Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles Reviews (74)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-01-20 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK, final review on this bike because it just died. It started running on one cylinder. After 122K I guess I can't blame it. Other than the motor, the bike is still in great shape and still looks good. I just put tires on it; bummer. I might try to find a motor. A rebuild is too expensive for my taste. So the eleven-year saga ends. I guess I got my money's worth.
- George Duda, Nixa, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-25 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had big Suzuki's, a Harley SuperGlide and a Honda Shadow. I didn't ride for 22 years and then I found this 2001 Classic Used with only 4300 miles when I bought it in September of 2010. It is now mid-October and I am in love with it. There's plenty of torque, it's easy starting and beautiful to look at. The only thing is having to use the high dollar gasoline. I love this bike.
- Scott Bishop, New Castle, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-20 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 1500 Fi for four years and bought it with 17000 kms on the clock. I have taken it on some long 2400 km trips. It's super reliable and I only have changed the fluids and a rear tire. I have been looking around for something newer, but nothing out there that is worth the move from this Vulcan. It's cheap to run. I have a Corbin Dual tour seat on it and lots of chrome. It is a great bike. I looked at the Harley's, but would be asking for trouble compared with this ride.
- Steve, toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-28 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Again, continuation review of others with the same title. Now have almost 102,000 miles and nothing has changed except more tires. Still runs great. Since last review (#4) have made trips to the Black Hills and Bad Lands in SD in 2007; Maine and New Hampshire in 2008. Not too much this year except running around Missouri and Arkansas. Will probably go back to New England next year. I'm less able to afford a new bike than ever so looks like me and my Vulcan for a few more years. Repairs: Front wheel bearings, one spark plug cap; that's it. Want a Big Baron Air Kit; Maybe next year. Great, comfortable, 45 mpg cruising. Still looks good. Get a lot of jaw dropping when I mention the Mileage. May update in another year or so.
- George Duda, Nixa, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-19 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a continuation per the title. See others for more info. Have turned over 73,000 miles now with still no major repairs. Still original except for the K&N filter. Bike still rides and runs great except for a pinging issue I plan to remedy with a TFI fuel injection modifier. Just put on my 6th rear tire. Gas mileage isn't what it used to be but I still get over 40 mpg. Would like a new bike but don't need it. I believe this bike has the most comfortable stock seat on the market. I've used a Kuryakyn Tombstone backrest bag for about two years now. Very comfortable and handy for extra storage. I'm itching for another long bike trip which I'll do sometime this summer. Looks like I'll be keeping this baby another couple years. At 15,000 or more miles per year, I should be over 100,000 miles by then. The 5 year unlimited mileage extended warranty just expired and I never really got to use it.
- George P. Duda, Nixa, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-25 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for 3 years and truly enjoy every ride. It looks great and handles well even with a passenger. Not for a novice.
- R T M, East Hampton, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-08 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently sold my 1996 Vulcan 800 Classic (which I loved) and bought a much coveted Vulcan 1500 Classic FI. I have read the reviews and articles and finally picked one up.. I got a great deal on a used one with 10k on it in great condition. What a great bike. On the thruway or on the twisties, it was simply a total pleasure to ride. It handled rock solid, was comfortable and inspired confidence. Now if only it will warm up some more so I can get my riding into full swing!
- MattM, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-08 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the Vulcan with 6000 miles on it; with little more than normal maintenance, the machine has carried me through everything from Force 10 gales in Florida to sub-freezing temperatures in the upper southeast with absolutely no problems. It cruises well, handles acceptably, and is easy on the eyes to look at. After 40 years of riding, I couldn't be more satisfied with a motorcycle. As an afternote, not one piece of the bike has even so much as loosened up after all those miles. Smmooth!
- Lone Eagle, Rincon, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-29 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My '01 1500 Classic FI (Black Pearl) reminds me of my old 1975 FLH1200 'Fatbob' albeit as an updated retro-styled cruiser with liquid-cooling. It feels evocative, visceral, and sounds grrreat with the aftermarket exhaust system. Very smooth motor, and I highly recommend the Dunlop Elite 3 tires. Purchased as a brand new non-current bike from the dealer at a discounted price. A couple of months later, relocated to Boise, ID. As far as how it might compare with a Harley-Davidson, about all I can say is that it's roomier as far as the ergonomics go. Not the least bit concerned about depreciation as this bike is a keeper. Think of it as the cruiser version of Kawasaki's famous 1973 903 Z1. Have not had any issues with it at all since 4/02 *except* for a minor o-ring coolant leak which was covered under the extended warranty. Those usually have to be r/r every 48 months. Most of my riding is out on the 2-lane backroads, not the interstates. Adding a 'shield made a huge difference on those longer rides. The oem seat is very good although it's usually a good idea to take a butt break after an hour or so. This isn't a quick accelerating motorcycle, but it does have gobs of torque so it's not as if one has to constantly keeping shifting the gearbox. Passing power is excellent in 4th gear. 5th is more of an overdrive. Gas mileage has varied from 38-52mpg with mid-40s being average. This a big, friendly old skool motorcycle that's easy to live with, and is definitely a best buy. Not too big nor too small, but just right.
- Grumbler, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-24 2000 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 1500 fi new in Dec. 2000, I primarily use it for the daily 40 mile round trip to and from work. I am really pleased with every aspect of this bike. The quality and craftsmanship are number one. This is an extremely comfortable bike that handles very well, other than normal maintenance, I have had to replace the "propeller shaft boot" which is a very simple process. I get lots of compliments on my Vulcan and would recommend them to anyone that wants a maintenance free ride. I have owned several different brands of bikes over the years including Harley Davidson, this bike is half the price and for my needs it serves the purpose.
- Ron, Bedford, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-14 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took another roundtrip from Virginia to Minnesota, this time with a friend on a '02 Harley Wide Glide. We ran at a steady 80mph and gassed up at the same time. I always used 1/2 gallon less fuel. From a toll booth at the Wisconsin state line we decided to open them up and I pulled at least a six bike-length lead on the Harley. One problem surfaced on my Classic - I started to feel a drivetrain oscillation in fourth gear. When I got home I lubed the drive shaft and axles and the oscillation went away. My bike now has 24000 miles, still looks new, and is running stronger than ever.
- Dennis Carlson, Stephens City, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-12 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not riden a bike for over 20 years and not owned one for almost 25. I am 6'3" and over 200 lbs so I needed something large enough to hold my frame. This bike is amazing. Extremely smooth, very comfortable seat, and lots of leg room. My last bike was a Honda 360 so the power feels awesome. The wieght of the bike was a concern for me being 51 years old and not as strong as I used to be (who is?) but it is so well balanced that it is no problem at all. Every time i go out on it I feel more and more comfortable. I have over 450 miles so I am almost through the break in period. In a week or so I will go on a nice long trip. This bike is great.
- AJAB, Plainview, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-01 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had sold my last bike (82 Yamaha 650) several years ago. Wanted to get back into riding. Test drove several bikes and after driving this 2002 model left over at a dealer I knew I had to buy it. It was so smooth. As compared to others it drove like a cadillac. I really liked the looks as well. The curb weight which lists over 700lbs was easily up from kick stand. (Test drove couple year old Harley with approx curb weight and felt like you had to jerk it up, almost felt top heavy) Nice center of gravity is easily steerable at slow speeds. I have read other reviews and can't say I agree with the slow speeds, now if some of the reviews meant when pushing the bike or backing it up from seated position then yes the bike is a load but other bikes are as well. Just practice and patience is the key. Have had the bike for several weeks and over 650 miles and climbing. A definite buy new or used!!!!
- Bill, Bay City, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-03 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looked at a LOT of bikes, i.e. HD Road King, Yamaha, Honda and bought the Classic 1500FI. Fit me best, had the better engineering, had what I needed: shaft drive, water cooled (live in FL) and was big enough for 2-up riding. I LOVE this bike and would buy another in a second. If Kaw ever comes out with a touring model Nomad, I'm trading in my Classic!
- Steve B, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-26 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 2001 1500 fl Kaw with 7600 miles.I have used it for basic transportation as well as long range crusing( 1000 miles). this bike does the job admirably. I replaced a 2002 Goldwing with this bike because the "wing" was too heavy and not much fun. I have a slipstreamer windshield, leather bags, Cobra longshots with Cobra FI 2000 fuel modifier(?), K/N filter. The power is not awesome but does the job better than stock. Fuel mileage has fallen about 2 mpg. This is the first bike I have owned with a terrific stock seat. I am large and heavy and need room. The standard job does it for me. I have let to replace any tires or do any repair work. Just normal maintenance. I will keep this one a long time.
- mike c, archer, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-14 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased 2002 Vulcan 1500 Classic FI is it is hands down the best bike I have ever owned over the last 30+ years of riding. 5 stars is not even close to what this bike should be rated and as far as I concerned it should be a 10! This bike has it all-adjustablity from the rear shocks to the clutch and brake levers,the best handling for a bike this big and all the torque and power that you need in any situation. It is a little shy on the top end but for all other purposes this bike flat out rules the road. Jump on board everybody Kawasaki has raised the the level of motorcycling back to where it's supposed to be!
- Cycleman, Buffalo,NY, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-14 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased 2002 Vulcan 1500 Classic FI is it is hands down the best bike I have ever owned over the last 30+ years of riding. 5 stars is not even close to what this bike should be rated and as far as I concerned it should be a 10! This bike has it all-adjustablity from the rear shocks to the clutch and brake levers,the best handling for a bike this big and all the torque and power that you need in any situation. It is a little shy on the top end but for all other purposes this bike flat out rules the road. Jump on board everybody Kawasaki has raised the the level of motorcycling back to where it's supposed to be!
- cycleman, Buffalo,NY, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-07 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had other cruisers in my life, but now, that I'm just 37, I can say that my Kawy is THE BIKE: she's big, low and fat, and sooooo beautiful. I ride her in Italy, streets are smaller than in the States and we got no culture about HD cruisers, we don't hate Jap bikes. I ride a 1999 white/light-blue model, and everytime I take a ride with her I think I'm a lucky guy! Absolutely 5 stars!
- claudio, verona, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-14 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a Vulcan Shadow 1500 FI, I love it, the stock seat is very confortable. I can get 300 km with one tank.
- Antonio Arrubarrena, Abbotsford, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-18 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
bought a 2001 1500 classic Fi. , left over model got a great price and the bike looks and runs great glad I got the Fi. Very happy with the bike
- rick bennett, flag pond, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-07 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had my heart set on getting a yamaha V Star Classic, but my dealer steered me towards this beauty, and with the discount, I'm glad he did. It was worth the extra money. Lots to offer for $9500.
- Marfaman, Marfa, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-30 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently traded my Vulcan 750 for a 2002 Vulcan Classic 1500 FI. I must say that I am very pleased with this bike. It is the expected Kawasaki quality for fit and finish. The torque is awsome, and it is so smooth out on the highway it is hard to believe. Just completed the break-in period, and this baby will rock! I can't even tell my wife is on the back. Got a great price from my dealer also. You can't go wrong with this bike.
- Sneeker, El Dorado, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-22 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the best there is. Agile riding in city traffic and highway. Enough power for passing and cruising long distance. Confortable stock seating. Absolutely beautiful design a head turner and maitenance free.Change oil/filter and go. I ride with friends long distance the warmer the engine gets the better it performs and the Harleys break down. My brother and I both have Vulcans 1500 never had a problem..very reliable motorcycle..highly recommended.
- John Paul, Naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-26 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got a 2002 FI 10 days ago: got 1100 miles without a hitch. Have owned a few and ridden alot of different bikes this year... this bike is hands down the best for quality, dollars, overall ride and looks. Silky smooth tranny & suspension, and excellent throttle response in all gears/all RPMs. Spent 7 hours in the saddle one ridin' day to get my 1st 500 and could have gone alot longer: got 50+ mpg, am averaging 46+ mpg highway and city. Can't say enough about what an awesome bike this is, plenty of go for highway passing and great handling for around town; so easy to ride, it's scary. Accessories: Rifle Classic "L" windshield 17" ht.-looks great, works great but does catch some wind from 18 wheelers due to its 25 in. width; also got the Lowers and they work very well; Vance&Hines Longshots: the only pipes to buy, Cobra luggage rack&sissy bar, Alligator highway pegs, Vista Cruise throttle-lock,& various Chrome pieces. Get one today!
- willie, kingsport, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-14 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I"ve had the bike for two weeks and have been very impressed with it.I added a set of Hard-Krome Double D's 2.75" Big Strights, That the dealer suggested to get the sound I was looking for.I had looked at other bikes , but this one caught my eye. She has plenty of power for two up riding.I've had no problems putting around town are cruising down the highway.
- Bill Berry, Auburn, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: