small spacer. Suspension was almost set perfect from the dealer. I weight 160 lbs and left the preload stock, just turned up the rebound damping one click and let a few psi out of the tires and it's dialed in. Hope thats helps any perspective buyers who are looking for a sport bike thats comfortable.
- Jim, Camarillo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-22 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Quite a bike! I now have 1400+ miles since early April of almost daily riding and commuting. The engine is smooth and strong with a jump in power after crossing the 4000 rpm mark. The brakes are strong with good control. The engine never runs hot even in traffic on 90+ degree days and when it does climb off the warm mark it drops back down as soon as you move. The seat is comfortable but slippery (a Corbin coming) and the ride position is good without too much weight on the wrists. The only complaint is that the windscreen could be bigger - at speeds above 50 mph there is alot of helmet buffetting (waiting for Zero Gravity's ST screen). Hard bags coming (GIVI) so that my wife and I can use it for what it is designed - sport touring! A wonderful machine!
- Earl Gottfried, Coral Springs, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-20 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, I'm a life long rider with 31 years of experience on everything from a Honda Super 90 to a harley Softail Custom. This is my first Sport Touring bike and I bought it because basically I was tired of going low and slow and I wanted something different. Boy did I ever get that! First impressions... I love this bike!!!! When you start it you get a nice satisfying sound between a growl and a purr. It idles very smoothely with no hiccups or sputters. The clutch pull is a little more than I'm used to, and when I put it into gear I get a little jump from the bike. Taking off from a stop is effortless, just slip the very smooth, progressive clutch out and give the bike very little throttle and she'll move out smartly. Shifting through the gears is slightly notchy and up- shifts will require a moderate amount of pressure. The six speed tranny seems very close spaced and neutral requires quite a bit of effort after you've come to a stop. Riding the bike is a dream! Even though I can't go over 4000 RPM yet I can tell this is going to be one fun bike to ride. The handling is very nertral and the bike responds in kind to the rider inputs. The breaks are great especally the front. I love these breaks!!! They are very easy to modulate and give good feedback to the rider. The ergos are fine and I certanly have enough room for my 32" inseam legs (not cramped like my '96 Monster). My only complaint so far is the amount of pressure on my palms while riding in town. I'll address this with some GenMar risers as soonas their available. that's about it for now time to go out and enjoy.....
- Warren Merritt, Brunswick, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-17 2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZZ-R1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked up my new ZZR1200, the first in CT. The power of this bike is un-real, I traded in my trusty BMW K1100, The sporty riding position will take some getting used to, but the power and handeling will be well worth it.Rode 100 mi today, 35degrees. Wind protection is good for a sport bike. Fit and finish are first rate. Can't wait for break in to be over so I can really get down on it. Only problem so far is that I keep sliding forward on the seat, no problem corbin saddle on the way($299).
- Louis Tortorich, Bozrah, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: