Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles Reviews (39)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-02-22 2000 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Outstanding! I bought it instead of the Goldwing. At $4,000 I was initially drawn to it by price. However, I think they are heads above Goldwing and I have owned both. It doesn't have reverse but everything is adjustable to suit the rider and with a Goldwing, you get what you get. It's trouble free, too. Just normal maintenance, I couldn't be happier. It rides like a dream and a missile on the super slab. I used 2-up on long trips and pulling trailers, too. I wish they would do away with the current version of the Vulcan Voyager and return to what this bike is. Maybe updated styling and use the Concourse 1400 engine and price it like the BMW/Goldwing. You have already surpassed them at all levels of bikes of that day. They did need an upgrade in styling and such but in my opinion took the new Voyager 1700 down the wrong path. If Kawasaki does that, they will walk away from the competion.
- mawxo, atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-01-01 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My brother has a Goldwing 1500 and it isn't as good compared to a Voyager 1200. Voyager is faster, better looking and easier to work on, too. It will out-run Goldwing hands down and it's smooth. It's great in the twisties and even better on the interstate slab 45-50 mpg. I have a 95 Voyager and it's a peach, adjustable everything, too. The factory seat is bad, but with the money I saved, I bought a Russell day-long seat...wow, and still have about 5 grand to play with. I do wish they had a reverse gear when pulling a loaded trailer but enjoy the savings even more. I have ridden the Harleys and Hondas and Yamaha touring bikes. This is hands down a winner for me.
- maxxo, cleveland, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-02-01 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had many bikes in the past but nothing like this!!!! It is very quick and extremely smooth. It will cruise at 85 mph. all day in comfort, 45-50 mpg. to boot. It has a lot of leg room and seats. The handle bars adjust to your personal fit. My brother-in-law has a 92 Goldwing 1500 and I like this much better. I like the seat shape as it is more flat and you can move around much more as your are travelling. The seat cushions could've been thicker but it was built to a price point and most people upgrade from stock seats anyway. It is very durable and easy to work on when it is needed. Mine is a 2000. I also pull a Bushtec trailer loaded down as well. When pulling a trailer, it's just as smooth and powerful as it can be. All of this, at half the price of a Goldwing.
- jeff c., atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-03 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 Kawasaki Voyager with only 1 mile on it. The bike has been great overall. The pros: proven design, reliable, smooth and responsive, large trunk will hold two full size helmets, roomy saddle bags, cruise control, and drive shaft. It is reasonably comfortable although a seat comparable to that on the gold wing would be better as would a higher seat for tall riders. The bike is fast enough -- I've had it up to 100 mph on a track with room more to spare. Cons: Kawasaki's front forks are notorious for developing leaks. These forks could use a bug shield. They appear a bit underbuilt for such a large bike and don't take your hands off the handle bars at low speed unless you want your cage rattled. Of course, no handed riding isn't the brightest idea either. Bottom Line: It's a great bike whether riding in town, commuting, or cross country. On one cross country trip I had it fully loaded with luggage, held the speed to 60 mph, and got 50 mpg. Not bad for a big bike with standard carbs.
- Ron, Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-15 1999 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1999, that I just bought and it is a great ride. I looked and rode Honda GL1500, BMW K1200LT, and the sport tourers Councours, ST1300 and BMW R1150/1200RT. For the money the Voyager is a comfortable full dressed touring rig that can do what all the others do, only this is a lot less and even does some things better. If you can't find a good used one and you are on a budget, still get it. The ride is great and luggage capacity is huge. Handles well since it does not have the bulk of the others. Ride Safe!!
- KK01, Franklin, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-14 2000 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put approximately 14,000 miles on my used Voyager in the past year, and I think it's just about the best touring/commuter ride on the planet... especially when you consider that it only cost me a fraction of a "Wing," Venture or Ultra. It's about 125 pounds lighter then the above, with the gas tank under the seat which I believe contributes to the great handling of this bike. At 45 MPG, as long as I cruise under 70 MPH, it's very economical to ride, it drops to 41MPG after that. I just put on a set of Avon Vipers and they grip beautifully, I bought them for their length of wear. I average 12k miles per year and even though the bikes style is dated it's still very efficient. I hope Kawasaki comes out with a more updated version soon. If you find one, ride it and see what you think.
- Dug, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-08 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There are some pretty tight winding roads in my area and ridden with respect for size a lot of fun can be had. I use Michelin tires and always use up the whole tread which is a tribute to its lean angle. Hit a bump mid corner at speed and it's whoa baby! But I have always just leaned it somemore with a little rear brake to steady it and we're outta there. The wife loves the pillion seat and reckons it's better than both the Wing and LT 1200. Crosswinds and high speeds were a problem with the higher of two screens but never a problem with the lower one which is about neck height. The wife asked me to stop playing with it the day I wound it off the clock (she was on the back)with a gear to go, (I thought I was in top)Mmm! better not go there, eh!
- Maurice Turner, Kootingal, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-12 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an 87 Voyager last year and decided to go get the 2003... bottom line, I rode a ton of bikes, this is absolutely the most comfortable ride I have ever been on, and for my size it has the most leg room. Buy it, you won't be disappointed!
- Byrl, Turtle Creek, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-10 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Why did Kawasaki stop making the Voyager? I bought a new 2003 in June of '03 and have loved every minute on the bike. Just returned from Key West Fla. on it and found 500 mile days were no trouble. Total mileage was 1760 and was fun riding all the way. Even with a strong cross wind 90% of the time the bike handled great. I also own a '99 Vulcan 1500 Classic which has become the around town bike due to the Voyager's ability to handle the long miles. Think they made a mistake by dropping the Voyager Kawasaki.
- Fred Choate, Conyers , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-06 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 1997 Voyager used with 21K on the odometer. This bike is the most comfortable bike I have ever ridden. It requires very little maintenance, is great at low speed handling and very powerful with great gas mileage. I have put several thousand miles on it and love it. Kawasaki's best!
- Bill, Newark, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-05 2001 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wife and i own a 2001 Voyager. Reliable, comfort, on last long ride got 51.7 mpg(using Amsoil motor oil and gear lube) powerfull,quick,low maintenance. We had a 750 Honda, and thought it was time to move up to a touring motorcycle.
- Mike Soden, St. Jacob, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-03 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up the bike and got home. It was the first road bike I've ridden in 27 - 28 years. I was a little nervous at first, until I got a better feel for the bike. This bike builds confidence. I love it.
- George Robinson, Charlottesville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-05 2001 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had nothing but trouble with my 2001. Things that shouldn't have broke. Within the first 300 miles I had the gas line fall off (no shutoff so gas went everywhere), the air shocks leaked, the bolts fell out of the trunk,the odometer unit chattered & the battery died. All covered but it required too many trips back to the dealership (3A motors) who wasn't the most helpful when talk came around to getting me out of the bike. In fact I did just that at another dealership. I got a 2002 Vulcan 1500 classic. I was not impressed with the general quailty of the Voyager. Plastics were cheap, the bike 'clunked' when you shifted it, the suspension sucked especially with two people on it. Exhaust would scrape the ground taking corners, the cassette deck ate tapes, the remote button to change the radio stations stuck all the time. The good things I liked was the storage capacity, and the bike would perform on the highway. I had no trouble cruising at 85mph. Real stable. I would not buy another Voyager.
- eddiemack, Nashua, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-04 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best bike for the money. After owning many bikes over many years this machine fills the needs for around town and the open road. Bullet proof engine that is smooth and has plenty of power with low maintainence. Bought my 03 Voyager in August of 02 and have put over 3,000 miles on it without any problems. Some of the bike mag's say it is a 17 year old design. I look at it as a proven design that gives excellant service. It also comes with a 3 year unlimited milage warranty.
- R.J., Phoenix

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-04 2001 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2003 voyager in August of 02. Have had several bikes over many years. You can't beat this machine for the money. It has been around for a long time and is proven to be reliable and requires minimum maintainance. Plenty of power from the bullet proof engine. Smooth engine and ride. Have put a little over 3,000 miles on it in four months without a problem.
- R.J., Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-19 2003 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Voyager XII is an incredible machine, the balance is perfect, it has plenty of power, and the shifting is as smooth as silk. I moved up from an old CSR650 to the Voyager XII and it took all of 2 minutes to feel comfortable with this massive bike. The first thing I noticed was no engine vibration and a very smooth ride. This bike handles extremely well in stop and go traffic and highway riding. The Voyager XII also has very generous storage space with a trunk light that turns on automatically when you open it! All the controls are conveniently located and easy to use. I have found this motorcycle to be very comfortable. I can ride for hours and not have a sore backside. I highly recommend the Voyager XII to anyone that is considering a touring bike. I have been riding Kawasaki motorcycles exclusively for 24 years and have never had any problems. I had very high expectations when I purchased my Voyager XII and have not been disappointed! The Voyager XII is a very high quality motorcycle that is an absolute pleasure to ride.
- Dave C., Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-15 2000 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If your going to ride this bike any distance you will need to change the seat first thang. Every thang about the bike is good but the seat. You bottom will start hurting after 2hours riding time. Corbin makes a seat for this bike, and it will be the best money you have spent on a motorcycle. The bike gets a 5 star from me. the seat get a 1 star. Change the seat.
- Mike Arrendale, Hayesville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-28 1999 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am on the board of directors for the American Voyager Association. We have app. 900+ members. I have owned 3 voyagers myself and curently have a 2002 XII W/ 15000miles and had a 91 XII also w/ 140k miles. Very reliable bike. My wife and I tour the country with our local chapter to many of the annual events across the country, pulling a Kwik Kamp. For more information on Voyagers, you can go to the American Voyager Association website: www.csonline.net/cybersite/american.htm
- Duane Ash (AVA), Lewiston, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-30 2001 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike 9/11. Now have 6000 trouble free miles on it. Longest ride in one day 500+. I traded in a HONDA Ace Tourer for this bike. The HondaPowr was a great bike but I wanted full dresser. This bike handles better with a much lower center of gravity. Power is good but tires on the 2001 are not (they changed type in 2002. Nothing compares for $11,000
- j c relis, denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-11 2001 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got 2000 Model Voyager and put 17,000 miles on it first year all thats been done is service every 2000 miles and one rear tire. Can not see paying 17K forHarley or Gold Wing
- Paw, Wynne, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-19 1999 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Comes stock with cruise control, AM/FM sterio cassette with front and rear speakers, travel trunk and saddlebags, front and rear air shocks and adjustable suspension. Plenty of power (1199 CC in-line 4 cylinders). Stock tires aren't real good but after adding Metzler ME880's, now rides and travels like a dream come true. I now have 28,000 miles on it and haven't had it in the shop for ANY repairs because it hasn't needed any.
- Bob Webb, Vacaville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-03 2001 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my '01 Voyager for a year now, and have put 8k on it. I've never been able to put more than about 2500 on any other bike I've owned before. This lets me do it all. I can strap my golf clubs, shoes, etc. on it, or load it up with fishing gear, and go. These things always required my truck before. So, I get a lot more saddle time. It's not perfect, had a few minor burps from new, but no problem with the dealer making things right. And, while handling isn't sportbike edged, it does fine by me. No problem grinding a few bolts off in the twisties. Let's see, handles ok, great gas mileage, super versatile, good dealer relationship, price won't break the bank, my wife even likes the pass. seat. Must be something missing ....... naahhh, Prego.
- Joe Budd, Marysville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-29 2001 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have 86 voyager. 48 thousand miles -- no complaints, except price of parts. How can an alternator cost so much? Only thing I would change is how the mirrors are mounted. Hit a big bump and readjust.
- BIG "E", USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-24 2000 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had the first maintenance, normally required at 500 miles, done at about 900 miles at the dealer where I bought it, R & S Kawasaki of Albuquerque. The bike leaked oil forever until I took it back (I have never had a motorcycle leak oil on me it was repaired free of charge. The oil plug washer had not sealed. I took a 900 mile plus trip up to Colorado. The gas (rubber) line, located under the seat/gas tank, leaked. I don't know if it hit something along the highway. My hand could not fit in the small space available, and fortunately my stepson was able to reach the line with a screwdriver and pull the rubber hose/line over the lip and reposition the clamp. We later bought a long pair of pliers to ensure the clamp would stay. Two days after I got back home, I went to ride the bike and it would not start. It is presently in need of repair; it must be either the alternator or the battery. I have not had this much trouble with a new bike before (this includes 3 Hondas, 1 Kawasaki, and 1 Yamaha). I am 5'9" and weigh 180 lbs. This bike is simply too big and heavy for someone my size or shorter! The handlebars were originally too wide; I had them closed/narrowed 1 " on each side, but I gave up low-speed balance. The cruise control is not very helpful since one seems to want to manually throttle anyway. Also, the cassette player/radio is useless at speeds over 50 mph. This motorcycle is really not that comfortable for the driver; my wife "loves" her seat. But this bike is top heavy, and it's my impression that the wind moves it quite a bit for a big bike. I don't like the seating position; my legs cramp up at the pelvis. I just enjoy the cruiser style of seating better. I rode a 1999 Yamaha V-Star Classic (650cc) to Washington, D.C. for the Year 2000 Run-For-The Wall ride. Unfortunately, after 3 days of riding, the vibration was too much for my body. I am thinking of selling my 2000 model Voyager XII, but I don't know what to buy. I'm thinking about the Suzuki LC1500 Intruder or the Honda Spirit (1100cc), both V-twins. I enjoy the cruiser style of seating, but I like the smoothness of the inline four cylinder.
- Joe S. Roybal, Los Alamos, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-11 2001 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I get yery good gas mileage, about 48 mph. I am having a hard time finding sites or catalogs for aftermarket parts and accessories for my Kawasaki Voyager and I would really welcome any help I could get. This bike gives me a very good ride, and I now ride twice as much as I did before. The dealer (salesmen) did not give me much information when I bought the bike, they were not very well up on this bike. I am trying to find a book on servicing my Voyager 12 with no luck yet. I am very pleased and like this bike very much. Thank You Ed LIGHT sr.
- ed light sr., Hollis, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: